Impact stories from official languages minority communities

Francophone entrepreneurs are building businesses and communities across western Canada. They are doing business around the world and their bilingualism is proving to be an economic asset. Here are some of the exciting things they’ve been doing.

advertisement for documentary

[2019-02-05]

Entreprises Riel

At the heart of Manitoba's Francophone Community is a documentary film produced by Tourisme Riel and Entreprises Riel, about the strong Francophone and Métis culture in the province.

Read this story

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) supported the film with $25,000 funding through its Economic Development Initiative program.

The film addresses the need to share the history of the Métis and Francophone communities with tourists and locals alike. It plays 3 times daily in the Tourisme Riel offices in St. Boniface, one of the hubs of the Francophone community in Winnipeg.

The film has spurred a new marketing plan for Entreprises Riel, which includes:

  • more Francophone and Métis tourism in Manitoba
  • new Francophone and Métis tourism attractions in St. Boniface, St. Vital and St. Norbert
  • more Francophone tourism from Quebec and Francophone countries
  • more tourism in French by Travel Manitoba in those markets

Tourism adds $1.6 billion to Manitoba's economy. This new plan will help increase that amount.

Michelle Gervais of Tourisme Riel says they were inspired by efforts in Louisiana to market the Cajun culture. She said they wanted to try something similar to promote Métis and Francophone culture in Winnipeg and throughout Manitoba.

The project aligns with the Government of Canada's goal of promoting Official Languages. It also aligns with the goal of promoting Indigenous economic growth, as Winnipeg's Métis population has grown by 30% over the last decade.

It's safe to say this is the start of many great projects from Tourisme Riel and Entreprises Riel.

#WeFundedThat

Francophone farmers growing green with Humaterra

[2019-05-22]

Francophone farmers growing green with Humaterra

What do francophone farmers in Saskatchewan, an agricultural scientist from France and about a trillion microbial organisms have in common? The drive to make prairie soil more fertile and productive!

Read this story

A community of farmers in Saskatchewan have used their French language skills to leverage relationships internationally in order improve farming and to boost the local economy.

They are boosting crop yields by going green with “HumaTerra” — an environmentally conscientious soil company that uses microbial organisms found in local organic waste. The road to improving soil conditions on their farms started in France.

For years, Saskatchewan farmers like Clem Perrault and Clément Dion have been trying to do agriculture differently. They wanted to be more responsible in producing food in the face of climate change.

Messieurs Perrault and Dion, along with other colleagues in the industry, reached out to experts in the international francophone community. They connected with a French company who had developed a product that releases microbial organisms into the soil to make it more fertile. The group of Saskatchewan farmers tested the product to see how it would work on Prairie soil to great results.

After a successful testing period, the farmers decided to create a made-in-Saskatchewan product to help farmers increase yields in a sustainable way while boosting the local economy.

And so, HumaTerra sprouted from the Saskatchewan soil like a field of pink alfalfa.

Clem and Clément sought external funding to get started. The Conseil économique et coopératif de la Saskatchewan (CÉCS) provided $12,000 to help launch the company and help secure investors. CÉCS helps francophone entrepreneurs in Saskatchewan to achieve their business goals and is funded in part by Western EconomicDiversification Canada (WD).

As HumaTerra started to take root, they hired Koenraad Duhem, a scientific director with over 20 years’ experience in France’s dairy industry, as general manager.

While the company began production, CÉCS helped to showcase their product to farmers across the province and helped HumaTerra make its first sale.

To date, HumaTerra has produced a combined 150 tons of their soil enhancing pellets for clients based mostly in Saskatchewan.

Thanks to HumaTerra, local farmers are helping the environment, producing more food and supporting the regional economy by repurposing local waste.

“If we want there to be a future for the next generation, we must begin to change how we think and how we farm the land, by using the waste from the land and returning itto the land,”  says Clem Perrault, owner of Poplar Valley Organic farms and one of the founders of HumaTerra. “That’s the solution. The solution is simple!”

The farmer members of HumaTerra are all Francophones from across the province. With success in Saskatchewan, they are now marketing their products across Western Canada, creating jobs and adding prosperity along the way.

Edmonton's Francophone Radio Cité 97,9

Video length: 3:32 minutes [2019-03-06]

Radio Cité brings Edmonton's Francophone community together

Radio informs. It reflects local views and needs. It serves as a venue for expression and it tells the local stories. Radio gives young people the chance to take part in and learn about their community.

At the heart of Edmonton's Francophone community beats Radio Cité 97,9 FM, "le son du grand Edmonton", which WD funded. Watch how Radio Cité is injecting new energy into Francophones of Edmonton.

Transcript: "Radio Cité brings Edmonton's Francophone community together"

(The camera pans the Edmonton skyline. A man with a toque drives a Radio Cité car across the bridge and into a parking garage, as the radio plays.)

(FEMALE RADIO HOST - voiceover) What better way to wake up in the morning while staying informed and listening to the best music in town!

(MALE RADIO HOST - voiceover) On Radio Cité 97.9, this is Debout Edmonton with David Redmond.

(DAVID REDMOND - voiceover) Bonjour Edmonton! Welcome to 97.9 Radio Cité, David Redmond with you to accompany you in your daily routine...

[music]

(Man with toque enters Radio Cité studio and checks all the equipment.)

(MAN WITH TOQUE) What is Radio Cité? Radio Cité is an opportunity to stay on top of everything that is happening in the Francophone community here in Edmonton.

(Throughout the six following interviews, the camera pans to multiple scenes of on-air and off-air activity around the station.)

(CAROLE SAINT-CYR, DIRECTOR GENERAL, RADIO CITÉ 97.9) It's a French-speaking community radio station. That means a radio station that serves the community. It is a way of getting people to come and tell their stories, whether they are of African, European, Acadian, Quebec or Franco-Albertan origin. So it is about breaking down all these walls to truly build a single Francophone community with all its French accents.

(MAN WITH SHAVED HEAD) We broadcast French-language music, but not just that. It's also radio that reflects the diversity we have here in Alberta and more specifically in the Alberta Francophone community with music from Africa, Europe, and Asia... In short, it's a blend of all of these things that makes this station a unique radio station.

(JEAN PHILIPPE PERETTI, PROGRAMMING COMMITTE, RADIO CITÉ 97.9)Community radio is the perfect medium for people in the community to come and participate, prepare programs on a voluntary basis, and I think it can have a ripple effect, and it can also maintain and increase Francophone pride.

(Camera pans the outside of Radio Cité's building.)

(MAN WITH TOQUE) The support we received from Western Economic Diversification Canada was invaluable. Its support was very important to us. It allowed us to be on the air, to broadcast our programs, but also to be close to the community.

(CAROLE SAINT-CYR)  However, I was told that this was the first time Western Economic Diversification Canada had supported radio. Radio Cité is almost like a school for the younger ones, to understand what it is like to communicate in French, but it is also about creating jobs. It gives a gateway to more young people or people who want to pursue a career in communications, and right now we are in schools as well. We are going to meet with the young people, we are giving courses to try to get them interested in communications in French, which they are not yet aware of...

(MAN WITH TOQUE) What I see for the future of Radio Cité is a future that is limitless. It is a future that is so bright and full of opportunities, because the Francophone community here in Alberta and Edmonton continues to grow year after year, and that is wonderful, but it also means that we, as a radio - Radio Cité - cannot stick to current standards. You always have to want to make even more progress. In this way, we will be able to offer quality content, and above all, above all, reflect the image of the Francophone community.

(Radio Cité logo)

(Text on screen: radiocitefm.ca)

(Western Economic Diversification Canada wordmark)

(Text on screen: www.wd-deo.gc.ca)

(Text on screen: #WeFundedThat)

(Canada wordmark)

 [Music stops]

(Canada Wordmark)

Official Languages: Who’s your “twin”?

[2019-06-28]

Official Languages: Who’s your “twin”?

At Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) we’re bolstering our bilingual bench strength in both official languages.

Learning a second language can be challenging, and without regular practice, it can difficult to maintain. The Official Languages Twinning Program, a Regional Development Agency (RDA) partnership initiative, is a fun and easy way for employees to practice their second official language and meet colleagues in RDAs across the country.

 

 

Read this story

About the Official Languages Twinning Program

Building on our commitment to linguistic duality, the Official Languages Twinning Program gives ambitious language learners in RDAs across Canada the chance to improve their abilities in English or French. Anglophone and Francophone participants are partnered up to engage in regular bilingual discussions – 50% “en français” and 50% in English. They discuss a range of subjects and interests, to develop and maintain their second language competencies.

What the “twins” have to say

Sheeba Faqih is a bilingual employee in WD’s Vancouver office. Her first Language is English and she uses English almost exclusively at work. She started participating in the program in 2018, and says:

“I was intrigued! Being in a bilingual position but not feeling entirely confident in my abilities, I felt this would be a good opportunity to practice speaking French with someone outside the office. I hoped to connect with someone who had similar language challenges as myself.Sheeba Faqih

“I was twinned with a lovely woman in Quebec, who worked for our counterpart there: the Canada Economic Development for Quebec Regions Office. She had the desire to practice her English in order to prepare for a test she was going to be taking.

“We started our first phone conversation some time in June and continued on for several months on a weekly or bi-weekly basis – even after she wrote the test and got the job!

“We were at similar levels in our workplace and had some similar interests. As such, we had no trouble finding topics to converse about. Coincidentally, we also faced similar challenges in both our work life and home life, so it was nice to have someone to talk through issues with. I found our conversations uplifting and very helpful.

“We always ended with an email to each other highlighting the words that the other person had trouble with and the correct word or usage. I was grateful to have been able to be a part of this experience and would highly recommend the program!”

 

That “lovely woman in Quebec” was French-speaking Gabrielle Joly. Like Sheeba, she is bilingual, but uses primarily French at work.

She says:

“Through the Languages Twinning Program, not only did I get the opportunity to practice my English, but I also got to know a nice, sweet and funny person that I would probably not have had the chance to know otherwise.Gabrielle Joly

“Not only did Sheeba take the time to listen to me and to correct my mistakes, but she also had the kindness to never make me feel judged because of my bad translations or hesitations. I could not wait for our weekly meetings to talk with her, see how she was doing and of course, practice my English!

“Seeing how we were improving together as the weeks went by was encouraging for me and gave me faith that I would meet my objectives.

“In short, on top of being so much more than a professional experience, it turned out to be a nice human experience as well!”

WD’s Official Languages Champion, Assistant Deputy Minister Barbara Motzney, notes that the Official Languages Twinning Program is a proven success, helping WD to better serve its Official Language Minority Communities.

“Congratulations, Sheeba and Gabrielle,” she says. “We are thrilled that this program has helped both of you improve your second language skills and make a new friend.”

Histoires d’impact provenant de communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire

Les entrepreneurs francophones bâtissent des entreprises et des collectivités partout dans l’Ouest canadien. Ils font des affaires partout dans le monde, et leur bilinguisme s’avère un atout sur le plan économique. Voici quelques-unes des choses passionnantes qu’ils font.

publicité relative à un documentaire

[2019-02-05]

Entreprises Riel

Un film documentaire a été produit au cœur de la communauté francophone du Manitoba par Tourisme Riel et les Entreprises Riel, et porte sur la forte culture francophone et métisse dans la province.

Lisez cette histoire

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a contribué à la réalisation de ce film au moyen d'une aide financière de 25 000 $ versée dans le cadre de son programme de l'Initiative de développement économique.

Le film répond au besoin de raconter l'histoire des communautés métisses et francophones, aussi bien avec les touristes que la population locale. Il est diffusé trois fois par jour dans les bureaux de Tourisme Riel à Saint‑Boniface, l'un des carrefours de la communauté francophone de Winnipeg.

Le film a encouragé les Entreprises Riel à élaborer un nouveau plan de marketing constitué des éléments suivants :

  • Accroître le tourisme francophone et métis au Manitoba
  • Créer de nouvelles attractions touristiques francophones et métisses à Saint-Boniface, à Saint‑Vital et à Saint‑Norbert
  • Attirer davantage de touristes francophones du Québec et des pays francophones
  • Inciter Travel Manitoba à développer le tourisme en français pour ces marchés

Le tourisme apporte 1,6 milliard de dollars à l'économie du Manitoba, et ce nouveau plan contribuera à faire accroître ce montant.

Michelle Gervais, représentante de Tourisme Riel, affirme que son équipe a été inspirée par les efforts déployés en Louisiane pour faire la promotion de la culture cajun. Elle dit avoir voulu essayer quelque chose de semblable pour promouvoir la culture métisse et francophone à Winnipeg et dans l'ensemble du Manitoba.

Ce projet s'harmonise avec l'objectif du gouvernement du Canada visant à promouvoir les langues officielles. Il s'harmonise aussi avec l'objectif de promouvoir la croissance économique des Autochtones, étant donné que la population métisse de Winnipeg a augmenté de 30 % au cours de la dernière décennie.

Nous pouvons affirmer sans crainte qu'il s'agit là du début de nombreux projets formidables pour Tourisme Riel et les Entreprises Riel.

#NouslAvonsFinancé

Des agriculteurs francophones effectuent un virage vert avec HumaTerra

[2019-05-22]

Des agriculteurs francophones effectuent un virage vert avec HumaTerra

Qu’ont en commun des agriculteurs de la Saskatchewan, un scientifique agricole de la France et près d’un billion d’organismes microbiens? La volonté de rendre le sol des Prairies plus fertile et productif!

Lisez cette histoire

Qu’ont en commun des agriculteurs de la Saskatchewan, un scientifique agricole de la France et près d’un billion d’organismes microbiens? La volonté de rendre le sol des Prairies plus fertile et productif!

Un groupe d’agriculteurs de la Saskatchewan ont utilisé leurs compétences en français pour tirer parti de relations à l’échelle internationale afin d’améliorer l’agriculture et de stimuler l’économie locale.

Ils améliorent le rendement de leurs cultures en effectuant un virage vert avec HumaTerra, une entreprise écologique qui utilise des organismes microbiens présents dans les déchets organiques locaux. Le processus d’amélioration des conditions du sol sur leurs fermes a commencé en France.

Pendant des années, des agriculteurs de la Saskatchewan comme Clem Perrault et Clément Dion ont tenté de faire les choses différemment en agriculture. Ils voulaient produire de la nourriture de façon plus responsable en tenant compte des changements climatiques.

Messieurs Perrault et Dion, ainsi que d’autres collègues de l’industrie, ont fait appel à des experts de la communauté francophone internationale. Ils sont entrés en contact avec une entreprise française qui a mis au point un produit qui libère des organismes microbiens dans le sol pour le rendre plus fertile. Le groupe d’agriculteurs de la Saskatchewan a essayé le produit pour voir s’il donnerait de bons résultats sur le sol des Prairies.

Après une période d’essai réussie, le groupe a décidé de mettre au point un produit fabriqué en Saskatchewan pour aider les agriculteurs à améliorer le rendement de leurs cultures de façon durable en plus de stimuler l’économie locale.

Ainsi, HumaTerra a poussé du sol de la Saskatchewan comme un champ de luzerne rose.

Clem et Clément ont cherché à obtenir du financement externe pour démarrer leur entreprise. Le Conseil économique et coopératif de la Saskatchewan (CÉCS) a fourni une aide financière de 12 000 $ pour aider à lancer l’entreprise et à attirer des investisseurs. Le CÉCS aide les entrepreneurs francophones de la Saskatchewan à atteindre leurs objectifs d’affaires et elle est financée en partie par Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO).

Au moment où HumaTerra commençait à prendre racine, les fondateurs ont embauché en tant que gestionnaire général Koenraad Duhem, un directeur scientifique possédant 20 ans d’expérience au sein de l’industrie laitière en France,.

Pendant que l’entreprise commençait la production, le CÉCS a aidé à présenter son produit aux agriculteurs de la province et a aidé HumaTerra à réaliser sa première vente.

À ce jour, HumaTerra a produit 150 tonnes de ses pastilles qui enrichissent le sol pour des clients situés principalement en Saskatchewan.

Grâce à HumaTerra, des agriculteurs locaux protègent l’environnement, produisent plus de nourriture et appuient l’économie régionale en réutilisant des déchets locaux.

« Si on veut qu’il y ait un futur pour la prochaine génération, il faut qu’on commence à changer notre mentalité et nos façons de cultiver la terre, en utilisant les déchets provenant de la terre, en les retournant dans la terre. Ça, c’est la solution. La solution est simple! » affirme Clem Perrault, propriétaire des fermes Poplar Valley Organic et l’un des fondateurs de HumaTerra.

Les agriculteurs membres de HumaTerra sont tous des francophones d’un bout à l’autre de la province. Grâce au succès connu en Saskatchewan, ils commercialisent maintenant leurs produits dans l’ensemble de l’Ouest canadien, ce qui crée des emplois et favorise la prospérité par la même occasion.

HumaTerra doit son succès aux liens établis grâce à une langue commune et à la conviction qu’une agriculture durable est nécessaire pour une planète saine.

Radio Cité 97,9

Durée de la vidéo : 3:32 minutes [2019-03-06]
Cliquez sur le bouton « CC » pour voir les sous-titres en français

Radio Cité rassemble la communauté francophone d'Edmonton

La radio informe. Elle reflète les points de vue et les besoins locaux. Elle sert de lieu d'expression et elle raconte les histoires locales. La radio communautaire donne aux jeunes la chance de jouer un rôle au sein de leur communauté et d'en apprendre davantage sur celle-ci. À tout point de vue, la radio constitue le cœur de la communauté.

Au cœur de la communauté francophone d'Edmonton bat Radio Cité 97,9 FM, « le son du grand Edmonton », que DEO a financée. Voyez comment Radio Cité injecte une nouvelle énergie à la communauté francophone d'Edmonton.

Transcription : « Radio Cité rassemble la communauté francophone d'Edmonton »

(La caméra fait un panoramique d’Edmonton. Un homme portant une tuque conduit une voiture de Radio Cité sur le pont et entre dans un garage de stationnement, pendant que la radio joue.)

(ANIMATRICE RADIO - voix hors champ) Quoi de mieux que de se réveiller le matin en restant informé tout en écoutant la meilleure musique en ville!

(ANIMATEUR RADIO - voix hors champ) Sur les ondes de Radio Cité 97,9, voici Debout Edmonton avec David Redmond.

(DAVID REDMOND - voix hors champ) Bonjour Edmonton! Bienvenue au 97,9 Radio Cité, David Redmond avec vous pour vous accompagner dans votre routine…

[musique]

(L’homme portant une tuque entre dans le studio de Radio Cité et vérifie tout l’équipement.)

(HOMME PORTANT UNE TUQUE) C’est quoi Radio Cité? Radio Cité, c’est l’opportunité de pouvoir rester à l’affût sur tout ce qui se passe dans la communauté francophone ici, à Edmonton.

(Tout au long des six entrevues suivantes, la caméra fait un panoramique de multiples scènes d’activités en ondes et hors d’ondes dans la station.)

(CAROLE SAINT-CYR, DIRECTRICE GÉNÉRALE, RADIO CITÉ 97,9) C’est une radio communautaire francophone. Ça veut dire une radio qui est là pour servir la communauté. C’est une façon d’amener les gens à venir se raconter, qu’on soit d’origine africaine, d’origine européenne, acadienne, québécoise ou franco-albertaine. Alors c’est de faire éclater tous ces murs pour qu’on puisse construire vraiment une seule communauté francophone avec tous les accents francophones.

(HOMME À LA TÊTE RASÉE) On diffuse de la musique francophone, mais pas seulement. C’est aussi une radio qui reflète également la diversité que nous avons ici en Alberta et plus précisément dans la francophonie albertaine avec des musiques qui nous viennent de l’Afrique, de l’Europe, de l’Asie… En tout cas, bref, c’est un mélange de tout cela qui fait, donc, de cette radio une radio unique.

(JEAN PHILIPPE PERETTI, COMITÉ DE PROGRAMMATION, RADIO CITÉ 97,9) La radio communautaire, c’est le médium parfait pour que les gens de la communauté viennent participer, préparer des émissions sur une base bénévole, et je pense que ça peut avoir un effet d’entraînement, et ça peut avoir aussi un effet de maintien et d’augmentation de la fierté francophone.

(La caméra fait un panoramique de l’extérieur de l’immeuble où se trouve Radio Cité.)

(HOMME PORTANT UNE TUQUE) Le support qu’on a eu de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest du Canada [sic], c’est un support qui était incalculable. C’est un support qui était tellement important pour nous. Ça nous a permis de pouvoir être en ondes, de pouvoir diffuser nos programmes, mais également de pouvoir être près de la communauté.

(CAROLE SAINT-CYR) Mais là, Diversification économique de l’Ouest [sic], on m’a dit que c’était la première fois qu’ils aidaient la radio. Radio Cité devient comme presque une école pour les plus jeunes, pour connaître c’est quoi faire de la communication en français, mais c’est également de créer des emplois. Ça donne une porte d’entrée à plus de jeunes ou à plus de gens qui veulent faire carrière en communications, et nous sommes en ce moment dans les écoles aussi. Nous allons rencontrer les jeunes, nous donnons des cours pour essayer d’amener ces jeunes-là à s’intéresser aux communications en français, ce qu’ils ne connaissent pas encore…
(HOMME PORTANT UNE TUQUE) Ce que je vois pour le futur de Radio Cité, c’est un futur qui est sans limites. C’est un futur qui est tellement beau et tellement rempli d’opportunités, parce que la communauté francophone ici en Alberta et à Edmonton ne cesse de grandir année après année, et ça, c’est merveilleux, mais ça veut aussi dire que nous, en tant que radio – Radio Cité – on ne peut pas s’en tenir aux standards actuels. Il faut toujours vouloir progresser encore plus. De cette façon-là, on va pouvoir offrir un contenu de qualité, et surtout, surtout, à l’image de la communauté francophone.

(Logo de Radio Cité)

(Texte à l’écran : radiocitefm.ca)

(Mot-symbole Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada)

(Texte à l’écran : www.wd-deo.gc.ca)

(Texte à l’écran : #NouslAvonsFinancé)

(Mot-symbole Canada)

[La musique arrête de jouer]

(Mot-symbole « Canada »)

Langues officielles : qui est votre « jumeau »?

[2019-06-28]

Langues officielles : qui est votre « jumeau »?

À Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO), nous renforçons nos capacités dans les deux langues officielles.

Apprendre une seconde langue peut être exigeant, et sans une pratique régulière, il peut être difficile de maintenir ses compétences dans celle-ci. Une initiative de partenariat entre les organismes de développement régional, le Programme de jumelage linguistique constitue une façon amusante et facile de pratiquer votre seconde langue officielle tout en vous donnant l’occasion de rencontrer de nouveaux collègues dans les organismes de développement régional (ODR) de l’ensemble du pays

 

 

Lisez cette histoire

À propos du Programme de jumelage linguistique

Prenant sa source dans notre engagement à l’égard de la dualité linguistique, le Programme de jumelage linguistique offre à tous les employés des ODR de l’ensemble du Canada désireux de parfaire leurs compétences linguistiques l’occasion de perfectionner leurs habiletés en français ou en anglais. Les participants francophones et anglophones sont jumelés afin de tenir régulièrement des conversations bilingues – 50 % « in English » et 50 % en français – sur toute une gamme de sujets et portant sur des champs d’intérêt variés dans le but de perfectionner et de maintenir leurs compétences dans leur seconde langue officielle.

Ce que les « jumelles » ont à dire

Sheeba Faqih est une employée bilingue du bureau de DEO à Vancouver. Sa langue maternelle est l’anglais et elle utilise presque exclusivement l’anglais au travail. Elle a commencé à participer au programme en 2018, et elle explique :

« J’étais curieuse! Comme j’occupe un poste bilingue, mais que je n’avais pas entièrement confiance en mes capacités, j’ai pensé que ce serait une bonne occasion de pratiquer le français avec quelqu’un de l’extérieur du bureau. J’espérais établir un lien avec une personne qui devait surmonter des défis linguistiques semblables aux miens.Sheeba Faqih

J’ai été jumelée avec une femme charmante du Québec, qui travaillait pour le ministère équivalent au nôtre dans cette province : Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec. Elle voulait pratiquer son anglais afin de se préparer à un test qu’elle allait passer.

Nous avons commencé à discuter au téléphone en juin et nous avons continué de le faire pendant quelques mois toutes les semaines ou toutes les deux semaines, même après qu’elle eut passé le test et obtenu le poste!

Nous étions à des niveaux comparables dans notre milieu de travail et nous avions des intérêts similaires. Donc, nous n’avions pas de difficulté à trouver des sujets de conversation. Par hasard, nous faisions également face à des défis semblables autant au travail qu’à la maison, alors c’était agréable d’avoir quelqu’un avec qui parler de ces problèmes. J’ai trouvé que nos conversations étaient stimulantes et très utiles.

Nous terminions toujours par un échange de courriels qui indiquait les mots avec lesquels l’autre personne avait eu de la difficulté ainsi que le bon mot ou la bonne façon de l’employer. Je suis reconnaissante d’avoir eu la chance de faire partie de cette expérience et je recommande vivement le programme! ».

La « femme charmante du Québec » était la francophone Gabrielle Joly. Comme Sheeba, elle est bilingue, mais elle utilise principalement le français au travail.

Elle raconte :

« À travers le programme de jumelage linguistique, j’ai eu non seulement l’opportunité de pratiquer mon anglais, mais également de connaitre une personne sympathique, douce et drôle que je n’aurais probablement pas eu la chance de connaître autrement.Gabrielle Joly

« Non seulement Sheeba prenait le temps de m’écouter et de corriger mes erreurs, mais elle avait également la gentillesse de ne jamais me faire sentir jugée face à mes mauvaises traductions ou mes hésitations. J’avais hâte à nos rendez-vous hebdomadaires afin discuter avec elle, voir comment elle se portait et bien sûr, pratiquer mon anglais!

« Le fait de voir comment nous nous améliorions ensemble, au fil des semaines, était encourageant pour moi et me donnait espoir d’atteindre mes objectifs.

« Bref, bien plus qu’une expérience professionnelle, ce fut également une belle expérience humaine! »

La championne des langues officielles de DEO, la sous-ministre adjointe Barbara Motzney, souligne que le programme de jumelage linguistique a fait ses preuves et qu’il aide DEO à mieux servir les communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire.

« Félicitations, Sheeba et Gabrielle, dit-elle. Nous sommes ravis que ce programme vous ait aidé à améliorer vos compétences en langue seconde et à vous faire une nouvelle amie. »