Language selection

Search

Testing medical products like N-95 respirator masks to fight COVID-19

Success Story Info

  • Organization: 

    Orthopaedic Innovation Centre (OIC)

  • Region:  Manitoba
  • Impact: 

    Manitoba company enhances testing services and becomes an internationally accredited laboratory for medical products including N95 respirator masks.

  • Project: 

    OIC testing equipment purchase

  • Category:  Innovation
  • Story Date:  2021-05-12
Trevor Gascoyne, Director of Operations, Orthopaedic Innovation Centre in Winnipeg

Government and industry are collaborating to ensure the health and safety of Canadians through the COVID-19 pandemic. One example is the transformational work of Winnipeg's Orthopaedic Innovation Centre (OIC). The OIC started in 2010 as a partnership between the Concordia Joint Replacement Group, the Concordia Foundation, the Province of Manitoba and Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD). Precision ADM was spun out of the OIC's know-how making medical devices and aerospace products.

In response to the pandemic, Precision ADM pivoted to make personal protective equipment (PPE) and other medical products that were in extreme need. The OIC applied to WD to fund its new PPE product-testing division. It was then able to provide crucial testing to Precision ADM and other western Canadian PPE manufacturers aiming to meet Canadian demand. With OIC and Precision ADM working so closely together, they were able to produce a high volume of PPE and diagnostic products locally, and bring them to the Canadian market.

The OIC stresses how important WD and other partners were to growing their company, as well as starting up other firms in the biotechnology sector. WD funding helped create over 150 local jobs. It led to millions of dollars of R&D, and millions of dollars of commercial value in Manitoba and Western Canada.

Testing medical products like N-95 respirator masks to fight COVID-19 (length: 3:58 minutes)

Transcript: Testing medical products like N-95 respirator masks to fight COVID-19

[music]

(Text on screen: All COVID-19 protocols were followed during the making of this film.)

(Text on screen: Orthopaedic Innovation Centre)

(Interior view of the OIC Precision Labs)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE, DIRECTOR OF OPERATIONS, ORTHOPAEDIC INNOVATION CENTRE INC.) So I should look at you not at the camera, I guess?

(Interviewer - voiceover) Yeah. (Laughs)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) OK, perfect.

MARTIN PETRAK, PRESIDENT AND CEO, ORTHOPAEDIC INNOVATION CENTRE INC.) 5, 6, 7, 8.

(INTERVIEWER - voiceover) OK, we’re good.

(MARTIN PETRAK) Yeah? OK.

(Exterior view of the OIC Precision Labs)

(MARTIN PETRAK) The Orthopaedic Innovation Centre started in 2010 as a partnership between the Concordia Joint Replacement Group, the Concordia Foundation, and at that point in time with the Province of Manitoba and Western Economic Diversification.

(Scene of medical devices)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) So we provide three main types of services.

(Various scenes of technicians using equipment and device testing)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voiceover) Our first is our clinical research service, where we work with patients to enroll them in a variety of different research studies. We also do medical device testing of orthopaedic implants. So we test durability of joint replacements, hip and knee replacements, and then most recently with the support from WD, we now test personal protective equipment in our lab here.

(Scene of equipment)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) In response to the pandemic occurring in last March…

(Various scenes of technicians and testing equipment)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voiceover) … Precision ADM became very interested in producing PPE and other medical products that were in extreme need during the pandemic, and it made very much sense for Orthopaedic Innovation Centre to be able to test and evaluate those products that they were then making. So, with our two companies working so closely together we were able to commercialize and produce a high volume of products locally here in Canada, for the Canadian market.

(Scene of equipment and technician)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) So the main test of PPE is how efficiently it filters the air.

(Various scenes of PPE testing, equipment and technicians)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voiceover) So we do something called Particulate Filtration Efficiency. We create a cloud of particles, we fire them at a mask and measure how efficiently it removes those particles from the air that we’re challenging the mask with. We do some other testing here that are related to how well the mask fits on the face, as well as how easy or difficult it is to breathe through the mask. Some of our more specialty tests involve how well the mask resists fluids hitting the surface, so if they’re used in a surgical environment, as well we have to measure the flammability of the mask because it is an article of clothing.

(Scene of mask testing)

(MARTIN PETRAK) We started to learn more about additive manufacturing and 3-D printing.

(Various scenes of medical devices, technicians using equipment and device testing)

(MARTIN PETRAK - voiceover) And we started very much learning that 3-D printing could be used as a tool to manufacture medical devices in a customized, patient-specific format. We started developing some intellectual property around the materials, and the testing of those materials, and there was a natural progression for us to then look at how do we commercialize additive manufacturing in a much greater extent. And that’s where WD came in again and helped us create a new capability by providing support towards a hub for actually medical and aerospace manufacturing using metal 3-D printing. And at that point in time, there was a natural creation to actually start up a new company, and that company was called Precision ADM.

(MARTIN PETRAK)

So actually Precision ADM was a by-product of the Orthopaedic Innovation Centre testing capabilities to a manufacturing state, where now we could test and manufacture products in Manitoba, for the first time in the country.

 

(Various scenes of medical equipment and device testing)

(MARTIN PETRAK) I think it’s important for people to understand how important WD and other partners were to the growth of the Orthopaedic Innovation Centre. They helped us grow not only within our own company, but start up other companies. We were able to, through this establishment of other companies and other organizations, generate 150 jobs, create millions of dollars of research and development, and then millions of dollars of commercial value in Manitoba and Western Canada.

(WD wordmark)

(Canada wordmark)

[Music stops]

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Mise à l'essai de produits médicaux comme les masques respiratoires N-95 pour lutter contre la COVID-19

Success Story Info

  • Organization: 

    Orthopaedic Innovation Centre (OIC)

  • Région:  Manitoba
  • Impact: 

    Une entreprise du Manitoba améliore ses services de test et devient un laboratoire accrédité à l’international pour des produits médicaux comme les masques N-95.

  • Projet: 

    Achat d'équipement d'essais par l'OIC

  • Catégorie:  Innovation
  • Date de l'histoire:  2021-05-12
Trevor Gascoyne, directeur des Opérations, Orthopaedic Innovation Centre à Winnipeg

Le gouvernement et l’industrie collaborent pour assurer la santé et la sécurité des Canadiens pendant la pandémie de COVID-19. Le travail de transformation de l’Orthopaedic Innovation Centre (OIC) de Winnipeg en est un exemple. L’OIC a vu le jour en 2010 sous la forme d’un partenariat entre le Concordia Joint Replacement Group, la Concordia Foundation, le gouvernement provincial du Manitoba et Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO). Precision ADM a été créée à partir du savoir-faire de l’OIC en tant que fabricant d’appareils médicaux et de produits aérospatiaux.

En réponse à la pandémie, Precision ADM s’est orientée vers la production d’équipement de protection individuelle (EPI) et d’autres produits médicaux dont le besoin était extrême. L’OIC a demandé à DEO de financer sa nouvelle division de mise à l’essai de produits d’EPI. Il a donc été en mesure de fournir des services essentiels de mise à l’essai à Precision ADM et à d’autres fabricants d’EPI de l’Ouest canadien dans le but de répondre à la demande canadienne. La collaboration étroite entre l’OIC et Precision ADM a permis de produire localement un volume élevé d’EPI et de produits de diagnostic et de les amener sur le marché canadien.

L’OIC insiste sur l’importance de DEO et d’autres partenaires dans la croissance de son entreprise et dans le démarrage d’autres entreprises du secteur de la biotechnologie. Le financement de DEO a contribué à la création de plus de 150 emplois, ce qui s’est traduit par des millions de dollars en recherche et développement et des millions de dollars en valeur commerciale au Manitoba et dans l’Ouest canadien.

Mise à l'essai de produits médicaux comme les masques respiratoires N-95 pour lutter contre la COVID-19 (Durée : 3:58 minutes)

Transcription : Mise à l'essai de produits médicaux comme les masques respiratoires N-95 pour lutter contre la COVID-19

[musique]

(Texte à l'écran : Tous les protocoles liés à la COVID-19 ont été respectés durant la réalisation de ce film.)

(Texte à l'écran : Orthopaedic Innovation Centre)

(Vue intérieure d'OIC Precision Labs)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE, DIRECTEUR DES OPÉRATIONS, ORTHOPAEDIC INNOVATION CENTRE INC.) OK, je suppose que je devrais vous regarder, vous, et non la caméra?

(Intervieweur – voix hors champ) Oui. (Rires)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) OK, parfait.

MARTIN PETRAK, PRÉSIDENT-DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL, ORTHOPAEDIC INNOVATION CENTRE INC.) 5, 6, 7, 8.

(INTERVIEWER - voix hors champ) OK, c'est bon.

(MARTIN PETRAK) C'est bon? OK.

(Vue extérieure d'OIC Precision Labs)

(MARTIN PETRAK) L'Orthopaedic Innovation Centre a été fondé en 2010 dans le cadre d'un partenariat entre le Concordia Joint Replacement Group, la Concordia Foundation et, à ce moment-là, le gouvernement du Manitoba et Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada.

(Image de dispositifs médicaux)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) Nous offrons trois principaux types de services.

(Diverses scènes de techniciens qui utilisent de l'équipement et qui testent des dispositifs)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voix hors champ) Le premier est notre service de recherche clinique, dans le cadre duquel nous travaillons avec des patients pour les faire participer à diverses études de recherche. Nous testons aussi des prothèses orthopédiques. Nous testons la durabilité de prothèses articulaires, de prothèses du genou et de la hanche et puis, plus récemment, grâce au soutien de DEO, nous avons commencé à tester de l'équipement de protection individuelle, ici dans notre laboratoire.

(Image d'équipement)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) Avec l'arrivée de la pandémie en mars dernier…

(Diverses scènes de techniciens et d'équipement utilisé pour les tests)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voix hors champ)Precision ADM a souhaité produire de l'EPI et d'autres produits médicaux qui étaient en très forte demande à cause de la pandémie, et il était tout à fait logique que l'Orthopaedic Innovation Centre puisse tester et évaluer les produits fabriqués par Precision ADM. Donc, grâce à l'étroite collaboration entre nos deux entreprises, nous avons pu commercialiser et produire localement un volume élevé de produits, ici au Canada, pour le marché canadien.

(Scène avec équipement et technicien)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE) Le principal test de l'EPI est d'évaluer son efficacité à filtrer l'air.

(Diverses scènes de tests d'EPI, d'équipement et de techniciens)

(TREVOR GASCOYNE - voix hors champ) Nous faisons ce qu'on appelle un test d'efficacité de filtration des particules. On crée un nuage de particules, on pulvérise ce nuage sur un masque et on mesure la capacité du masque à supprimer ces particules de l'air qu'on lui demande d'absorber. On fait aussi quelques autres tests complémentaires, pour évaluer l'ajustement du masque sur le visage, et la facilité ou la difficulté de respirer avec le masque. Certains de nos tests plus spécialisés consistent à évaluer la résistance du masque aux fluides qui frappent sa surface, par exemple s'il est utilisé en milieu opératoire, et nous devons aussi mesurer l'inflammabilité du masque, parce qu'il s'agit d'un vêtement.

(Scène d'un masque en train d'être testé)

(MARTIN PETRAK) Puis nous avons commencé à explorer la fabrication additive et l'impression 3D.

(Images de dispositifs médicaux et scènes de techniciens qui utilisent de l'équipement et qui testent des dispositifs)

(MARTIN PETRAK - voix hors champ) Et nous avons commencé à comprendre de plus en plus que l'impression 3D pouvait être utilisée comme outil pour fabriquer des dispositifs médicaux dans un format personnalisé adapté au patient. Nous avons commencé à développer de la propriété intellectuelle sur des matériaux, et sur les procédures pour tester ces matériaux, et cela nous a naturellement amenés à évaluer comment nous pourrions commercialiser beaucoup plus de produits issus de la fabrication additive. Et c'est là que DEO est de nouveau entré en scène et nous a aidés à créer une nouvelle capacité en nous donnant un soutien pour l'établissement d'un centre de fabrication médicale et aérospatiale à l'aide de l'impression 3D de métaux. À ce moment-là, l'évolution naturelle nous a amenés à créer une nouvelle entreprise, appelée Precision ADM.

(MARTIN PETRAK)

Precision ADM est en fait un produit dérivé des capacités de test de l'Orthopaedic Innovation Centre, sous forme de fabrication, et nous pouvons maintenant fabriquer et tester des produits au Manitoba, une première au pays.

 

(Diverses scènes d'équipement et de dispositifs médicaux en train d'être testés)

(MARTIN PETRAK) Je crois qu'il est essentiel que les gens comprennent à quel point DEO et d'autres partenaires ont joué un rôle important dans la croissance de l'Orthopaedic Innovation Centre. Ils nous ont aidés à croître non seulement dans notre propre entreprise, mais aussi en nous aidant à lancer d'autres entreprises. Nous avons pu, grâce à l'établissement d'autres entreprises et d'autres organisations, créer 150 emplois, des millions de dollars de recherche et développement et des millions de dollars de valeur commerciale au Manitoba et dans l'Ouest canadien.

(mot-symbole DEO)

(mot-symbole « Canada »)

[La musique s'arrête]

Date de modification :