Language selection

Raison d’être, mandate and role: who we are and what we do

Raison d’être

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1987 to promote the development and diversification of the economy of western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation.

The Minister of Economic Development and Official Languages is responsible for this organization.

Mandate and role

WD’s mandate, derived from the Western Economic Diversification Act, is to grow and diversify the western Canadian economy. This broad mandate allows WD to deliver a wide range of initiatives across the West, and make strategic investments to build on regional competitive advantages and help grow the western economy. WD also contributes to the Government of Canada’s Innovation and Skills Plan, other government-wide priorities, and ministerial mandate letter commitments.

WD has offices in each of the four western Canadian provinces and in Ottawa. Its western base enables the department to foster strong partnerships with business and community organizations, research and academic institutions, Indigenous Peoples, and provincial and municipal governments. These connections help WD reflect western perspectives in national decision-making.

WD supports western Canadian economic diversification and inclusive growth through investments under the Regional Economic Growth through Innovation (REGI) Initiative to fuel economic growth through innovation and create high quality personnel jobs. REGI has two program streams, the Business Scale-up and Productivity (BSP) stream, and the Regional Innovation Ecosystems (RIE) stream. The Business Scale-up and Productivity stream supports businesses seeking to accelerate their growth, scale-up, and be more productive and competitive in both domestic and global markets. The Regional Innovation Ecosystems stream aims to create, grow, and nurture inclusive regional ecosystems that support business needs throughout the innovation continuum.

WD will also continue to foster community economic development and diversification opportunities in western Canada through the Western Diversification Program (WDP).

In addition, WD supports the Western Canada Business Service Network (WCBSN), which is a network of over 100 independent organizations providing business services to foster inclusive sustainable growth of small businesses across the West. The WCBSN network includes the Canada Business Network, Community Futures program, Women's Enterprise Initiative, Francophone Economic Development Organizations, Indigenous Business Development Services program, and Entrepreneurs with Disabilities program.

Further, WD serves western Canadian stakeholders by delivering national initiatives on behalf of the federal government in western Canada. Some of these include:

For more general information about the department, see the “Supplementary information” section of this report.

For more information on the department’s organizational mandate letter commitments, see the Minister’s mandate letter.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Annexe D - Raison d’être, mandat et rôle : composition et responsabilités

Raison d’être

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a été fondé en 1987 afin de promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, et de faire valoir les intérêts de l’Ouest dans l’établissement et la mise en œuvre de politiques, de programmes et de projets économiques nationaux.

La ministre du Développement économique et des Langues officielles est responsable de l’organisation.

Mandat et rôle

Le mandat de DEO, tiré de la Loi sur la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, consiste à soutenir et à diversifier l’économie de l’Ouest canadien. Ce vaste mandat permet au Ministère de mettre en place toute une gamme d’initiatives dans l’Ouest canadien et d’effectuer des investissements stratégiques pour tirer profit d’avantages régionaux compétitifs et favoriser la croissance de l’économie de l’Ouest. DEO contribue également au Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences, du gouvernement du Canada, à d’autres priorités pangouvernementales aux lettres de mandat des ministres.

DEO possède des bureaux dans chacune des quatre provinces de l’Ouest canadien, et à Ottawa. Son assise dans l’Ouest permet au Ministère de favoriser de solides partenariats avec des organisations économiques et communautaires, des établissements de recherche et d’enseignement universitaire, des peuples autochtones ainsi que les provinces et les municipalités. Ces relations aident DEO à refléter les perspectives de l’Ouest dans le cadre de la prise de décisions nationales.

DEO appuie la diversification de l’économie et la croissance inclusive de l’Ouest canadien par des investissements dans le cadre du programme CERI afin de stimuler la croissance économique par l’innovation et de créer des emplois de haute qualité. Ce programme compte deux volets, soit le volet CPE et le volet EIR. Le volet CPE appuie les entreprises qui cherchent à accélérer leur croissance, à prendre de l’expansion et à augmenter leur productivité et leur compétitivité sur les marchés nationaux et mondiaux. Le volet EIR vise à créer, à faire croître et à entretenir des écosystèmes régionaux inclusifs qui répondent aux besoins des entreprises tout au long du cycle de l’innovation.

DEO continuera également de favoriser les occasions de développement et de diversification de l’économie dans les collectivités de l’Ouest canadien au moyen du PDEO.

DEO soutient également le RSEOC, lequel réunit plus de 100 organisations indépendantes qui fournissent une gamme de services commerciaux pour favoriser la croissance durable inclusive des petites entreprises de l’Ouest. Les membres du RSEOC comprennent le Réseau Entreprises Canada, le PDC, l’IFE, les OFVE, le programme du Réseau de services aux entreprises autochtones et le PAEI.

En outre, DEO assure des services aux intervenants de l’Ouest canadien par la mise en œuvre d’initiatives nationales au nom du gouvernement fédéral dans l’Ouest canadien. Quelques-unes de ces initiatives comprennent :

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements généraux sur le Ministère, veuillez consulter la section « Renseignements supplémentaires » du présent rapport.

Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les engagements organisationnels qui figurent dans la lettre de mandat du ministère, consulter la lettre de mandat de la ministre.

Date de modification :