Language selection

Canadian Seafood Stabilization Fund (CSSF) in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba

The focus of the CSSF in Western Canada is to protect the health and safety of workers at fish and seafood process facilities so that facilities can remain open and in operation and food supply is not jeopardized. Furthermore, the CSSF will support processors as they safely and efficiently increase plant capacity to process, store, and distribute seafood products. The program also aims to help fish and seafood processors adopt processes and new marketing tactics to suit changing consumer demands in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

On this page

Goals and objectives

In Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, the CSSF program will focus on the following priorities:

  1. worker health and safety: new equipment and activities that allow processors to address health and safety measures for workers
  2. plant operations: new equipment and activities that allow adaptation to product and packaging changes due to COVID-19
  3. market responsiveness: product development and/or adaptation, market development and market entry activities to respond to requirements and consumer demands (including viable transportation options)
  4. storage capacity: increased storage capacity to more effectively deal with raw material and manage inventory

Outcomes and expected results

The fund aligns with Western Economic Diversification Canada's (WD) core responsibility of economic development in Western Canada by supporting the economy and helping small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs). Specifically, the CSSF will aim to stabilize Western Canada’s seafood processing sector by helping to mitigate the impacts of the COVID-19 pandemic on the sector.

The fund will have 2 outcomes:

Eligibility criteria

Eligible applicants for the CSSF are for-profit and not-for-profit entities in the fish and seafood processing sector that meet the following criteria:

OR

Note: Financial assistance provided to not-for-profit entities (NFPs) will normally be non-repayable contributions. However, NFPs are required to demonstrate how they are supporting the fish and seafood processing industry as it relates to one or more of the eligible activities under the CSSF.

Program funding

Funding for priority 1 (under Goals and Objectives, above) is is non-repayable up to $100,000 and can cover up to 100% of eligible costs. Funding for priorities 2, 3 and 4 are repayable up to $500,000 and can cover up to 75% of eligible costs.

Funding structure and eligible activities

Funding available through the CSSF is structured into 2 types of contributions: non-repayable and repayable funding assistance.

Non-repayable financial assistance

Non-repayable financial assistance is available only for priority 1.

Priority 1 is worker health and safety: new equipment and activities that allow processors to address health and safety measures for workers in direct response to the COVID-19 pandemic.

To qualify for funding under this priority, funding requests must be targeted to equipment or products strictly required to meet health and safety requirements (and will not generate revenue for the business), or targeted to one-time investments in products and professional services to address worker health and safety due to COVID-19.

Eligible activities under priority 1 include:

Repayable financial assistance (unconditional)

Repayable financial assistance is available for priorities 2, 3 and 4.

Priority 2 is plant operations: new equipment and activities that allow adaptation to product and packaging changes due to COVID-19.

Eligible activities under priority 2 include:

Priority 3 is market responsiveness: product development and/or adaptation, market development and market entry activities to respond to requirements and consumer demands (including viable transportation options).

Eligible activities under priority 3 include:

Priority 4 is storage capacity: increased storage capacity to more effectively deal with raw material and excess inventory.

Eligible activities under priority 4 include:

Funding limits and cost sharing

Non-repayable financial assistance

For non-repayable projects, funding will be limited to a maximum of $100,000 per project. Up to 100% of the eligible project costs are eligible to be funded through the CSSF if the contribution is for costs related to incremental non-revenue generating, equipment/material associated with worker health and safety measures due to COVID-19. Up to 90% of total approved funds will be immediately advanced upon execution of contract; there will be a minimum of 10% held back to incent final reporting and survey response. Specific advance and holdback amounts will be determined based on the nature and timing of approved project activities.

Repayable financial assistance (unconditional)

For repayable projects, funding will be limited to a maximum of $500,000 per project. Up to 75% of the total eligible project costs can be shared with the applicant responsible for contributing the other 25%.

Stacking

Total stacking from all government sources, including federal, provincial, territorial and municipal shall not exceed 100%.

Eligible and ineligible costs

Eligible costs

All eligible costs are retroactive to and including the date of March 15, 2020, and must be completed by March 31, 2021.

Eligible costs are the costs directly related to the project that fall within the WD standard cost categories and respect all conditions and limitations set out in this guide and the contribution agreement if the project is approved.

While the program allows for retroactive activities and costs to be submitted, the applicant assumes the risk of not being reimbursed should:

Eligible costs include:

The costs must be eligible under the terms and conditions of the Regional Economic Growth through Innovation (REGI) program, and include those costs incurred by the recipient that are reasonable and necessary for carrying out eligible activities, and required by the firm or organization to maintain operations notwithstanding the impacts of COVID-19. Eligible costs will be retroactive to March 15, 2020.

Ineligible costs

Ineligible costs include:

Definitions

Definition for NAICS 3117 Seafood Product Preparation and Packaging: this industry group comprises establishments primarily engaged in canning seafood, including soup; smoking, salting and drying seafood; preparing fresh fish by removing heads, fins, scales, bones and entrails; shucking and packing fresh shellfish; processing marine fats and oils; and freezing seafood. Establishments known as floating factory ships, that are engaged in shipboard processing of seafood, are included.

Illustrative examples of activities under NAICS 3117 are:

How to apply

For clients in Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba, apply now by contacting us directly at one of our regional offices by calling 1-888-338-9378.

Footnote

* Travel is ineligible except for essential services, such as technicians needed for plant retrofits or adjustments.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

Fonds canadien pour la stabilisation des produits de la mer (FCSPM) en Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba

Le FCSPM dans l’Ouest canadien a pour objectif de protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs des installations de transformation du poisson et des fruits de mer afin que les installations puissent rester ouvertes et en activité et que l’approvisionnement alimentaire ne soit pas mis en péril. En outre, le FCSPM soutiendra les transformateurs dans leurs efforts pour augmenter de manière sûre et efficace la capacité des usines à traiter, à stocker et à distribuer les produits de la mer. Le programme vise également à aider les transformateurs de poissons et de fruits de mer à adopter des procédés et de nouvelles tactiques de marketing pour répondre aux demandes changeantes des consommateurs à la suite de la pandémie de COVID-19.

On this page

But et objectifs du programme

En Alberta, en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba, le programme du FCSPM se concentrera sur les priorités suivantes :

  1. Santé et sécurité des travailleurs : Nouveaux équipements et nouvelles activités qui permettent aux transformateurs d’aborder les mesures de santé et de sécurité pour les travailleurs;
  2. Exploitation des usines : Nouveaux équipements et nouvelles activités qui permettent de s’adapter aux changements de produits et d’emballages dus à la COVID-19;
  3. Réactivité du marché : Créer ou adopter des produits, des activités de développement du marché et d’entrée sur le marché pour répondre aux exigences et aux demandes des consommateurs (y compris des options de transport viables);
  4. Capacité de stockage : Augmentation de la capacité de stockage afin de traiter plus efficacement les matières premières et de gérer les stocks.

Résultats attendus

Le fonds s’aligne sur la responsabilité fondamentale de DEO en matière de développement économique dans l’Ouest canadien en soutenant l’économie et en aidant les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME). Plus précisément, le FCSPM visera à stabiliser le secteur de la transformation des produits de mer de l’Ouest canadien en aidant à atténuer les répercussions de la pandémie de COVID-19 sur le secteur.

Le fonds aura deux résultats :

Admissibilité

Les demandeurs admissibles au Fonds canadien pour la stabilisation des produits de la mer sont des entités à but lucratif et non lucratif du secteur de la transformation du poisson et des fruits de mer qui répondent aux critères suivants :

OU

Note : L'aide financière fournie aux entités sans but lucratif sera normalement une contribution non remboursable; toutefois, les entités sans but lucratif doivent démontrer comment elles soutiennent l'industrie de la transformation du poisson et des fruits de mer en ce qui concerne une ou plusieurs des activités admissibles dans le cadre du FCSPM.

Modèle de financement du programme

Le financement relatif à la priorité 1 (sous la rubrique But et objectifs du programme, ci-dessus) est non remboursable jusqu’à 100 000 $ et peut couvrir jusqu’à 100 % des coûts admissibles. Le financement relatif aux priorités 2, 3 et 4 est remboursable jusqu’à 500 000 $ et peut couvrir jusqu’à 75 % des coûts admissibles.

Structure de financement et activités admissibles

Le financement disponible dans le cadre du Fonds canadien pour la stabilisation des produits de la mer est structuré en deux types de contributions : une aide financière non remboursable et une aide financière remboursable.

Aide financière non remboursable

L'aide financière non remboursable n'est disponible que pour la priorité 1.

Priorité 1 – Santé et sécurité des travailleurs : Nouveaux équipements et nouvelles activités qui permettent aux transformateurs de prendre des mesures de santé et de sécurité pour les travailleurs en réponse directe à la pandémie de COVID-19.

Pour qu’un demandeur soit admissible à un financement au titre de cette priorité, le financement doit être ciblé sur l’équipement ou les produits strictement nécessaires pour répondre aux exigences en matière de santé et de sécurité (et ne générera pas de revenus pour l’entreprise), ou ciblé sur des investissements ponctuels dans des produits et des services professionnels visant à traiter la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs en raison de la COVID-19.

Les activités admissibles au titre de la priorité 1 comprennent les suivantes :

Aide financière remboursable (inconditionnelle)

Une aide financière remboursable est disponible pour les priorités 2, 3 et 4.

Priorité 2 – Exploitation des usines : Nouveaux équipements et nouvelles activités permettant l'adaptation aux changements de produits et d'emballages dus à la COVID-19.

Les activités admissibles au titre de la priorité 2 comprennent les suivantes :

Priorité 3 – Réactivité du marché : Créer ou adopter des produits, des activités de développement du marché et d'entrée sur le marché pour répondre aux exigences et aux demandes des consommateurs (y compris des options de transport viables).

Les activités admissibles au titre de la priorité 3 comprennent les suivantes :

Priorité 4 – Capacité de stockage : Augmentation de la capacité de stockage afin de traiter plus efficacement les matières premières et les stocks excédentaires.

Les activités admissibles au titre de la priorité 4 comprennent les suivantes :

Limites de financement et partage des coûts

Aide financière non remboursable

Pour ce qui est des projets non remboursables, le financement sera limité à un maximum de 100 000 $ par projet. Jusqu’à 100 % des coûts admissibles du projet peuvent être financés par le FCSPM, à condition que la contribution concerne les coûts liés aux mesures supplémentaires non génératrices de revenus, à l’équipement et au matériel associés aux mesures de santé et de sécurité des travailleurs en raison de la COVID-19. Jusqu’à 90 % du total des fonds approuvés seront immédiatement avancés lors de l’exécution du contrat; un minimum de 10 % sera retenu pour inciter à la déclaration finale et à la réponse à l’enquête. Les montants précis des avances et des retenues seront déterminés en fonction de la nature et du calendrier des activités du projet approuvé.

Aide financière remboursable (inconditionnelle)

Dans le cas des projets remboursables, le financement sera limité à un maximum de 500 000 $ par projet. Jusqu’à 75 % du coût total du projet admissible peuvent être partagés avec le demandeur responsable de la contribution des 25 % restants.

Cumul de financement

Le cumul total de toutes les sources gouvernementales, y compris fédérales, provinciales, territoriales et municipales, ne doit pas dépasser 100 %.

Coûts admissibles et non admissibles

Coûts admissibles

Tous les coûts admissibles sont rétroactifs au 15 mars 2020 inclusivement et doivent être engagés au plus tard le 31 mars 2021.

Les coûts admissibles sont les coûts directement liés au projet qui entrent dans les catégories de coûts standard de DEO et qui respectent toutes les conditions et limites énoncées dans le présent guide et dans l’accord de contribution si le projet est approuvé.
Bien que le programme permette de soumettre des activités et des coûts rétroactifs, le demandeur assume le risque de ne pas être remboursé si :

Les coûts admissibles comprennent :

Les coûts doivent être admissibles selon les conditions du programme Croissance économique régionale par l’innovation (CERI) et inclure les coûts encourus par le bénéficiaire et qui sont raisonnables et nécessaires à la réalisation des activités admissibles, et requis par l’entreprise ou l’organisation pour maintenir ses activités nonobstant les impacts de la COVID-19. Les coûts admissibles seront rétroactifs au 15 mars 2020.

Coûts non admissibles

Les coûts non admissibles comprennent :

Definitions

Définition du SCIAN 3117 Préparation et conditionnement de poissons et de fruits de mer : ce groupe comprend les établissements dont l'activité principale est la mise en conserve du poisson et des fruits de mer, y compris les soupes; le fumage, le salage et le séchage du poisson et des fruits de mer; la préparation du poisson frais par l'enlèvement des têtes, des nageoires, des écailles, des arêtes et des entrailles; le décoquillage et le conditionnement des crustacés et des coquillages frais; la transformation des graisses et des huiles d'animaux marins; la congélation du poisson et des fruits de mer. Sont inclus les établissements connus appelés « usines flottantes » qui transforment à leur bord le poisson et les fruits de mer.

Voici des exemples d'activités relevant du SCIAN 3117 :

Comment présenter une demande

Pour ce qui est des clients de l’Alberta, de la Saskatchewan et du Manitoba, veuillez communiquer directement avec l’un de nos bureaux régionaux en composant le 1-888-338-9378.

Note de bas de page

* Les déplacements ne sont pas admissibles, sauf dans le cas de services essentiels, tels que les techniciens nécessaires à la modernisation ou à l'adaptation des usines.

Date de modification :