Language selection

COVID-19: WD support for western Canadian businesses

Payments to government for repayable contributions are being deferred until July 1. Details below.

If you are a COVID-19 affected business, find out if you are eligible for a 75% wage subsidy.

On this page

The COVID-19 pandemic has created economic challenges around the world, with real consequences in the lives of Canadian families and businesses. The Government of Canada is working hard on many fronts to help employers and employees through the pandemic period. As a trusted federal government partner, Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is taking action to support western Canadian small- and medium-sized businesses. Support and programs listed on this page will be updated as details become available.

Support from WD

If your small- or medium-sized business or organization is affected by the sudden shifts in the economy and needs pressing assistance, WD can assist you with:

If your small- or medium-sized business or organization has received WD funding and COVID-19 is affecting your operations, you may be eligible to receive additional funding and/or flexible arrangements. Please contact your local WD office if:

Support from the Government of Canada

The Government of Canada is taking action to support western Canadian small- and medium-sized businesses. Information on financial and economic support is available below and will be updated as details become available.

Temporary wage subsidy for employers

The Government of Canada announced a temporary wage subsidy for employers for a period of 3 months. The subsidy will cover up to 75% on the first $58,700 that an employee earns (or up to $847/week). The wage subsidy will be available retroactively to March 15, 2020.

You can learn more about the Canada Emergency Wage Subsidy, and how to apply for it, through Finance Canada.

Canada Emergency Response Benefit

The Canada Emergency Response Benefit provides temporary income support to workers who have stopped working and are without employment or self-employment income for reasons related to COVID-19.

You can learn more about the Canada Emergency Response Benefit Subsidy, and how to apply for it, through the Canada Revenue Agency.

Federal Business Taxes

The Government has extended income tax filing and payment dates for individuals, corporations and trusts for amounts that become owing on or after March 18, 2020 and before September 2020.

Details are available from the Canada Revenue Agency.

Access to Credit

Through the Business Credit Availability Program (BCAP), Export Development Canada (EDC) and the Business Development Bank of Canada (BDC) will provide more than $65 billion in direct lending and other types of financial support at market rates to businesses with viable business models whose access to financing would otherwise be restricted. By working in close cooperation with financial institutions, this program will fill gaps in market access and leverage additional lending by private sector institutions.

Details are available from Export Development Canada.

If you are interested in exploring financing opportunities for your business through the BCAP, please contact your financial institution directly and it will contact BDC and EDC where appropriate. BDC and EDC can also be contacted at the email addresses below:

Farm Credit Canada (FCC)

To ensure producers, agribusinesses, and food processors can remain focused on business-critical functions rather than worrying about how to access funds to keep operating through this challenging period, effective immediately, FCC has put in place:

How Your Business Can Help

If you are a Canadian manufacturer or business that can assist Canada in meeting the need for medical supplies, your help is needed.

The Plan to Mobilize Industry to fight COVID-19 directly supports businesses to rapidly scale up production or re-tool their manufacturing lines to develop products made in Canada that will help in the fight against COVID-19.

The National Research Council has been tasked by the Government of Canada to work with Canadian industry to address a range of medium-term Public Health Agency of Canada and Health Canada needs, including personal protective equipment, sanitization, diagnostic and testing, therapeutics and disease tracking technology.

Additional Resources

Support available in Canada’s western provinces:

Contact WD:

General enquiries

Western Economic Diversification Canada
Suite 1500, 9700 Jasper Ave
Edmonton, AB  T5J 4H7

 

Toll Free: 1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Telephone: 780-495-4164
Fax: 780-495-4557
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
Email: WD.contactus-contactez-nous.DEO@canada.ca

Visit canada.ca/coronavirus for the latest information.

Date modified:

Sélection de la langue

Recherche

COVID-19 : Soutien de DEO aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien

Les paiements au gouvernement pour les contributions remboursables sont reportés au 1er juillet. Détails ci-dessous.

Si votre entreprise est touchée par la COVID-19, vérifiez si vous pouvez bénéficier d’une subvention salariale de 75 %.

Sur cette page

La pandémie de COVID-19 a créé des défis économiques dans le monde entier, défis qui ont des conséquences réelles dans la vie des familles et des entreprises canadiennes. Le gouvernement du Canada travaille dur sur de nombreux fronts pour aider les employeurs et les employés à traverser la période de pandémie. En tant que partenaire de confiance du gouvernement fédéral, Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) prend des mesures pour soutenir les petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien. Le soutien et les programmes énumérés sur cette page seront mis à jour au fur et à mesure que les détails seront disponibles.

Soutien de DEO

Si votre petite ou moyenne entreprise ou organisation est touchée par les changements soudains de l’économie et a besoin d’une aide urgente, DEO peut vous aider grâce aux moyens suivants :

Si votre petite ou moyenne entreprise ou organisation a reçu un financement de DEO et que la COVID-19 nuit à vos activités, vous pourriez avoir droit à un financement supplémentaire ou à des modalités flexibles. Veuillez communiquer avec votre bureau local de DEO si :

Soutien du gouvernement du Canada

Le gouvernement du Canada prend des mesures pour soutenir les petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien. Des renseignements sur le soutien financier et économique sont accessibles ci-dessous et seront mis à jour au fur et à mesure que les détails seront disponibles.

Subvention salariale temporaire pour les employeurs

Le gouvernement du Canada a annoncé une subvention salariale temporaire pour les employeurs pour une période de 3 mois. La subvention couvrira jusqu’à 75 % de la première tranche de 58 700 dollars gagnée par un employé (ou jusqu’à 847 dollars par semaine). La subvention salariale sera rétroactive jusqu’au 15 mars 2020.

Pour en savoir plus sur la subvention salariale d’urgence du Canada et sur la façon d’en faire la demande, consultez le site de Finances Canada.

Prestation d’intervention d’urgence du Canada

La prestation d’intervention d’urgence du Canada offre un soutien du revenu temporaire aux travailleurs qui ont cessé de travailler et qui sont sans revenu d’emploi ou de travail indépendant pour des raisons liées à la COVID-19.

Vous pouvez en savoir plus sur la subvention de la Prestation d’intervention d’urgence du Canada et sur la façon d’en faire la demande auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Impôts fédéraux sur les entreprises

Le gouvernement a prolongé les dates de déclaration et de paiement de l’impôt sur le revenu pour les particuliers, les sociétés et les fiducies pour les montants qui deviennent exigibles à compter du 18 mars 2020 et avant septembre 2020.

Des détails sont disponibles auprès de l’Agence du revenu du Canada.

Accès au crédit

Dans le cadre du Programme de crédit aux entreprises (PCE), Exportation et développement Canada (EDC) et la Banque de développement du Canada (BDC) fourniront plus de 65 milliards de dollars en prêts directs et autres types de soutien financier aux taux du marché aux entreprises ayant des modèles commerciaux viables et dont l’accès au financement serait autrement limité. En travaillant en étroite collaboration avec les institutions financières, ce programme permettra de combler les lacunes en matière d’accès au marché et de susciter des prêts supplémentaires de la part d’institutions du secteur privé.

Les détails sont disponibles auprès d’Exportation et développement Canada.

Si vous désirez explorer les possibilités de financement pour votre entreprise dans le cadre du PCE, veuillez communiquer directement avec votre institution financière, qui communiquera avec la BDC et EDC, le cas échéant. Vous pouvez également communiquer avec la BDC et EDC aux adresses électroniques ci-dessous :

Financement agricole Canada (FAC)

FAC a mis en place un système qui permet aux producteurs, aux entreprises agroalimentaires et aux transformateurs d’aliments de se concentrer sur les fonctions essentielles à leur activité plutôt que de s’inquiéter de l’accès aux fonds nécessaires pour continuer à fonctionner pendant cette période difficile, en vigueur immédiatement :

Ce que peut faire votre entreprise pour aider

Si vous êtes un fabricant ou une entreprise canadienne qui peut aider le Canada à répondre aux besoins en fournitures médicales, votre aide est nécessaire.

Le Plan canadien de mobilisation du secteur industriel pour lutter contre la COVID-19 aide directement les entreprises à augmenter rapidement leur capacité de production ou à obtenir les outils nécessaires aux chaînes de production pour concevoir des produits faits au Canada qui aideront à lutter contre la COVID-19.

Le gouvernement du Canada a mandaté le Conseil national de recherches du Canada pour travailler avec l’industrie canadienne afin de répondre à des besoins à moyen terme de l’Agence de la santé publique du Canada et de Santé Canada, notamment en ce qui concerne l’équipement de protection individuelle, la désinfection, les diagnostics et les tests, les produits thérapeutiques et la technologie de suivi de l’évolution des maladies.

Ressources supplémentaires (en anglais seulement)

Aide disponible dans les provinces de l’Ouest canadien :

Communiquez avec Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada :

Renseignements généraux

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
9700, avenue Jasper, bureau 1500
Edmonton (Alberta) T5J 4H7

Numéro sans frais : 1-888-338-9378
Téléphone : 780-495-4164
Télécopieur : 780-495-4557
Téléimprimeur (ATS) : 1-877-303-3388
Courriel : WD.contactus-contactez-nous.DEO@canada.ca

Consultez le site Canada.ca/le-coronavirus pour obtenir les plus récents renseignements.

Date de modification :