Language selection

Search

Communities

Communities: "Connected to Innovation and Growth"

Communities"Connected to Innovation and Growth"

 

In the last census, eight of the ten fastest growing Canadian municipalities were in the West. A combination of beautiful natural landscapes and opportunity make the West an appealing place to live, work, and play. Businesses, workers, and their families are looking for vibrant communities.

Modern infrastructure and services are needed in rapidly growing cities and communities across the West. Major cities are attracting new residents and businesses, but are dealing with mounting pressures related to affordable housing, public transit, local services, and environmental challenges. Mid-sized cities such as Kelowna, Lethbridge, and Brandon are also growing. They are proving how innovation can happen outside of larger centres, by offering comparable amenities and services.

Many small centres are dealing with diverse challenges and new opportunities are emerging. They often lack the resources to adapt to new economic realities. For instance, agricultural communities on the prairies stand to benefit from growing global demand for plant-based proteins and food products. At the same time, larger farming operations are struggling to attract workers.

Indigenous communities face unique barriers to education and jobs, resulting in lower high school graduation and higher unemployment than the non-Indigenous population. Sixteen First Nation communities in western Canada are dealing with long-term drinking water advisories due to inadequate treatment infrastructure.

Mobility is key. Often, those living in rural areas have to travel far distances or relocate to access quality education, health, and other services. Transportation barriers such as a lack of transit or driver training and testing options can make it difficult to get to school or work.

New solutions are required in urban and rural communities to ensure they continue to prosper.

Build Resilience and Liveability

Western Canadians are known for pioneering solutions that overcome geographic challenges and harsh environments. However, rapid population growth and accelerated climate change are straining current infrastructure. Improving the effectiveness of our public services and supports requires cooperation and investment from government, industry, and communities.

Many rural communities are vulnerable to the destabilizing effects of economic transition. The loss of a core industry can make it difficult to retain young workers and draw new residents. This is leading to an aging population and stagnant economy in some communities.

Natural disasters are increasing in frequency and intensity. Over the last decade, western Canada has experienced more natural disasters than any other region. Three of the most expensive disasters in Canadian history occurred in the West. Insured losses from wildfires in Fort McMurray and Slave Lake, as well as major flooding in Calgary reached $6.4 billion. Innovative approaches to planning and development are needed to mitigate the increased risk of natural disasters.

 

Western Canadians want to live in communities well positioned to adapt and capitalize on economic opportunities.

 

The Government of Canada's Disaster Mitigation and Adaptation Fund provides funding for infrastructure projects that better manage the risks of natural disasters. In addition, Budget 2019 announced $259 million to support increased resiliency and emergency management for communities on-reserve. Provinces are also taking action, such as Alberta's Community Resilience Program that builds supports against floods and droughts.

Housing is essential for peoples' well-being. A permanent address is often needed to secure employment. Over the next decade Canada's National Housing Strategy will invest over $55 billion to build stronger communities and help Canadians across the country access a safe, affordable home.

Budget 2019 announced further investments of nearly $740 million to upgrade water systems and operator training for Indigenous communities to eliminate long-term drinking advisories. In addition, a transfer of $2.2 billion through the federal Gas Tax Fund will support municipal infrastructure projects.

Substantial investments by federal, provincial, and municipal governments are increasing the speed, capacity, and proximity of public transit services. Expansion projects in major cities, such as Vancouver's Evergreen Line, Edmonton's Valley Line, and Winnipeg's Southwest Rapid Transit are improving affordable transportation and reducing traffic congestion.

Tourism is an important driver of economic growth and job creation in western Canadian communities. Canada's Creating Middle Class Jobs: A Federal Tourism Growth Strategy is empowering communities, from small to big, to grow their visitor economy. The $58.5 million Canadian Experiences Fund will help communities create, improve or enhance tourism products, facilities, and experiences.

 

The West is growing and so is the need. We must work together to:

 

Communities

Keep Pace in Growing Urban Centres
Government coordination is required to provide affordable housing and public transportation.

Communities

Support Communities in Transition
Communities experiencing economic shocks require investment and industry partners to spur new growth. Satellite university and college campuses, local research centres, manufacturing operations, and tourist attractions can bring prosperity back to those communities.

Communities

Partner with Indigenous Communities and Organizations
Governments need to work alongside Indigenous communities to build secure and affordable housing, high quality schools, and reliable water treatment systems. Industry should actively pursue Indigenous partners to mutually benefit from shared expertise.

Communities

Strengthen Rural Communities
Governments should work with communities to retain youth and attract immigrants to pursue local opportunities. Transportation solutions are also needed to improve mobility and access to services.

Communities

Build Resilience to Natural Disasters
Municipalities should work with other levels of government and insurers to invest in risk assessment, hazard reduction, and green infrastructure.

Communities

Protect Arable Land
Protect arable land. The effects of climate change threaten the future of agricultural communities and food production across the prairies. Governments and industry need to invest in sustainable water and soil management.


Community Resilience in Northern Manitoba

 

Grow West Spotlight

Community Resilience in Northern Manitoba

Reliable transportation infrastructure is essential to growing our economy and ensuring our quality of life. For many remote and rural communities, it serves as a critical lifeline. Air, rail, and sea are the only methods of transportation for significant portions of northern Manitoba, including the Town of Churchill and surrounding communities.

Read this story

In 2016, the Port of Churchill shut down. The following year, catastrophic flooding closed sections of the region's main rail line. Communities in the northern half of the province had relied on these transportation links for more than 80 years. Jobs were lost. Residents and businesses faced far steeper costs for shipping and travel. New solutions were needed.

To support communities through this difficult time, a two-pronged approach was taken. First, the Churchill and Region Economic Development (CRED) Program was established to spark immediate economic development opportunities across the region. To date, over 60 CRED projects have supported skills training, employment, business, and food security initiatives in Churchill, Thompson, The Pas, and other northern Manitoba communities.

Second, the Arctic Gateway Group (AGG) partnership was formed to fix the rail line and return service to the communities. AGG is a new ownership model that includes over 30 First Nations and communities in the region, AGT Food and Ingredients, and Fairfax Financial Holdings.

AGG's hard work restored rail service before the onset of winter 2018 to get goods and people moving. To continue repairing the rail line and revitalizing the Port of Churchill, AGG has hired over 200 employees from electricians, to heavy equipment operators, to maintenance workers.

All of these activities anchor the future for the communities of northern Manitoba and for Canada's Arctic interests. From disaster, the communities joined together to create new opportunity.

"BOLD INVESTMENTS INTO MUCH NEEDED INFRASTRUCTURE WILL CREATE LONG-TERM SOCIOECONOMIC GROWTH FOR THE NORTH. WE SEE IMMEDIATE OPPORTUNITIES TO SUPPORT THE SUCCESS AND GROWTH OF THE BUSINESS, CREATING OPPORTUNITIES FOR OCN AND FOR ALL OF OUR PARTNERS IN NORTHERN MANITOBA."

Onekanew (Chief) Christian Sinclair,
Opaskwayak Cree Nation

Enhance Digital Access

Connected technologies demand fast and reliable access to the internet. Computing power and fast networks enable scientific and industrial research. Access to these digital tools help people, businesses, and communities be more competitive.

Canada is lagging. For some digital services, we pay more and have slower speeds than many other countries. This limits the adoption of technologies that would improve our innovation and productivity.

In rural areas, the need is clear. For example, internet connection speeds in 98 per cent of households in rural Saskatchewan are too slow to support the online delivery of business, education, or health services.<.p>

 

Governments can work alongside internet service providers to improve the reach, performance, and affordability of internet connections.

 

Affordable, high-speed internet access in rural and remote communities is a priority for all levels of government and industry. Budget 2019 establishes a national connectivity target, where every Canadian home and business will have access to speeds of at least 50/10 Mbps within the next 10 years. Work is underway to address connectivity gaps through the Government of Canada's Connect to Innovate program, Canadian Radio-television and Telecommunications Commission's Broadband Fund, and Connecting British Columbia program, an initiative funded by the provincial government.

As well, the Government of Canada continues to make it easier to access its programs online. For example, Service Canada's Service Transformation is increasing digital self-serve options, such as Employment Insurance, Canada Pension Plan, and passport services.

 

To ensure communities have the digital infrastructure needed to participate in a technologically advancing economy, we must find new ways to:

 

Strengthen Innovation Ecosystems

Improve Broadband

Industry and governments need to work together to improve the availability of affordable, high-speed internet. Stronger connectivity will help all communities participate in the digital economy.

Support High-Growth Western Firms

Build Smart Communities

Municipalities need effective and secure data collection to reduce waste and traffic congestion, while also improving public services and safety.

Build Inclusive Technology Sectors

Deliver Effective Virtual Services

Governments should continue rolling out a full suite of digital services. Virtual access to business, education, and health care services reduces barriers faced by those in rural and remote communities.


Grow West spotlight

Leading the digital charge

Many rural communities are forced to deal with internet that is both slow and expensive. In 2013, the Olds Institute, a non-profit regional development agency, installed a fibre-optic network.

Read this story

Residents and businesses in Olds, Alberta, now have gigabit internet access that are competitive with conventional highspeed internet subscriptions in large cities. Prospective residents now see Olds' internet access as an asset. It has transformed the digital access of Olds College and businesses no longer talk of leaving due to connectivity constraints.

Next Steps

Date modified:

Language selection

Search

Collectivités

Collectivités : Connectées à l'innovation et à la croissance

Communities« Connectées à l'innovation et à la croissance »

 

Lors du dernier recensement, on a constaté que huit des dix municipalités canadiennes dont la croissance est la plus rapide sont situées dans l'Ouest. Une combinaison de magnifiques paysages naturels et de possibilités fait de l'Ouest un endroit attrayant où vivre, travailler et s'amuser. Les entreprises, les travailleurs ainsi que leurs familles recherchent des collectivités dynamiques.

Une infrastructure et des services modernes sont nécessaires dans les villes et les collectivités connaissant une croissance rapide partout dans l'Ouest. Les grandes villes attirent de nouveaux résidents et de nouvelles entreprises, mais elles doivent composer avec les tensions croissantes issues des défis liés aux logements abordables, aux transports en commun, aux services locaux et à l'environnement. Des villes de taille moyenne telles que Kelowna, Lethbridge et Brandon sont également en croissance. Elles démontrent de quelle façon l'innovation est possible à l'extérieur des grands centres, en offrant des commodités et des services comparables.

De nombreux petits centres doivent composer avec divers défis, et de nouvelles possibilités en découlent. Ils manquent souvent de ressources pour s'adapter aux nouvelles réalités économiques. Par exemple, les communautés agricoles des Prairies bénéficient de la demande mondiale croissante de protéines et de produits alimentaires végétaux. En même temps, des producteurs agricoles plus grands peinent à attirer les travailleurs.

Quant aux collectivités autochtones, elles font face à des obstacles uniques en ce qui a trait à l'éducation et à l'emploi, ce qui donne lieu à un taux d'obtention d'un diplôme d'études secondaires plus faible et à un taux de chômage plus élevé que ceux de la population non autochtone. On compte seize communautés des Premières Nations dans l'Ouest canadien pour lesquelles des avis d'ébullition de l'eau à long terme sont en vigueur en raison d'une infrastructure inadéquate pour le traitement de l'eau.

La clé est la mobilité. Souvent, les personnes vivant dans des milieux ruraux doivent se déplacer sur de longues distances ou déménager pour avoir accès à des services de qualité en matière d'éducation, de santé et d'autres services. Les obstacles liés au transport, comme le transport en commun ou les options de formation et d'évaluation des conducteurs peuvent faire en sorte qu'il est difficile de se rendre à l'école ou au travail.

Il est donc nécessaire de trouver de nouvelles solutions pour les collectivités rurales et urbaines, afin qu'elles continuent de prospérer.

Accroître la résilience et la qualité de vie

Les citoyens canadiens de l'Ouest sont reconnus pour l'élaboration de solutions novatrices qui permettent de surmonter les défis géographiques et liés aux environnements difficiles. Toutefois, une croissance rapide de la population et un changement climatique accéléré mettent à rude épreuve l'infrastructure actuelle. Le fait d'améliorer l'efficacité de nos soutiens et de nos services publics requiert la coopération et l'investissement du gouvernement, de l'industrie et des collectivités.

Bon nombre de collectivités rurales sont vulnérables aux effets déstabilisants de la transition économique. La perte d'une industrie de base peut rendre difficiles le maintien de jeunes travailleurs et l'attraction de nouveaux résidents. Cela donne lieu dans certaines collectivités à une population vieillissante et à une économie stagnante.

Par ailleurs, la fréquence et l'intensité des catastrophes naturelles sont de plus en plus importantes. Au cours de la dernière décennie, l'Ouest canadien a connu un plus grand nombre de catastrophes naturelles que toute autre région. D'ailleurs, trois des catastrophes les plus coûteuses de l'histoire du Canada sont survenues dans l'Ouest. Les sinistres assurés découlant des feux de forêt à Fort McMurray et à Slave Lake, ainsi qu'une inondation majeure à Calgary s'élevaient à 6,4 milliards de dollars. Par conséquent, des approches novatrices relatives à la planification et au développement sont nécessaires pour atténuer le risque accru de catastrophes naturelles.

 

Les canadiens de l'ouest souhaitent vivre dans des collectivités bien positionnées pour s'adapter aux possibilités économiques et en tirer profit.

 

Le Fonds d'atténuation et d'adaptation en matière de catastrophes du gouvernement du Canada fournit un financement pour les projets d'infrastructure qui permettent de mieux gérer les risques de catastrophes naturelles. De plus, dans le budget de 2019, on a annoncé un financement de 259 millions de dollars pour appuyer la résilience accrue et la gestion des urgences des collectivités situées dans les réserves. Les provinces prennent également des mesures, comme le programme de résilience communautaire de l'Alberta, lequel prévoit un soutien en cas d'inondation et de sécheresses.

Le logement est essentiel au bien-être des gens. Or, une adresse permanente est souvent nécessaire pour obtenir un emploi. Au cours de la prochaine décennie, on investira plus de 55 milliards de dollars dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale sur le logement du Canada, afin de bâtir des collectivités plus solides et d'aider les Canadiens dans l'ensemble du pays à accéder à un logement sécuritaire et abordable.

On a également annoncé dans le budget de 2019 d'autres investissements s'élevant à près de 740 millions de dollars pour la mise à niveau de réseaux hydrographiques et la formation d'opérateurs afin que les collectivités autochtones puissent éliminer les avis d'ébullition de l'eau à long terme. En outre, un transfert de 2,2 milliards de dollars dans le cadre du Fonds de la taxe sur l'essence permettra d'appuyer les projets d'infrastructure municipale.

Des investissements importants de la part des gouvernements fédéral, provinciaux et municipaux permettent d'augmenter la vitesse, la capacité et la proximité des services de transport en commun. Les projets d'agrandissement dans les grandes villes tels que la ligne Evergreen de Vancouver, la ligne Valley d'Edmonton et le Couloir de transport rapide sudouest de Winnipeg permettent d'améliorer le transport abordable et de réduire les embouteillages.

Le tourisme est un moteur important de la croissance économique et de la création d'emplois dans les collectivités de l'Ouest canadien. L'initiative du Canada Créer des emplois pour la classe moyenne : Une stratégie fédérale pour la croissance du tourisme aide les collectivités, des petites aux grandes, à faire croître leur économie touristique. Le Fonds pour les expériences canadiennes de 58,5 millions de dollars aidera les collectivités à créer et à améliorer les produits, les installations et les expériences touristiques.

 

L'Ouest est en croissance, de même que les besoins. nous devons collaborer aux fins suivantes :

Collectivités

Nous adapter aux centres urbains grandissants
La coordination du gouvernement est nécessaire pour assurer l'offre de logements abordables et du transport en commun.

Collectivités

Soutenir les collectivités en transition
Communities experiencing economic shocks require investment and industry partners to spur new growth. Satellite university and college campuses, local research centres, manufacturing operations, and tourist attractions can bring prosperity back to those communities.

Collectivités

Établir des partenariats avec les collectivités et les organisations autochtones
Les gouvernements doivent collaborer avec les collectivités autochtones pour construire des logements sécuritaires et abordables, de très bonnes écoles et des systèmes hydrographiques fiables. L'industrie devrait poursuivre de façon active les partenariats avec les peuples autochtones afin de bénéficier mutuellement du partage de l'expertise.

Collectivités

Renforcer les collectivités rurales
Les gouvernements devraient collaborer avec les collectivités dans le but de retenir les jeunes et d'attirer les immigrants pour qu'ils recherchent des possibilités à l'échelle locale. Des solutions en matière de transports sont en outre nécessaires pour améliorer la mobilité et l'accès aux services.

Collectivités

Accroître la résilience aux catastrophes naturelles
Les municipalités devraient collaborer avec d'autres ordres de gouvernement et des assureurs pour investir dans l'évaluation des risques, la réduction des dangers et l'infrastructure verte.

Collectivités

Protéger les terres arables
Les effets des changements climatiques constituent une menace pour l'avenir des communautés agricoles et la production d'aliments dans l'ensemble des Prairies. Les gouvernements et l'industrie doivent investir dans une gestion durable des eaux et des sols.


La résilience communautaire dans le nord du Manitoba

Image reproduite avec la permission d'Arctic Gateway Group

Pleins feux sur croissance de l'Ouest

La résilience communautaire dans le nord du Manitoba

Une infrastructure de transport fiable est essentielle pour assurer la croissance de notre économie ainsi que notre qualité de vie. Elle représente d'ailleurs une bouée de sauvetage pour de nombreuses collectivités éloignées et rurales. Les transports aériens, ferroviaires et maritimes sont les seuls moyens de transport dans de grandes parties du Nord du Manitoba, y compris la ville de Churchill et les collectivités avoisinantes.

Lisez cette histoire

En 2016, le port de Churchill a mis fin à ses activités. L'année suivante, des sections de la ligne ferroviaire principale ont dû être fermées en raison d'inondations catastrophiques. Les collectivités de la moitié nord de la province dépendaient de ces liaisons de transport depuis plus de 80 années. Des emplois ont également été perdus. Les résidents et les entreprises ont dû assumer des coûts beaucoup plus importants pour l'expédition et les déplacements. Par conséquent, de nouvelles solutions étaient nécessaires.

Afin de soutenir les collectivités alors qu'elles traversaient cette période difficile, on a eu recours à une approche à deux volets. D'abord, le Fonds de développement économique de Churchill et de la région a été mis sur pied afin de créer des possibilités immédiates sur le plan du développement économique. À ce jour, plus de 60 projets réalisés dans le cadre du Fonds de développement économique de Churchill et de la région ont permis d'appuyer la formation axée sur les compétences, l'emploi, les activités opérationnelles et les initiatives liées à la sécurité alimentaire à Churchill, à Thompson et à The Pas, ainsi que d'autres collectivités du Nord du Manitoba.

Ensuite, le partenariat avec Arctic Gateway Group (AGG) a été créé dans le but de réparer la ligne ferroviaire et de rétablir les services offerts aux collectivités. L'AGG est le nouveau modèle de propriété, lequel comprend plus de 30 Premières Nations et collectivités dans la région, AGT Food and Ingredients et Fairfax Financial Holdings.

Le travail assidu d'AGG a permis de rétablir le service ferroviaire avant le début de l'hiver 2018 pour assurer le déplacement des biens et des gens. Afin de poursuivre les réparations de la ligne ferroviaire et la revitalisation du port de Churchill, AGG a embauché plus de 200 employés, dont des électriciens, des opérateurs d'équipement lourd et du personnel d'entretien.

Toutes ces activités sont une source d'espoir pour l'avenir des collectivités nordiques du Manitoba et pour l'intérêt de l'Arctique canadien. Après avoir subi une catastrophe, les collectivités se sont réunies afin de créer de nouvelles possibilités.

« DES INVESTISSEMENTS AUDACIEUX DANS UNE INFRASTRUCTURE DONT NOUS AVONS TANT BESOIN SUSCITERONT UNE CROISSANCE ÉCONOMIQUE À LONG TERME DANS LE NORD. NOUS ENVISAGEONS DES SOLUTIONS IMMÉDIATES VISANT À APPUYER LE SUCCÈS ET LA CROISSANCE DE L'ENTREPRISE, CRÉANT AINSI DES POSSIBILITÉS POUR LA NATION DES CRIS D'OPASKWAYAK ET TOUS NOS PARTENAIRES DANS LE NORD DU MANITOBA. »

Christian Sinclair, chef, Onekanew
Nation des Cris d'Opaskwayak (OCN)

Améliorer l'accès numérique

Les technologies connectées nécessitent un accès rapide et fiable à Internet. La puissance de traitement et les réseaux rapides permettent la recherche scientifique et industrielle. L'accès à ces outils numériques aide les particuliers, les entreprises et les collectivités à être plus compétitifs.

Le Canada accuse un certain retard. Pour certains services numériques, nous payons plus pour des vitesses inférieures à celles de nombreux autres pays. Cela limite l'adoption de technologies qui pourraient stimuler notre innovation et notre productivité.

Dans les milieux ruraux, le besoin est clair. Par exemple, les vitesses de connexion Internet dans 98 p. 100 des ménages de la Saskatchewan rurale sont trop basses pour soutenir la prestation en ligne de services de commerce, d'éducation et de soins de santé.

 

les gouvernements peuvent travailler avec les fournisseurs de services internet pour améliorer l'étendue, la performance et l'abordabilité des connexions internet.

 

L'offre d'un accès Internet haute vitesse abordable dans les collectivités rurales et éloignées constitue une priorité pour l'ensemble des ordres de gouvernement et l'industrie. Le budget de 2019 établit une cible nationale de connectivité selon laquelle chaque foyer et entreprise du Canada aura un accès Internet à des vitesses d'au moins 50/10 mégabits/seconde d'ici dix ans. Des efforts sont déployés en vue de combler les lacunes en matière de connectivité par l'intermédiaire du programme Brancher pour innover du gouvernement du Canada et du régime de financement de la large bande du Conseil de la radiodiffusion et des télécommunications canadiennes.

De plus, le gouvernement du Canada continue de faciliter l'accès à ses programmes en ligne. Par exemple, la transformation du service opérée par Service Canada permet d'augmenter le nombre d'options libre-service numériques, notamment dans les cas de l'assurance-emploi, du Régime de pensions du Canada et des services de passeport.

 

Pour faire en sorte que les collectivités disposent de l'infrastructure numérique dont elles ont besoin pour participer à une économie avancée sur le plan technologique, nous devons trouver de nouveaux moyens pour faire ce qui suit :

 

Améliorer la bande large

Améliorer la bande large

L'industrie et les gouvernements doivent unir leurs efforts pour améliorer la disponibilité d'un service Internet haute vitesse abordable. Une connectivité renforcée aidera toutes les collectivités à participer à l'économie numérique.

Support High-Growth Western Firms

Développer des collectivités intelligentes

Les municipalités doivent recueillir des données de façon efficace et sécuritaire afin de réduire les déchets et les embouteillages, et ce, tout en améliorant les services et la sécurité publics.

Fournir des services virtuels efficaces

Fournir des services virtuels efficaces

Les gouvernements devraient continuer de mettre en place une série complète de services numériques. L'accès virtuel aux services de commerce, d'éducation et de soins de santé permet d'éliminer les obstacles auxquels se heurtent les résidents des collectivités rurales et éloignées.


 

Pleins feux sur croissance de l'Ouest

Mener la charge numérique

De nombreuses collectivités rurales sont obligées de composer avec un service Internet lent et dispendieux. En 2013, Olds Institute for Community and Regional Development, un organisme de développement régional à but non lucratif, a installé un réseau de fibres optiques et créé son propre fournisseur d'accès Internet, O-Net.

Lisez cette histoire

Les résidents et les entreprises d'Olds, en Alberta, bénéficient dorénavant d'un accès Internet à très grande capacité à des prix moins élevés que les abonnements Internet à haute vitesse conventionnels offerts dans les grands centres. Les résidents potentiels voient maintenant l'accès Internet d'Olds comme un atout. Ce nouveau service a transformé l'accès numérique de l'Olds College, et les entreprises n'ont plus l'intention de quitter la ville en raison de contraintes de connectivité.

Prochaines étapes

Date de modification :