Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Core Control Audit of Western Economic Diversification Canada

October 2014

Why this is Important

The Financial Administration Act designates deputy heads as accounting officers for their department or agency. As accounting officers, deputy heads are accountable for ensuring that resources are organized to deliver departmental objectives in compliance with government policy and procedures.

Core control audits provide deputy heads with assurance regarding the effectiveness of core controls over financial management in their respective organizations. By doing so, core control audits inform deputy heads of their organizations’ level of compliance with requirements contained in selected financial legislation, policies and directives.

This audit is provided in accordance with an agreement between the Regional Development Agencies, including Western Economic Diversification Canada, and the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada for the provision of internal audit services.

About Western Economic Diversification Canada

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1987 and mandated to promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation according to the Western Economic Diversification Act (1988). With offices in each of the western provinces and its headquarters in Edmonton, WD administers programs that advance innovation, business development and community economic development in rural and urban areas throughout the four western provinces.

In fiscal year 2012–13, WD implemented several measures in response to the Deficit Action Plan. WD reduced its internal service staff, centralized its finance and procurement functions, and modified the management of the grants and contributions programs from a risk-based process to a life-cycle method. Additionally, the internal audit function was transferred to the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada.

According to its 2012–13 Departmental Performance Report, WD had spending of approximately $183.7 million and human resources of 368 full-time equivalents during fiscal year 2012–13.

Core Control Audit Objective and Scope

The objective of this audit was to ensure that core controls over financial management1 within WD result in compliance with key requirements contained in the selected financial legislation, policies and directives.

The scope of this audit included financial transactions, records and processes conducted by the WD. Transactions were selected from January 1 to September 30, 2013. This audit scope was selected in order to test transactions that occurred during the implementation of WD’s new financial procedures. The audit examined a sample of transactions for each of the selected policies and directives. The Appendix provides a complete list of policies and directives included in the scope of the audit and the overall compliance in the areas tested.

Conformance With Professional Standards

This audit engagement conforms with the Internal Auditing Standards for the Government of Canada, as supported by the results of the quality assurance and improvement program.

Anthea English, CPA, CA
Assistant Comptroller General
Internal Audit Sector, Office of the Comptroller General of Canada

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Audit Findings and Conclusion

Testing of core controls within WD revealed full or partial compliance with the key requirements contained in 11 of the 16 policies, directives and corresponding legislation included in the scope. WD was not in compliance with the remaining 5 policies and directives tested.

Strong control was observed in the management of the delegation of financial authorities for disbursements. The delegation instrument was appropriate and current, and employees met the training requirements. WD also established a sound financial management governance structure.

Weaknesses were identified for the management of the three departmental cars, where a logbook was not always used to record usage on a daily basis. A tracking system to record maintenance, operating and repairs costs of the three cars was also missing. For the acquisition card program, some request forms and acknowledgment of responsibilities documents were not retained on file. With respect to contracting, the documentation on file was sometimes insufficient to support contracting decisions. Written justification was missing in some cases for competitive and non-competitive processes, where PWGSC standing offers for the services or goods were in place.

Weaknesses were observed for hospitality-related expenditures, where supporting justification for expenditures was not always documented. Furthermore, the requirements for proactive disclosure on the department’s website were not respected in some instances. For performance agreements and appraisals, documentation was not always signed and dated at the beginning of the performance period as well as at the end by the parties concerned. In the area of pay administration, departmental departure procedures were not always fully completed. For transfer payments, in some instances documentation to support the payment was not always on file.

Weaknesses were identified in expenditure initiation, where pre-approval was not always obtained. Account verification was not always properly exercised; proof of execution to corroborate expenditures was not always documented and was not always performed on a timely basis.


The Deputy Head of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) should ensure that:

  1. A vehicle logbook is used to record usage on a daily basis, and a fleet management information system is in place to track maintenance, operating and repair costs related to fleet management.
  2. Proper documentation is retained on file for acquisition cards to substantiate their issuance, approval, modification and conditions of use.
  3. Its contracting business process is improved, is consistently performed in compliance with the Treasury Board Contracting Policy, and relevant documentation is retained on file.
  4. Its travel business process is improved and consistently performed in accordance with the related directives.
  5. Documentation that supports hospitality events is retained on file.
  6. Designated senior-level Government of Canada hospitality expenses are appropriately coded for purposes of proactive disclosure on WD’s website.
  7. Performance agreements and appraisals are signed and dated by concerned parties.
  8. Employees’ departure forms are appropriately completed by applicable authorities.
  9. Supporting documentation is on file and in accordance with the terms and conditions of funding agreements.
  10. Expenditure initiation is properly documented and performed by an individual who has the appropriate delegated authority before expenses are incurred.
  11. Account verification is done by someone who has appropriate delegated authority, is supported by complete documentation, and is done on a timely basis.

Management Response

Management has accepted the audit findings and has developed an action plan to address the recommendations. It is expected that the management action plan will be fully implemented by May 2015.

The results of the audit and the Management Action Plan have been discussed with the Deputy Head of WD and with the Small Departments Audit Committee. The Office of the Comptroller General of Canada will follow up on the implementation of the Management Action Plan.


Appendix: Policies and Directives Tested

Policies and Directives Tested Compliance
Directive on Delegation of Financial Authorities for Disbursements Met
Policy on Financial Management Governance Met
Directive on Fleet Management: Light Duty Vehicles (re WD fleet)* Not met
Directive on Fleet Management: Light Duty Vehicles (re ARI fleet cards)* Partially met
Directive on Acquisition Cards Not met
Directive on Accountable Advances Partially met
Contracting Policy Not met
National Joint Council Travel Directive Partially met
Directive on the Management of Expenditures on Travel, Hospitality and Conferences Not met
Performance Pay Not met
Directive on Leave and Special Working Arrangements Partially met
Directive on Financial Management of Pay Administration Partially met
Term Employment Policy and Directive on Terms and Conditions of Employment (re casual employees) Partially met
Directive on Transfer Payments Partially met
Directive on Expenditure Initiation and Commitment Control Partially met
Directive on Account Verification Partially met

*The Directive on Fleet Management: Light Duty Vehicles was tested for the purchase of vehicles and the use of fleet cards.


Legend of Compliance Thresholds2
Met Greater than or equal to 98% compliance
Partially met Greater than or equal to 80% and less than 98% compliance
Not met Less than 80% compliance


[1] See the Appendix for a complete list of policies and directives included in the scope of this audit.

[2] Compliance thresholds for the transactions tested.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Audit des contrôles de base de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Octobre 2014


Importance de l'audit

Aux termes de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques, les administrateurs généraux agissent à titre d’administrateurs des comptes de leur ministère et organisme respectif. En leur qualité d’administrateur des comptes, les administrateurs généraux sont tenus de s’assurer que les ressources de l’organisation sont organisées de manière à atteindre les objectifs de l’organisation, et ce, conformément aux politiques et procédures du gouvernement.

L’audit des contrôles de base fournit aux administrateurs généraux l’assurance que les contrôles de base pour la gestion financière sont efficaces sur le plan organisationnel. Ainsi, les audits des contrôles de base permettent aux administrateurs généraux de connaître le niveau de conformité de leur organisation par rapport aux exigences prévues par certaines lois, politiques et directives financières.

L’audit est fournie conformément à une entente entre les Agences de développement régional, y inclus la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada, et le Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada pour la fourniture de services d’audit interne.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Créé en 1987, Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a pour mandat de favoriser le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, et de faire en sorte que l’on tienne compte des intérêts de l’Ouest dans le cadre de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre des politiques, des programmes et des projets économiques en vertu de la Loi sur la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (1988). Par le biais de ses bureaux établis dans chacune des provinces de l’Ouest et de son siège social situé à Edmonton, DEO administre des programmes qui favorisent l’innovation, le développement des entreprises et le développement économique communautaire dans les zones rurales et urbaines des quatre provinces de l’Ouest

Au cours de l’exercice 2012–2013, DEO a mis en œuvre plusieurs mesures en réponse au Plan d’action pour la réduction du déficit. DEO a réduit son personnel de service interne, centralisé ses fonctions de financement et d’approvisionnement, et modifié la gestion des programmes de subventions et de contributions, en passant d’un processus fondé sur le risque à une méthode axée sur le cycle de vie. En outre, la fonction d’audit interne a été transférée au Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada.

Selon le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement de 2012–2013, les dépenses de DEO ont totalisé environ 183,7 millions de dollars, et ses ressources humaines étaient constituées de 368 équivalents temps plein en 2012–2013.

Objectif et portée de l'audit des contrôles de base

L'objectif de cet audit était de s'assurer que les contrôles de base de la gestion financière 1 en place à DEO sont conformes aux exigences clés des dispositions en matière financière des lois, politiques et directives sélectionnées.

L’audit a porté sur des opérations financières, des dossiers et des processus de DEO. Les opérations ont été sélectionnées entre le 1er janvier et le 30 septembre 2013. Cette portée a été choisie afin de vérifier les opérations dans la foulée de la mise en œuvre de nouvelles méthodes financières au sein de DEO. Aux fins de l’audit, un échantillon d’opérations a été examiné pour chacune des politiques et directives sélectionnées. L’annexe contient une liste complète des politiques et directives incluses dans la portée de la vérification ainsi que la conformité globale pour les aspects vérifiés.

Conformité aux normes professionnelles

Cette mission d’audit a été réalisée conformément aux Normes relatives à la vérification interne au sein du gouvernement du Canada, étayées par les résultats du programme d’assurance et d’amélioration de la qualité.

Anthea English, CPA, CA
Contrôleur général adjoint
Secteur de la vérification interne, Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Constatations et conclusions de l'audit

L’audit des contrôles de base à DEO a révélé une conformité intégrale ou partielle aux exigences clés de 11 des 16 politiques, directives et lois connexes incluse dans la portée de l’audit. DEO n’a pas respecté les exigences essentielles énoncées dans les 5 autres politiques et directives vérifiées.

Un contrôle rigoureux a été observé au titre de la gestion de la délégation des pouvoirs financiers pour les dépenses. L’instrument de délégation était approprié et en cours, et les employés répondaient aux exigences de formation. DEO a aussi mis sur pied une solide structure de gouvernance de la gestion financière.

Des lacunes ont été identifiées au titre de la gestion des trois véhicules ministériels, où un journal de bord n’a pas toujours été utilisé pour enregistrer l’utilisation sur une base quotidienne. Il manquait un système de suivi des coûts d’entretien, de fonctionnement et de réparation des trois véhicules. En ce qui concerne le programme des cartes d’achat, certains formulaires de demande et déclarations de reconnaissance des responsabilités ne figuraient pas au dossier. Dans certains cas, la documentation au dossier ne permettait pas de justifier les décisions prises en matière de passation de marchés. Des processus concurrentiels et non concurrentiels ont été utilisés sans justification, alors qu’une offre à commandes pour les biens ou les services était déjà en place. En ce qui concerne les dépenses d’accueil, les documents justificatifs pour les dépenses n’ont pas toujours fournis. Par ailleurs, l’obligation relative à la divulgation proactive, sur le site Web du ministère, n’a pas été respectée dans certains cas. Pour les ententes de rendement et les évaluations, la documentation n’était pas toujours signée et datée par les parties concernées au début de la période ainsi que, à la fin. Pour ce qui est des opérations d’administration de la paye, les procédures ministérielles de départ n’ont pas toujours été menées entièrement comme elles auraient dû l’être. Pour les paiements de transfert, la documentation à l’appui des paiements ne figurait pas toujours au dossier.

Des lacunes ont aussi été constatées dans l’engagement des dépenses, l’approbation au préalable n’ayant pas toujours été obtenue. La vérification des comptes n’a pas toujours été réalisée comme il se doit; l’attestation d’exécution des travaux corroborant les dépenses n’a pas toujours été versée au dossier, et elle n’a pas toujours été effectuée en temps opportun.

Recommendations

L’administrateur général de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest (DEO) Canada doit veiller à garantir ce qui suit :

  1. Un journal de bord du véhicule est utilisé pour enregistrer l’utilisation sur une base quotidienne, et un système d’information de gestion du parc est en place pour le suivi des coûts d’entretien, de fonctionnement et de réparation liés à la gestion du parc.
  2. Une bonne documentation est conservée dans les dossiers pour les cartes d’achat à l’appui de leur émission, de leur approbation, de leur modification et de leurs conditions d’utilisation.
  3. Les processus opérationnels sont améliorés pour faire en sorte que les activités d’approvisionnement sont effectuées de manière uniforme et conformément à la Politique sur les marchés du Conseil du Trésor, et la documentation pertinente est conservée dans les dossiers.
  4. Son processus de voyage d’affaires est amélioré et respecte toujours les directives connexes.
  5. La documentation à l’appui des activités d’accueil est conservée dans les dossiers.
  6. Les frais des hauts fonctionnaires fédéraux désignés sont codées de façon appropriée à des fins de divulgation proactive sur le site Web de DEO.
  7. Les ententes de rendement et les évaluations sont signées et datées par les parties concernées.
  8. Les formulaires de départ des employés sont dûment remplis par les autorités concernées.
  9. Les documents justificatifs figurent au dossier et sont conformes aux modalités des ententes de financement.
  10. L’engagement des dépenses est étayé comme il se doit et il est effectué par une personne dûment autorisée préalablement à l’engagement des dépenses.
  11. La vérification des comptes est effectuée par une personne dûment autorisée et elle est réalisée en temps opportun et soutenue par une documentation complète.

Réponse de la direction

La direction a accepté les constatations de l’audit et a élaboré un plan d’action pour donner suite aux recommandations. Le plan d’action de la direction devrait être intégralement mis en œuvre d’ici mai 2015.

Les résultats de l’audit et le plan d’action de la direction ont fait l’objet de discussions avec l’administrateur général de DEO et le Comité de vérification des petits ministères. Le Bureau du contrôleur général du Canada assurera le suivi du plan d’action de la direction.

Annexe : Politiques et directives prises en compte aux fins de la vérification

Politiques et directives examinées Conformité
Directive sur la délégation des pouvoirs financiers pour les dépenses Respecté
Politique sur la gouvernance en matière de gestion financière Respecté
Directive sur la gestion du parc automobile : Véhicules légers (parc de DEO)* Non respecté
Directive sur la gestion du parc automobile : Véhicules légers (cartes ARI)* Respecté en partie
Directive sur les cartes d'achat Non respecté
Directive sur les avances comptables Respecté en partie
Politique sur les marchés Non respecté
Directive sur les voyages du Conseil national mixte Respecté en partie
Directive sur la gestion des dépenses de voyage, d'accueil et de conférences Non respecté
Rémunération au rendement Non respecté
Directive sur les congés et les modalités de travail spéciales Respecté en partie
Directive sur la gestion financière de l'administration de la paye Respecté en partie
Politique sur l'emploi pour une période déterminée et Directive sur les conditions d'emploi (employés occasionnels) Respecté en partie
Directive sur les paiements de transfert Respecté en partie
Directive sur l'engagement des dépenses et le contrôle des engagements Respecté en partie
Directive sur la vérification des comptes Respecté en partie

* La Directive sur la gestion du parc automobile : Véhicules légers a été appliquée à l’achat de véhicules et à l’utilisation de cartes de parc automobile.

 

Légende des seuils de conformité2
Respecté Conformité dans une proportion d'au moins 98 %
Respecté en partie Conformité dans une proportion d'au moins 80 % mais de moins de 98 %
Non respecté Conformité dans une proportion inférieure à 80 %

 


[1] Se reporter à l'annexe pour une liste complète des politiques et directives incluses dans la portée du présent audit.

[2] Seuils de conformité des opérations prises en compte aux fins de la vérification.