Language selection

Search

Trade

Trade: "Seize global opportunities"

Trade"Seize global opportunities"

Trade is vital for the western Canadian economy. In 2017, the West exported over $193 billion in goods and over $30 billion in services to other countries. Western provinces also exported $154 billion worth of goods and services to each other and the rest of Canada.

 

The West is well-positioned to take advantage of growing global opportunities. British Columbia is Canada's gateway to Asia's rapidly expanding markets. Our exporters benefit from the strongest set of free trade agreements in the G7, which cover 62 per cent of the world economy.

The region has a large trade surplus of goods, with our natural resource exports leading the way. Over 70 per cent of all western Canadian goods are bound for the US. Easy access to the world's largest economy helps our exporters, but in many cases holds them back from tackling other lucrative markets. Asia is one of the fastest growing regional economies, but accounts for only 19 per cent of western Canada's exports.

While there are great opportunities to grow our exports and expand into new markets, there are also significant challenges. The world is dealing with trade uncertainty and western Canada is not immune. Trade barriers are making it more complex and expensive to ship our products to both established and emerging markets. Tariffs and product regulations are impacting our agricultural, forestry, and manufacturing exports. Interprovincial trade, even within the West, can also be challenging for our companies.

Western Canada also needs to broaden the range of products and services that we export, with over 45 per cent currently linked to oil and gas. Western Canadian oil also trades at a significant discount, with our dependence on the US market and transportation bottlenecks costing our economy an estimated $80 million every day.

The federal and provincial governments are working on solutions for these trade issues. Western Canadians must also embrace these challenges and pursue growing global demand for our goods and services, such as energy, food, and materials. These sectors underpin our quality of life with high-paying jobs and growth opportunities for many western communities. However, we need to resolve transportation bottlenecks that are limiting export access and increasing costs. Our businesses need export-readiness and other targeted services to understand and tackle new markets.


Tapping into new Markets

 

Grow West Spotlight

Tapping into new markets

The Government's National Trade Corridors Fund (NTCF) funds infrastructure projects that reduce export bottlenecks and help Canadian businesses take advantage of new overseas markets. The NTCF provided $9.2 million to Ashcroft Terminal Ltd. in British Columbia to build a new rail link, extra rail track and an internal road network.

These new infrastructure projects will provide producers and shippers improved efficiency in the shipment of goods, support the movement and storage of rail cars to enhance fluidity through Canada's Pacific Gateway Trade Corridor, and ensure that rail and truck operations do not interfere with each other, thereby increasing safety.

Read this story

These new infrastructure projects will provide producers and shippers improved efficiency in the shipment of goods, support the movement and storage of rail cars to enhance fluidity through Canada's Pacific Gateway Trade Corridor, and ensure that rail and truck operations do not interfere with each other, thereby increasing safety.

Grow West spotlight

Improve export access

Western Canadian businesses need better ways to move their products and services to global markets. We need to upgrade and expand our transportation infrastructure, including major ports, rail systems, and pipelines. Current bottlenecks help explain why Canada has one of the slowest growing export sectors among OECD and G7 countries.

Read this story

To help address these challenges, the Government of Canada is accelerating funding for the $2.4 billion National Trade Corridors Fund. This will support many western transportation projects, including a number of improvements at the Port of Vancouver, as well as road and rail upgrades on the prairies.

The federal government's $4.5 billion purchase of, and renewed public consultations for, the Trans Mountain pipeline expansion project demonstrates commitment to western Canada's energy sector.

Western Canada's Top Exports

Oil & Gas
$96 Billion
Crops, Livestock, and Food
$35 Billion
Minerals and Metals
$26 Billion
Water & Paper
$20 Billion
Chemicals
$13 Billion

Source:Trade Data Online, merchandise exports, 2018. Groupings include related manufacturing

 

 

Western Canadians must continue to strengthen our transportation and trade infrastructure in order to

 

Trade

Get western energy to new markets. The West needs more pipelines and overseas routes to ship our oil, liquefied natural gas (LNG), and other energy products to Asia and the Gulf Coast. Innovative technology, updated regulations, and community engagement will help create safe and cost-efficient transportation options.

Trade

Reduce bottlenecks. Our agri-food, forestry, mining, and manufacturing sectors are also facing challenges shipping their goods. Governments and industry should invest in ports, rail, road, and air infrastructure, as well as improving logistics to move more western products to market.

Trade

Modernize trade infrastructure and plan for the future. Our governments, communities, industry, and trade partners need to work together to set trade and transportation priorities for the west. Together, we should tackle today’s infrastructure challenges, while also setting the stage for autonomous vehicles, rising digital trade, and changing world markets.

Grow markets

Improving western Canada’s trade infrastructure is only part of the solution. Western companies and producers can benefit from knowledge and relationships that help them start and grow their exports. Trade programs are being tailored to regional needs. At the same time, western Canadian businesses should explore more global opportunities.

Companies that export grow faster and are more profitable. However, only 12 percent of Canadian small and medium-sized businesses are exporters, and 87 percent of these export only to the US. We need to have truly global ambitions. This includes both tackling new markets and diversifying types of exports.

Since launching in 2016, CanExport has helped over 1,000 firms undertake more than 1,300 export development projects to more than 90 markets, resulting in over $375 million in new exports. As part of the Government of Canada’s new Export Diversification Strategy, the CanExport program will triple in size to help more firms tap into global demand for western products and services. There will also be more trade commissioners in western Canada, to help connect companies with specialized initiatives such as the Business Women in International Trade program, which led three trade missions involving over 125 women-owned firms and business support organizations in 2018.

More western Canadian companies need to start exporting and growing their global market share. We need to collaborate on solutions to:

 

Strengthen Innovation Ecosystems

Leverage Trade Agreements

Our businesses need to take full advantage of Canada's rising number of free trade pacts. They need stronger resources and industry initiatives to help them navigate and thrive in new markets. Canada's negotiation of new trade agreements should also promote western Canadian interests.

Support High-Growth Western Firms

Enhance Export Services

More western firms need to participate in programs that help them plan, launch, and grow their exports. Governments should tailor their trade services for western Canadians, including specialized programs that increase exports by underrepresented groups, such as women, youth, and immigrant-owned businesses.

Support High-Growth Western Firms

Improve our Knowledge of Global Markets

Western Canadian businesses need timely and accurate information to find opportunities and develop their exports. Governments need to strengthen their analysis of growing global demand for western products. Working with industry, they can also build on-the-ground contacts, suppliers, and intelligence to connect our firms to global buyers.

Build Inclusive Technology Sectors

Strengthen regional export collaboration and marketing

Governments and companies should better align their export efforts. More partnerships and better marketing to increase trade. Companies and sectors need to work together to set export targets and plan shared actions. We also need to reduce interprovincial barriers.

Next Steps

Date modified:

Language selection

Search

Commerce

Commerce : "Saisir des occasions à l'échelle mondiale"

Commerce« Saisir des occasions à l'échelle mondiale »

Le commerce est essentiel à l'économie de l'Ouest canadien. En 2017, plus de 193 milliards de dollars en biens et plus de 30 milliards de dollars en services ont été exportés de l'Ouest vers d'autres pays. Les provinces de l'Ouest ont également exporté des biens et des services dont la valeur s'élève à 154 milliards de dollars, d'une province à l'autre ainsi qu'au reste du Canada.

 

L'Ouest est bien positionné pour tirer profit des possibilités de croissance à l'échelle mondiale. De plus, la Colombie-Britannique est la porte d'entrée du Canada aux marchés en croissance rapide de l'Asie. Nos exportateurs bénéficient de l'ensemble le plus solide d'accords de libre-échange du G7, qui compte pour 62 p. 100 de l'économie mondiale.

La région possède un excédent commercial important de biens, dont nos exportations de ressources naturelles en tête. Plus de 70 p. 100 de tous les biens de l'Ouest canadien vont à destination des États-Unis. L'accès simple à la plus grande économie mondiale aide nos exportateurs, mais dans de nombreux cas, les empêche d'aborder d'autres marchés lucratifs. L'économie de l'Asie connaît l'une des plus fulgurantes croissances à l'échelle régionale, mais compte pour seulement 19 p. 100 des exportations de l'Ouest canadien.

Bien qu'il existe d'excellentes possibilités d'accroître nos exportations et de pénétrer de nouveaux marchés, d'importants défis se posent. Le monde doit composer avec l'incertitude entourant le commerce, et l'Ouest canadien n'est pas à l'abri. En raison des barrières commerciales, l'expédition de nos produits vers des marchés établis et émergents est plus complexe et coûteuse. Les tarifs et la réglementation des produits se répercutent sur nos exportations agricoles, forestières et de fabrication. Le commerce interprovincial, même dans l'Ouest, peut également représenter un défi pour nos entreprises.

Par ailleurs, il est nécessaire que l'Ouest canadien élargisse l'éventail de produits et de services exportés, parmi lesquels plus de 45 p. 100 sont liés à l'industrie pétrolière et gazière à l'heure actuelle. Les marchés de l'industrie pétrolière de l'Ouest canadien sont négociés à un prix considérablement moins cher, notre dépendance envers le marché des États-Unis et les goulots d'étranglement dans les transports coûtant à notre économie un montant estimatif de 80 millions de dollars quotidiennement.

Les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux s'emploient à trouver des solutions à ces problèmes commerciaux. Les Canadiens de l'Ouest doivent également tenir compte de ces défis et continuer de répondre à la demande mondiale croissante de nos biens et services, tels que l'énergie, les aliments et les matériaux. Ces secteurs sont à la base de notre qualité de vie, offrant des emplois bien rémunérés et des possibilités de croissance pour bon nombre de collectivités de l'Ouest. Nous devons toutefois résoudre les goulots d'étranglement dans les transports qui limitent l'accès à l'exportation et augmentent les coûts. Nos entreprises ont besoin de services de préparation à l'exportation et d'autres services ciblés pour comprendre et aborder de nouveaux marchés.


Tapping into new Markets

 

Pleins feux sur croissance de l'Ouest

Conquérir de nouveaux marchés

Le Fonds national des corridors commerciaux (FNCC) vise à financer des projets d'infrastructure qui permettent de réduire les problèmes liés à l'exportation et qui aident les entreprises canadiennes à tirer profit de nouveaux marchés étrangers.

Lisez cette histoire

Le FNCC a fourni 9,2 millions de dollars à l'entreprise Ashcroft Terminal Ltd. en Colombie- Britannique pour la construction d'une nouvelle liaison ferroviaire, de voies supplémentaires et d'un réseau routier interne. Ces nouveaux projets d'infrastructure assureront aux producteurs et aux expéditeurs une efficacité accrue quant à l'expédition de biens, ils appuieront le déplacement et l'entreposage des wagons afin d'améliorer la fluidité de la circulation dans le corridor commercial de la Porte canadienne du Pacifique, et ils feront en sorte que les activités ferroviaires et de camionnage n'interfèrent pas les unes avec les autres, accroissant ainsi la sécurité.

Améliorer l'accès à l'exportation

Les entreprises de l'Ouest canadien ont besoin de meilleurs moyens pour promouvoir leurs produits et services dans les marchés mondiaux. Par ailleurs, nous devons mettre à jour et élargir notre infrastructure de transport, y compris les principaux ports, systèmes ferroviaires et pipelines. Les goulots d'étranglement actuels permettent d'expliquer pourquoi le Canada possède l'un des secteurs d'exportation dont la croissance est la plus lente parmi les pays de l'Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques et du G7.

Lisez cette histoire

Pour aider à relever ces défis, le gouvernement du Canada accélère le financement du Fonds national des corridors commerciaux de 2,4 milliards de dollars. Cette mesure sera à l'appui de nombreux projets de transport de l'Ouest, notamment un certain nombre d'améliorations du port de Vancouver, ainsi que des mises à niveau routières et ferroviaires dans les Prairies.

L'achat par le gouvernement fédéral du projet d'agrandissement du réseau de pipelines Trans Mountain d'une valeur de 4,5 milliards de dollars ainsi que la reprise des consultations publiques à ce sujet démontrent son engagement envers le secteur de l'énergie de l'Ouest canadien.

Principales exportations de l'Ouest canadien

Ressources pétrolières et gazières
96 G$
Cultures, bétail et aliments
35 G$
Minéraux et métaux
26 G$
Bois et papier
20 G$
Produits chimiques
13 G$

Source : Données sur le commerce en direct, exportations de marchandises, 2018. Les groupes comprennent les produits transformés associés.

 

 

Les canadiens de l'ouest doivent continuer à renforcer notre infrastructure de transport et de commerce aux fins suivantes :

 

Commerce

Exploiter l'énergie de l'ouest dans de nouveaux marchés.L'Ouest a besoin d'un plus grand nombre de pipelines et de voies d'outre-mer pour expédier le pétrole, le gaz naturel liquéfié (GNL) et d'autres produits énergétiques en Asie et sur la côte du golfe du Mexique. Les technologies novatrices, la réglementation mise à jour et l'engagement communautaire permettront de créer des options de transports sécuritaires et rentables.

Commerce

Réduire les goulots d'étranglement. Nos secteurs agroalimentaires, forestiers, miniers et de fabrication font également face à des défis liés à l'expédition de leurs biens. Le gouvernement et l'industrie devraient investir dans l'infrastructure portuaire, ferroviaire, routière et aérienne, et améliorer la logistique afin de promouvoir un plus grand nombre de produits de l'Ouest sur le marché.

Commerce

Moderniser l'infrastructure du commerce et planifier l'avenir. Nos partenaires gouvernementaux, communautaires, industriels et commerciaux doivent collaborer dans le but d'établir des priorités en matière de commerce et de transport pour l'Ouest. Ensemble, nous devrions nous attaquer aux défis actuels liés à l'infrastructure, tout en pavant la voie pour les véhicules autonomes, le commerce numérique en hausse et les marchés mondiaux changeants.

Accroître les marchés

L'amélioration de l'infrastructure commerciale de l'Ouest canadien représente seulement une partie de la solution. Les entreprises et les producteurs de l'Ouest peuvent tirer profit des connaissances et des relations qui leur ont permis d'entreprendre et d'accroître leurs exportations. Les programmes commerciaux sont d'ailleurs adaptés aux besoins régionaux. De plus, les entreprises de l'Ouest canadien devraient étudier plus de possibilités à l'échelle mondiale.

Les entreprises réalisant des activités d'exportation croissent plus rapidement et sont plus rentables. Toutefois, seulement 12 p. 100 des petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes sont des exportateurs, dont 87 p. 100 exportent uniquement aux États-Unis. Nous devons avoir des ambitions concrètes à l'échelle mondiale. Cela comprend à la fois la conquête de nouveaux marchés et la diversification des types d'exportation.

Depuis son lancement en 2016, CanExport a aidé plus de 1 000 entreprises à entreprendre plus de 1 300 projets de développement des exportations dans plus de 90 marchés, se traduisant par plus de 375 millions de dollars en nouvelles exportations. Dans le cadre de la nouvelle stratégie de diversification des exportations du gouvernement du Canada, l'ampleur du programme de CanExport sera triplée, afin de permettre à un plus grand nombre d'entreprises de profiter de la demande mondiale relative aux produits et services de l'Ouest. Il y aura également un plus grand nombre de délégués commerciaux dans l'Ouest canadien, afin d'aider à mettre en relation des entreprises avec des initiatives spécialisées, telles que le programme Femmes d'affaires en commerce international, lequel a permis de diriger trois missions commerciales faisant intervenir plus de 125 entreprises appartenant à des femmes et organismes de soutien aux entreprises en 2018.

Un plus grand nombre d'entreprises de l'ouest canadien doivent commencer à exporter et à accroître leurs parts du marché mondial. nous devons collaborer pour trouver des solutions visant à réaliser ce qui suit :

 

Tirer profit des accords commerciaux

Tirer profit des accords commerciaux

Nos entreprises doivent profiter pleinement du nombre croissant d'accords de libre-échange du Canada. Elles ont besoin d'initiatives plus solides en matière de ressources et d'industrie pour les aider à explorer les nouveaux marchés et à prospérer au sein de ceux-ci. Les négociations du Canada quant à de nouveaux accords commerciaux devraient également promouvoir les intérêts des Canadiens de l'Ouest.

Améliorer les services d'exportation

Améliorer les services d'exportation

Un plus grand nombre d'entreprises de l'Ouest doivent participer à des programmes qui les aident à planifier, à lancer et à accroître leurs exportations. Les gouvernements devraient adapter leurs services commerciaux pour les Canadiens de l'Ouest, y compris les programmes spécialisés qui augmentent les exportations des groupes sous-représentés, comme les entreprises appartenant à des femmes, à des jeunes et à des immigrants.

Améliorer nos connaissances des marchés mondiaux

Améliorer nos connaissances des marchés mondiaux

Les entreprises de l'Ouest canadien ont besoin de renseignements exacts et en temps opportun pour être en mesure de trouver des possibilités et accroître leurs exportations. Les gouvernements doivent renforcer leur analyse de la demande mondiale croissante de produits de l'Ouest. En collaborant avec l'industrie, ils peuvent également établir des liens sur le terrain et avec des fournisseurs et recueillir des renseignements pour mettre en relation nos entreprises avec des acheteurs mondiaux.

Renforcer la collaboration et le commerce liés à l'exportation régionale

Renforcer la collaboration et le commerce liés à l'exportation régionale

Les gouvernements et les entreprises devraient mieux harmoniser leurs efforts d'exportation. Il devrait y avoir un plus grand nombre de partenariats et une meilleure commercialisation pour accroître le commerce. Les entreprises et les secteurs doivent collaborer afin d'établir des objectifs d'exportation et de planifier des mesures communes. Nous devons également réduire les obstacles interprovinciaux.

Prochaines étapes

Date de modification :