Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Speeches

2013 Aerospace, Defence and Security Expo

August 08, 2013
Abbotsford, British Columbia

Notes for an address by

The Honourable Michelle Rempel
Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification

Funding Announcement

Corresponding Documents: News Release | Photo Gallery

Check Against Delivery

Thank you, Mark (MP Strahl), and Dan Stefanson (ADSE Steering Committee).

Good morning, ladies and gentlemen. It's a pleasure to be here today at the Abbotsford Aerospace, Defence and Security Expo.

I'm happy to be joined here today by:

  • His Worship Bruce Banman, (Mayor of Abbotsford);

As a western Canadian, I'm keenly aware of the importance of the aerospace, defense, marine and security industries to economic growth in the West.

The Abbotsford Aerospace, Defence and Security Expo is the type of event that is important to developing western Canadian businesses.

Canadian companies working in the sectors represented here are robust and dynamic, known for their innovation and success throughout the world.

That's why our Government has invested $65,000 to support this year's Expo. The series of workshops, presentations, business-to-business and business-to-government meetings, and networking receptions taking place here are sure to establish productive new relationships and grow existing ones.

I understand that 350 people registered for the Expo and that there will be an estimated 200 face-to-face meetings between western Canadian companies and multinational firms in Abbotsford during the event. I am confident these meetings will set the stage for exciting business opportunities.

You're here today to encourage growth and business opportunities in your industry and that directly aligns with the top priority of our Government: job creation for Canadians and ensuring the long-term health of the Canadian economy.

Our Government's Economic Action Plan is squarely focused on creating high-quality jobs and helping businesses succeed.

In fact, since the end of the global economic downturn in 2009, Canada's economy has created over 1 million net new jobs. This places Canada's economy among the strongest in the G7.

But our work continues, and we must keep in mind the importance of the West to the Canadian economy and the creation of jobs.

Our Government knows that a strong western economy means a strong Canadian economy. Rather than develop economic policies that pit one region against another, we are proud to help create the conditions to help western Canadian businesses succeed.

In 2011, Western Canada accounted for 34% of Canada's real gross domestic product (GDP) by industry and 40% of Canada's exported goods. Canada's four western provinces – British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba – are expected to lead national growth in coming years.

Western Canadian provinces have among the lowest corporate tax rates in the G7 and a 3.5% to 15.8% tax advantage over comparable U.S. states. Our lower taxes and business costs, innovation, and strategic location – not to mention a growing, educated, skilled and diverse population of over 10.5 million people – make Western Canada a dynamic place to do business.

We know that diversity in the western economy is vital to Canada's long term economic health and this is why we want to encourage the growth of the aerospace, defense, marine and security industries.

The western Canadian aerospace industry alone supports the employment of nearly 27,000 people and generates over $3 billion in annual revenues, contributing more than $2.5 billion to Canada's GDP.

Strengthening these industries contributes to a stronger economy by creating high-quality jobs, supporting world-class innovation and helping to integrate Canadian companies from across the country into global supply chains.

These industries are further strengthened by the development of partnerships between government, industry associations, academia and other key stakeholders. Partnerships that will be a significant result of this Expo.

The West is a proven market leader, with cutting-edge technology, a strong R&D infrastructure, and a highly skilled, educated and specialized workforce. The Expo provides the opportunity for Canadian and international partners to come together to capitalize on the West's knowledge and expertise.

Our Government is addressing some key issues facing Canada's economy, including attending to the skilled labour shortage, gaining market access for Canadian products, and bridging the research & development gap with innovation investments.

Economic Action Plan 2013 continues to help businesses succeed in the global economy by providing a variety of services and programs, such as tax relief, hiring credits and venture capital programs.

And we've provided help for small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) by providing incentives for contractors to meet their Industrial and Regional Benefits Policy responsibilities by partnering with innovative Canadian SMEs, building enduring business relationships and fostering high-quality opportunities that will last years beyond the initial commitment.

At Western Economic Diversification, our goal is to let the world know that the West Means Business.

We work to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of the West and the quality of life of its citizens by supporting a wide range of initiatives targeting inter-related project activities. We do this by:

  • Accelerating innovation and providing support for late-stage R&D activities;
  • Supporting advocacy activities that expand market opportunities for western Canadian businesses;
  • Collaborating with organizations and other levels of government to enhance business productivity and improve small businesses' access to information, training, business advisory services and capital; and
  • Helping communities to advance their economies, adjust to changing and challenging economic circumstances, and recover from depressed economic circumstances through infrastructure programs like the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

By making strategic investments to advance the western Canadian aerospace, defense, marine and security industries, WD works to ensure that Western Canada continues to excel and maintain its competitive edge on the world stage.

Additionally, the Government of Canada's Industrial and Regional Benefits (IRB) Policy is helping Canadian companies gain access to high quality business opportunities by leveraging Canada's military procurement.

For example, in May, we provided over $500,000 to the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC) to support stronger western Canadian involvement in aerospace events around the world, enhancing market access and supply chain development opportunities for western small- and medium-sized enterprises.

And this investment is paying off. In June, AIAC coordinated a western Canadian Pavilion at the International Paris Air Show. I was pleased to learn that Viking Air signed a deal worth at least $26 million at the Air Show,1 which tells me that the strength of our western-based companies is being recognized internationally.

WD is also ensuring that Western Canada's aerospace industry has the infrastructure it needs to conduct high-value R&D. In 2012, my department invested over $5 million in WestCaRD to broaden and advance the aerospace industry and manufacturing cluster in Manitoba by developing new aerospace technologies.

In my role leading WD, I plan to continue raising awareness to companies at home and abroad of the incredible opportunities that exist here. These efforts will help position Western Canada for long-term growth and job creation.

Today, I am exactly where I want to be. I'm meeting business owners and stakeholders who are strengthening the West. I'm seeing industry leaders come together to discuss not only opportunities, but also challenges and obstacles and ways that they can be overcome.

This kind of communication and collaboration is critical. If there's one thing I've learned over my years in business, it's that the more time you spend listening to the people you represent, the more you are able to take that feedback and use it to shape good decisions.

I would like to thank the City of Abbotsford for their work in planning and hosting this Expo and all of you here today. Let's continue to work together to build our strength in the aerospace, defense, marine and security industries.

By hosting and attending trade shows and other networking forums like this one, and by building partnerships to grow businesses and maintain our competitive edge, we are showing the world that Canada's West Means Business.

Merci.


[1] http://www.timescolonist.com/business/viking-air-signs-another-plane-deal-in-paris-1.326587

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Discours

Exposition 2013 sur l’aérospatiale, la défense et la sécurité

8 août 2013
Abbotsford (Colombie-Britannique)

Notes pour une allocution de

l’honorable Michelle Rempel
ministre d’État à la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien

Annonce du financement

Documentation connexes : Communiqué | Galerie de photos

La version prononcée fait foi.

Merci, Mark (député Strahl) et Dan Stefanson (Comité directeur de L'EADS).

Mesdames et messieurs, bonjour. Je suis heureuse de me trouver parmi vous aujourd'hui à l'Exposition sur l'aérospatiale, la défense et la sécurité d'Abbotsford.

Je me réjouis d'être accompagnée aujourd'hui par :

  • Monsieur Bruce Banman(maire d'Abbotsford).

En tant que Canadienne de l'Ouest, je suis bien consciente de l'importance des industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la marine et de la sécurité pour la croissance économique de l'Ouest.

Les événements comme l'Exposition sur l'aérospatiale, la défense et la sécurité d'Abbotsford comptent beaucoup dans le développement des entreprises de l'Ouest.

Vigoureuses et dynamiques, les entreprises canadiennes actives dans les industries représentées ici sont reconnues pour leurs innovations et leurs succès partout dans le monde.

C'est pour cette raison que notre gouvernement a investi 65 000 dollars pour la tenue de l'Exposition cette année. La série d'ateliers, d'exposés, d'activités de réseautage et de rencontres de toutes sortes, entre entreprises et avec les administrations publiques, garantit la création de nouvelles relations productives et le renforcement de celles déjà tissées.

J'ai cru comprendre que 350 personnes se sont inscrites à l'Exposition, qui devrait donner lieu à quelque 200 réunions entre des représentants d'entreprises canadiennes et des multinationales ici même, à Abbotsford. Toutes ces réunions, j'en suis convaincue, jetteront les bases de débouchés prometteurs.

Vous êtes ici, aujourd'hui, pour encourager la croissance de votre industrie et promouvoir des débouchés et donc servir, ce faisant, les grandes priorités de notre gouvernement : la création d'emplois pour les Canadiens et les Canadiennes et la prospérité économique à long terme du pays.

Le Plan d'action économique de notre gouvernement est clairement axé sur la création d'emplois de haute qualité et la réussite des entreprises.

Depuis la fin du ralentissement économique mondial, en 2009, plus d'un million d'emplois nets ont été créés au Canada. Cela fait de notre économie l'une des plus fortes du G-7.

Mais nous devons poursuivre nos efforts et ne jamais perdre de vue l'importance de l'Ouest pour l'économie canadienne et la création d'emplois.

Notre gouvernement sait qu'il faut renforcer l'Ouest pour édifier une économie canadienne forte. Aussi, au lieu d'élaborer des politiques qui dresseraient les régions les unes contre les autres, nous sommes fiers de contribuer à créer les conditions propices au succès des entreprises de tout l'Ouest canadien.

En 2011, l'Ouest canadien contribuait au produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel du pays dans une proportion de 34 p. 100, par industrie, et aux exportations canadiennes dans une proportion de 40 p. 100. On s'attend dans les prochaines années à ce que les quatre provinces de l'Ouest du Canada – la Colombie-Britannique, l'Alberta, la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba – mènent la croissance nationale.

Les provinces de l'Ouest bénéficient des taux d'imposition des sociétés parmi les plus bas du G-7 et offrent un avantage fiscal de 3,5 p. 100 à 15,8 p. 100 par rapport à des États américains comparables. Nos taux d'imposition et coûts d'exploitation peu élevés, notre capacité d'innovation et notre emplacement stratégique font de l'Ouest du Canada une région de prédilection pour les affaires, d'autant plus que s'ajoute à tous ces atouts une population croissante, éduquée, qualifiée et diversifiée de plus de 10,5 millions d'habitants.

Nous n'ignorons pas le caractère vital de la diversité de l'économie de l'Ouest pour la santé économique à long terme du Canada, et c'est pourquoi nous tenons à encourager la croissance des industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la marine et de la sécurité.

À elle seule, l'industrie de l'aérospatiale de l'Ouest canadien emploie presque 27 000 personnes, génère des recettes annuelles de plus de 3 milliards de dollars et contribue à hauteur de plus de 2,5 milliards de dollars au PIB du Canada.

Le renforcement de ces industries stimule la croissance économique par la création d'emplois de haute qualité, l'appui à l'innovation de calibre mondial et la facilitation des efforts pour intégrer les entreprises canadiennes aux chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales.

Les partenariats établis entre le secteur public, les associations industrielles, le milieu universitaire et d'autres intervenants importants favorisent aussi l'essor de ces industries. La création de partenariats m'apparaît comme un résultat important de l'Exposition en cours.

L'Ouest a fait ses preuves comme chef de file sur le marché, avec sa technologie de pointe, sa robuste infrastructure de R-D et sa main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée, éduquée et spécialisée. L'Exposition offre aux partenaires canadiens et internationaux l'occasion de se réunir et de tirer parti ensemble des connaissances et du savoir-faire de l'Ouest.

Notre gouvernement s'attaque à quelques-uns des principaux problèmes auxquels fait face l'économie canadienne. Nous tentons notamment de combler la pénurie de main-d'œuvre qualifiée, d'accroître l'accès de nos produits aux marchés et de refermer l'écart entre la recherche et le développement par des investissements qui appuient l'innovation.

Le Plan d'action économique 2013 prolonge les efforts pour favoriser la réussite des entreprises dans l'économie mondiale en proposant diverses mesures, entre autres sous la forme d'allégements fiscaux, de crédits à l'embauche et de programmes de capital de risque.

De plus, nous avons mis en place des stimulants qui encouragent les entrepreneurs à s'associer avec de petites et moyennes entreprises canadiennes novatrices pour qu'ils s'acquittent de leurs obligations relatives à la Politique des retombées industrielles et régionales. Par la même occasion, nous favorisons l'établissement de relations d'affaires durables et la poursuite d'ouvertures intéressantes qui dureront bien au-delà des engagements initiaux.

À Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada, nous tenons à clamer haut et fort que l'Ouest est en affaires.

Nous nous efforçons non seulement d'améliorer la compétitivité à long terme de l'économie de l'Ouest, mais aussi de rehausser la qualité de vie des résidents en appuyant un large éventail d'initiatives qui ciblent des activités interreliées. Entre autres, nous :

  • accélérons l'innovation et soutenons les activités de R-D dans leurs derniers stades;
  • appuyons les activités de représentation qui ouvrent des débouchés aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien;
  • collaborons avec différentes organisations et d'autres ordres de gouvernement pour améliorer la productivité des entreprises en général et élargir l'accès des petites entreprises à l'information, à la formation, aux services-conseils et aux capitaux dont elles ont besoin;
  • aidons les collectivités à faire progresser leur économie, à s'adapter à une conjoncture changeante et difficile, et à se rétablir de situations économiques éprouvantes au moyen de programmes d'infrastructure, comme le Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire.

Par ses investissements stratégiques au profit des industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la marine et de la sécurité de l'Ouest canadien, DEO veille à ce que notre région continue d'exceller et préserve son avantage concurrentiel sur la scène mondiale.

De plus, la Politique des retombées industrielles et régionales du gouvernement du Canada aide les entreprises canadiennes à accéder à des débouchés commerciaux très prometteurs en décrochant des marchés d'approvisionnement militaire du Canada.

Ainsi, en mai dernier, nous avons alloué plus de 500 000 dollars à l'Association des industries aérospatiales du Canada (AIAC) pour encourager une plus forte participation de l'Ouest canadien aux événements se déroulant sur le marché mondial de l'aérospatiale. Nous avons ainsi contribué à améliorer l'accès à ce marché et à offrir aux petites et moyennes entreprises de l'Ouest l'occasion de se joindre aux grandes chaînes d'approvisionnement.

Tous ces investissements rapportent. En juin dernier, l'AIAC a coordonné la création du Pavillon de l'Ouest canadien pour le Salon international de l'Aéronautique de Paris. J'ai été ravie d'apprendre que Viking Air avait signé un contrat d'une valeur d'au moins 26 millions de dollars à cette occasion,1 ce qui témoigne de la renommée internationale que leur vigueur assure aux entreprises de l'Ouest.

DEO met tout en œuvre pour doter l'industrie de l'aérospatiale de l'Ouest de l'infrastructure qu'il lui faut pour mener des activités de R-D de haute qualité. En 2012, mon ministère a accordé plus de cinq millions de dollars pour aider WestCaRD à pour élargir et faire avancer les industries de l'aérospatiale et de la fabrication au Manitoba en élaborant de nouvelles technologies dans le domaine de l'aérospatiale.

À titre de ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, je poursuivrai mes efforts pour faire connaître aux entreprises d'ici et d'ailleurs dans le monde les incroyables possibilités à saisir dans notre région. J'espère ainsi contribuer à la croissance à long terme de l'Ouest du Canada et à la création d'emplois chez nous.

Je suis aujourd'hui exactement là où je souhaite être : je rencontre des entrepreneurs et différents intervenants qui ont à cœur de renforcer l'Ouest, et je vois des dirigeants de l'industrie se rassembler pour discuter non seulement des possibilités, mais aussi des difficultés et des obstacles à surmonter, et des moyens pour le faire.

Les occasions de communiquer et de collaborer que représentent les événements tels que cette exposition sont essentielles. S'il y a une chose que j'ai apprise au cours de mes années dans le monde des affaires, c'est que plus nous consacrons de temps à écouter ceux que nous représentons, plus nous pouvons tenir compte de leurs opinions et prendre les bonnes décisions.

Permettez-moi de remercier la Ville d'Abbotsford de n'avoir ménagé aucun effort dans la planification et la tenue de l'Exposition. Et je tiens aussi à vous remercier tous et toutes qui êtes ici aujourd'hui. Continuons de collaborer à l'édification des industries de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la marine et de la sécurité.

En organisant des salons professionnels et d'autres tribunes propices au réseautage comme l'Exposition, en y assistant nombreux et en établissant des partenariats qui favorisent la croissance des entreprises et renforcent nos avantages concurrentiels, nous clamons haut et fort que l'Ouest est en affaires.

Merci.


[1] http://www.timescolonist.com/business/viking-air-signs-another-plane-deal-in-paris-1.326587 (en anglais)