Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Strengthens Commercialization Opportunities at the Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute

August 20, 2013
Edmonton, Alberta
Minister Rempel (seated) with platform guests at the Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute funding announcement.

Minister Rempel (seated) with platform guests at the Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute funding announcement.

Corresponding Document: Photo Gallery

Today, the Honourable Michelle Rempel, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced federal funding to support medical commercialization efforts at the Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute at the University of Alberta.

"One of our Government's priorities is to ensure the long term competitiveness of Canada's economy and support a high quality of life for its citizens," said Minister Rempel. "We achieve this by making strategic investments to accelerate innovation and assist late stage R&D activities that enable local start-up companies to retain and commercialize new discoveries, such as vaccines to treat and cure viral diseases."

The federal investment of $3,000,000 through Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) will go towards the Institute's purchase of specialized equipment that will be used to conduct pre-commercialization activities for the development and testing of new vaccines and therapies. These activities are expected to attract commercial investments that will help bring new medical products to market.

"This funding will enable University of Alberta researchers to accelerate the process from research discovery to commercial vaccine development," said Lorne Babiuk, the university's vice-president of research. "Increasing the number of vaccines developed and their speed-to-market will save thousands of lives and improve both quality of life and economic productivity. For example, one promising vaccine currently under development by our Li Ka Shing researchers is for hepatitis C. This viral disease affects 170 million people worldwide and is one of the leading causes of cancer and need for liver transplants."

WD's investment towards this initiative will promote the development and growth of Western Canada's knowledge-based economy by translating innovative research and technology into valuable commercial applications. The Institute's resources will increase the number of vaccines and treatments that are developed and commercialized in the Edmonton-area, with the long term goal of establishing a competitive virology cluster in Alberta.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For additional information, contact:

Emily Goucher
Office of the Minister
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Telephone: 613-954-8097

Michael Houghton
Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry
University of Alberta
Telephone: 780-248-1888
Email: michael.houghton@ualberta.ca

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper renforce les possibilités de commercialisation offertes par le Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute

20 août 2013
Edmonton (Alberta)
La ministre Rempel (assise) accompagnée des invités d’honneur lors de l’annonce de financement du Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute.

La ministre Rempel (assise) accompagnée des invités d’honneur lors de l’annonce de financement du Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute.

Documentation connexe : Galerie de photos

L'honorable Michelle Rempel, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé aujourd'hui l'octroi d'une contribution fédérale en appui aux efforts de commercialisation du Li Ka Shing Applied Virology Institute de l'Université de l'Alberta.

« L'une des priorités de notre gouvernement consiste à assurer la compétitivité à long terme de l'économie du Canada, ainsi qu'à offrir à ses citoyens une haute qualité de vie, a déclaré la ministre Rempel. Pour atteindre ce but, nous effectuons divers investissements stratégiques, lesquels accélèrent l'innovation et soutiennent les dernières étapes des activités de recherche et développement, permettant ainsi aux entreprises en démarrage locales de conserver et de commercialiser leurs découvertes telles que, par exemple, de nouveaux vaccins contre les maladies virales. »

L'investissement fédéral de 3 000 000 de dollars, versé par l'entremise de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO), sera utilisé par l'institut pour l'achat d'un équipement spécialisé pour la réalisation de diverses activités de précommercialisation liées à la conception et à l'essai de nouveaux vaccins et traitements. Ces activités sont fortement susceptibles d'attirer des investissements commerciaux qui faciliteront à leur tour la mise en marché de nouveaux produits médicaux.

« Avec ce financement, les chercheurs de l'Université de l'Alberta pourront accélérer le processus menant de la découverte scientifique au vaccin commercial, a souligné Lorne Babiuk, vice-président à la recherche à l'Université de l'Alberta. L'augmentation du nombre de vaccins et l'accélération de leur mise en marché sauveront des milliers de vies et amélioreront à la fois la qualité de vie et la productivité économique. Par exemple, nos chercheurs travaillent actuellement au développement d'un vaccin prometteur contre l'hépatite C, une maladie virale qui touche 170 millions de personnes dans le monde et représente l'une des principales causes de cancer et de transplantation hépatique. »

L'investissement de DEO dans cette initiative favorisera le développement et la croissance de l'économie du savoir de l'Ouest canadien en encourageant la création de précieuses applications commerciales fondées sur une recherche et une technologie novatrices. Les ressources offertes par l'institut de virologie permettront d'accroître le nombre de vaccins et de traitements développés et commercialisés dans la région d'Edmonton, ainsi que d'atteindre cet objectif à long terme qui consiste à établir en Alberta une grappe concurrentielle dans le domaine de la virologie.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d'emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Emily Goucher
Cabinet de la ministre d'État
Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 613-954-8097

Michael Houghton
Faculté de médecine et de dentisterie
Université de l'Alberta
Téléphone : 780-248-1888
Courriel : michael.houghton@ualberta.ca

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.