Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Invests in Improvements to Kelowna Canadian Red Cross Society

May 28, 2013
Kelowna, British Columbia

Today, the Honourable Ron Cannan, Member of Parliament for Kelowna—Lake Country, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, announced support for the Canadian Red Cross Society under the Harper Government’s Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF).

Our Government is pleased to support infrastructure projects across the country like these upgrades to the Kelowna Red Cross Training Room,” said MP Cannan. “By making these investments in local infrastructure, we are helping families and communities renew valuable community assets while creating jobs and economic growth.

The Harper Government’s investment of $50,255 will revitalize the training room at the Red Cross House in Kelowna. These funds will be used to upgrade the washrooms and install new carpet, noise insulation panels, exterior doors and signage.

The Government of Canada’s ongoing support has been instrumental in helping Red Cross help those who need it most,” said Kimberley Nemrava, Canadian Red Cross Director, British Columbia and Yukon. “When disaster strikes, every second counts so it’s critical we’re prepared. This generous funding will help contribute to the Red Cross Support and Disaster Operations Centre training room, which will allow volunteers and the public to learn how to be safe from injury, and to prepare for and respond during disasters.

In Economic Action Plan 2012, the Harper Government announced further support to help communities across the country modernize their infrastructure. Our Government committed $150 million over two years for the Fund. The Fund supports projects that look to improve existing community infrastructure accessible for use by the public, such as community centres, recreational buildings, local arenas, cultural and other community facilities.

Since 2006, the Harper Government, through WD, has invested in job-creating small- and medium-sized businesses, aerospace, marine and defence industries, and supported innovative entrepreneurs in pursuing emerging markets. By continuing to promote new economic opportunities, WD is helping to create jobs, economic growth, and long-term prosperity.

For more information, contact:

Jaime Burke
Regional Communications Manager
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Vancouver, British Columbia
Telephone: 604-666-1318

Cheekwan Ho
Communications Manager
Canadian Red Cross Society
Kelowna, British Columbia
Telephone: 250-995-3526

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper investit dans l’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire de Kelowna

28 mai 2013
Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique)

Aujourd’hui, l’honorable Ron Cannan, député fédéral de Kelowna—Lake Country, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un appui pour la Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge dans le cadre du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire (FAIC) du gouvernement Harper.

« Notre gouvernement est heureux de soutenir des projets d’infrastructure dans l’ensemble du pays, tel celui de la salle de formation de la Croix-Rouge de Kelowna, a déclaré le député Cannan. En investissant dans l’infrastructure locale, nous aidons les familles et les collectivités à renouveler des biens communautaires très utiles et nous contribuons à la création d’emplois et à la croissance économique. »

L’investissement de 50 255 dollars du gouvernement Harper servira à rénover la salle de formation du centre de la Croix-Rouge à Kelowna. Les fonds permettront de rénover les toilettes et d’installer un nouveau tapis, des panneaux d’insonorisation, des portes d’entrée et des éléments de signalisation.

« L’appui en cours du gouvernement du Canada est très important, car il aide la Croix-Rouge à intervenir auprès des personnes qui ont le plus besoin d’aide, a indiqué Kimberley Nemrava, directrice, Croix-Rouge canadienne, Colombie-Britannique et Yukon. En cas de catastrophe, chaque seconde compte. Il est donc crucial que nous soyons bien préparés. Cette contribution généreuse servira à rénover la salle de formation du centre d’opérations en cas de catastrophe et de soutien dans laquelle des volontaires et le public apprennent à éviter les blessures ainsi qu’à se préparer et à intervenir en cas de catastrophe. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action économique de 2012, le gouvernement Harper a annoncé un soutien supplémentaire pour aider les communautés de partout au Canada à moderniser leur infrastructure. Notre gouvernement a engagé 150 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour le FAIC, qui a comme objectif de soutenir des projets visant à améliorer l’infrastructure communautaire existante accessible au public, comme les centres communautaires, les bâtiments récréatifs, les arénas locaux et les centres culturels ou d’autres installations communautaires.

Depuis 2006, le gouvernement Harper, par le biais de DEO, a investi dans les petites et moyennes entreprises qui créent des emplois et les industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine et de la défense, et appuyé les entrepreneurs novateurs dans les marchés émergents. En faisant la promotion continue des nouvelles possibilités économiques, DEO stimule la création d’emplois, la croissance économique et la prospérité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, communiquez avec :

Jaime Burke
Gestionnaire régionale, Communications
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)
Téléphone : 604-666-1318

Cheekwan Ho
Gestionnaire, Communications
Société canadienne de la Croix-Rouge
Kelowna (Colombie-Britannique)
Téléphone : 250-995-3526

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.