Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Connects Western Canadian Businesses with Shipbuilding Opportunities

May 23, 2012
Vancouver, British Columbia

Corresponding Document: Speech

Today the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, and Andrew Saxton, Member of Parliament for North Vancouver and Parliamentary Secretary to the President of the Treasury Board and for Western Economic Diversification, opened the Western Canadian Shipbuilding Summit, outlining the Harper Government‘s continuing support for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry.

Our Government’s first priority is creating jobs, growth and long-term prosperity,” said Minister Yelich. “Today’s event, which is part of Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan, is just one of the many ways we are connecting small-and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with new business opportunities.

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) and Seaspan Marine Corporation partnered to host this event, which allowed western Canadian SMEs to learn about the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy and the business opportunities available to the West, and to Canada.

The summit allowed nearly 600 business representatives from the West and all across Canada to establish valuable business connections in the shipbuilding industry and to connect with Seaspan Marine Corporation and Irving Shipbuilding, the prime contractors under NSPS.

Seaspan is proud to partner with WD on this event,” said Brian Carter, President – Seaspan Shipyards. “Moving ahead we look forward to building relationships with the supplier community and working with WD and other government departments and agencies across Canada in engaging with potential suppliers and other stakeholders.

Today, we have more than 30 companies from Western Canada supplying Irving Shipbuilding,” said Jim Irving, CEO of Irving Shipbuilding Inc. “Information sessions like today's event help educate businesses on a range of issues, including the requirements for becoming a supplier to Irving Shipbuilding. Furthermore, these sessions have enabled Irving to source new business contacts and identify the first steps for industry to prepare for future opportunities.

The summit marks another important step in the implementation of Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan. The Action Plan was highlighted in Economic Action Plan 2012 and will support western businesses in taking advantage of opportunities presented by the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy

Western Economic Diversification Canada works to create jobs and economic growth in the western Canadian economy. By promoting new economic opportunities, WD is securing a more diverse and prosperous future for the West while advancing Western interests at the national level.

For Broadcast Use:

Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry was in the spotlight today at the Western Canadian Shipbuilding Summit. The event was co-hosted by Western Economic Diversification Canada and Seaspan Marine Corporation and allowed nearly 600 business representatives the opportunity to connect with companies such as Irving Shipbuilding and Seaspan Marine Corporation to discuss key business opportunities.

For additional information, contact:

Jerra Byrne
Office of the Minister
Western Economic Diversification
Telephone: 613-954-8097
Email: Jerra.Byrne@wd-deo.gc.ca

Kelly Francis
Seaspan Marine Corporation
Telephone: 604-990-1829
Email: kfrancis@seaspan.com

Mary Keith
J.D. Irving, Limited
Telephone: 506-632-5122
Email: keith.mary@jdirving.com

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada


Backgrounder

Western Canadian Shipbuilding Summit

The Western Canadian Shipbuilding Summit, hosted by Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) and Seaspan Marine Corporation on May 23, 2012 in Vancouver, brings together small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with key stakeholders of the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy (NSPS).

The summit provides western Canadian SMEs the opportunity to connect with key shipbuilding players, while allowing a sharing of information on key elements of the NSPS and the opportunities it presents for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry. The summit includes presentations by Seaspan Marine Corporation, Irving Shipbuilding, WDNSPS Secretariat, the Shipbuilding Association of Canada, Industry Canada, Lloyds Registry of Canada, among others, and concludes with a networking reception.

This event marks an important step in the implementation of the Harper Government’s 30-year, $33 billion National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy. Economic Action Plan 2012 highlighted Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan, which will support western businesses in taking advantage of the opportunities presented by the Strategy.

Summit Participants at a Glance

The nearly 600 participants representing approximately 360 businesses (including about 320 that have offices or are based in western Canada) at the Summit offer a wide range of expertise and services that will be required under the shipbuilding strategy, including:

  • Design
  • Integration technology
  • Parts supply
  • Fabrication
  • Machining
  • Coatings
  • Safety products
  • Electronics

What is Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan?

Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan was launched in February 2012 and is a concrete step towards making Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry internationally competitive and sustainable.

As outlined in Economic Action Plan 2012, Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan will:

  • Ensure that small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) have all the information they need to take advantage of opportunities arising from the building of federal ships;
  • Promote the active participation of small- and medium-sized businesses in the supply chains that will result from the building of the ships;
  • Create economic growth and highly-skilled jobs throughout the region.

Over the coming months and years, WD will undertake a number of activities to support business, including:

  • Shipbuilding Bootcamps – WD will host Shipbuilding Bootcamps across Western Canada to help businesses navigate federal procurement processes and prepare them to take advantage of these new opportunities.
  • Supplier Development Tours – WD will lead tours that showcase Western Canada’s shipbuilding capabilities and link western businesses to key decision makers.
  • Investment – WD has invested over $1 million to support the training of highly skilled workers in British Columbia. The Department will continue to examine opportunities for investment that will further develop and grow Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry.
  • Advocacy – WD will act as the champion for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry, promoting its strengths ensuring its long-term competitiveness.

Businesses or individuals can register on the WD website (www.wd-deo.gc.ca) to receive updated information related to WD shipbuilding activities.

More on the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy:

The National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy’s selection of the two shipyards represents the largest procurement sourcing arrangement in Canadian history. Irving Shipbuilding Inc. has been selected to build the combat vessel work package, and Seaspan’s Vancouver Shipyards Co. Ltd. has been selected to build the non-combat vessel work package. The Strategy is expected to create thousands of high-value jobs across the country and will have significant economic benefits in shipbuilding and related industries across Canada. The total value of both packages is $33 billion and will span 20 to 30 years.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper met les débouchés dans le secteur de la construction navale à la portée des entreprises de l’Ouest canadien

23 mai 2012
Vancouver (Colombie-Britannique)

Documentation connexe : Discours (13690)

Aujourd’hui l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État à la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, et Andrew Saxton, député fédéral de North Vancouver et secrétaire parlementaire du président du Conseil du Trésor et pour la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, ont inauguré le Sommet de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien, tout en soulignant l’appui constant accordé par le gouvernement Harper à l’industrie de la construction navale de la région.

« La principale priorité de notre gouvernement est de créer des emplois, de stimuler la croissance et d’assurer la prospérité à long terme », a déclaré la ministre Yelich. « L’activité inaugurée aujourd’hui, qui s’inscrit dans le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien, est l’un des nombreux moyens employés pour permettre aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) d’examiner de nouvelles possibilités d’affaires. »

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) et Seaspan Marine Corporation ont travaillé en partenariat à l’organisation de cette activité, qui a permis aux PME de l’Ouest canadien de s’informer tant sur la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale (SNACN) que sur les possibilités d’affaires qu’elle offre à l’Ouest et à l’ensemble du Canada.

Dans le cadre du Sommet, près de 600 représentants d’entreprises de l’Ouest et de l’ensemble du Canada ont pu établir de précieuses relations d’affaires au sein de l’industrie de la construction navale et rencontrer des représentants de Seaspan Marine Corporation et d’Irving Shipbuilding Inc, les principaux entrepreneurs de la SNACN.

« Seaspan est fière de travailler en partenariat avec DEO dans le cadre de ce sommet », a indiqué Brian Carter, président, Seaspan Shipyards. « Nous envisageons d’établir des relations avec le milieu des fournisseurs et de travailler avec DEO et d’autres ministères et organismes au Canada pour entrer en contact avec des fournisseurs potentiels et d’autres intervenants. »

« Actuellement, plus de 30 entreprises de l’Ouest canadien approvisionnent Irving Shipbuilding », a expliqué Jim Irving, président-directeur général d’Irving Shipbuilding Inc. « Les séances d’information telles que le Sommet permettent de renseigner les entreprises sur un large éventail de sujets, notamment les exigences requises pour devenir un fournisseur d’Irving Shipbuilding Inc. De plus, ces séances nous permettent d’établir de nouvelles relations d’affaires et de déterminer les premières mesures que doit prendre l’industrie pour se prépare à tirer parti des possibilités futures. »

Le Sommet constitue une autre étape marquante de la mise en œuvre du Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien. Mentionné dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien aidera les entreprises de la région à profiter des occasions d’affaires offertes par la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale.

Diversification de l’économie de l'Ouest Canada s’applique à créer des emplois et à dynamiser la croissance économique dans l’Ouest canadien. En ouvrant de nouvelles perspectives économiques, DEO assure un avenir plus prospère et plus diversifié à l’Ouest, tout en faisant valoir les intérêts de la région à l’échelon national.

Pour les médias électroniques

L’industrie de la construction navale a été à l’honneur aujourd’hui au Sommet de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien. Organisé par Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada et Seaspan Marine Corporation, le Sommet a permis à près de 600 représentants d’entreprises de rencontrer les délégués de grandes entreprises, dont Irving Shipbuilding et Seaspan Marine Corporation, pour discuter d’occasions d’affaires importantes.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jerra Byrne
Cabinet de la ministre
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Téléphone : 613-954-8097
Courriel : Jerra.Byrne@wd-deo.gc.ca

Kelly Francis
Seaspan Marine Corporation
Téléphone : 604-990-1829
Courriel : kfrancis@seaspan.com

Mary Keith
J.D. Irving, Limited
Téléphone : 506-632-5122
Courriel : keith.mary@jdirving.com

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.


Document d'information

Sommet de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien

Organisé par Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) et Seaspan Marine Corporation le 23 mai 2012 à Vancouver, le Sommet de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien a pour but de réunir des représentants de petites et moyennes entreprises et les principales parties intéressées de la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale (SNACN).

Le Sommet donne aux petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien l’occasion de rencontrer des intervenants importants de la construction navale, tout en informant les participants sur les principaux volets de la SNACN et les possibilités qu’elle offre à ce secteur dans l’Ouest canadien. L’activité comprend des exposés, présentés notamment par Seaspan Marine Corporation, Irving Shipbuilding, DEO, le Secrétariat de la SNACN, l’Association de la construction navale du Canada, Industrie Canada et Lloyds Registry of Canada, et se terminera par une soirée de réseautage.

Le Sommet constitue une étape marquante de la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale de 33 milliards de dollars du gouvernement Harper, qui s’étale sur 30 ans. Mentionné dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien aidera les entreprises de l’Ouest à profiter des occasions d’affaires offertes par la Stratégie.

Participants au Sommet

Au Sommet, près de 600 participants, représentant environ 360 entreprises (environ 320 d’entre elles possèdent des bureaux ou leur siège social dans l’Ouest canadien), proposent un large éventail de compétences et de services qui seront essentiels à la Stratégie, entre autres les suivants :

  • Conception
  • Technologie d’intégration
  • Approvisionnement en pièces
  • Fabrication
  • Usinage
  • Revêtements
  • Produits du domaine de la sécurité
  • Électronique

En quoi consiste le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien?

Lancé en février 2012, le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien constitue une mesure concrète pour aider l’industrie de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien à assurer sa compétitivité sur le plan international et sa viabilité.

Comme il est indiqué dans le Plan d’action économique de 2012, le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien comprend les objectifs suivants :

  • S’assurer que les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) disposent de toute l’information nécessaire pour tirer avantage des possibilités offertes par la construction de navires fédéraux;
  • Favoriser la participation active des PME aux chaînes d’approvisionnement liées à la construction de navires;
  • Stimuler la croissance et la création d’emplois à l’échelle régionale.

Au cours des mois et années à venir, DEO entreprendra de nombreuses activités destinées à soutenir l’activité commerciale :

  • Ateliers sur la construction navale – DEO organisera des ateliers sur la construction navale dans l’Ouest. Ces activités aideront les entreprises à mieux comprendre les processus fédéraux d’approvisionnement et à se préparer à exploiter les nouvelles possibilités.
  • Visites de développement des marchés des fournisseurs – DEO organisera des visites destinées à faire connaître les capacités de l’Ouest en matière de construction navale et à favoriser l’établissement de relations entre les entreprises de l’Ouest et des décideurs clés.
  • Investissements – DEO a investi plus de un million de dollars dans la formation de travailleurs hautement qualifiés en Colombie-Britannique. Le Ministère continuera d’examiner les possibilités d’investissement susceptibles de contribuer à l’expansion et à la croissance de l’industrie de la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien.
  • Représentation – DEO se fera un champion de l’industrie de la construction navale de l’Ouest en faisant valoir les atouts de cette industrie et en assurant sa compétitivité à long terme.

Pour recevoir des renseignements récents sur les activités de DEO dans le domaine de la construction navale, tant les entreprises que les citoyens peuvent s’inscrire sur le site Web de DEO (www.wd-deo.gc.ca).

Information supplémentaire sur la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale

La sélection des deux chantiers navals dans le cadre de la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale constitue l’entente d’approvisionnement la plus importante de l’histoire du Canada. Irving Shipbuilding Inc. et Vancouver Shipyards Co. Ltd. ont été sélectionnées pour construire respectivement un lot de navires de combat et un autre de navires autres que de combat. La Stratégie devrait créer des milliers d’emplois hautement qualifiés dans l’ensemble du pays et produire d’importantes retombées dans le secteur de la construction navale et d’autres industries connexes au Canada. Étalée sur 20 à 30 ans, la construction des deux lots de navires s’élève à 33 milliards de dollars.