Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Creates Jobs and Growth in Shipbuilding Industry

February 13, 2012
Esquimalt, British Columbia
Minister Yelich makes an announcement in Esquimalt, as shipyard employees look on.

Minister Yelich makes an announcement in Esquimalt, as shipyard employees look on.

Corresponding Documents: Speech | Photo Gallery

The Harper Government is taking a concrete step towards positioning Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry as internationally competitive and sustainable through Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan, announced today by the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification.

Our Government is committed to supporting Western Canada’s maritime and shipbuilding industry,” said Minister Yelich. “Our Action Plan for this industry will create jobs and stimulate long term economic growth for the West.

As part of Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan, an investment of more than $1 million to help British Columbia’s Resource Training Organization construct a new marine training centre in Esquimalt was announced today by Minister Yelich. This announcement was made near the future site of the Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre.

Our Government’s Shipbuilding Action Plan is an exciting initiative that is creating jobs and growth throughout British Columbia,” added the Honourable James Moore, Minister of Canadian Heritage and Official Languages, Senior Minister for British Columbia. “We are committed to equipping our region with the tools needed to take full advantage of the many opportunities to come.

The new centre will ensure the sustainability of British Columbia’s shipbuilding and repair industry by training highly qualified workers. Programs will be both broad and specific to the sector’s requirements, including entry level training for new entrants, leadership and management skills, technology transfer, and, very importantly, revitalized apprenticeship programs. Industry partners such as Seaspan, BC Ferries, Babcock Canada, Thales Canada, and Lockheed Martin Canada are also providing funding for the project.

The support of the federal government is instrumental in moving this project forward. The Centre is envisioned as a scalable, industry- managed organization exclusively dedicated to developing and maintaining the skills, knowledge and capacity of the shipbuilding and repair workforce,” said Doug MacLaren, CEO of the Resource Training Organization.

The creation of IMTARC is a key component to the long-term success of BC’s shipbuilding industry,” said Brian Carter, Seaspan Shipyards President. “Seaspan, through its recent award of the Government of Canada’s non-combat ship program, will be looking to enhance the skills of current and future workers. IMTARC will play a pivotal role in achieving this goal in training Canadian workers that participate in our build program and embark on a career in shipbuilding.

Economic activity in British Columbia’s shipbuilding industry is expected to grow from $450M to $800M, with the number of jobs increasing from 3,000 to 5,000. While the Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre will help workers take advantage of these opportunities, federal funding will also support an industry “roadmap” which will lay out a plan for new activities and projects to improve the industry’s ability to attract additional domestic work and international contracts.

The Resource Training Organization was established in 2007 to oversee the management and development of apprenticeship training for the resource sector in British Columbia. This organization represents a cross sectoral group of employers in the mining and smelting, oil and gas, pulp and paper, solid wood, utilities, and heavy shipbuilding and repair sectors.

The Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre is an important and strategic federal investment aligned with the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy. The Government of Canada has developed Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan to help ensure the West’s shipbuilding industry is well positioned to pursue opportunities and become an internationally competitive and sustainable industry into the future. The Action Plan’s main focus will be to bring together key stakeholders involved with the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy with western Canadian small-and- medium-sized enterprises to share information about the Strategy and the opportunities it represents for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry.

Businesses or individuals can register online on the WD website to receive updated information related to WD shipbuilding activities.

The Government of Canada works with the provinces, industry associations and communities to promote the development and diversification of the western economy, coordinates federal economic activities in the West and advances the interests of western Canadians in national decision making.

For Broadcast Use:

Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan was launched today by the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, with an investment of over $1 million to help British Columbia’s Resource Training Organization construct a new marine training centre in Esquimalt. The funding was announced near the future Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre site.

For additional information (media only), contact:

Jerra Byrne
Director of Communications
Minister of State - Western Economic Diversification
jerra.byrne@wd.gc.ca

Doug MacLaren
CEO, Resource Training Organization
Telephone: 604-455-0075

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada


Backgrounder

Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan

Western Canada’s Shipbuilding Action Plan’s main focus will be to bring together key stakeholders involved with the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy with western Canadian small and medium-sized enterprises to share information about the Strategy and the opportunities it represents for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry.

Over the coming months and years, Western Economic Diversification Canada will undertake a number of activities to support the plan.

  • Shipbuilding Summit – Western Economic Diversification Canada will host a summit that will bring together key stakeholders involved with the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy with western Canadian small-and medium-sized enterprises.
  • Shipbuilding Bootcamps – Western Economic Diversification Canada will host Shipbuilding Bootcamps across Western Canada. These events will help businesses navigate federal procurement processes and prepare them to take advantage of these new opportunities.
  • Supplier Development Tours – Western Economic Diversification Canada will lead tours that showcase Western Canada’s shipbuilding capabilities and link western businesses to key decision makers.
  • Investment – Western Economic Diversification Canada has invested over $1 million to support the training of highly skilled workers in British Columbia. Western Economic Diversification Canada will continue to examine opportunities for investment that will further develop and grow Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry.
  • Advocacy – Western Economic Diversification Canada will act as the champion for Western Canada’s shipbuilding industry, promoting its strengths ensuring its long-term competitiveness.

Businesses or individuals can register on the WD website to receive updated information related to WD shipbuilding activities.

National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy

The National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy’s selection of the two shipyards represents the largest procurement sourcing arrangement in Canadian history. Irving Shipbuilding Inc. has been selected to build the combat vessel work package, and Vancouver Shipyards Co. Ltd. has been selected to build the non-combat vessel work package. The Strategy is expected to create thousands of high-value jobs across the country and will have significant economic benefits in shipbuilding and related industries across Canada. The total value of both packages is $33 billion and will span 20 to 30 years.

Link to the next phase of Canada’s EAP

The Next Phase of Canada’s Economic Action Plan—A Low-Tax Plan for Jobs and Growth will invest in the key drivers of economic growth—innovation, investment, education and training. The National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy will support job creation and facilitate investments in innovation, education and training (specifically related to the shipbuilding industry), and promote research in leading-edge technologies.

The Economic Action Plan provides assistance to the manufacturing sector. The shipbuilding industry may benefit from a number of initiatives: http://www.actionplan.gc.ca/.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper crée des emplois et stimule la croissance dans l’industrie de la construction navale

13 février 2012
Esquimalt (Colombie-Britannique)
La ministre Yelich annonce un investissement à Esquimalt, sous l’œil approbateur des employés du chantier.

La ministre Yelich annonce un investissement à Esquimalt, sous l’œil approbateur des employés du chantier.

Documentation connexe : Discours (13520) | Galerie de photos

Par le lancement du Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien, le gouvernement Harper prend une mesure concrète pour aider l’industrie de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien à assurer sa viabilité et sa compétitivité sur le plan international. Le Plan a été annoncé aujourd’hui par l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

« Notre gouvernement est déterminé à soutenir l’industrie maritime et de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien », a déclaré la ministre Yelich. « Notre plan d’action, qui est destiné à cette industrie, créera des emplois et stimulera durablement la croissance économique dans l’Ouest. »

Dans le cadre du Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien, la ministre Yelich a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement de plus d’un million de dollars pour aider la Resource Training Organization de la Colombie-Britannique à construire un nouveau centre de formation maritime à Esquimalt. L’annonce a été faite près du futur emplacement du Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre.

« Le Plan d’action pour la construction navale de notre gouvernement est une excellente initiative qui crée des emplois et stimule la croissance dans l’ensemble de la Colombie-Britannique », a ajouté l’honorable James Moore, ministre du Patrimoine canadien et des Langues officielles et ministre responsable de la Colombie-Britannique. « Nous nous sommes engagés à doter la région des outils nécessaires pour tirer pleinement parti des possibilités futures. »

Le nouveau centre assurera la pérennité de l’industrie de la construction et de la réparation navales de la Colombie-Britannique en formant des travailleurs très qualifiés. Les programmes, qui seront à la fois vastes et adaptés aux exigences du secteur, engloberont la formation des débutants, des compétences en leadership et en gestion, le transfert de technologies et principalement des programmes d’apprentissage actualisés. Des partenaires industriels, tels Seaspan, BC Ferries, Babcock Canada, Thales Canada et Lockheed Martin Canada, participent aussi au financement du projet.

« L’appui du gouvernement fédéral est essentiel pour la réalisation du projet. Nous souhaitons que le centre devienne une organisation évolutive gérée par l’industrie qui sera vouée exclusivement à l’acquisition et au perfectionnement des compétences, connaissances et capacités de la main-d’œuvre du secteur de la construction et de la réparation navales », a expliqué Doug MacLaren, directeur général de la Resource Training Organization.

« La création du centre constitue un élément clé pour la réussite à long terme de l’industrie de la construction navale de la Colombie-Britannique », a ajouté Brian Carter, président, Seaspan Shipyards. « À titre de soumissionnaire retenu par le gouvernement du Canada pour son programme de construction de navires autres que de combat, Seaspan cherchera à rehausser les compétences des travailleurs actuels et futurs. Le centre jouera un rôle essentiel dans l’atteinte de l’objectif de formation des ouvriers canadiens qui participeront au projet de construction et amorceront une carrière en construction navale. »

L’activité économique de l’industrie de la construction navale de la Colombie-Britannique devrait augmenter de 450 à 800 millions de dollars, à l’instar du nombre d’emplois, qui devrait passer de 3 000 à 5 000. Tandis que le centre aidera les travailleurs à exploiter ces nouvelles possibilités, la contribution du gouvernement fédéral servira à établir une « feuille de route » pour l’industrie, qui comprendra l’élaboration d’un plan prévoyant de nouvelles activités et des projets destinés à aider l’industrie à décrocher des contrats supplémentaires, tant sur le plan national qu’international.

Fondée en 2007, la Resource Training Organization veille à la gestion et à l’évolution de la formation en apprentissage dans le secteur des ressources de la Colombie-Britannique. Elle représente un groupe intersectoriel d’employeurs issus de divers secteurs : l’exploitation minière et la fonderie, le pétrole et le gaz, l’industrie papetière, le bois massif, les services d'utilité publique et la construction et réparation navales.

Le centre constitue un investissement fédéral important et stratégique qui s’inscrit dans la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale. Le gouvernement du Canada a élaboré le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien afin de s’assurer que l’industrie de la construction navale de la région soit en mesure d’exploiter les possibilités et qu’elle devienne un secteur compétitif et viable sur la scène internationale. Le Plan d’action a essentiellement pour but de permettre aux intervenants clés participant à la Stratégie et à des petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien de discuter de la Stratégie et d’évaluer les possibilités que celle-ci offre à l’industrie de la construction navale de la région.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les activités de DEO dans le domaine de la construction navale, prière de vous inscrire sur le site Web du Ministère.

Le gouvernement du Canada travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les associations sectorielles et les collectivités dans le but de favoriser le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest, de coordonner les activités économiques du gouvernement fédéral dans l’Ouest et de faire valoir les intérêts de la région dans le processus décisionnel national.

Pour les médias électroniques

Aujourd’hui, l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État à la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a lancé le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien en annonçant un investissement de plus d’un million de dollars pour aider la Resource Training Organization de la Colombie-Britannique à construire un nouveau centre de formation maritime à Esquimalt. L’annonce a été faite près du futur emplacement de l’Industrial Marine Training and Applied Research Centre.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Jerra Byrne
Directrice des communications
Ministre d’État – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest
jerra.byrne@wd.gc.ca

Doug MacLaren
Directeur général, Resource Training Organization
Téléphone : 604-455-0075

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.


Document d'information

Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien

Le Plan d’action pour la construction navale dans l’Ouest canadien a pour but principal de permettre aux intervenants clés participant à la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale et à des petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien de discuter de la Stratégie et d’examiner les possibilités qu’elle offre à l’industrie de la construction navale de la région.

Au cours des mois et années à venir, Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada entreprendra de nombreuses activités destinées à soutenir le Plan.

  • Sommet de la construction navale – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada tiendra un sommet qui réunira les principaux intervenants concernés par la SNACN et des petites et moyennes entreprises de l’Ouest canadien.

  • Ateliers sur la construction navale – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada organisera des ateliers sur la construction navale dans l’Ouest. Ces activités aideront les entreprises à comprendre les processus fédéraux d’approvisionnement et les prépareront à exploiter ces nouvelles possibilités.

  • Visites de développement des marchés des fournisseurs – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada dirigera des visites qui mettront en vedette les capacités de l’Ouest en matière de construction navale et permettront d’établir des liens entre les entreprises de l’Ouest et des décideurs clés.

  • Investissements – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada a investi plus de 1 million de dollars dans la formation de travailleurs hautement qualifiés en Colombie-Britannique. Le Ministère continuera d’examiner les possibilités d’investissement qui favoriseront l’expansion de l’industrie de la construction navale de l’Ouest canadien.

  • Représentation – Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada se fera un champion de l’industrie de la construction navale de l’Ouest en faisant valoir ses forces et en veillant à sa compétitivité à long terme.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements sur les activités de DEO dans le domaine de la construction navale, prière de vous inscrire sur le site Web du Ministère.

Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale

La sélection des deux chantiers navals de la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale constitue la plus grande entente sur des sources d’approvisionnement de l’histoire du Canada. Irving Shipbuilding Inc. et Vancouver Shipyards Co. Ltd. ont été sélectionnées pour construire respectivement un lot de navires de combat et un autre de navires autres que de combat. La Stratégie devrait créer des milliers d’emplois très qualifiés dans l’ensemble du pays et produire d’importantes retombées dans le secteur de la construction navale et d’autres industries connexes au Canada. Étalée sur 20 à 30 ans, la construction des deux lots de navires s’élève à 33 milliards de dollars.

Lien avec la prochaine phase du Plan d’action économique du Canada

La prochaine phase du Plan d’action économique du Canada - Des impôts bas pour stimuler la croissance et l’emploi consiste à investir dans les principaux vecteurs de croissance économique, c’est-à-dire l’innovation, l’investissement, l’éducation et la formation. La Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale favorisera la création d’emplois, facilitera les investissements dans l’innovation, l’éducation et la formation (en particulier dans l’industrie de la construction navale) et encouragera la recherche en technologies de pointe.

Le Plan d’action économique offre un appui au secteur manufacturier. L’industrie de la construction navale peut tirer parti de nombreuses initiatives : http://www.actionplan.gc.ca/fra/index.asp.