Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

News Release Archives

Harper Government Announces Investment in Mining Engineering Technology Program

February 10, 2012
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan

Corresponding Document: Speech

The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, today announced federal support for specialized equipment for the new Mining Engineering Technology program at the Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST).

She was joined by SIAST Dean of Technology, Jamie Hilts, at the Saskatchewan Mining Association’s 46th Annual General Meeting to announce this $500,000 investment.

Our Government’s top priority remains the economy and job creation,” said Minister Yelich. “That is why we are proud to invest in equipment for the new Mining Engineering Technology program at SIAST, which will create jobs in the rapidly-growing mining industry.

The program is the first of its kind in Saskatchewan and is designed to produce industry-ready engineering technologists who are prepared to handle the unique challenges found in Saskatchewan mines. This new program will help address a shortage of engineering technologists in the Saskatchewan mining industry.

Several SIAST technology and trades programs support the mining industry, but this new program is the first dedicated exclusively to the sector,” says Jamie Hilts, SIAST’s Dean of Technology. “The funding announced today will go a long way towards ensuring students learn on the type of equipment they’ll use when they launch their careers with the mining industry.

Western Economic Diversification Canada works with the provinces, industry associations and communities to promote the development and diversification of the western economy, coordinates federal economic activities in the West, and advances the interests of western Canadians in national decision making.

For additional information, contact:

Jerra Byrne
Office of the Minister
Western Economic Diversification

Patricia Gillies
SIAST Communications
306-230-9233 (cell)

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement Harper annonce une aide financière pour un programme de formation technique en génie minier

10 février 2012
Saskatoon (Saskatchewan)

Documentation Connexe : Discours (13519)

Aujourd’hui, l'honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a annoncé un investissement du gouvernement fédéral pour acquérir de l’équipement spécialisé pour le nouveau programme de formation technique en génie minier du Saskatchewan Institute of Applied Science and Technology (SIAST).

La ministre était accompagnée par le doyen de la technologie au SIAST, Jamie Hilts, lors de la 46e assemblée générale annuelle de la Saskatchewan Mining Association pour annoncer le financement de 500 000 dollars.

« L’emploi et l’économie demeurent les plus importantes priorités de notre gouvernement », a déclaré la ministre Lynne Yelich. « C’est pourquoi nous sommes fiers d’investir dans l’achat d’équipement pour le nouveau programme de formation technique en génie minier du SIAST, qui aidera à créer des emplois pour l’industrie minière en peine croissance de la région. »

Premier du genre en Saskatchewan, le programme est conçu pour former des techniciens en génie minier prêts pour l’industrie et préparés à relever les défis uniques que l’on rencontre dans les mines de la province. En outre, ce nouveau programme permettra de pallier la pénurie d’ingénieurs technologues de l’industrie minière de la Saskatchewan.

« Plusieurs programmes de formation technique et dans les métiers du SIAST soutiennent l’industrie minière, mais ce nouveau programme est le tout premier dédié exclusivement au secteur », a expliqué Jamie Hilts, doyen de la technologie au SIAST. « Le financement d’aujourd’hui contribuera grandement à veiller à ce que les étudiants soient familiarisés avec le type d’équipement qu’ils devront utiliser au moment d’entamer leur carrière dans l’industrie minière ».

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les associations sectorielles et les collectivités dans le but de favoriser le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest. Le Ministère coordonne également les activités économiques du gouvernement fédéral dans l'Ouest et fait valoir les intérêts de la région dans le processus décisionnel national.

Pour plus de renseignements, communiquer avec :

Jerra Byrne
Cabinet de la ministre d’État
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Jerra.Byrne@wd-deo.gc.ca  
613-954-8097

Patricia Gillies
Communications, SIAST
patricia.gillies@siast.sk.ca  
306-659-3782
306-230-9233 (cellulaire)

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.