Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

News Release Archives

Government Partners With Industry to Bring New Technology to Energy Market

January 28, 2011
Calgary, Alberta
Left to right: MP Lee Richardson; Minister Rona Ambrose; Minister Yelich; and Dr. Soheil Asgarpour, PTAC

Left to right: MP Lee Richardson; Minister Rona Ambrose; Minister Yelich; and Dr. Soheil Asgarpour, PTAC

Corresponding Document: Speech | Photo Gallery

The Government of Canada is supporting the capacity of small and medium-sized businesses to commercialize new technologies that will reduce costs, maximize recovery, and bring forth efficiencies in the natural gas industry.

The Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification, today announced an investment of $750,000 towards a project facilitated by the not-for-profit industry and stakeholder association, Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (PTAC).  Minister Yelich was joined by the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Public Works and Government Services and Minister for the Status of Women and Regional Minister for Northern Alberta.In addition to federal funding, Alberta Energy is also contributing $250,000 towards the total project costs.

Every component of this project contributes to building a stronger economy, as our western Canadian businesses develop the latest product innovations to incorporate into the natural gas resource sector,” said Minister Yelich. “This project is increasing productivity and efficiency while bringing needed technological advancements to market.

PTAC will direct funding towards construction of the testing equipment, review of the technology and the testing of the pumps, as well as coordination of small business and industry participation.

Alberta has always shown leadership and supported the advancement of new technologies for responsible energy development,” said Honourable Ron Liepert, Minister of Energy for the Government of Alberta. “Investing in cutting edge science and technology initiatives solidifies Alberta’s reputation as an energy leader and provides long lasting benefits to all Albertans.”  

Further, PTAC will provide analysis and business support, as well as provide crucial access to company wells for field testing demonstrations. The equipment will be housed and retained at the not-for-profit Centre for Frontier Engineering Research (C-FER) Technologies testing facility.

This project exemplifies PTAC’s efforts in engaging stakeholders on proactively developing and deploying new technologies as solutions to important and urgent issues facing our industry,” said Dr. Soheil Asgarpour, President of PTAC. “We are fortunate that companies such as Cenovus Energy Inc., Encana Corporation and Enerplus Corporation have been proactive in providing people and access to gas reservoirs to facilitate this research that will benefit many junior and intermediate-sized companies.

PTAC’s mandate is facilitating innovation, collaborative research and technology development, demonstration, and deployment for a responsible hydrocarbon industry.  In December 2010, PTAC added the responsibility of providing seed money for technology projects to its mandate. The shallow gas water pump project is the first project where PTAC has provided seed money.

Western Economic Diversification Canada works with the provinces, industry associations and communities to promote the development and diversification of the western economy, coordinates federal economic activities in the West and represents the interests of western Canadians in national decision making.

For additional information contact:

Lloyd Suchet
Office of the Minister
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Lloyd.Suchet@wd-deo.gc.ca

Christine King
Alberta Energy Communications
Tel: (780) 427-0770
christine.king@gov.ab.ca
To call toll-free within Alberta dial 310-0000

Dr. Soheil Asgarpour
President of PTAC
Tel: (403) 218-7701
sasgarpour@ptac.org

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Communiqués Archives

Le gouvernement s’allie avec l’industrie pour introduire des technologies novatrices sur le marché de l’énergie

28 janvier 2011
Calgary (Alberta)
De g. à d. : Le député Lee Richardson, la ministre Rona Ambrose, la ministre d’État Lynne Yelich et M. Soheil Asgarpour, PTAC.

De g. à d. : Le député Lee Richardson, la ministre Rona Ambrose, la ministre d’État Lynne Yelich et M. Soheil Asgarpour, PTAC.

Documentation connexe : Discours (12611) | Galerie de photos

Le gouvernement du Canada offre un soutien aux petites et moyennes entreprises pour les aider à commercialiser de nouvelles technologies qui permettront de réduire les coûts, de maximiser la récupération et d’améliorer l’efficacité de l’industrie du gaz naturel.

L’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État à la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a annoncé aujourd’hui un investissement de 750 000 dollars dans un projet mis en œuvre par la Petroleum Technology Alliance Canada (PTAC), une association d’industries et d’intervenants sans but lucratif. Mme Yelich était accompagnée par l’honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, ministre de la Condition féminine et ministre régionale du Nord de l’Alberta. En plus de l’aide du gouvernement fédéral, le ministère de l’Énergie de l’Alberta contribue à hauteur de 250 000 dollars au coût total du projet.

« Chaque élément de ce projet contribue à bâtir une économie plus vigoureuse, notamment grâce à nos entreprises de l’Ouest canadien qui mettent au point des produits novateurs qui seront intégrés au secteur des ressources gazières », a souligné la ministre d’État Lynne Yelich. « En plus d’accroître la productivité et l’efficacité, le projet favorise la mise en marché d’innovations requises sur le plan technologique. »

La PTAC utilisera les fonds pour construire l’équipement d’essai, passer en revue la technologie et mettre les pompes à l’essai. L’association coordonnera également la participation des petites entreprises et de l’industrie.

« L’Alberta a toujours fait preuve de leadership en soutenant l’innovation technologique pour favoriser un développement énergétique responsable », a expliqué l’honorable Ron Liepert, ministre de l’Énergie de l’Alberta. « En investissant dans des initiatives en sciences et en technologie de pointe, nous consolidons la réputation de la province en tant que chef de file du secteur de l’énergie et nous apportons des bienfaits à long terme pour tous les Albertains et toutes les Albertaines. »  

En plus d’offrir un soutien opérationnel et des services d’analyse, la PTAC fournira un accès important aux puits d’entreprise pour des démonstrations d’essais sur le terrain. L’équipement sera entreposé et conservé au Centre for Frontier Engineering Research (C-FER) Technologies, un centre d’essais sans but lucratif.

« Ce projet témoigne des efforts déployés par la PTAC pour encourager les parties intéressées à développer et à promouvoir des technologies novatrices, et ce, dans le but d’apporter des solutions aux enjeux importants et urgents auxquels notre industrie est confrontée », a indiqué M. Soheil Asgarpour, président de la PTAC. « Nous nous réjouissons que des entreprises telles que Cenovus Energy Inc., Encana Corporation et Enerplus Corporation aient été proactives en fournissant de la main-d’œuvre et en donnant accès à leurs gisements de gaz pour faciliter cette recherche dont bénéficiera un grand nombre de petites et moyennes entreprises. » 

La mission de la PTAC consiste à faciliter l’innovation, les projets coopératifs de recherche et de développement de technologies, la démonstration ainsi que la mise en place d’une industrie des hydrocarbures responsable. En décembre 2010, l’association s’est aussi engagée à verser des capitaux de démarrage pour des initiatives technologiques. Le projet de pompe à eau pour les gaz peu profonds a été le premier à bénéficier de ces capitaux.

Diversification de l’économie de l'Ouest Canada travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les associations sectorielles et les collectivités dans le but de favoriser le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest. Le Ministère coordonne également les activités économiques du gouvernement fédéral dans l’Ouest et fait valoir les intérêts de la région dans le processus décisionnel national.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Lloyd Suchet
Cabinet de la ministre d’État
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Lloyd.Suchet@wd-deo.gc.ca

Christine King
Communications
Énergie Alberta
Tél. : 780-427-0770
christine.king@gov.ab.ca
Pour téléphoner gratuitement en Alberta, composez le 310-0000.

M. Soheil Asgarpour
Président de la PTAC
Tél. : 403-218-7701
sasgarpour@ptac.org

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.