Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

News Release Archives

Federal-Provincial Investment to Establish Clean Energy Centre and Bring New Biomass Technologies to Market

January 26, 2011
Edmonton, Alberta
Carmen Maslowski, with BECii; Evan Chrapko, President and CEO of BECii; MP Leon Benoit; and MP Laurie Hawn discuss the BECii initiative following the funding announcement.

Carmen Maslowski, with BECii; Evan Chrapko, President and CEO of BECii; MP Leon Benoit; and MP Laurie Hawn discuss the BECii initiative following the funding announcement.

Alberta’s capacity and ability to convert biomass into market- ready products is expanding with the establishment of a bio-energy applied research facility and industrial cluster at Hairy Hill, near Vegreville.

A combined federal-provincial investment of $8.4 million under the Canada-Alberta Western Economic Partnership Agreement (WEPA) is supporting the BioWaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative (BECii) Corporation, an industry driven not-for-profit organization, to establish the BECii Clean Energy Centre.

By highlighting local talent and initiative, this project will help small and medium sized businesses in Alberta’s bio-energy sector grow by helping them develop new processes and technologies for the global marketplace,” said Leon Benoit, Member of Parliament for Vegreville-Wainwright, on behalf of the Honourable Lynne Yelich, Minister of State for Western Economic Diversification.

Alberta produces approximately 20 million tonnes of annual waste in potential feedstock,” said Diana McQueen, Alberta Energy’s parliamentary assistant to the Minister of Energy. “This facility will help bridge the gap between technological development and commercialization in bioenergy, create new valued-added opportunities and build on Alberta’s existing strengths in waste utilization.

As part of the initiative, small- and medium-sized companies developing waste-to-energy conversion processes and technologies will be able to co-locate in Hairy Hill to take advantage of industrial land in close proximity to one another and tap into shared infrastructure and expertise.

BECii's vision is unique in the North American waste-to-energy sector,” said Evan Chrapko, President and CEO of the BioWaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative. “BECii will help defray the cost of commercializing new combinations of technology and allow companies to scale-up to meet industry demands in both the domestic and international market on a much more timely and meaningful basis.

The BECii Clean Energy Centre will allow Alberta companies to capitalize on shared costs and synergies for faster research and joint pilot testing. Funding will also support the purchase of equipment needed to facilitate the biomass to bio-energy conversion process, building leases and maintenance, supply and transportation costs.

The bio-energy conversion process involves transforming bio-mass from forestry, agricultural and municipal sources, including bio-waste such as bio-mass, straw, wood, manure, and sewage, into high-value products such as biodiesel, fertilizer, and ethanol that are greenhouse gas emission lean or neutral.

The investments by the Governments of Canada and Alberta are made through the Canada-Alberta Western Economic Partnership Agreement. Through this agreement, Canada and Alberta are jointly contributing $50 million, over four years, to strengthen economic activity and improve quality of life in Alberta communities.

For additional information, contact:

Donna Kinley
Manager, Communications
Western Economic Diversification Canada
Tel: (780) 495-6892

Christine King
Alberta Energy Communications
Tel: (780) 427-0770
Christine.King@gov.ab.ca
To call toll-free within Alberta dial 310-0000

Evan V. Chrapko
President and CEO, BECii
evanchrapko@gmail.com
Tel: (202) 656-3826

WD Toll-Free Number:1-888-338-WEST (9378)
Teletypewriter (TTY): 1-877-303-3388
WD Website: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Subscribe to our news updates and keep up-to-date on the latest from WD. Follow us on Twitter at @WD_Canada


Backgrounder

Project Funding:

Government of Canada (Western Economic Diversification Canada)

$4,200,000

Government of Alberta (Alberta Energy)

$4,200,000

Industry (cash)

$3,200,000

Industry (in-kind)

$1,000,000

Total

$12,600,000

 

The Canada – Alberta Western Economic Partnership Agreement (WEPA)

The Canada-Alberta WEPA targets joint strategic priorities whereby Canada and Alberta will work together and with other interested stakeholders to help create innovative, entrepreneurial and sustainable communities.

Canada-Alberta Joint WEPA Priorities:

  • Technology Commercialization - Create and/or grow the knowledge-based economy in Alberta by commercializing new products, technologies and services into domestic and international markets.
  • Business Productivity and Competitiveness - Strengthen small business development, growth and competitiveness in the global economy.
  • Trade and Investment - Expand access to international markets and investments.
  • Value-Added Processing - Increase revenues of traditional industries by adopting new technologies and processes that transform low value outputs into high value products.

Project Funding Partners

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD)

Western Economic Diversification Canada works with the provinces, industry associations, and communities to promote the development and diversification of the western economy; coordinates federal economic activities in the West and represents the interests of western Canadians in national decision making.

Alberta Energy

Under the 2006 Nine-Point Bioenergy Plan and the 2008 Provincial Energy Strategy Alberta, Alberta Energy delivers grant programs to support bioenergy capacity and market development and the Bioenergy Producer Credit Program to support production. To date, $150 million in bioenergy grants has been awarded to support over 70 bioenergy projects.

Biowaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative (BECii) Corp.

BECii is an industry-led and industry-oriented not-for-profit entity that defrays the cost of technology demonstration to scale-up and advances renewable energy technologies to a market-ready state. The BECii Clean Energy Center will provide member companies with the facilities and managerial expertise to achieve efficient and effective waste-to-energy conversion. Through a collaborative partnership model, technologies are enhanced and delivered to market, offering the greatest economic and environmental benefits. BECii acts as a catalyst between waste-to-energy companies in Western Canada and internationally (http://www.becii.ca/).

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Communiqués Archives

Un investissement fédéral-provincial pour mettre sur pied un centre des énergies propres et commercialiser de nouvelles technologies de la biomasse

26 janvier 2011
Edmonton (Alberta)
Carmen Maslowski, BECii; Evan Chrapko, président-directeur général de la BECii; Leon Benoit, député, et Laurie Hawn, député, discutent de l’initiative BECii à la suite de l’annonce de financement.

Carmen Maslowski, BECii; Evan Chrapko, président-directeur général de la BECii; Leon Benoit, député, et Laurie Hawn, député, discutent de l’initiative BECii à la suite de l’annonce de financement.

L’Alberta accroît ses capacités et ses moyens de transformer la biomasse en produits commercialisables grâce à la mise sur pied d’une installation de recherche appliquée et d’une grappe industrielle consacrées à la bioénergie à Hairy Hill, près de Vegreville.

Un investissement fédéral-provincial commun de 8,4 millions de dollars, accordé dans le cadre de l’Entente de partenariat Canada-Alberta pour le développement économique de l’Ouest (EPDEO), aide la BioWaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative (BECii) Corporation, une organisation sans but lucratif dirigée par l’industrie, à mettre sur pied le centre d’énergies propres de la BECii (Clean Energy Centre).

« Étant donné que le projet est fondé sur le talent local et une initiative locale, il contribuera à la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises du secteur de la bioénergie de l’Alberta en aidant celles-ci à développer de nouveaux processus et de nouvelles technologies pour le marché international », a déclaré Leon Benoit, député fédéral de Vegreville-Wainwright, au nom de l’honorable Lynne Yelich, ministre d’État à la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

« Chaque année, l’Alberta produit environ 20 millions de tonnes de déchets qui constituent une source potentielle de matières premières », a expliqué Diana McQueen, adjointe parlementaire du ministre de l’Énergie de l’Alberta. « L’installation aidera à combler le fossé existant entre le développement et la commercialisation des technologies dans le domaine de la bioénergie, à ouvrir de nouvelles perspectives à valeur ajoutée et à s’appuyer sur les atouts actuels de l’Alberta dans l’utilisation des déchets. »

Dans le cadre de l’initiative, les petites et moyennes entreprises mettant au point des processus et technologies de transformation des déchets en énergie pourront concentrer leurs activités respectives à Hairy Hill afin de tirer parti de la contiguïté des terrains industriels et d’accéder à des infrastructures et à une expertise communes.

« La vision de la BECii est unique dans le secteur nord-américain de la transformation des déchets en énergie », a indiqué Evan Chrapko, président-directeur général de la BioWaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative. « La BECii aidera à couvrir le coût de la commercialisation de nouvelles combinaisons de technologies et permettra aux entreprises de s’agrandir proportionnellement en vue de pouvoir répondre aux demandes de l’industrie sur les marchés national et international d’une manière plus rapide et plus significative. »

Le centre des énergies propres de la BECii permettra aux entreprises albertaines de profiter du partage des coûts et des synergies pour accélérer la recherche et entreprendre des projets pilotes communs. Le financement aidera aussi à acheter l’équipement nécessaire pour faciliter la transformation de la biomasse en énergie, à louer et à entretenir les bâtiments, à assurer l’approvisionnement et à couvrir les frais de transport.

Le processus de transformation en bioénergie consiste à transformer la biomasse provenant de la forêt, des activités agricoles et de sources municipales, dont la biomasse, la paille, le bois, le fumier et les eaux d’égout, en produits de grande valeur, tels que le biodiésel, les engrais et l’éthanol, qui libèrent peu ou pas d’émissions de gaz à effet de serre.

Les gouvernements du Canada et de l’Alberta réalisent des investissements dans le cadre de l’Entente de partenariat Canada-Alberta pour le développement économique de l’Ouest. Aux termes de l’Entente, le Canada et l’Alberta investissent ensemble 50 millions de dollars, échelonnés sur quatre ans, dans le but de stimuler l’activité économique et d’améliorer la qualité de vie dans les collectivités de l’Alberta.

Pour obtenir plus de renseignements, veuillez communiquer avec :

Donna Kinley
Gestionnaire, Communications
Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada
Tél. : 780-495-6892

Christine King
Communications
Énergie Alberta
Tél. : 780-427-0770
Christine.King@gov.ab.ca
Composez le 310-0000 pour téléphoner gratuitement à l’intérieur de l’Alberta

Evan V. Chrapko
Président-directeur général, BECii
evanchrapko@gmail.com
Tél. : 202-656-3826

No sans frais de DEO : 1-888-338-9378
Téléimprimeur (ATS): 1-877-303-3388
Site Web DEO: www.wd-deo.gc.ca.
Inscrivez-vous pour recevoir nos bulletins de nouvelles et vous tenir au courant des dernières activités de DEO. Suivez-nous sur Twitter à @DEO_Canada.


Document d'information

Financement du projet :

Gouvernement du Canada (Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada) 4 200 000 $
Gouvernement de l’Alberta (Énergie Alberta) 4 200 000 $
Industrie (appui financier) 3 200 000 $
Industrie (appui non financier) 1 000 000 $
Total 12 600 000 $

 

Entente de partenariat Canada-Alberta pour le développement économique de l’Ouest (EPDEO)

L'EPDEO Canada-Alberta cible des priorités stratégiques communes. Le Canada et l'Alberta travailleront ensemble et avec d'autres parties intéressées afin de contribuer à l’établissement de collectivités innovatrices, durables et axées sur l'entrepreneuriat.

Priorités communes del'EPDEO Canada-Alberta

  • Commercialisation de la technologie - Créer et/ou développer l'économie du savoir en Alberta en commercialisant des technologies, des produits et des services novateurs sur les marchés intérieurs et internationaux.
  • Productivité et compétitivité des entreprises - Renforcer le développement, la croissance et la compétitivité des petites entreprises au sein de l'économie mondiale.
  • Commerce et investissement - Accroître l'accès aux marchés et investissements internationaux.
  • Transformation à valeur ajoutée - Augmenter les recettes des industries traditionnelles en adoptant de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux procédés qui transforment des sous-produits de faible valeur en produits de grande valeur.

Partenaires financiers du projet

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO)

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada travaille en collaboration avec les gouvernements provinciaux, les associations sectorielles et les collectivités dans le but de favoriser le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest. Le Ministère coordonne également les activités économiques du gouvernement fédéral dans l'Ouest et fait valoir les intérêts de la région dans le processus décisionnel national.

Énergie Alberta

Dans le cadre du Nine-Point Bioenergy Plan (2006) et de la stratégie provinciale sur l’énergie (2008), Énergie Alberta administre des programmes de subventions destinés à soutenir les capacités de développement et la commercialisation de la bioénergie. Le Ministère contribue aussi à l’essor de la production par l’intermédiaire du Bioenergy Producer Credit Program. À ce jour, un montant de 150 millions de dollars en subventions a été investi dans plus de 70 projets de bioénergie.

Biowaste to Energy for Canada Integration Initiative (BECii) Corp.

BECii est une entité sans but lucratif dirigée par l’industrie et destinée à répondre aux besoins de celle-ci qui couvre les frais inhérents à la démonstration de technologies en vue favoriser leur perfectionnement et qui prépare les technologies des énergies renouvelables à leur commercialisation. Le centre des énergies propres de la BECii (Clean Energy Centre) fournira aux entreprises membres les installations et l’expertise d’encadrement nécessaires pour transformer encore plus efficacement les déchets en énergie. Dans le cadre d’un modèle de partenariat, les technologies sont peaufinées et mises sur le marché, tout en offrant les retombées les plus bénéfiques sur le plan économique et environnemental. BECii agit comme un catalyseur entre les entreprises de transformation des déchets en énergie tant dans l’Ouest canadien qu’au niveau international (http://www.becii.ca/).