Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

About Western Canada

As Canada's regional economic development agency for Western Canada, Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) strives to maintain Western Canada's competitive position. WD invests in projects and activities that help improve productivity and competitiveness through the development, adoption and commercialization of new technologies and business processes. WD also supports growing value-added production and access to international markets.

Abundant natural resources, thriving technology and services sectors, and low business costs make Western Canada an attractive place to do business. Its proximity to Asian markets, access to inland and sea ports, and excellent connectivity with North American transportation systems have enabled increased efficiencies in exporting to international markets.

Western Canada is a significant contributor to the overall Canadian economy. In 2015, Western Canada accounted for 36 percent of both Canada’s gross domestic product (GDP) and its exported goods.1,2 Western Canada’s export activity is also closely linked to the world’s largest economy, the United States, and increasingly to the large and growing economies of the Asia-Pacific region. The United States is Western Canada’s largest trading partner. In 2015, trade with the United States accounted for roughly 72 percent of Western Canada’s total exports. In the same year, trade with the Asia-Pacific region accounted for roughly 18 percent of Western Canada's total exports.3,4

Economic growth in Western Canada is anchored by the natural resources sector, with resource-based goods accounting for approximately 61 percent of total exported products in 2015. The sector has benefited the economy by supporting the creation of industry clusters in sectors such as mining, forestry, oil and gas and agriculture.

Geography

Western Canada consists of the country’s four westernmost provinces: British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan, and Manitoba. It covers 2.9 million square kilometers – almost 29 percent of Canada’s land area – making it the seventh largest land mass in the world. It is bordered by Canada’s three territories, Yukon, Northwest Territories and Nunavut to the north; Ontario and Hudson Bay to the east; by the states of Washington, Idaho, Montana, North Dakota and Minnesota to the south; and Alaska and the Pacific Ocean to the west.

Approximately 11.1 million people, roughly 32 percent of Canadians, call Western Canada home.5 The majority of the population lives in urban areas, dominated by our cities, which include:

British Columbia (Provincial population 4,648,055)

  • Vancouver – 2,463,431
  • Victoria* – 367,770
  • Kelowna – 194,882
  • Abbotsford-Mission – 180,518

Alberta (Provincial population 4,067,175)

  • Calgary – 1,392,609
  • Edmonton* – 1,321,426

Saskatchewan (Provincial population 1,098,352)

  • Saskatoon – 295,095
  • Regina* – 236,481

Manitoba (Provincial population 1,278,365)

  • Winnipeg* – 778,489

* Population of census metropolitan areas listed in order of size with capital city indicated by a star.


[1] GDP Expenditure-based at current prices.
[2] Statistics Canada, CANSIM Tables 384-0038 and 228-0060.
[3] Includes only Asian countries in the Asia-Pacific region.
[4] Industry Canada, Trade Data Online.
[5] Statistics Canada, 2016 Census, Population and Dwelling Counts.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

L'Ouest canadien

En tant qu’organisme de développement régional du Canada consacré à l’Ouest canadien, Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada aide cette région à préserver son avantage concurrentiel en investissant dans des projets et activités visant à améliorer la productivité et la compétitivité par le développement, l’adoption et la commercialisation de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux processus opérationnels. Le Ministère favorise aussi la production à valeur ajoutée croissante et l’accès aux marchés internationaux.

Des ressources naturelles abondantes, des secteurs de la technologie et des services florissants et des coûts d’entreprise peu élevés font de l’Ouest canadien un endroit propice aux affaires. Grâce à la proximité des marchés asiatiques, à l’accès aux ports intérieurs et maritimes et à d’excellents services de transport reliant divers endroits situés dans l’ensemble de l’Amérique du Nord, l’Ouest canadien a mis sur pied des moyens très efficaces permettant d’exporter des produits vers des marchés internationaux.

La région de l’Ouest joue un rôle prépondérant dans l’économie nationale. En 2015, l’Ouest canadien a représenté 36 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) du Canada et des exportations canadiennes de biens.1,2 Ses exportations sont fortement orientées vers les États-Unis, l’une des plus importantes économies du monde, et de plus en plus vers les grandes économies en pleine croissance de la région de l’Asie-Pacifique. Les États-Unis sont le plus important partenaire commercial de l’Ouest canadien : en 2015, ils ont représenté environ 72 % des exportations de la région. Au cours de la même année, le commerce avec la région de l’Asie-Pacifique a représenté environ 18 % des exportations de l’Ouest canadien.3,4

La croissance économique de l’Ouest canadien est fondée sur l’activité du secteur primaire : en 2015, les produits issus des ressources naturelles ont constitué environ 61 % des exportations totales de produits. Ce créneau est bénéfique à l’économie, car il assure la mise sur pied de grappes dans certains secteurs, dont l’exploitation minière, la foresterie, le pétrole et le gaz et l’agriculture.

Géographie

L’Ouest canadien est constitué des quatre provinces du pays situées le plus à l’ouest : la Colombie-Britannique, l’Alberta, la Saskatchewan et le Manitoba. La région s’étend sur 2,9 millions de kilomètres carrés, soit près de 29 % du territoire du Canada, et constitue la septième plus grande masse continentale au monde. Elle côtoie les trois territoires canadiens au nord (le Yukon, les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Nunavut), l’Ontario et la baie d’Hudson à l’est, les États de Washington, de l’Idaho, du Montana, du Dakota du Nord et du Minnesota au sud et l’Alaska et l’océan Pacifique à l’ouest.

La population de l’Ouest canadien compte environ 11,1 millions de personnes, soit à peu près 32 % de la population du Canada.5 La majorité des citoyens de l'Ouest vivent dans les régions urbaines des grandes villes, y compris :

Colombie-Britannique (population de la province : 4 648 055)

  • Vancouver – 2 463 431
  • Victoria* – 367 770
  • Kelowna – 194 882
  • Abbotsford – Mission - 180 518

Alberta (population de la province : 4 067 175)

  • Calgary – 1 392 609
  • Edmonton* – 1 321 426

Saskatchewan (population de la province : 1 098 352)

  • Saskatoon – 295 095
  • Regina* – 236 481

Manitoba (population de la province : 1 278 365)

  • Winnipeg* – 778 489

* Les populations des régions métropolitaines de recensement sont présentées par ordre descendant de taille; la capitale de chaque région est indiquée par un astérisque.


[1] PIB en termes de dépenses à prix courants..
[2] Tableaux 384-0038 et 228-0060 de CANSIM, Statistique Canada.
[3] Comprend uniquement les pays d’Asie et la région de l’Asie-Pacifique.
[4] Données sur le commerce en direct, Industrie Canada.
[5] Chiffres de population et des logements, Recensement de 2016, Statistique Canada.