Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Financial statements and financial statements highlights

Financial statements

The complete WD financial statements [unaudited] for the year ended March 31, 2017 are available on the departmental website.

 

Financial statements highlights

The financial highlights presented within this Departmental Results Report are intended to serve as a general overview of WD's financial position and operations. The unaudited financial statements are prepared in accordance with accrual accounting principles (the link to complete financial statements is above).

Condensed Statement of Operations (unaudited) for the year ended
March 31, 2017 (dollars)

Financial Information 2016-17
Planned
Results
2016-17
Actual
2015-16
Actual
Difference  (2016-17 actual minus 2016-17 planned) Difference (2016-17 actual minus 2015-16 actual)
Total expenses 163,137,857 165,735,769 136,890,171 2,597,912 28,845,598
Total revenues 1,244 2,240 3,244 996 (1,004)
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 163,136,613 165,733,529 136,886,927 2,596,916 28,846,602

Total expenses

Total expenses were $165.7 million in 2016-17, a net increase of $28.8 million (21 percent) over 2015-16. This year-over-year net increase is attributed to an increase of $35.4 million for projects funded under the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program, a decrease of $3.3 million in other transfer payment spending and a decrease of $3.3 million in personnel and other operating costs.

Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited) as at March 31, 2017 (dollars)

Financial Information 2016-17 2015-16 Difference
(2016-17 minus 2015-16)
Total net liabilities 63,847,740 56,291,696 7,556,044
Total net financial assets 61,389,994 53,412,053 7,977,941
Departmental net debt (2,457,746) (2,879,643) 421,897
Total non-financial assets 76,786 90,885 (14,099)
Departmental net financial position (2,380,960) (2,788,758) 407,798

Total net liabilities

Total net liabilities were $63.8 million at the end of 2016-17, a net increase of $7.5 million (13 percent) over 2015-16. This year-over-year net increase is attributed two-fold: (i) the establishment of accounts payable balances for the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program and the Western Innovation Initiative, and (ii) reductions in accounts payable balances not required due to the completion of projects funded under the Western Diversification Program, and projects no longer administered on behalf of Infrastructure Canada.

Total net financial assets

Total net financial assets were $61.4 million at the end of 2016-17, an increase of $8 million (15 percent) over 2015-16. This year-over-year increase in these assets primarily consists of the "Due from Consolidated Revenue Fund" ($61 million), which is used to discharge WD's liabilities. Given WD's liabilities were higher than the previous fiscal year, the "Due from Consolidated Revenue Fund" also increased.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

États financiers et faits saillants des états financiers

États financiers

Les états financiers [non audités] de DEO pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 se trouvent sur le site Web de DEO.

 

Faits saillants des états financiers

Les points saillants financiers du présent Rapport sur les résultats ministériels donnent un aperçu général de la situation financière et des activités de DEO. Les états financiers non vérifiés sont établis selon les règles de la comptabilité d’exercice (le lien vers les états financiers complets est donné plus haut).

État condensé des opérations (non audité) pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2017 (en dollars)
Information financière Résultats prévus
2016­-2017
Réels
2016-2017
Réels
2015-2016
Écart (réels
2016-2017 moins prévus
2016-2017)
Écart (réels
2016-­2017 moins réels
2015-2016)
Total des charges 163 137 857 165 735 769 136 890 171 2 597 912 28 845 598
Total des revenus 1 244 2 240 3 244 996 (1 004)
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et les transferts 163 136 613 165 733 529 136 886 927 2 596 916 28 846 602

Les dépenses totales s’élevaient à 165,7 millions de dollars en 2016-2017, ce qui représente une hausse nette de 28,8 millions de dollars (21 %) par rapport à 2015-2016. Cette hausse nette d’un exercice sur l’autre est attribuable à une augmentation de 35,4 millions de dollars pour les projets financés au titre du Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150, à une baisse de 3,3 millions de dollars dans d’autres dépenses de transfert et à une diminution de 3,3 millions de dollars des coûts de personnel et autres coûts de fonctionnement.

État condensé de la situation financière (non audité) au 31 mars 2017 (en dollars)
Information financière 2016-2017 2015-2016 Écart
(2016­-2017 moins
2015-­2016)
Total des passifs nets 63 847 740 56 291 696 7 556 044
Total des actifs financiers nets 61 389 994 53 412 053 7 977 941
Dette nette du ministère (2 457 746) (2 879 643) 421 897
Total des actifs non financiers 76 786 90 885 (14 099)
Situation financière nette du ministère (2 380 960) (2 788 758) 407 798

Le passif net total s’élevait à 63,8 millions de dollars à la fin de l’exercice 2016-2017, soit une hausse nette de 7,5 millions de dollars (13 %) par rapport à 2015-2016. Cette hausse nette d’un exercice sur l’autre est attribuable à deux facteurs : i) l’établissement des soldes des comptes créditeurs pour le Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 et l’Initiative d’innovation dans l’Ouest, et ii) des réductions des soldes des comptes créditeurs devenus inutiles en raison de l’achèvement de projets financés au titre de Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest et d’autres projets qui ne sont plus gérés au nom d’Infrastructure Canada.

Le total des actifs financiers nets s’élevait à 61,4 millions de dollars à la fin de l’exercice  2016-2017, soit une hausse nette de 8 millions de dollars (15 %) par rapport à 2015-2016. Cette hausse nette des actifs d’un exercice à l’autre est principalement attribuable au « Montant à recevoir du Trésor » (61 millions de dollars), qui est utilisé par DEO pour acquitter son passif. Étant donné que le passif de DEO était supérieur à celui de l’exercice précédent, le « Montant à recevoir du Trésor » a lui aussi augmenté.