Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Internal Services

Description

Internal Services are those groups of related activities and resources that the federal government considers to be services in support of programs and/or required to meet corporate obligations of an organization. Internal Services refers to the activities and resources of the 10 distinct service categories that support Program delivery in the organization, regardless of the Internal Services delivery model in a department. The 10 service categories are: Management and Oversight Services; Communications Services; Legal Services; Human Resources Management Services; Financial Management Services; Information Management Services; Information Technology Services; Real Property Services; Materiel Services; and Acquisition Services.

 

Results

In 2016–17, WD continues to undertake a number of initiatives to create a technology and systems-enabled workplace to support the Government of Canada's Blueprint 2020 goals of enhancing service delivery, boosting value for money, and maintaining an efficient and high-performing organization. For example, WD continues its engagement with the other regional development agencies in the design and build of a common client-centric information management/information technology system to support online delivery of grants and contributions programs.  In addition, the Western Canada Business Service Network (WCBSN) transitioned to a new interactive web portal and online reporting system to automate the previously manual processes of performance reporting.

WD also contributes to the Government of Canada’s Open Government initiative by making relevant data accessible to the Canadian public and the businesses community through the Government of Canada's Open Data Inventory portal.  This portal provides one-stop access to the Government of Canada’s searchable open data and open information, together with open dialogue, as part of the federal government’s commitment to enhance transparency and accountability.

Concerted efforts have been made by internal Occupational Health and Safety Committees to ensure the physical and mental well-being of staff through initiatives like ergonomic training and participation in the Canadian Mental Health Association’s Not Myself Today campaign.

WD completed the modernization of its Edmonton and Ottawa offices in November 2016 and commenced the modernization of its Winnipeg offices towards Government of Canada Workplace 2.0 standards that will encourage employees to work smarter, greener, and healthier in order to serve Canadians. For example, each staff member was provided with height adjustable work surfaces and office ergonomic training to create a more active workplace. The new work environment is expected to promote collaboration between employees throughout the offices and to foster a knowledge sharing environment between WD units.

Furthermore, WD continues to invest in and expand the use of video conferencing, web-based tools and other wireless connectivity technologies for participating in and conducting inter-regional meetings, training sessions, and day-to-day activities. This aligns WD with the government’s workplace modernization and Destination 2020 strategy.

WD is a participant in the Federal Sustainable Development Strategy (FSDS) and contributes to the Greening Government Operations targets through the Internal Services program. The department contributes to the following target areas of Theme IV (Shrinking the Environmental Footprint – Beginning with Government) of the FSDS:  e-waste, printing unit reduction, paper consumption, green meetings, and green procurement. For additional details on WD's Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy, please see the list of Supplementary Information Tables in Section III.

Budgetary financial resources (dollars)
2016-17 Main Estimates 2016-17 Planned spending 2016-17 Total authorities available for use 2016-17 Actual spending (authorities used) 2016-17 Difference (actual minus planned)
12,519,328 12,519,328 12,996,209 12,553,089 33,761
Human resources (full-time equivalents)
2016–17
Planned
2016–17
Actual
2016–17
Difference
(actual minus planned)
91 92 1

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Services internes

Description

On entend par Services internes les groupes d’activités et de ressources connexes que le gouvernement fédéral considère comme des services de soutien aux programmes ou qui sont requis pour respecter les obligations d’une organisation. Les Services internes renvoient aux activités et aux ressources de 10 catégories de services distinctes qui soutiennent l’exécution de programmes dans l’organisation, sans égard au modèle de prestation des Services internes du ministère. Les 10 catégories de service sont : services de gestion et de surveillance, services des communications, services juridiques, services de gestion des ressources humaines, services de gestion des finances, services de gestion de l’information, services des technologies de l’information, services de gestion des biens, services de gestion du matériel et services de gestion des acquisitions.

 

Résultats

En 2016-2017, DEO a continué de travailler sur une série d’initiatives pour créer un milieu de travail doté de technologies et de systèmes permettant de donner suite aux buts d’Objectif 2020 du gouvernement du Canada, soit améliorer la prestation des services, optimiser les ressources et maintenir une organisation efficiente et très performante. Par exemple, DEO poursuit son travail avec d’autres organismes de développement régional pour concevoir et créer un système commun de gestion de l’information et de technologie de l’information, axé sur le client, en vue d’appuyer la prestation en ligne des programmes de subventions et contributions. En outre, le Réseau de services aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien (RSEOC) a mis en place un nouveau portail Web interactif et un système de production de rapports en ligne afin d’automatiser les processus manuels antérieurs de génération de rapports sur le rendement.

DEO contribue également à l’initiative de gouvernement ouvert du gouvernement du Canada en permettant à la population canadienne et au milieu des affaires d’accéder aux données pertinentes en utilisant le portail du répertoire des données ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada. Ce portail offre un guichet unique d’accès à la banque interrogeable de données et d’informations ouvertes du gouvernement du Canada, ainsi qu’au dialogue ouvert, composantes essentielles de l’engagement du gouvernement fédéral à améliorer la transparence et la responsabilisation.

Des efforts concertés ont été déployés par les comités internes de santé et sécurité au travail afin de garantir le bien-être physique et mental du personnel par des initiatives telles que la formation ergonomique et la participation à la campagne « Je ne me reconnais pas » de l’Association canadienne pour la santé mentale.

DEO a terminé les travaux de modernisation de ses bureaux d’Edmonton et d’Ottawa en novembre 2016 et a entrepris la modernisation de son bureau de Winnipeg en fonction des normes Milieu de travail 2.0 du gouvernement du Canada, qui encourage les employés à travailler avec intelligence d’une façon saine et écologique pour mieux servir les Canadiens. Ainsi, chaque membre du personnel a obtenu une surface de travail à hauteur ajustable et suivra une formation sur l’ergonomie au bureau, ce qui permettra de créer un milieu de travail actif. Celui-ci devrait favoriser la collaboration et la mobilisation entre les employés dans l’ensemble des bureaux, et faciliter la mise en commun du savoir entre les unités de DEO.

En outre, le Ministère continue d’investir dans la vidéoconférence, les outils Web et les autres technologies de connectivité sans fil pour en accroître l’utilisation dans les réunions interrégionales, les séances de formation et les activités quotidiennes. Cela aligne DEO sur la stratégie du gouvernement sur la modernisation des milieux de travail et la stratégie Destination 2020.

DEO participe à la Stratégie fédérale de développement durable et contribue à l’atteinte des objectifs du Programme d’écologisation des opérations gouvernementales par l’intermédiaire du programme Services internes. Le Ministère contribue aux domaines cibles suivants du thème IV de la Stratégie (Réduire l’empreinte environnementale – en commençant par le gouvernement) : déchets électroniques, réduction du nombre d’unités d’impression, consommation de papier, réunions écologiques et achats écologiques. Pour en savoir plus sur la Stratégie ministérielle de développement durable de DEO, consultez la liste des tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires à la Section III.

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2016-­2017
Dépenses prévues
2016­-2017
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2016-­2017
Dépenses réelles (autorisations utilisées)
2016-­2017
Écart (dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2016-­2017
12 519 328 12 519 328 12 996 209 12 553 089 33 761
Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein ou ETP)
Nombre d’ETP prévus
2016-­2017
Nombre d’ETP réels
2016-­2017
Écart (nombre d’ETP réels moins nombre d’ETP prévus)
2016-­2017
91 92 1