Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Results: what we achieved

Programs

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) works to grow the western Canadian economy by helping to build businesses that are productive, innovative and export-oriented, while diversifying the base of the western Canadian economy.

In 2016–17, WD's mandate was advanced through three programs:

  1. Business Development and Innovation;
  2. Community Economic Growth; and
  3. Policy, Advocacy and Coordination.

WD sets targets annually for all performance indicators at the program and sub-program level in the departmental performance measurement framework (PMF).  Progress is tracked against targets based primarily upon results that grants and contributions multi-year projects report during the fiscal year.  In addition, WD collects information on several non-PMF performance indicators to support accountability and programming decision making.

Program 1.1: Business Development and Innovation

Description

Business Development and Innovation supports western Canadian businesses, industry, and research organizations to enhance business innovation, productivity, and global engagement. Value-added production is strengthened through the introduction of new products, technologies, or innovations to existing processes, as well as through efforts to pursue global markets and increase investment in Western Canada. Additionally, this program supports some members of the Western Canada Business Service Network and related partners to provide business services and access to capital in Western Canada in support of increased entrepreneurism. Transfer payments in support of this program are made under the authority of the Women's Enterprise Initiative and the Western Diversification Program. Funding support of the Canada Business Network is comprised of operations and maintenance funding.

Results

WD tracks three indicators to capture the impact of the Business Development and Innovation program:

  • value of international business activity facilitated by WD;
  • number of small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) that increase gross margins; and
  • number of instances of protection of intellectual property exercised.

WD met or exceeded its targets for two of the three program performance indicators (see Performance Results table on page 12).

The target for value of international business activity facilitated by WD was $392 million and the actual result was $680 million. The target for the number of SMEs that increase their gross margins was 18 and the actual result was 20. For these two indicators, the variance is due to the multi-year nature of the projects funded with results sometimes being realised or reported earlier than anticipated.

In 2016-17, WD funded projects reported

  • 1,342 jobs created [1]
  • $13.6 million in value of business expenditures on research & development [2], and
  • $66 million of sales tied to knowledge-based products, processes, services or technologies being commercialized in support of the Government of Canada Innovation & Skills Plan

The target for the remaining indicator, which captures the number of instances of protection of intellectual property exercised, was 26 and the actual result was 13. The variance for this indicator is attributable to a small number of projects that are taking longer than anticipated to produce results.

WD invested $24.1 million in 55 clean technology projects in support of the Budget 2016 commitment to double the Regional Development Agencies’ aggregate investments in clean technology to $100 million. WD’s areas of investment include growing clean technology companies, greening industry, greening communities, and capacity building.

WD also approved $56.4 million in multi-year assistance for 45 Business Development and Innovation projects to commercialize new innovative products, processes and services; enhance exports to new international markets; and attract investment to Western Canada. The projects are strengthening regional clusters in the areas of clean technology, information communication technologies, health and life sciences, and value-added manufacturing.

In October 2016, WD supported the Foreign Direct Investment Canada Forum in Calgary. This forum promoted Western Canada as a destination of choice for foreign direct investment to potential international investors. It profiled potential business opportunities and hosted speakers to help investors understand the best areas for investment in Western Canada. This forum led to $25 million in international business activity facilitated by WD.

WD also supported the BC Export Assistance Project, which enables SMEs to become successful, profitable exporters. With funding from the Province of British Columbia, WD and Small Business BC, this initiative offers SMEs access to community-based export specialists who identify the specific needs and export readiness of participating businesses and offer a tailored export approach. To date, this initiative has assisted 61 participants across a variety of sectors including agrifood, manufacturing, and consumer goods.

WD completed refocusing the Indigenous Business Development Services (formerly known as the Aboriginal Business Services Network). This involved implementing a more targeted approach to support early stage entrepreneurship for new and existing Indigenous entrepreneurs and business organizations in Western Canada.

Under the overall Government of Canada theme of experimentation and innovation, WD conducted a pilot project to test the Community Futures (CF) program loans impact assessment methodology on smaller-scale Women’s Enterprise Initiative (WEI). WEI provides loans to support women entrepreneurs to start and expand their businesses. The study was based on the latest available Statistics Canada data from 2007 to 2012 and compared the business performance of WEI women-owned business loan clients to similarly-sized, women-owned incorporated companies in Western Canada. The study found the following results[3] :

  • Employment Growth: WEI-assisted firms grew at a compounded rate of 5.76 percent per year compared to a negative growth rate of 0.25 percent for non-assisted firms.
  • Sales Growth: WEI-assisted firms grew at a compounded rate of 10.67 percent per year compared to 1.21 percent for non-assisted firms.
  • Firm Longevity: WEI-assisted firms also exhibited stronger firm longevity than firms in the comparable group, especially in the long run. There was a 60.24 percent survival rate after five years for WEI-assisted businesses versus 45.26 percent for non-assisted firms.

WD commenced an evaluation of its innovation programming in 2016-17. The findings and recommendations from the innovation evaluation will be reported in next year’s departmental results report. WD also identified key lessons learned on the WINN call-for-proposals (CFP) process which include enhancing the timeliness of the intake process in terms of predictability, increasing the proposal submission period between call for proposals and proposals closing, and providing greater feedback to the unsuccessful applicants. WD will consider these recommendations as part of the WINN review currently underway.

Results achieved
Expected results Performance indicators Target Date to achieve target 2016–17 Actual results 2015–16 Actual results 2014–15 Actual results
Western Canadian small and medium-enterprises (SMEs) are engaged in international business Value of international business activity facilitated by WD $392M March 31, 2017 $680M $550M $72.8M
Western Canadian SMEs are competitive Number of SMEs that increase gross margins 18 March 31, 2017 20 10 25
Western Canadian SMEs are innovative Number of instances of protection of intellectual property exercised 26 March 31, 2017 13 9 24

Note: Not all WD projects report on these indicators and overall results are therefore understated. WD is in the process of revising its reporting framework to allow better reporting in the future. Results are based on active projects reporting during the fiscal year and are not cumulative from previous year(s). Consequently, trends analysis would not be an accurate way to assess these results.
 

Budgetary financial resources (dollars)
2016-17 Main Estimates 2016-17 Planned spending 2016-17 Total authorities available for use 2016-17 Actual spending (authorities used) 2016-17 Difference (actual minus planned)
95,135,450 95,135,450 97,106,096 96,821,013 1,685,563

 

Human resources (full-time equivalents)
2016–17 Planned 2016–17 Actual 2016–17 Difference (actual minus planned)
103 94 (9)

Note: Actual full-time equivalents (FTE) utilization is less than planned as a result of re-alignment of FTEs to the Community Economic Growth program in support of Canada 150 activities and related project development work.

 

__________

[1]
This measure is an aggregate of number of HQP jobs created, SME employment growth, and number of skilled workers hired as a result of training or skills certification.
[2]
This measure is an aggregate of value of applied R&D undertaken related to initial technology development, and value of applied R&D undertaken related to intermediate technology development.
[3]
Women’s Enterprise Initiative Pilot Project Performance Report (2007–2012), October 2016

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Résultats : ce que nous avons accompli

Programmes

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) s’emploie à développer l’économie de l’Ouest canadien en contribuant à la création d’entreprises productives, novatrices et axées sur l’exportation, tout en veillant à la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien.

En 2016-2017, trois programmes contribuent à la réalisation du mandat de DEO :

  1. Développement des entreprises et innovation;
  2. Croissance économique des collectivités;
  3. Politique, représentation et coordination.

DEO établit des cibles annuelles pour l’ensemble des indicateurs de rendement des programmes et des sous-programmes de son Cadre de mesure de rendement (CMR) ministériel. Il suit les progrès accomplis par rapport à ses cibles, en fonction, principalement, des résultats des projets pluriannuels de subventions et contributions en cours d’exercice. Le Ministère recueille également des renseignements sur plusieurs indicateurs de rendement autres que ceux du CMR afin d’appuyer la responsabilisation et la prise de décisions concernant les programmes.

Programme 1.1: Développement des entreprises et innovation

Description

Le programme Développement des entreprises et innovation soutient les entreprises, les industries et les organisations de recherche de l’Ouest canadien en vue de rehausser l’innovation, la productivité et la participation globale des entreprises. La production à valeur ajoutée est renforcée par le lancement de nouveaux produits et de nouvelles technologies ou par l’apport d’innovations à des procédés de fabrication existants, ainsi que par des efforts pour se lancer sur les marchés internationaux et accroître l’investissement dans l’Ouest canadien. Ce programme soutient en outre certains membres du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien et d’autres partenaires qui offrent des services aux entreprises et assurent l’accès au capital dans l’Ouest canadien, à l’appui d’un entrepreneuriat accru. Les paiements de transfert qui soutiennent ce programme sont effectués au titre de l’Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs et du Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest. Le soutien financier du Réseau Entreprises Canada est constitué de fonds d’exploitation et d’entretien.

Résultats

DEO utilise trois indicateurs pour mesurer les effets du programme Développement des entreprises et innovation :

  • valeur de l’activité commerciale internationale facilitée par DEO;
  • le nombre de petites et moyennes entreprises dont la marge brute augmente;
  • nombre de cas où la protection du droit de propriété intellectuelle a été invoquée.

DEO a atteint ou dépassé ses objectifs pour deux des trois indicateurs de rendement du programme (voir le tableau Résultats atteints à la page 16).

Pour la valeur des activités commerciales internationales facilitées par DEO, l’objectif se chiffrait à 392 millions de dollars et un résultat réel de 680 millions de dollars a été obtenu. Pour le nombre de PME dont la marge brute augmente, l’objectif se chiffrait à 18 et un résultat réel de 20 a été obtenu. Pour ces deux indicateurs, l’écart est dû à la nature pluriannuelle des projets financés dont les résultats sont parfois réalisés ou déclarés plus tôt que prévu.

En 2016-2017, les projets financés par DEO ont indiqué :

  • 1 342 emplois créés[1];
  • 13,6 millions de dollars en valeur des dépenses d’entreprise en recherche et développement[2];
  • 66 millions de dollars de chiffre d’affaires lié à la commercialisation de produits, processus, services ou technologies fondés sur le savoir

à l’appui du Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences du gouvernement du Canada

L’objectif pour l’indicateur restant qui enregistre le nombre de cas où la protection du droit de propriété intellectuelle a été invoquée se chiffrait à 26 et un résultat réel de 13 a été obtenu. L’écart pour cet indicateur est attribuable au petit nombre de projets qui prennent plus de temps que prévu pour produire des résultats.

DEO a investi 24,1 millions de dollars dans 55 projets de technologies propres pour appuyer l’engagement budgétaire de 2016 consistant à doubler[i] les investissements globaux des organismes de développement régional dans les technologies propres pour atteindre un total de 100 millions de dollars. Les domaines d’investissement de DEO comprennent les sociétés de technologies propres en croissance, l’industrie verte, les communautés vertes et le renforcement des capacités.

DEO a également approuvé une aide pluriannuelle de 56,4 millions de dollars pour 45 projets de développement des entreprises et innovation afin de commercialiser de nouveaux produits, processus et services innovants; d’accroître les exportations vers de nouveaux marchés internationaux; et d’attirer les investissements dans l’Ouest canadien. Les projets renforcent les grappes régionales dans les domaines des technologies propres, des technologies de l’information et de la communication, de la santé et des sciences de la vie, et de la fabrication à valeur ajoutée.

En octobre 2016, DEO a apporté son soutien au Forum sur l’investissement étranger direct au Canada à Calgary. Ce forum a mis de l’avant l’Ouest canadien en tant que destination de choix pour l’investissement direct étranger auprès d’investisseurs internationaux potentiels. Il a présenté le profil des possibilités d’affaires potentielles et accueilli des conférenciers pour aider les investisseurs à comprendre les meilleurs domaines d’investissement dans l’Ouest canadien. Ce forum s’est traduit par des activités commerciales internationales facilitées par DEO d’une valeur de 25 millions de dollars.

DEO a également appuyé le projet d’aide à l’exportation de la Colombie-Britannique, qui permet aux PME de devenir des exportateurs prospères et rentables. Avec le financement de la province de la Colombie-Britannique, de DEO et de Small Business BC, cette initiative offre aux PME l’accès à des spécialistes des exportations communautaires, qui déterminent les besoins précis et la préparation à l’exportation des entreprises participantes et proposent une approche d’exportation sur mesure. À ce jour, cette initiative a profité à 61 participants de divers secteurs, y compris l’agroalimentaire, la fabrication et les biens de consommation.

DEO a achevé la réorientation des Services de développement des entreprises autochtones (anciennement appelé Réseau de services aux entreprises autochtones), ce qui englobait la mise en œuvre d’une approche plus ciblée pour soutenir l’entrepreneuriat au stade initial pour les entrepreneurs et les organisations commerciales autochtones nouvelles et existantes de l’Ouest canadien.

Dans le cadre du thème général de l’expérimentation et de l’innovation du gouvernement du Canada, DEO a mené un projet pilote dans le but de tester les méthodes d’évaluation des répercussions des prêts accordés par l’entremise de l’Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs (IFE), qui est à plus petite échelle L’IFE offre des prêts aux femmes entrepreneurs pour les aider à démarrer et à développer leurs entreprises. L’étude était basée sur les dernières données disponibles de Statistique Canada pour la période de 2007 à 2012 et a comparé le rendement commercial des entreprises appartenant à des femmes ayant bénéficié de prêts accordés par l’IFE aux autres entreprises de même taille appartenant à des femmes dans l’Ouest canadien. Voici les résultats de l’étude[3].

  • Croissance de l’emploi : Les entreprises aidées par l’IFE ont affiché un taux de croissance composé de 5,76 % par an comparativement à -0,25 % pour les entreprises n’ayant pas reçu la même aide.
  • Croissance du chiffre d’affaires : Les entreprises aidées par l’IFE ont affiché un taux de croissance composé de 10,67 % par an comparativement à 1,21 % pour les entreprises n’ayant pas reçu la même aide.
  • Longévité des entreprises : Les entreprises aidées par l’IFE ont également affiché une plus grande longévité que les entreprises du groupe de comparaison, surtout à long terme. Le taux de survie des entreprises aidées par l’IFE était de 60,24 % après cinq ans, comparativement à 45,26 % pour les entreprises n’ayant pas reçu cette aide.

DEO a entrepris une évaluation de son programme d’innovation en 2016-2017. Les constats et recommandations de cette évaluation figureront dans le rapport ministériel sur les résultats de l’année prochaine. DEO a également dressé la liste des principales leçons tirées du processus d’appel de propositions de l’Initiative InnO, qui comprennent l’amélioration de l’opportunité du processus d’admission en termes de prévisibilité, l’augmentation de la période de soumission des propositions entre l’appel de propositions et la clôture des propositions, et la prestation d’une rétroaction plus étoffée aux candidats infructueux. DEO considérera ces recommandations dans le cadre de l’examen en cours de l’Initiative InnO.

Résultats atteints
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cible Date d’atteinte de la cible Résultats réels
2016-2017
Résultats réels
2015­-2016
Résultats réels
2014­-2015
Les PME de l’Ouest canadien participent au commerce international Valeur de l’activité commerciale internationale facilitée par DEO 392 M$ 31 mars 2017 680 M$ 550 M$ 72,8 M$
Les PME de l’Ouest canadien sont compétitives Nombre de PME dont la marge brute augmente 18 31 mars 2017 20 10 25
Les PME de l’Ouest canadien sont novatrices Nombre de cas où la protection du droit de propriété intellectuelle a été invoquée 26 31 mars 2017 13 9 24

Remarque : Les projets de DEO ne rendent pas compte de tous ces indicateurs. Les résultats globaux sont par conséquent sous-estimés. DEO est en train de revoir son cadre de mesure de rendement afin de produire de meilleurs rapports à l’avenir. Les résultats sont basés sur les rapports de projets actifs au cours de l’exercice et ne sont pas cumulatifs avec ceux des exercices précédents. Par conséquent, l’analyse des tendances ne constituerait pas un moyen précis d’évaluer ces résultats.
 

Ressources financières budgétaires (en dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2016-­2017
Dépenses prévues
2016-­2017
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2016­-2017
Dépenses réelles (autorisations utilisées)
2016-­2017
Écart
(dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2016-­2017
95 135 450 95 135 450 97 106 096 96 821 013 1 685 563

 

Ressources humaines (équivalents temps plein ou ETP)
Nombre d’ETP prévus
2016-­2017
Nombre d’ETP réels
2016-­2017
Écart (nombre d’ETP réels moins nombre d’ETP prévus)
2016­-2017
103 94 (9)

Remarque : L’utilisation des équivalents temps plein (ETP) réels est inférieure aux prévisions en raison de la réaffectation des ETP au programme Croissance économique des collectivités pour soutenir les activités de Canada 150 et le travail de développement de projets connexes.

 

__________

[1]
Cette mesure constitue un agrégat du nombre d’emplois pour PHQ créés, de la croissance de l’emploi dans les PME et du nombre de travailleurs qualifiés engagés à la suite d’une accréditation de formation ou de compétences.
[2]
Cette mesure constitue un agrégat de la valeur des travaux de recherche-développement appliquée effectués liés au développement technologique initial, et de la valeur des travaux de recherche-développement appliquée liés au développement technologique intermédiaire.
[3]
Rapport sur le rendement du projet pilote de l’Initiative pour les femmes entrepreneurs (2007-2012), octobre 2016