Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Operating context and key risks

Operating context

Western Canada accounted for 37 percent of Canada's real Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in 2016.[1] The region led the country in economic growth from 2011 to 2014, before posting small declines in both 2015 (-0.8%) and 2016 (-0.5%). Low oil and other natural resource prices resulted in sharply different outcomes for the western provinces over the past two years. British Columbia and Manitoba continued to experience above-average growth, but this was offset by recessions in Alberta and Saskatchewan. Looking forward, stabilizing energy prices should see oil and gas activity start to recover, which along with growth in other sectors, such as manufacturing and commercial services, should result in positive economic growth for all four western provinces in 2017.[2]

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) supports the Government of Canada's key priorities identified in the Ministers' mandate letters and in federal budgets. These priorities include implementing Canada's Innovation and Skills Plan, accelerating clean growth through investments in clean technologies, and assisting firms with high-growth potential to scale up through the Accelerated Growth Service. Other initiatives include the Canada 150 Community Infrastructure Program and promoting economic growth for Indigenous Peoples.

Economic success will require building on regional strengths. Progress is being made towards growing the Western Canada's clean technology sector, along with other innovation based industries such as information and communication technology, natural resources, aerospace, life sciences and value-added agriculture. There is also a higher proportion of high-growth small and medium-sized enterprises (10.1 percent) in Western Canada than in the rest of Canada (8.8 percent), led by Alberta and Saskatchewan. Sustained development of these firms will contribute to the success of the western Canadian economy.

Key risks

In its 2016–17 Report on Plans and Priorities, WD identified two key risks: competitiveness and productivity challenges, and a small domestic market and increasing global competition.

Businesses in Western Canada face a number of competitiveness and productivity challenges, such as comparatively low levels of business investment in research and development and slower adoption of new technologies and equipment.[3][4]  This is partly due to low levels of risk capital financing in Western Canada. Innovative start-up firms face greater challenges in accessing sufficient financing for technology commercialization priorities; this funding gap is particularly pronounced for early-stage firms.

Western Canadian businesses also face the challenge of a small domestic market and increasing global competition. Expanding international market opportunities for western Canadian businesses is an important component of economic prosperity. In order to remain competitive in a global economy, western Canadian businesses will need to increase their presence in international markets, participate in global value chains, and attract foreign direct investment.

The following table highlights the response strategies taken by the department in 2016–17 to address these risks.

Key risks

Risks Mitigation strategy and effectiveness Link to the department's Program(s) Link to mandate letter commitments or to government-wide and departmental priorities
Weak competitiveness and low productivity in Western Canada
(existing risk)
  • Approved 34 WINN projects with total WD investment of $47.7 million to bring innovative technology-based products, processes and services to market.
     
  • Strengthened engagement with stakeholder to facilitate policy discussions and promote innovation, skills development and training in Western Canada.

 

Business Development and Innovation
  • Job growth
  • Innovation Agenda
  • Clean technology
Small domestic market and increasing global competition for western Canadian businesses
(existing risk)
  • Approved nine new projects in Trade, Investment and Market Access with $4.1 million in WD funding.
     
  • Convened business development opportunities that connected western Canadian industry and innovators to global aerospace and defence companies.
     
  • Worked with industry associations and government partners to facilitate western Canadian access to global supply chain opportunities at international, national and regional trade shows and events.

 

Business Development and Innovation
  • Job growth
  • Export development

 

 

__________

[1]
Statistics Canada - CANSIM 379-0030: Gross domestic product (GDP) at basic prices (Accessed May 2017).
[2]
Conference Board of Canada. Provincial Outlook – Spring 2017. May 29, 2017.
[3]
Statistics Canada – CANSIM Table 358-0001: Gross domestic expenditures on research and development (Accessed May 2017)
[4]
Statistics Canada – CANSIM Table 383-0033: In 2015, labour productivity (real gross domestic product per hour worked) declined in Alberta (-2.6%) and Saskatchewan ( 0.5%), and increased modestly in British Columbia (+0.8%) and Manitoba (+0.4%). (Accessed May 2017)

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contexte opérationnel et principaux risques

Contexte opérationnel

L’Ouest canadien représentait 37 % du produit intérieur brut (PIB) réel du Canada en 2016.[1]  La région se classait en première place au pays au chapitre de la croissance économique de 2011 à 2014, avant d’afficher de petites baisses en 2015 (-0,8 %) et en 2016 (-0,5 %). La faiblesse des prix du pétrole et d’autres ressources naturelles a entraîné des résultats nettement différents pour les provinces de l’Ouest au cours des deux dernières années. La Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba ont connu une croissance supérieure à la moyenne, mais cela a été contrebalancé par des récessions en Alberta et en Saskatchewan. À l’avenir, avec la stabilisation des prix de l’énergie, l’activité pétrolière et gazière devrait commencer à reprendre du galon, ce qui, en combinaison avec la croissance dans d’autres secteurs, tels que ceux la fabrication et des services commerciaux, devrait entraîner une croissance économique positive dans les quatre provinces de l’Ouest en 2017.[2]

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) appuie les principales priorités du gouvernement du Canada énoncées dans les lettres de mandat des ministres et dans les budgets fédéraux. Ces priorités comprennent la mise en œuvre du Plan d’innovation et de compétences du Canada, l’accélération de la croissance propre grâce à des investissements dans les technologies propres et l’aide aux entreprises à fort potentiel de croissance grâce au Service de croissance accélérée. D’autres initiatives comprennent le Programme d’infrastructure communautaire de Canada 150 et la promotion de la croissance économique pour les peuples autochtones.

Une réussite économique nécessite de prendre comme tremplin les points forts régionaux. Des progrès sont accomplis au chapitre du secteur de la technologie propre de l’Ouest du Canada, ainsi que par d’autres industries liées à l’innovation telles que les technologies d’information et de communications, les ressources naturelles, l’aérospatiale, les sciences de la vie et l’agriculture à valeur ajoutée. L’Ouest canadien comporte aussi un plus grand nombre de petites et moyennes entreprises à forte croissance (10,1 %) que le reste du Canada (8,8 %), avec l’Alberta et la Saskatchewan en tête de liste. Le développement soutenu de ces entreprises contribuera au succès de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien.

Principaux risques

Dans son Rapport sur les plans et les priorités de 2016-2017, DEO a cerné deux risques majeurs : les défis en matière de compétitivité et de productivité, et un marché intérieur de petite taille et une concurrence mondiale croissante.

Les entreprises de l’Ouest du Canada font face à un certain nombre de défis en matière de compétitivité et de productivité, tels que des niveaux relativement bas d’investissements commerciaux dans la recherche et le développement et l’adoption plus lente de nouvelles technologies et de nouveaux équipements.[3][4] Cette situation s’explique, en partie du moins, par l’insuffisance de capital de risque investi dans l’Ouest du Canada. Les entreprises nouvelles et innovatrices ont plus de difficulté à obtenir un financement adéquat pour commercialiser leurs technologies; cette difficulté est encore plus marquée chez les sociétés en phase de démarrage.

Les entreprises de l’Ouest canadien doivent également relever le défi d’un petit marché national et de l’augmentation de la concurrence mondiale. Des possibilités d’affaires internationales plus nombreuses pour les entreprises de l’Ouest constituent une composante essentielle de la prospérité économique. Afin de demeurer concurrentielles à l’échelle internationale, les entreprises de l’Ouest canadien devront accroître leur présence sur les marchés internationaux, participer à des chaînes de valeur mondiales, et attirer des investissements directs étrangers.

Le tableau suivant présente les stratégies d’atténuation adoptées par le Ministère en 2016-2017 pour remédier à ces risques.

Principaux risques

Risques Stratégie d’atténuation et efficacité Lien aux programmes du ministère Lien aux engagements de la lettre de mandat ou aux priorités pangouvernementales et ministérielles

Faible compétitivité et productivité insuffisante dans l’Ouest canadien

(risque actuel)
  • Approbation de 34 projets de l’InnO et investissement total de 47,7 millions de dollars de DEO pour mettre sur le marché des produits, procédés et services novateurs à base de technologie.
     
  • Renforcement des engagements auprès des parties intéressées pour faciliter les discussions sur les politiques et promouvoir l’innovation ainsi que le développement des compétences et la formation dans l’Ouest canadien.

 

Développement des entreprises et innovation
  • Croissance de l’emploi
  • Programme d’innovation
  • Technologie propre

Marché intérieur limité et accroissement de la concurrence internationale pour les entreprises de l’Ouest canadien

(risque actuel)
  • Approbation de neuf nouveaux projets dans le cadre du sous-programme Commerce, investissement et accès aux marchés pour lesquels le financement de DEO totalise 4,1 millions de dollars.
     
  • Organisation de possibilités de développement des affaires mettant en contact l’industrie et les innovateurs de l’Ouest canadien avec les sociétés mondiales de l’aérospatiale et de la défense.
     
  • Collaboration avec des associations industrielles et des partenaires gouvernementaux pour faciliter l’accès de l’Ouest canadien aux possibilités de la chaîne d’approvisionnement mondiale lors de salons et d’événements commerciaux internationaux, nationaux et régionaux.

 

Développement des entreprises et innovation
  • Croissance de l’emploi
  • Croissance de l’exportation

 

__________

[1]
Statistique Canada – Tableau 379-0030 : Produit intérieur brut (PIB) aux prix de base (accédé en mai 2017)
[2]
Conference Board du Canada, données prévisionnelles pour les provinces, printemps 2017. Le 29 mai 2017.
[3]
Statistique Canada – Tableau 358-0001: Dépenses intérieures brutes en recherche et développement (accédé en mai 2017)
[4]
Statistique Canada – Tableau 383-0033: En 2015, la productivité du travail (produit intérieur brut réel par heure travaillée) a diminué en Alberta (-2,6 %) et en Saskatchewan (-0,5 %), et elle a connu une hausse modeste en Colombie-Britannique (0,8 %) et au Manitoba (0,4 %) (accédé en mai 2017).