Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Minister’s message

I am pleased to report progress made on making Canada a world-leading centre for innovation and science, helping create good, well-paying jobs, and strengthening and growing the middle class.

The work of the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Portfolio includes promoting innovation and science; supporting the commercialization of more research and ideas; providing more Canadians with the skills to participate in a global and digital economy; helping small businesses grow through innovation, access to capital and trade; promoting increased tourism in Canada; and supporting scientific research and the integration of scientific considerations in our investment and policy choices.

This year, the Portfolio organizations continued their work to deliver on the Government’s Budget 2017 commitment to develop an Innovation and Skills Plan. The plan’s focus on people and addressing the changing nature of the economy is a focus for the Portfolio’s programs.

WD continued to develop and diversify the western Canadian economy through the delivery of its investment programs, services, and convening activities. This has helped businesses become more innovative and competitive. The department also supported regional and community economic development opportunities, including those that involved Indigenous peoples and other underrepresented groups.

It is my pleasure to present the 2016–17 Departmental Results Report for Western Economic Diversification Canada.

 

The Honourable Navdeep Bains
The Honourable Navdeep Bains
Minister of Innovation, Science
and Economic Development

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Message du ministre

Je suis heureux de rendre compte des progrès réalisés dans notre projet de faire du Canada un centre international d’innovation et de la science, qui aide à créer de bons emplois bien rémunérés et qui renforce et élargit la classe moyenne.

Le portefeuille d’Innovation et de la science, Sciences et Développement économique a pour mandat de promouvoir l’innovation et de la science; d’appuyer la commercialisation de plus de recherches et d’idées; de fournir à un nombre accru de Canadiennes et de Canadiens les compétences nécessaires à leur participation à une économie numérique mondiale; d’aider les petites entreprises à croître grâce à l’innovation, à l’accès aux capitaux et au commerce; de faire la promotion du tourisme au Canada; de soutenir la recherche scientifique et de prendre en compte des facteurs scientifiques dans nos choix d’investissement et nos politiques.

Cette année, les organismes du portefeuille ont poursuivi leur travail pour réaliser l’engagement du gouvernement énoncé dans le Budget de 2017 d’élaborer un Plan pour l’innovation et les compétences. Nos programmes concentrent leurs efforts sur l’importance accordée aux gens dans le Plan et les mesures à prendre devant la nature changeante de l’économie.

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada a poursuivi ses efforts visant à développer et à diversifier l’économie de l’Ouest canadien grâce à la prestation de ses programmes d’investissement, de ses services et de ses activités de concertation. Cela a permis aux entreprises de se montrer plus innovantes et concurrentielles. Le Ministère a aussi appuyé des possibilités de développement économique communautaire et régional, notamment celles qui touchaient les peuples autochtones et les groupes sous-représentés.

Je suis heureux de vous présenter le Rapport sur les résultats ministériels pour l’année financière 2016–2017 de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada.

 

The Honourable Navdeep Bains
L’honorable Navdeep Bains
Ministre de l’Innovation, des
Sciences et du Développement
économique