Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Provincial Government Developments

British Columbia

  • BC government supports improving labour skills and conditions – Premier John Horgan announced the BC government will eliminate tuition fees for adult basic education and English learning programs in the province. The previous government introduced tuition fees with a $1,600 cap in 2015, and since then enrolment in those programs has dropped almost 35 percent. The fee change is expected to help more people gain the skills and knowledge required to participate in BC's economy. The BC government will also be increasing the minimum wage by 50 cents to $11.35 an hour, starting September 15, 2017. The increase will give BC the third highest minimum wage in Canada. Some small business owners voiced concerns with the announcement but are hopeful for tax breaks next year that may offset some of the increased costs

  • BC government receives intervener status in TMX court case – The BC government is following through on its opposition to Kinder Morgan's Trans Mountain Expansion Pipeline (TMX) by outlining the legal and consultation steps it will be taking. The province has hired Thomas Berger as external counsel to provide the government with legal advice related to TMX. There are 19 separate lawsuits seeking to overturn the project's environmental approval, including from BC First Nations, local governments, and environmental organizations. The BC government applied for and received intervener status for the case against TMX, with the stated intent of holding the project to the highest standards in terms of environmental protection and Indigenous consultation. Hearings have been scheduled for October 2017.

 

Alberta

  • Alberta releases its First Quarter Fiscal Update – The Government of Alberta (GoA) released its First Quarter Fiscal Update on August 23. Real GDP is forecasted to grow at 3.1 percent in 2017, up from the 2017 budget forecast of 2.6 percent. Growth is largely being attributed to an increase in oil drilling, which doubled compared to the same period in 2016, and to housing starts which increased 23 percent from the same period in 2016. In addition, around 17,000 jobs have been added to the economy so far this year, raising the employment rate to 1.3 percent from the 0.9 percent forecast in the budget. The current deficit remains at $10.5 billion.

  • Alberta invests additional money in Indigenous construction program – The GoA announced that it will invest an additional $1.9 million over two years to support the Alberta Indigenous Construction Career Centres (AICCC) at NorQuest College (Edmonton) and Bow Valley College (Calgary). The AICCC is expected to help approximately 1,700 individuals receive training in the construction industry and acquire greater connections with employers by providing career coaching, resume development, safety courses, job search support, as well as workshops and training.

  • Alberta modifies its liquor licence policies– Effective August 15, the GoA and the Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission (AGLC) have modified their policies to add a new license category which will effectively allow manufacturers to expand their local market sales, including allowing them to sell their products in local farmers markets.

 

Saskatchewan

  • Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall to retire from politics – Premier Brad Wall announced that he will be retiring from politics once the Saskatchewan Party elects a new leader. First elected to the provincial Legislative Assembly in 1999, Mr. Wall has served as leader of the Saskatchewan Party for 14 years and as Premier of Saskatchewan since 2007. Former cabinet ministers who resigned their posts and have announced plans to run for the leadership of the Saskatchewan Party include Tina Beaudry-Mellor (Minister of Social Services), Ken Cheveldayoff (Minister of Parks, Culture and Sport), Gordon Wyant (Minister of Justice and Attorney General), and Scott Moe (Minister of Environment). Jeremy Harrison (Minister of the Economy) who had also resigned and announced his intention to run for leadership of the party, has since withdrawn his name and said he will back Scott Moe. Senior government official Alanna Koch, Deputy Minister to the Premier and Cabinet Secretary, has also announced her intentions to run for the leadership. The election of a new leader for the Saskatchewan Party will be held on January 27, 2018.

  • Government of Saskatchewan releases budget update for first quarter – On August 25, 2017, Finance Minister Kevin Doherty released the province's first quarter budget update. There was no change to the government's deficit forecast of $684.7 million. Revenue at first quarter is expected to increase by $42 million (0.3 percent) from the budget forecast, while expenses are projected to increase by $82 million (0.6 percent) compared to the budget forecast. Roughly $40 million of the government's $300 million contingency is being used to offset larger than forecast expenses, and a further $125 million will be used to offset planned savings in compensation that will not be realized this year. In its 2017-18 budget, the Saskatchewan government proposed a reduction of $250 million in public sector compensation, representing a savings of roughly 3.5 percent.

  • Saskatchewan Health Authority names its first CEO– Saskatchewan's new single health authority has named Scott Livingstone as its first CEO. The province is transitioning from twelve regional health authorities to a single authority beginning this fall. Previously, Mr. Livingstone served as the CEO of the Saskatchewan Cancer Agency.

 

Manitoba

  • Manitoba Government launches new portal for community development programs – The Manitoba government has centralized its community development programs and created a new single portal for intake, assessment, and awarding support. Programs that can be accessed include: Neighbourhoods Alive! Community Places, Community Planning Assistance, Hometown Manitoba, and Partner 4 Growth.

  • Canada and Manitoba invest in dairy industry research technology – The governments of Canada and Manitoba are partnering to invest more than $1.4 million to expand scientific research capacity at the University of Manitoba's Glenlea Research Station dairy barn. Funding will allow the University of Manitoba to expand its dairy facility through a repurposed swine barn and to install a new automated milking system, free stalls for dairy cattle, dedicated spaces for calves, milk collection tanks, above-ground manure storage, new flooring, and related laboratory equipment.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le point sur les gouvernements provinciaux

Colombie-Britannique

  • Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique soutient l'amélioration des compétences de la main-d'œuvre et des conditions de travail – Le premier ministre John Horgan a annoncé que le gouvernement abolira les frais de scolarité rattachés à la formation de base des adultes et aux programmes d'apprentissage de l'anglais dans la province. En 2015, le gouvernement précédent a imposé des frais de scolarité pouvant atteindre 1 600 $, et depuis, l'inscription à ces programmes a chuté de près de 35 %. L'abolition des frais de scolarité devrait aider les gens à acquérir les compétences et les connaissances nécessaires pour participer à l'économie de la province. Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique augmentera le salaire minimum de 50 cents pour le faire passer à 11,35 $ l'heure, à compter du 15 septembre 2017. Cette hausse portera la Colombie-Britannique au 3e rang des provinces à offrir le salaire minimum le plus élevé au Canada. Certains propriétaires de petite entreprise ont exprimé des préoccupations à ce sujet, mais ils espèrent obtenir l'an prochain des crédits d'impôt qui pourraient compenser certaines hausses de coûts.

  • Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique obtient le statut d'intervenant dans la cause contre TMX – Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique poursuit son opposition au projet de Kinder Morgan visant l'agrandissement du réseau pipelinier de Trans Mountain (TMX) en précisant les procédures judiciaires et le processus de consultation qu'il mènera. La province a retenu les services de Thomas Berger à titre de conseiller juridique externe; ce dernier fournira au gouvernement des avis juridiques relatifs au projet TMX. On dénombre 19 poursuites judiciaires distinctes visant à faire annuler l'approbation environnementale donnée par le gouvernement. Ces poursuites sont intentées notamment par des Premières nations de la Colombie-Britannique, des administrations municipales et des organisations environnementales. Le gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique a demandé et obtenu le statut d'intervenant dans la cause contre TMX et il a déclaré son intention de veiller à ce que le projet respecte les normes les plus strictes sur le plan de la protection de l'environnement et du processus de consultation auprès des Autochtones. Les audiences devraient se tenir en octobre 2017.

 

Alberta

  • L'Alberta publie sa mise à jour de la situation financière se rapportant au premier trimestre – Le 23 août, le gouvernement de l'Alberta a publié sa mise à jour de la situation financière se rapportant au premier trimestre. Le PIB réel devrait enregistrer une croissance de 3,1 % en 2017, soit plus que les 2,6 % prévus au budget de 2017. Cette croissance est en grande partie attribuable à la hausse des activités de forage pétrolier, qui ont doublé par rapport à la même période en 2016, ainsi qu'aux mises en chantier qui ont augmenté de 23 % par rapport à la même période en 2016. De plus, environ 17 000 emplois se sont ajoutés à l'économie depuis le début de l'année, ce qui porte la hausse du taux d'emploi à 1,3 % comparativement à la hausse de 0,9 % qui avait été prévue au budget. Le déficit actuel est toujours de 10,5 milliards de dollars.

  • L'Alberta investit des sommes supplémentaires dans le programme du secteur de la construction destiné aux Autochtones – Le gouvernement de l'Alberta a annoncé un investissement supplémentaire de 1,9 million de dollars sur deux ans, en appui aux Alberta Indigenous Construction Career Centres (AICCC), du Collège NorQuest (Edmonton) et du Collège Bow Valley (Calgary). Les AICCC devraient permettre à environ 1 700 personnes de recevoir de la formation dans l'industrie de la construction et d'établir plus de liens avec les employeurs grâce aux programmes d'encadrement professionnel, de rédaction de curriculum vitae, de cours sur la sécurité, de soutien à la recherche d'emploi, d'ateliers et de formation.

  • L'Alberta modifie ses politiques en matière de permis d'alcool – En date du 15 août, le gouvernement de l'Alberta et l'Alberta Gaming and Liquor Commission (AGLC) ont modifié leurs politiques pour ajouter une nouvelle catégorie de permis qui permettra aux producteurs d'alcool d'augmenter leurs ventes sur les marchés locaux, entre autres de vendre leurs produits dans les marchés agricoles locaux.

 

Saskatchewan

  • Le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, quitte la vie politique – Le premier ministre Brad Wall a annoncé qu'il quittera la vie politique lorsque le Parti saskatchewanais aura élu un nouveau chef. D'abord élu à l'Assemblée législative de la province en 1999, M. Wall a été chef du Parti saskatchewanais pendant 14 ans, et il est premier ministre de la Saskatchewan depuis 2007. Des ministres du Cabinet ont quitté leur poste et annoncé leur intention de se présenter à la course à la direction du Parti saskatchewanais. Il s'agit de Tina Beaudry-Mellor (ministre des Services sociaux), Ken Cheveldayoff (ministre des Parcs, de la Culture et du Sport), Gordon Wyant (ministre de la Justice et procureur général) et Scott Moe (ministre de l'Environnement). Jeremy Harrison (ministre de l'Économie) qui avait aussi démissionné de son poste et annoncé son intention de se présenter à la course à la direction, s'est retiré depuis et a déclaré qu'il appuiera Scott Moe. La haute fonctionnaire Alanna Koch, sous‑ministre du premier ministre et secrétaire du Cabinet, a aussi annoncé son intention de se lancer dans la course à la direction. L'élection d'un nouveau chef du Parti saskatchewanais se tiendra le 27 janvier 2018.

  • Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan publie une mise à jour sur le budget se rapportant au premier trimestre – Le 25 août 2017, le ministre des Finances, Kevin Doherty, a publié la mise à jour sur le budget se rapportant au premier trimestre. Il n'y a pas eu de changement par rapport au déficit prévu de 684,7 millions de dollars. Les revenus du premier trimestre devraient connaître une hausse de 42 millions de dollars (0,3 %) par rapport aux prévisions budgétaires, alors que les dépenses devraient totaliser 82 millions de dollars de plus (0,6 %) comparativement aux prévisions budgétaires. Quelque 40 millions de dollars provenant de la réserve pour imprévus de 300 millions de dollars sont utilisés pour compenser la différence par rapport aux dépenses prévues, et une autre somme de 125 millions de dollars servira à compenser l'écart entre les économies prévues et les économies réalisées au cours de l'exercice. Dans son budget de 2017-2018, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan a proposé de réduire de 250 millions de dollars la rémunération dans le secteur public, ce qui représente des économies d'environ 3,5 %.

  • L'autorité sanitaire de la Saskatchewan nomme son premier PDG – La nouvelle autorité sanitaire provinciale a nommé Scott Livingstone à titre de PDG. À compter de cet automne, la province effectuera une transition pour regrouper douze autorités sanitaires régionales en une seule. M. Livingstone occupait auparavant le poste de PDG de la Saskatchewan Cancer Agency.

 

Manitoba

  • Le gouvernement du Manitoba lance un nouveau portail destiné aux programmes de développement communautaire – Le gouvernement du Manitoba a centralisé ses programmes de développement communautaire et créé un nouveau portail unique de réception des demandes, d'évaluation et d'octroi de financement. Parmi les programmes accessibles comprennent les programmes Quartiers vivants! Aide à l'aménagement communautaire, Hometown Manitoba et Partner 4 Growth.

  • Le Canada et le Manitoba investissent dans les technologies de recherche liées à l'industrie laitière – Le gouvernement fédéral et le gouvernement du Manitoba s'associent pour investir plus de 1,4 million de dollars en vue d'accroître la capacité de recherche scientifique à l'étable à vaches laitières de l'établissement de recherche Glenlea de l'Université du Manitoba. Ce financement permettra à l'Université du Manitoba d'agrandir sa laiterie grâce à l'utilisation de la porcherie à d'autres fins et à l'installation d'un système de traite automatisé, à des logettes pour bovins laitiers, à des espaces réservés aux veaux, à des réservoirs pour la collecte de lait, à l'entreposage du fumier à ciel ouvert, à l'installation de nouveaux planchers et à du matériel de laboratoire connexe.