Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Provincial Government Developments

British Columbia

  • New Premier and cabinet sworn in – On July 18, 2017, John Horgan was sworn in as the 36th Premier of BC. Premier Horgan's new cabinet is the first in BC's history to achieve gender parity with 10 women named to cabinet and one to minister of state. Ministerial portfolios highlight the government's intention to improve the quality of life and job opportunities within the province, including a Ministry of Mental Health and Addictions, a Minister of State for Child Care, and a Minister for Social Development and Poverty Reduction. There were also a number of changes to appointments at the Deputy Minister level.

  • New BC government's first moves – Mandate letters to each of the cabinet ministers in BC's new government were publicly released on July 24. Ministers have been instructed to deliver on three key priorities – "relief for families from rising costs and fees; better services for people, including healthcare and education; and good jobs and economic opportunities." The new government began addressing its key priorities with an announcement to increase income and disability assistance by $100 a month, moving BC from having the lowest provincial assistance rate to the third highest. In addition, Premier Horgan announced changes in leadership within BC's crown corporations, including BC Hydro, BC Housing and the Insurance Corporation of BC.

  • Immigration to support BC's growing tech sector – BC is prioritizing the applications of potential immigrants with skills and experience in the Information Technology (IT) sector. The province has been conducting tech-only immigration draws under the Provincial Nominee Program since May, reinforcing the government's commitment to support and grow BC's technology sector. The provincial nominee program allows provinces to nominate prospective immigrants with the qualifications they are targeting.

Alberta

  • Alberta announces new climate programs for Indigenous communities – On June 29, the Government of Alberta announced the creation of seven new programs designed to help Indigenous communities invest in local renewal projects, conduct energy-efficiency audits and deliver skills training for jobs in a low-carbon environment. These programs were announced in Alberta's Climate Leadership Plan and will be funded by $35 million of Carbon Tax revenue.

  • Alberta provides funding for Calgary LRT – The province announced $1.53 billion in funding over eight years for the construction of the Calgary Green Line LRT, matching equal contributions from The City of Calgary and the federal government. The Green Line will traverse a 46km, north-south route through central Calgary to improve public transit access and connectivity by linking 28 stations, two existing LRT lines and three bus rapid transit lines. The new LRT line will be built in stages as funding becomes available, with construction of the first of three stages set to begin in 2019. The provincial government estimates that the Green Line will create 12,000 direct and 8,000 indirect jobs.

  • Province announces funding through Emissions Reduction Alberta – Emissions Reduction Alberta (ERA) is funding 12 innovative methane-reducing projects as part of its Methane Challenge to detect, quantify and reduce methane emissions. Selected projects in the oil and gas, power generation, agriculture and forestry sectors will receive up to $29.5 million funding. It is estimated that the combined projects, worth more than $83 million, will reduce over 1.1 megatonnes (Mt) of methane by 2020 and 6.9 Mt by 2030, and create 60 jobs. ERA's Oil Sands Innovation Challenge is leveraging another $50 million to provide $100 million in funding for winning technologies that will allow oil sands operations to meet the greenhouse gas emissions limit by 2030.

  • Alberta funds projects through the Entrepreneurship Incubator Program – The Government of Alberta has announced $10 million in funding for entrepreneurial development through its two-year Alberta Entrepreneurship Incubator Program (AEIP). The Red Deer Downtown Business Association will receive $600,000 to expand its Catapult Entrepreneurs Incubator. In addition, Startup Edmonton, TEC Edmonton, Northern Alberta Business Incubator (NABI) and the Northern Alberta Institute of Technology (NAIT) will receive $1.5 million to provide a new suite of services for innovation based startups. The Apex Incubator in Medicine Hat and the Spark! Incubator in Grande Prairie have previously received funding from the AEIP.

  • Changes made to the Canada-Alberta Job Grant – The Canada-Alberta Job Grant (CAJG) was recently improved to expand access to training and offer more ways for Alberta employers to train workers, as well as a $5.5 million budget increase over 2016-17. Launched in 2014, the CAJG is an employer-driven training program delivered by the Government of Alberta with funding from the federal government. Changes include covering 100 percent of training costs, up to $15,000, for unemployed trainees, reimbursing a portion of travel costs for trainees coming from outside of Calgary or Edmonton and allowing sole proprietors to apply for training for their workers.

SASKATCHEWAN

  • Saskatchewan launches Innovation Incentive – On June 30, 2017, the government of Saskatchewan proclaimed the Saskatchewan Commercial Innovation Incentive (SCII) Act. The SCII is the first "patent box" style incentive in North America, and will reduce the provincial, corporate income tax rate for eligible corporations on taxable income earned from the commercialization of qualifying intellectual property (IP). Eligible IP includes patents, plant breeders' rights, trade secrets and copyright material. The SCII will enable corporations to reduce their income tax for a period of ten years, with an additional 5-year extension available if the majority of the related research and development takes place in Saskatchewan.

  • SaskPower issues a request for proposals on a wind power project – On July 6, 2017, SaskPower moved forward on the competitive process to acquire an additional 200 megawatts of wind generation capacity by inviting eight independent power producers to submit proposals by May 25, 2018. SaskPower, a Crown-owned utility, has committed to increasing the province's share of renewable energy generation from 25 per cent to 50 per cent by 2030. Increasing the share of renewable energy in the province's electricity system has the potential to reduce greenhouse gas emissions to roughly 40 per cent below 2005 levels.

MANITOBA

  • Province of Manitoba requesting proposals for Social Impact Bonds – The government of Manitoba has posted a request for proposals for the development of their first Social Impact Bond (SIB) which will fund provincial social programs. SIBs encourage the private sector and community groups to partner with government to deliver programs designed by experts and front-line service organizations. The government sets a specific outcome to achieve in collaboration with service providers, secures private investment and then repays the investors if the service provider meets the project's outcome. The participation of Indigenous businesses has been encouraged.

  • Manitoba facilitates propane shipments to Churchill – The Manitoba government has committed $6 million to ensure that the community of Churchill will have sufficient propane to heat their homes and businesses throughout the winter. The funding will allow provider Stittco Energy to proceed with finalizing logistics for shipment and storage in order to supply Churchill with propane. This allotment of propane should support the town and area residents until at least June 2018. The shipment includes 110 shipment containers of propane, totaling 2.2 million litres, shipped by sealift from a port in Quebec in early fall.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le point sur les gouvernements provinciaux

Colombie-Britannique

  • Un nouveau premier ministre et les membres d'un nouveau Cabinet ont été assermentés – Le 18 juillet 2017, John Horgan est devenu le 36e premier ministre de la Colombie-Britannique. Le nouveau Cabinet du premier ministre Horgan est le premier Cabinet paritaire de l'histoire de la Colombie-Britannique; dix femmes ont été nommées au Cabinet et une femme a été nommée ministre d'État. Les portefeuilles ministériels soulignent l'intention qu'a le gouvernement d'améliorer la qualité de vie et les possibilités d'emploi dans la province et comprennent un ministère de la Santé mentale et des toxicomanies, un ministre d'État responsable du dossier de la garde des enfants et un ministre chargé du développement social et de la réduction de la pauvreté. Plusieurs modifications de nominations ont également eu lieu à l'échelle des sous-ministres.

  • Le nouveau gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique annonce ses premières mesures – Les lettres de mandat de chaque ministre du nouveau gouvernement de la Colombie-Britannique ont été diffusées publiquement le 24 juillet. Les ministres ont reçu pour instructions de donner suite aux priorités clés, à savoir « un allégement des coûts et des frais croissants pour les familles; de meilleurs services, y compris dans le domaine des soins de santé et de l'éducation; et de bons emplois et de bonnes perspectives économiques ». Le nouveau gouvernement a commencé la réalisation des priorités clés en annonçant une augmentation de l'aide au revenu et à l'invalidité de 100 $ par mois, faisant passer la Colombie-Britannique du dernier au troisième rang sur le plan de l'aide provinciale. En outre, le premier ministre Horgan a annoncé des changements à la direction au sein des sociétés d'État de la Colombie-Britannique, notamment BC Hydro, BC Housing et la société Insurance Corporation of BC.

  • L'immigration vise à soutenir le secteur des technologies en croissance de la Colombie-Britannique – La Colombie-Britannique accorde la priorité aux demandes des immigrants potentiels qui possèdent des compétences et de l'expérience dans le secteur des technologies de l'information (TI). La province effectue des tirages pour l'immigration réservés aux technologies en vertu du Programme des candidats des provinces depuis le mois de mai, renforçant ainsi l'engagement du gouvernement à soutenir et à faire croître le secteur des technologies en Colombie-Britannique. Le Programme des candidats des provinces permet aux provinces de proposer la candidature d'immigrants potentiels qui possèdent les titres de compétence ciblés.

Alberta

  • L'Alberta annonce de nouveaux programmes climatiques destinés aux communautés autochtones – Le 29 juin, le gouvernement de l'Alberta a annoncé la création de sept nouveaux programmes visant à aider les communautés autochtones à investir dans des projets de renouvellement locaux, à mener des vérifications de l'efficacité énergétique et à offrir une formation axée sur les compétences dans un environnement économe en carbone. Ces programmes ont été annoncés dans le plan de leadership climatique de l'Alberta et seront financés par des revenus tirés de la taxe sur le carbone de l'ordre de 35 millions de dollars.

  • L'Alberta offre un financement à Calgary pour son SLR – La province a annoncé un financement de 1,53 milliard de dollars sur huit ans pour la construction de la ligne verte du système léger sur rail de Calgary, qui correspond à des contributions égales de la part de la Ville de Calgary et du gouvernement fédéral. La ligne verte suivra un itinéraire du nord au sud de 46 km au centre de Calgary et améliorera l'accès aux transports en commun et les correspondances en reliant 28 stations, deux lignes de système léger sur rail existantes et trois lignes de transport rapide par autobus. La nouvelle ligne de système léger sur rail sera construite par étapes, à mesure que le financement sera disponible; la construction de la première des trois étapes devrait commencer en 2019. Le gouvernement provincial estime que la ligne verte créera 12 000 emplois directs et 8 000 emplois indirects.

  • La province annonce un financement par l'intermédiaire d'Emissions Reduction Alberta – La société Emissions Reduction Alberta (ERA) finance 12 projets de réduction du méthane novateurs dans le cadre du Methane Challenge, son programme de lutte contre le méthane visant à détecter, à quantifier et à réduire les émissions de méthane. Certains projets dans les secteurs du pétrole et du gaz, de la production d'électricité, de l'agriculture et de la foresterie recevront un financement pouvant aller jusqu'à 29,5 millions de dollars. On estime que, pris ensemble, les projets, dont la valeur dépasse 83 millions de dollars, réduiront les émissions de méthane de plus de 1,1 mégatonne (Mt) d'ici 2020 et de 6,9 Mt d'ici 2030, et créeront 60 emplois. Le projet Oil Sands Innovation Challenge d'ERA mobilise une somme supplémentaire de 50 millions de dollars afin de fournir un financement de 100 millions de dollars pour les technologies gagnantes qui permettront à l'exploitation des sables bitumineux de respecter la limite d'émission de gaz à effet de serre d'ici 2030.

  • L'Alberta finance des projets par l'intermédiaire d'un programme d'incubateur d'entreprises – Le gouvernement de l'Alberta a annoncé un financement de 10 millions de dollars pour le développement des entreprises par l'intermédiaire de son programme d'incubateur d'entreprises de deux ans, l'» Alberta Entrepreneurship Incubator Program » (AEIP). La Red Deer Downtown Business Association recevra 600 000 $ pour agrandir son incubateur Catapult Entrepreneurs. En outre, Startup Edmonton, TEC Edmonton, Northern Alberta Business Incubator (NABI) et l'Institut de technologie du Nord de l'Alberta (NAIT) recevront 1,5 million de dollars pour offrir une nouvelle gamme de services aux entreprises en démarrage axées sur l'innovation. L'incubateur Apex à Medicine Hat et l'incubateur Spark! à Grande Prairie ont déjà reçu un financement de l'AEIP.

  • Des modifications ont été apportées au programme Canada-Alberta Job Grant – Le programme Canada-Alberta Job Grant (CAJG) a récemment été amélioré afin d'augmenter l'accès à la formation et d'offrir davantage de moyens aux employeurs de l'Alberta de former les travailleurs, et fait l'objet d'une augmentation budgétaire de 5,5 millions de dollars en 2016-2017. Lancé en 2014, le CAJG est un programme de formation offert par le gouvernement de l'Alberta sous la direction d'employeurs, qui bénéficie d'un financement de la part du gouvernement fédéral. Les modifications comprennent la prise en charge de la totalité des coûts de formation jusqu'à concurrence de 15 000 $ pour les stagiaires au chômage, le remboursement d'une partie des frais de déplacement des stagiaires qui viennent de l'extérieur de Calgary ou d'Edmonton et l'autorisation des entreprises individuelles à demander une formation pour leurs travailleurs.

SASKATCHEWAN

  • La Saskatchewan lance une mesure d'incitation à l'innovation – Le 30 juin 2017, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan a promulgué la Saskatchewan Commercial Innovation Incentive (SCII) Act. La SCII est la première mesure d'incitation de style « boîte à brevets » de l'Amérique du Nord. Elle réduira le taux d'imposition des sociétés de la province pour les sociétés admissibles concernant les bénéfices imposables réalisés à la commercialisation de la propriété intellectuelle (PI) admissible. La PI admissible comprend les brevets, les droits des sélectionneurs, les secrets commerciaux et les documents protégés par le droit d'auteur. La SCII permettra aux sociétés de réduire leurs impôts sur les bénéfices pendant une période de dix ans, assortie d'une prolongation supplémentaire de cinq ans si la majeure partie de la recherche et du développement se déroule en Saskatchewan.

  • SaskPower diffuse une demande de propositions pour un projet d'énergie éolienne – Le 6 juillet 2017, SaskPower a lancé le processus concurrentiel d'acquisition d'une capacité de production d'énergie éolienne de 200 mégawatts supplémentaires en invitant huit producteurs d'électricité indépendants à présenter une proposition d'ici le 25 mai 2018. SaskPower, entreprise de services publics appartenant à l'État, s'est engagée à augmenter la part de la production d'énergie renouvelable de la province de 25 % à 50 % d'ici 2030. L'augmentation de la part de l'énergie renouvelable dans le réseau électrique de la province pourrait réduire les émissions de gaz à effet de serre à environ 40 % au-dessous des niveaux de 2005.

MANITOBA

  • La province du Manitoba fait une demande de propositions concernant des obligations à impact social – Le gouvernement du Manitoba a publié une demande de propositions concernant l'établissement de sa première obligation à impact social, qui financera les programmes sociaux de la province. Les obligations à impact social encouragent le secteur privé et les groupes communautaires à s'associer au gouvernement afin d'offrir des programmes conçus par des experts et des organisations de services de première ligne. Le gouvernement fixe un objectif précis à atteindre en collaboration avec les fournisseurs de services, garantit les placements privés, puis rembourse les investisseurs si le fournisseur de services atteint l'objectif du projet. La participation des entreprises autochtones est encouragée.

  • Le Manitoba facilite les expéditions de propane à Churchill – Le gouvernement du Manitoba a engagé 6 millions de dollars pour que les membres de la collectivité de Churchill disposent de suffisamment de propane pour chauffer leurs maisons et leurs entreprises pendant l'hiver. Le financement permettra au fournisseur Stittco Energy de mettre la dernière main à la logistique d'expédition et d'entreposage afin de fournir Churchill en propane. Cette distribution de propane devrait soutenir les résidents de la ville et de la région jusqu'en juin 2018 au moins. L'expédition comprend 110 conteneurs d'expédition de propane, totalisant 2,2 millions de litres, envoyés par transport maritime à partir d'un port du Québec au début de l'automne.