Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Administration of the Act

Departmental Structure

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) employs 319 individuals across Western Canada and in Ottawa, including:  economists, commerce officers and policy analysts.  They are supported by specialists in such areas as:  communications, corporate administration, financial management, human resources, information management and information technology, and procurement.

WD is headquartered in Edmonton, Alberta, and organized into four regional units (British Columbia, Alberta, Saskatchewan and Manitoba), with offices located in Vancouver, Edmonton, Calgary, Saskatoon, Winnipeg and a liaison office in Ottawa.

Each of these offices is responsible for searching and retrieving documents responsive to access requests received under the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act; however, the Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) unit is legally responsible for implementing and managing the ATIP program and services for WD, including all decisions on the disclosure or non-disclosure of information pursuant to the legislation.

Acess to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Unit

The ATIP Unit is located in Edmonton, Alberta, and is responsible for the implementation and management of the Access to Information Act and Privacy Act programs and services for WD.  It is part of the Finance and Corporate Management Directorate.

Specifically, the ATIP Unit:

  • makes decisions on the disposition of access requests;
  • conducts consultations with other federal government departments, provincial and municipal government departments, and third parties with respect to access to information and privacy issues;
  • promotes awareness of the legislation to ensure departmental responsiveness to the obligation imposed by law;
  • monitors and advises on departmental compliance with the Acts, regulations, procedures and policies; and
  • acts as the spokesperson for the Department when dealing with the Treasury Board Secretariat, the Information Commissioner, the Privacy Commissioner, and other government departments and agencies.

The ATIP Unit has three employees, including the ATIP Coordinator, Deputy ATIP Coordinator, and one ATIP Officer.  The Coordinators fulfill their responsibilities in addition to numerous other functions within the department.  The ATIP Officer is dedicated to processing all access and privacy requests, along with related functions, as well as additional departmental responsibilities pertaining to Personnel Security and other security-related functions.  In total, approximately .82 FTE was dedicated to access to information activities in 2016-2017.

The ATIP Unit is accountable for the development, coordination and implementation of effective policies, guidelines, systems and procedures to manage the department’s compliance with the Acts.  The administration of the legislation in WD is managed by the ATIP Unit, but it is also facilitated at the corporate business unit and regional office levels.  Each corporate business unit and regional office has an ATIP Liaison Officer (reporting to an Assistant Deputy Minister, Executive Director, or corporate business unit Director) who is the first point of contact and identifies the appropriate subject experts, coordinates retrieval of records responding to access requests, and liaises between the ATIP Unit and regional staff concerning enquiries.  The ATIP Unit responds to all requests submitted under the Act.

Other access to information-related tracked activities which were completed by the ATIP Unit in 2016-2017 include:

ACTIVITY TOTAL (Questions/Reviews/E-mails/Reports, etc.)
Preparing parliamentary responses 7
Review of parliamentary questions and responses 104
Preparing and delivering ATIP training/awareness sessions to departmental officials 13
OTHER ACTIVITIES  
Advice and guidance to WD officials, other government departments and the public x
Update the ATIP intranet site x
Preparing and tabling annual reports and statistical reports x
Input to RPP and DPR (ATIP User Fees) x
Managing Info Source updates and web postings x
Preparing summaries of closed access to information requests x
Participating in Information Management initiatives and providing ATIP guidance x
Review and update ATIA business practices, procedures and policy development x
Regular review and destruction of ATIA files in accordance with retention schedule x

The ATIP Unit monitors the processing of all access requests.  The ATIP Coordinator and the department’s Executive Committee, regional ATIP Liaison Officers and Communications officials receive weekly reports pertaining to the status of all active formal and informal access requests.

In addition, procedures are in place with Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada’s Information and Privacy Rights Administration unit to advise the Minister weekly on the status of all active formal and information access requests, as well as the disclosure of potentially sensitive requests for information if appropriate.

Delegation of Authority

In accordance with section 73 of the Access to Information Act, the Honourable Navdeep Bains, Minister of Innovation, Science and Economic Development, delegated his full powers, authorities and responsibilities to the Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management (ATIP Coordinator) and Manager, Corporate Administration (Deputy ATIP Coordinator).  The delegation also extends limited authority to the ATIP Officer.  The delegation order was issued on June 10, 2016.

Departmental Policies and Procedures

WD’s Access to Information Policy Suite, including the departmental Access to Information Policy and procedures manual, was reviewed and updated in fiscal year 2016–2017.  These policy and procedural documents are reviewed as needed to ensure that they are up-to-date, and reflect any changes in TBS policies or directives, or changes as result of issues raised by the Office of the Information Commissioner or other agents of Parliament.

The department posts summaries of its closed access to information requests on the Open Information Portal.

Training and Awareness

Staff training and awareness activities include:

  • The ATIP Officer provides indirect instruction on access to information issues, guidance on how the department processes access requests and the rationale required to apply the exemptions and exclusions to ATIP Liaison Officers and staff to increase awareness of the Act.
  • In 2016-2017, the ATIP Officer conducted 13 pre-processing meetings attended by 24 departmental officials/subject experts.  These meetings are conducted as new access requests are received and when deemed appropriate dependent on the nature of the request.  Meetings are approximately one-half hour in length, depending on the complexities of the request, and provide direct instruction on the records retrieval and review process, recommendations required by the ATIP Unit, and to identify volumes of records, potential sensitivities, etc.

The department maintains an Access to Information and Privacy presence on its intranet site that includes policies, procedures, training and awareness presentations, relevant links to useful sites related to access and privacy, and contact information, as well as "The ATIP Eye" tips.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Administration de la loi

Structure ministérielle

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) emploie 319 personnes dans l’Ouest canadien et à Ottawa, notamment des économistes, des agents de commerce et des analystes des politiques qui sont appuyés par des spécialistes de domaines comme les communications, l’administration ministérielle, la gestion financière, les ressources humaines, la gestion de l’information et les technologies de l’information, et l’approvisionnement.

DEO, qui a son administration centrale à Edmonton (Alberta), compte quatre sections régionales (Colombie-Britannique, Alberta, Saskatchewan et Manitoba), ainsi que des bureaux à Vancouver, à Edmonton, à Calgary, à Saskatoon, à Winnipeg et un bureau de liaison à Ottawa.

Il incombe à chacun de ces bureaux de chercher et de trouver les documents faisant l’objet de demandes d’accès à l’information en vertu de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels; cela dit, la Section de l’AIPRP est tenue par la loi de mettre en œuvre et de gérer le programme et les services d’AIPRP pour le compte de DEO, et notamment de prendre toutes les décisions relatives à la divulgation ou à la non-divulgation de renseignements en vertu des lois.

Section de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des reseignements personnels (AIPRP)

La Section de l’AIPRP, située à Edmonton (Alberta), est responsable de la mise en œuvre et de la gestion des programmes et services liés à la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels pour le compte de DEO. Elle fait partie du Direction des finances et de la gestion ministérielle.

En particulier, la Section de l’AIPRP :

  • prend des décisions quant à la suite à donner aux demandes d’accès à l’information;
  • mène des consultations avec d’autres ministères fédéraux, gouvernements provinciaux, administrations municipales et des tiers concernant les questions liées à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels;
  • fait mieux connaître les lois pour que le Ministère soit réceptif aux obligations imposées par la loi;
  • surveille la conformité du Ministère aux lois, aux règlements, aux procédures et aux politiques et donne des conseils à cet égard;
  • agit comme porte-parole du Ministère auprès du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, du Commissaire à l’information, du Commissaire à la protection de la vie privée et d’autres ministères et organismes gouvernementaux.

La Section de l’AIPRP compte trois employés, dont le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP et un agent de l’AIPRP. Les coordonnateurs s’acquittent des responsabilités qui leur incombent et assument diverses autres fonctions au sein du Ministère. L’agent de l’AIPRP traite toutes les demandes relatives à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels et s’acquitte de fonctions connexes; il a aussi d’autres responsabilités ministérielles liées à la sécurité, notamment la sécurité du personnel. Globalement, les activités liées à l’accès à l’information ont occupé 0,82 ETP en 2016-2017.

La Section de l’AIPRP est chargée d’élaborer, de coordonner et de mettre en œuvre des politiques, directives, systèmes et procédures efficaces pour gérer la conformité du Ministère aux lois. Si la Section de l’AIPRP gère l’administration des lois au sein de DEO, les unités opérationnelles et les bureaux régionaux de l’organisation jouent également un rôle à cet égard. Chaque unité opérationnelle et bureau régional à un agent de liaison de l’AIPRP (qui relève d’un sous-ministre adjoint, d’un directeur exécutif ou d’un directeur d’unité opérationnelle). Agissant comme premier point de contact, l’agent de liaison repère les experts à consulter, coordonne la recherche des documents faisant l’objet des demandes d’accès à l’information et assure la liaison avec la Section de l’AIPRP et le personnel des régions en ce qui concerne les demandes. La Section de l’AIPRP répond à toutes les demandes présentées en vertu de la Loi.

Voici la liste des autres activités qui ont été réalisées par la Section de l’AIPRP et qui ont fait l’objet d’un suivi en 2016-2017, en ce qui a trait à l’accès à l’information :

Activité Total (Questions, examens, courriels, rapports, etc.)
Préparer des réponses au Parlement 7
Examiner des questions et réponses parlementaires 104
Préparer et présenter des séances de formation et de sensibilisation sur l’AIPRP à des fonctionnaires du Ministère 13
Autres activités  
Fournir des conseils et de l’orientation aux fonctionnaires de DEO, à d’autres ministères et à la population x
Mettre à jour les renseignements sur l’AIPRP dans le site intranet x
Préparer et déposer des rapports annuels et des rapports statistiques x
Contribuer au RPP et au RMR (frais d’utilisation de l’AIPRP) x
Gérer les mises à jour d’Info Source et la publication sur le Web x
Préparer des sommaires des demandes d’accès à l’information fermées x
Participer aux initiatives de gestion de l’information et fournir des conseils en matière d’AIPRP x
Examiner et mettre à jour les pratiques opérationnelles, les procédures et l’élaboration de politiques relatives à la Loi x
Examiner régulièrement et détruire les dossiers relatifs à la Loi, conformément au calendrier de conservation x

La Section de l’AIPRP surveille le traitement de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP et le Comité exécutif du Ministère, les agents régionaux de liaison de l’AIPRP et les responsables des communications reçoivent un rapport d’étape hebdomadaire sur toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information actives officielles et non officielles.

En outre, des procédures ont été mises en place avec l’unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada afin que le ministre soit tenu informé, chaque semaine, de l’état des demandes d’accès à l’information actives officielles, ainsi que de la divulgation de demandes d’information de nature délicate, le cas échéant.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Conformément à l’article 73 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information, l’honorable Navdeep Bains, ministre de l’Innovation, des Sciences et du Développement économique, a délégué l’intégralité de ses pouvoirs et de ses responsabilités au directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle (coordonnateur de l’AIPRP), et au gestionnaire, Administration intégrée (coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP). La délégation confère aussi à l’agent de l’AIPRP un pouvoir limité. L’arrêté de délégation a été émis le 10 juin 2016.

 

Délégation de pouvoirs


Version textuelle
Afficher l'image pleine dimension

 

Politiques et procédures ministérielles

Au cours de l’exercice 2016-2017, des mises à jour ont été apportées à l’ensemble des politiques sur l’accès à l’information de DEO et au manuel des procédures. Ces documents de politique et de procédure sont mis à jour au besoin pour veiller à ce qu’ils cadrent avec les modifications apportées aux politiques ou aux directives du SCT, ou avec les modifications résultant de questions soulevées par le Commissariat à l’information ou d’autres agents du Parlement.

Le Ministère affiche sur le Portail d’information ouvert les résumés des demandes d’accès à l’information qui ont été fermées.

Formation et sensibilisation

Les activités de formation et de sensibilisation auxquelles les employés participent comprennent les suivantes :

•      L’agent de l’AIPRP fournit aux agents de liaison de l’AIPRP et aux employés des instructions indirectes sur des questions relatives à l’accès à l’information, des conseils quant au traitement des demandes d’accès par le Ministère et la justification requise pour l’application des exceptions et des exclusions, et ce, afin d’accroître la sensibilisation des agents et des employés à la Loi.

•      En 2016-2017, l’agent de l’AIPRP a tenu 13 réunions préalables au traitement des demandes auxquelles ont assisté 24 experts et fonctionnaires du Ministère. Ces réunions ont lieu à mesure que de nouvelles demandes d’accès à l’information sont reçues ou lorsque cela est jugé opportun selon la nature de la demande. Elles durent environ une heure et demie, selon la complexité de la demande, et elles permettent de fournir des instructions directes quant à la récupération des documents et au processus d’examen, à formuler des recommandations à l’intention de la Section de l’AIPRP et à déterminer la quantité de documents visés, les enjeux politiques, etc.

Une section du site intranet du Ministère est également réservée à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des enseignements personnels. Cette section comprend les politiques et les procédures en matière d’AIPRP, les exposés de formation et de sensibilisation présentés par le passé, des liens vers des sites utiles, les coordonnées des personnes-ressources ainsi que les conseils de la série « Le regard de l’AIPRP ».