Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Upcoming Events

Event Description Location Date
British Columbia
The Effects of Renegotiating NAFTA The Surrey Board of Trade will host a dialogue exploring the impacts of renegotiating NAFTA. Surrey, BC July 12, 2017 : BC
2nd International Conference on Food Chemistry and Nutrition The conference will focus on the theme “Where food meets science: Exploring recent advances in food research and business.” Richmond, BC July 24-26, 2017 : BC
Business Excellence Series: FinTech Business in Vancouver will host this event focused on helping SMEs make informed decisions in the new landscape of FinTech. Vancouver, BC September 12, 2017 : BC
Inclusive Business Forum: Leveraging Opportunities to Innovate Human Capital The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host its inaugural Inclusive Business Forum, which will help local companies identify easily adopted strategies that they can begin implementing immediately. Vancouver, BC September 21, 2017 : BC
Alberta
WestDef 2017: Industry Intelligence Hosted by the Western Canadian Defence Industries Association, this event will be a Voice of the West style forum and will be used to prepare a formal submission to the federal ministers of National Defence, Public Services and Procurement, and Innovation, Science and Economic Development. Calgary, AB July 4-6, 2017 : AB
Stampede Investment Forum (SIF) 2017 Hosted by Calgary Economic Development, the SIF provides participants with a forum to learn about investment opportunities in Alberta and gain insight into Alberta’s energy and environment sectors. Calgary, AB July 9-12, 2017
Innovation Rodeo The Innovation Rodeo, hosted by Bow Valley College, connects some of Alberta's innovators and entrepreneurs, helping them develop new skills, exchange ideas, build new relationships, and collaborate to create and commercialize new ideas. Calgary, AB July 10-14, 2017 : AB
National Gathering of Elders 2017 Intermingling of like-minded, like-aged individuals and their families to reveal common grounds that strengthen those links. Edmonton, AB September 11-14, 2017 : AB
Opportunities North Edmonton North Partnership’s conference will be focused on creating and expanding economic opportunities and partnerships between businesses and organizations in our Northern and Southern regions. Topics will cover business, agriculture, education, tourism, transportation, and healthcare. Edmonton, AB September 12-14, 2017 : AB
EconoUS2017 - Innovation For Shared Prosperity CCEDNet’s event that provides an opportunity to connect with social innovation leaders from across Canada who share a passion for building strong, inclusive community economies. Calgary, AB September 13-15, 2017 : AB
Health And Life Sciences Showcase An event featuring educational seminars, pitch presentations, roundtables, vendors, and BioAlberta’s annual awards gala. Edmonton, AB September 20, 2017
Banff Venture Forum A showcase of the hi-tech companies from across North America offering insight into key issues within the industry, providing a premium networking opportunity, and giving companies a chance to learn from world-class professionals in the investment community. Banff, AB September 21-22, 2017 : AB
Aboriginal Business Match ABM allows business connections to be made by eliminating geographic barriers, condensing time requirements, and reducing costs. Enoch, AB September 25-27, 2017 : AB
2017 Alberta Climate Summit: Seizing Innovation And Opportunity In A Low-Carbon Economy The event, hosted by the Pembina Institute, will bring together 500+ thought leaders from industry, government, environmental NGOs, and community stakeholders to learn from success stories, identify opportunities and challenges, and explore solutions related to Alberta’s clean energy future. Calgary, AB September 28, 2017 : AB
Rural Alberta Innovation And Learning Commons A learning commons focused on rural economic and community development attended by councillors, mayors, CAOs, EDOs, community development professionals, and students from across the province. Olds, AB September 29 - October 1, 2017 : AB
Saskatchewan
“Ag in Motion”  Ag in Motion is an outdoor, agricultural trade show in Western Canada with interactive exhibits and live field and crop plot demonstrations. Now in its third year, the Expo was created to empower farmers by providing the knowledge they need to make informed decisions. Saskatoon, SK July 18-20, 2017 : SK
Carbon yXe The Greater Saskatoon Chamber of Commerce and Tourism Saskatoon are attempting to ‘Change the Conversation Around Carbon.’ A committee of Saskatoon business leaders has invited the international Carbon X Prize finalists to Saskatoon to attend a summit on July 19 & 20, 2017 where the prize, worth $20 million, will be awarded. Saskatoon, SK July 19-20, 2017 : SK
Cyclotron Research Day Hosted by the Fedoruk Centre for Nuclear Innovation, the event will highlight recent developments at the Saskatchewan Centre for Cyclotron Sciences, including the newly opened research wing and the use of Canada’s first PhytoPET imaging system. Saskatoon, SK July 28, 2017
NSBA 3rd Annual
Popcorn & Entrepreneurship Series
The North Saskatchewan Business Association will host their third annual event presented by EY Canada. The event titled “Changing the Pulse of the Province” will celebrate founder and CEO of AGT Foods & Ingredients Inc., Murad Al Katib, who won this year’s EY World Entrepreneur of the Year award. Saskatoon, SK August 30, 2017 : SK
EDCE Entrepreneurial Development Conference and Expo The event offers insights and opportunities for small business owners and entrepreneurs. It includes over 20 sessions, workshops, and presentations from top industry experts, an interactive small business expo, and 3 one-on-one networking events. Saskatoon, SK September 15-16, 2017 : SK
Manitoba
2017 Canada Summer Games Over 4,000 young athletes from across Canada will come to Winnipeg to compete in 16 different sports. In addition, The Forks will host the Games’ festival where athletes, fans, and families can celebrate with live music, dancing, and cultural activities. Winnipeg, MB July 29 – August 13, 2017 : MB
International Downtown Association (IDA) 63rd Annual Conference and Tradeshow Winnipeg will host the 63rd annual conference themed “AuthentiCITY.”  The tradeshow will provide an opportunity to showcase best practices, explore new ideas, network, and share solutions while gaining the tactics and knowledge necessary to transform cities into healthy and vibrant urban places. Winnipeg, MB September 13-15, 2017 : MB
ProjectWorld Business Analyst World Winnipeg A leading Educational and Training Conference for project managers and business analysts. The event includes workshops on Lean Six Sigma, Agile Business Environments, Leadership and Essential Tools. Winnipeg, MB September 18-21, 2017 : MB
Agricultural Bioscience International Conference A premier global meeting promoting innovation in bioscience to ensure sustainable food, feed, fibre, and fuel security as the climate changes. Winnipeg, MB September 25-28, 2017 : MB

Western Economic Diversification Canada

The role of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of Western Canada by supporting programs and services that enhance innovation, business development, and community economic development. In addition, the department undertakes policy, advocacy and coordination activities in order to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic decision-making.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Activités à venir

Événement Description Lieu Date
Colombie-Britannique
Effets de la renégociation de l’ALENA Le Surrey Board of Trade sera l’hôte d’un dialogue pour explorer les effets de la renégociation de l’ALENA. Surrey (C.-B.) 12 juillet 2017 : BC
Deuxième conférence internationale sur la chimie alimentaire et la nutrition La conférence sera axée sur le thème « Where food meets science: Exploring recent advances in food research and business » (quand l’alimentation et la science s’allient : Exploration des récentes avancées en recherche alimentaire et dans l’industrie alimentaire). Richmond (C.-B.) Du 24 au 26 juillet 2017 : BC
Série Excellence en affaires : FinTech Business in Vancouver sera l’hôte de cet événement qui vise à aider les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) à prendre des décisions éclairées dans le nouveau contexte de technologie financière. Vancouver (C.-B.) 12 septembre 2017 : BC
Forum commercial inclusif : Tirer avantage des possibilités d’innover le capital humain Le Greater Vancouver Board of Trade tiendra son forum commercial inclusif inaugural, qui aidera les entreprises locales à déterminer les stratégies facilement adoptées qu’elles peuvent commencer à mettre en œuvre immédiatement. Vancouver (C.-B.) 21 septembre 2017 : BC
Alberta
WestDef 2017 : renseignement industriel Tenu par la Western Canadian Defence Industries Association, cet événement sera un forum de style « La voix de l’Ouest » et servira à préparer une soumission officielle aux ministres fédéraux de la Défense nationale, de Services publics et Approvisionnement, et d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique. Calgary (Alb.) Du 4 au 6 juillet 2017 : AB
Forum d’investissement du Stampede 2017 Tenu par la Calgary Economic Development, le Forum d’investissement du Stampede offre aux participants un forum pour obtenir des renseignements sur les possibilités d’investissement en Alberta et en apprendre davantage sur les secteurs de l’énergie et de l’environnement de cette province. Calgary (Alb.) Du 9 au 12 juillet 2017
Innovation Rodeo L’Innovation Rodeo, tenu par le Bow Valley College, met en lien quelques-uns des innovateurs et des entrepreneurs de l’Alberta et les aide à acquérir de nouvelles compétences, à échanger des idées, à établir de nouvelles relations et à collaborer en vue de générer et de commercialiser de nouvelles idées. Calgary (Alb.) Du 10 au 14 juillet 2017 : AB
 (Rassemblement national des Aînés 2017) Regroupement de personnes partageant les mêmes points de vue et du même âge, et de leurs familles, visant à révéler les terrains d’entente qui renforcent ces liens. Edmonton (Alb.) Du 11 au 14 septembre 2017 : AB
Conférence Opportunities North La conférence de l’Edmonton Northern Partnership sera axée sur la création et l’élargissement des possibilités économiques et des partenariats entre les entreprises et les organisations dans nos régions du Nord et du Sud. Les sujets comprendront les affaires, l’agriculture, l’éducation, le tourisme, le transport et les soins de santé. Edmonton (Alb.) Du 12 au 14 septembre 2017 : AB
EconoUS2017 - Innovation For Shared Prosperity L’événement de CCEDNet qui offre une occasion de faire le lien avec des leaders de l’innovation sociale partout au Canada qui partagent une passion pour la création d’économies communautaires fortes et inclusives. Calgary (Alb.) Du 13 au 15 septembre 2017 : AB
Expo Sciences de la santé et de la vie Un événement comprenant des séminaires éducatifs, des présentations commerciales, des tables rondes, des fournisseurs et le gala annuel des prix de BioAlberta. Edmonton (Alb.) 20 septembre 2017
Banff Venture Forum  Un forum qui met en valeur des entreprises du secteur des hautes technologies provenant de toute l’Amérique du Nord, qui offre des possibilités de réseautage uniques et qui donne aux entreprises l’occasion d’apprendre auprès de professionnels de calibre mondial au sein de la communauté de l’investissement. Banff (Alb.) Les 21 et 22 septembre 2017 : AB
Aboriginal Business Match  L’Aboriginal Business Match (ABM) permet d’établir des relations commerciales en éliminant les obstacles géographiques, en condensant les exigences temporelles et en réduisant les coûts. Enoch (Alb.) Du 25 au 27 septembre 2017 : AB
Sommet sur le climat 2017 de l’Alberta : Saisir les occasions d’innovation dans une économie à faible émission de carbone L’événement, tenu par le Pembina Institute, rassemblera plus de 500 leaders d’opinion de l’industrie, du gouvernement, d’organisations non gouvernementales écologiques et d’intervenants communautaires pour tirer des leçons des histoires de réussite, déterminer les possibilités et les défis, et explorer les solutions relatives à l’avenir énergétique propre de l’Alberta. Calgary (Alb.) 28 septembre 2017 : AB
Rural Alberta Innovation And Learning Commons  Un programme d’apprentissage axé sur le développement économique et communautaire rural auquel participent des conseillers, des maires, des agents principaux de l’administration, des directeurs généraux des opérations, des professionnels du développement communautaire et des étudiants de partout dans la province. Olds (Alb.) Du 29 septembre au 1er octobre 2017 : AB
Saskatchewan
Exposition « Ag in Motion » L’exposition « Ag in Motion » est un salon commercial agricole extérieur situé dans l’Ouest canadien et comportant des expositions interactives ainsi que des démonstrations en direct de parcelles aménagées et expérimentales. L’exposition, qui en est à sa troisième édition, a été créée pour renforcer l’autonomie des agriculteurs en leur fournissant les connaissances nécessaires leur permettant de prendre des décisions éclairées. Saskatoon (Sask.) Du 18 au 20 juillet 2017 : SK
Carbon yXe La chambre de commerce de Greater Saskatoon et Tourisme Saskatoon s’efforcent de « réorienter les discussions entourant le carbone ». Un comité composé de dirigeants d’entreprise de Saskatoon a convié les finalistes mondiaux du Carbon X Prize à Saskatoon les 19 et 20 juillet 2017 afin qu’ils assistent à un sommet durant lequel sera décerné le prix d’une valeur de 20 millions de dollars. Saskatoon (Sask.) Les 19 et 20 juillet 2017 : SK
Journée de la recherche sur le cyclotron Organisé par le Fedoruk Centre for Nuclear Innovation, l’événement présentera des avancées récentes au Saskatchewan Centre for Cyclotron Sciences, notamment la nouvelle aile consacrée à la recherche et l’utilisation du tout premier système d’imagerie PhytoPET du Canada. Saskatoon (Sask.) 28 juillet 2017
NSBA 3rd Annual Popcorn & Entrepreneurship Series La North Saskatchewan Business Association tiendra son troisième événement annuel présenté par EY Canada. L’événement intitulé « Changing the Pulse of the Province » (changer le pouls de la province) célébrera le fondateur et chef de la direction d’AGT Foods & Ingredients Inc., Murad Al Katib, qui a remporté cette année le prix de l’entrepreneur mondial de l’année d’EY. Saskatoon (Sask.) 30 août 2017 : SK
Conférence et exposition sur le développement entrepreneurial (EDCE) L’événement offre des idées et des possibilités aux propriétaires de petites entreprises et aux entrepreneurs. Il comprend plus de 20 séances, ateliers et présentations donnés par des experts de l’industrie, une exposition interactive pour les petites entreprises et trois événements de réseautage. Saskatoon (Sask.) Les 15 et 16 septembre 2017 : SK
Manitoba
Édition 2017 des Jeux d’été du Canada Plus de 4 000 jeunes athlètes provenant de partout au Canada se rendent à Winnipeg pour participer à des compétitions sportives dans 16 disciplines différentes. De plus, The Forks est l’hôte du festival des jeux : spectacles de musique et de danse et diverses autres activités culturelles pour les athlètes, les partisans et leurs familles. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 29 juillet au 13 août 2017 : MB
 63e conférence et salon professionnels annuels de l’International Downtown Association Winnipeg accueillera la 63e conférence annuelle dont le thème est « AuthentiCITY » (ville authentique). Le salon professionnel offrira une occasion de présenter les pratiques exemplaires, d’explorer de nouvelles idées, de réseauter et d’échanger des solutions tout en découvrant des tactiques et en acquérant les connaissances nécessaires pour transformer les villes en des centres urbains sains et dynamiques. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 13 au 15 septembre 2017 : MB
ProjectWorld Business Analyst World Winnipeg Une conférence de premier plan sur l’éducation et la formation pour les gestionnaires de projet et les analystes opérationnels. L’événement comprend des ateliers sur Lean Six Sigma, les environnements opérationnels agiles, le leadership et les outils essentiels. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 18 au 21 septembre 2017 : MB
 Conférence internationale sur les biosciences agricoles Une première réunion mondiale visant à promouvoir l’innovation dans les biosciences afin d’assurer la viabilité des aliments, des aliments pour animaux et des fibres ainsi que la sécurité énergétique dans le cadre des changements climatiques. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 25 au 28 septembre 2017 : MB

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada

Le rôle de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) est d’accroître la compétitivité économique à long terme de l’Ouest canadien en soutenant des programmes et des services qui renforcent l’innovation, l’expansion des entreprises et le développement économique communautaire. De plus, le Ministère mène des activités en matière de politique, de défense des intérêts et de coordination qui visent à faire valoir les intérêts de l’Ouest dans la politique économique nationale.