Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Upcoming Events

Event Description Location Date
BCs Economic Future - An All-Party Debate Business in Vancouver (BIV) will host a debate with Andrew Wilkinson (BC Liberal Party), Carole James (BC NDP Finance Critic), and Andrew Weaver (BC Green Party Leader) to discuss the future of BC’s economy. Vancouver, BC BCs Economic Future :May 2, 2017
PwC PwC hosts its 30th annual Global Forest, Paper & Packaging Industry Conference. Vancouver, BC PwC :May 10, 2017
WOOD MARKETS WOOD MARKETS will host the 7th Annual Global Softwood Log & Lumber Conference shortly after the announcements of countervailing and anti-dumping duties from the US. Vancouver, BC WOOD MARKETS :May 11, 2017
Simon Fraser University The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host SFU President and Vice-Chancellor, Andrew Petter, in a discussion about building BC’s innovation economy. Vancouver, BC Simon Fraser University :May 30, 2017
2017 BC Economic Summit The BC Economic Development Association will host this year’s summit, focusing on key issues facing economic developers, community planners, and Indigenous leaders and communities. Victoria, BC 2017 BC Economic Summit :June 11-13, 2017
Aboriginal Opportunities Forum The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host its annual Aboriginal Opportunities Forum 2017 with keynote speaker Minister Jody Wilson-Raybould, MP for Granville and Minister of Justice. Vancouver, BC Aboriginal Opportunities Forum< :June 16, 2017
Alberta
University of Calgary’s W21C Program 2017 Reverse Trade Show A trade show hosted by Alberta Health Services, which highlights clinical challenges for seniors that could be addressed through the development of innovative technological solutions. Calgary, AB University of Calgary’s W21C Program 2017 Reverse Trade Show :May 2, 2017
Workers and Communities in Transition An Energy Futures Lab Community Meeting to discuss workers and communities in transition. Edmonton, AB Workers and Communities in Transition :May 2, 2017
Alberta-US Trade Summit A summit hosted by Calgary Economic Development that will include expert panels discussing the current political and economic environment. Calgary, AB Alberta-US Trade Summit :May 2-3, 2017
2017 Summit of Co-Operative Leaders Hosted by the Alberta Community & Co-Operative Association (ACCA), this summit will feature panel discussions on the role of co-ops in strengthening Alberta’s economy. Red Deer, AB 2017 Summit of Co-Operative Leaders :May 3, 2017
15th VenturePrize Awards Celebration An awards event hosted by TEC Edmonton to celebrate innovation and technology in Alberta. Edmonton, AB VenturePrize :May 4, 2017
Report to the Community: Reimagine An event by Calgary Economic Development discussing new ideas and innovative technologies and how they shape Calgary’s story to the world. Calgary, AB Report to the Community :May 5, 2017
CCAB Aboriginal Economic Development Conference A conference highlighting innovation in the Indigenous economy. Calgary, AB CCAB :May 11, 2017
Let’s Talk Exports with EDC’s Peter Hall Canadian Manufacturers & Exporters (CME) and Export Development Canada (EDC) are hosting a breakfast with guest speaker Peter Hall, Vice President and Chief Economist at EDC, to discuss global economic trends. Edmonton, AB CME-ENO :May 11, 2017
Polytechnics Canada’s Annual Conference The theme of this years’ conference is “Canada’s Polytechnics: Building Canada through Skills and Innovation,” and it will feature keynote speaker Jamie Merisotis, President and CEO of the Lumina Foundation. Edmonton, AB Polytechnics Canada’s Annual Conference :May 31-June 1, 2017
CERI 2017 Petrochemicals Conference An event hosted by the Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI), focused on global opportunities and challenges for the Canadian petrochemicals manufacturing industry. Kananaskis, AB CERI :June 4-6, 2017
Alberta & Saskatchewan Renewable Energy Summit A summit on renewable energy opportunities in Alberta and Saskatchewan with speakers and industry exhibits. Calgary, AB Renewable Energy Summit :June 5-6, 2017
Smart Energy Communities An Energy Futures Lab Community Meeting to discuss smart energy communities. Edmonton, AB Smart Energy Communities :June 6, 2017
Radical Carbon Efficiency in Energy Production An Energy Futures Lab Community Meeting to discuss radical carbon efficiency in energy production. Edmonton, AB Radical Carbon Efficiency in Energy Production :June 8, 2017
The Festival of Big Ideas An exhibition held by ABC Tech featuring Edmonton Region innovators. Edmonton, AB The Festival of Big Ideas :June 9-10, 2017
Global Petroleum Show An Industry event featuring educational seminars, networking, and exhibitions related to the energy sector. Calgary, AB Global Petroleum Show :June 13-15, 2017
Business Retention and Expansion International Conference 2017 An annual conference focused on industry trends and business retention and expansion tactics, strategies and challenges. Edmonton, AB Business Retention and Expansion International Conference :June 19-20, 2017
Tecnovate 17 TECTERRA’s forum providing Canadian geospatial technology companies with opportunities to network, build alliances, and develop commercial opportunities. Calgary, AB Tecnovate :June 21, 2017
Saskatchewan
2017 Agri-Value and Networking Event This year’s theme is “Growth, opportunities and Challenges in Value-Added Processing.” The workshops will feature an address by Lyle Stewart, the Saskatchewan Minister of Agriculture, as well as other local and international speakers. Saskatoon, SK Agri-Value and Networking Event :May 4, 2017
2017 Williston Basin Petroleum Conference The conference includes talks on crude oil transportation, production optimization, geology, and environmental issues. Also featured is the core workshop, intended to give delegates a unique perspective on the geology of key plays within the Williston Basin. Regina, SK Williston Basin Petroleum Conference :May 2-4, 2017
Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. 2017 Annual Business Conference This year’s business conference will focus on “Business Innovation Through Technology,” featuring high-calibre speakers and content while providing the opportunity to learn from some of the province’s up-and-coming entrepreneurs. Saskatoon, SK Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan :May 10, 2017
Carbon Capture Summit - Celebrating Saskatchewan Innovation The summit will consist of a tour of SaskPower’s Carbon Capture and Storage (CCS) unit as well prominent speakers from the industry including a special presentation from Saskatchewan’s Minister of the Environment. The event also features a presentation from SaskPower on the future of CCS. Weyburn, SK Carbon Capture Summit :May 11, 2017
56th Edition of the Canada Wide Science Festival (CWSF) Hosted by the University of Regina, the event recognizes students from Grades 7 to 12 that have identified solutions to local, regional, or global concerns through their science projects. Students are competing for nearly $1 million in cash awards and scholarships and are assessed by volunteer judges. Regina, SK CWSF :May 14-20, 2017
Leadership Conference 2017 The event hosted by the Edwards School of Businesses a day of collaboration with evidence-based practitioners who represent industries in health, technology, sports, and education. The event will provide attendees with tools and best practices to implement to make more strategic decisions. Saskatoon, SK Leadership Conference :May 18, 2017
Emerging Labour Force Trends Conference Sponsored by the Government of Saskatchewan, the event will feature the Saskatchewan Minister of the Economy who will give an overview of Saskatchewan’s Labour Market Challenges & Opportunities. Regina, SK Emerging Labour Force Trends Conference :May 24, 2017
Saskatchewan Mining Week 2017 The week-long event will feature various activities and events ending with the 49th Annual Emergency Response/Mine Rescue Skills Competition. Saskatoon, SK Saskatchewan Mining Week :May 28-June 3, 2017
International Minerals Innovation Institute - 4th Annual “Let’s Talk Minerals!” This year’s event includes sessions on “Innovation through the right Systems, Technology and Culture”, “Driving Innovation through Ecosystems”, and “PotashCorp Kamskénow - A Learning Journey in Cultural Responsiveness.” Saskatoon, SK International Minerals Innovation Institute :June 1, 2017
Aboriginal Business Match Event (ABM) The event in June will spotlight Agriculture and Manufacturing. The event will connect community, national and international decision makers to provide business-ready opportunities for productive land base use and diverse and industrial equipment. Regina, SK ABM :June 5-7, 2017
Canada’s Farm Progress Show (40th Anniversary) The 40th Anniversary of the Canada Farm Progress Show brings in more than 40,000 attendees and 700 exhibitors from around the world. The event connects local producers and international customers with the latest in dry land farm equipment, technology and innovation. Regina, SK Canada’s Farm Progress Show :June 21-23, 2017
Manitoba
Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Sowing the Seed The Premier of Manitoba, the Mayor of Winnipeg and expert panelists discuss insights into the innovation and cost-savings P3’s can bring to the Winnipeg infrastructure market. Winnipeg, MB Winnipeg Chamber of Commerce Sowing the Seed :May 2, 2017
Canadian Conference on Social Enterprise The Canadian Community Economic Development (CED) network hosts a conference that brings together over 250 social entrepreneurs, investors, policy makers and supporters from across the country. Winnipeg, MB Canadian Conference on Social Enterprise :May 10-12, 2017
Vision Quest Vision Quest will bring together innovators, entrepreneurs, business leaders and youth to discuss and promote Aboriginal business, community and economic development. Winnipeg, MB Vision Quest :May 16-18, 2017
CANSEC The Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI) will showcase leading-edge technology, products and services for army, navy, air force and joint forces military units. Ottawa, ON CANSEC :May 31 - June 1, 2017
Skills Canada National Competition 2017 The Skills Canada National Competition is a multi-trade and technology competition for students and apprentices from across the country. Each year, over 500 students compete in over 40 skilled trade and technology competitions. Winnipeg, MB Skills Canada National Competition 2017 :May 31-June 3, 2017

Western Economic Diversification Canada

The role of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of Western Canada by supporting programs and services that enhance innovation, business development, and community economic development. In addition, the department undertakes policy, advocacy and coordination activities in order to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic decision-making.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Activités à venir

Événement Description Lieu Date
Colombie-Britannique
BCs Economic Future – An All-Party Debate Business in Vancouver (BIV) tiendra un débat avec Andrew Wilkinson (Parti libéral de la C.-B.), Carole James (porte-parole du NPD pour les Finances de la C.-B.) et Andrew Weaver (chef du Parti vert de la C.-B.) pour discuter de l’avenir économique de la Colombie-Britannique. Vancouver (C.-B.) 2 mai 2017 : CB1
PwC PwC tient sa 30e Conférence annuelle sur le secteur mondial forestier, papetier et des produits d’emballage. Vancouver (C.-B.) 10 mai 2017 : CB2
WOOD MARKETS WOOD MARKETS tient sa 7e Conférence annuelle sur le secteur mondial du bois d’œuvre, peu après les annonces concernant les droits compensateurs et les droits antidumping aux États-Unis. Vancouver (C.-B.) 11 mai 2017 : CB3
Université Simon Fraser La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver accueille le président et vice-chancelier de l’USF, Andrew Petter, dans le cadre d’une discussion sur la création d’une économie de l’innovation en Colombie-Britannique. Vancouver (C.-B.) 30 mai 2017 : CB4
Sommet économique de la C.-B. 2017 L’Association du développement économique de la Colombie-Britannique présentera le sommet de cette année qui portera avant tout sur les enjeux clés auxquels font face les spécialistes du développement économique, les planificateurs communautaires et les chefs de file et les communautés autochtones. Victoria (C.-B.) Du 11 au 13 juin 2017 : CB5
Forum sur les possibilités pour les Autochtones La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver présente son édition annuelle 2017 du Forum sur les possibilités pour les Autochtones dont la conférencière vedette sera la ministre Jody Wilson-Raybould, députée de Granville et ministre de la Justice. Vancouver (C.-B.) 16 juin 2017 : CB6
Alberta
Exposition 2017 du programme W21C de l’Université de Calgary Salon organisé par Services de santé Alberta qui montre les défis cliniques des personnes âgées auxquels l’Alberta pourrait répondre en élaborant des solutions technologiques innovatrices. Calgary (Alb.) 2 mai 2017 : AB1
Travailleurs et collectivités en transition Réunion communautaire du Laboratoire sur l’avenir énergétique qui portera sur les travailleurs et les collectivités en transition. Edmonton (Alb.) 2 mai 2017 : AB2
Sommet commercial Alberta–États-Unis Sommet organisé par Développement économique de Calgary au cours duquel des groupes d’experts discuteront du contexte politique et économique actuel. Calgary (Alb.) Les 2 et 3 mai 2017 : AB3
Sommet 2017 des leaders de la coopération Organisé par l’Alberta Community & Co-Operative Association (ACCA), ce sommet comportera des discussions d’experts sur le rôle des coopératives au niveau du renforcement de l’économie albertaine. Red Deer (Alb.) 3 mai 2017 : AB4
15e Gala des prix VenturePrize Gala de remise de prix présenté par TEC Edmonton pour célébrer l’innovation et la technologie en Alberta. Edmonton (Alb.) 4 mai 2017 : AB5
Rapport à la communauté : Reimagine Événement organisé par Développement économique de Calgary qui traitera de nouvelles idées et de technologies innovantes, ainsi que de la façon dont celles‑ci façonnent la contribution de Calgary au monde. Calgary (Alb.) 5 mai 2017 : AB6
Congrès sur le développement économique des Autochtones du CCCA Le congrès de cette année a pour thème « Polytechnique au Canada : Bâtir le Canada à partir des compétences et de l’innovation ». Le conférencier vedette sera Jamie Merisotis, président et chef de la direction de la Fondation Lumina. Calgary (Alb.) 11 mai 2017 : AB7
Parlons exportations avec Peter Hall d’EDC Manufacturiers et exportateurs du Canada (MEC) et Exportation et Développement Canada (EDC) organisent un déjeuner-causerie avec le conférencier invité Peter Hall, vice-président et économiste en chef à EDC, pour discuter des tendances économiques mondiales. Edmonton (Alb.) 11 mai 2017 :AB8
Congrès annuel de Polytechnics Canada Le congrès de cette année a pour thème « Polytechnique au Canada : Bâtir le Canada à partir des compétences et de l’innovation ». Le conférencier vedette sera Jamie Merisotis, président et chef de la direction de la Fondation Lumina. Edmonton (Alb.) Les 31 mai et 1er juin 2017 : AB9
Congrès 2017 du CERI sur l’industrie pétrochimique Le congrès de cette année aura pour thème « L’innovation dans les entreprises grâce à la technologie » qui mettra en vedette des conférenciers et du contenu de haut calibre. Les participants pourront en apprendre davantage sur certaines des entrepreneures prometteuses de la province. Kananaskis (Alb.) Du 4 au 6 juin 2017 : AB10
Sommet de l’Alberta et de la Saskatchewan sur l’énergie renouvelable Sommet portant sur les possibilités d’énergies renouvelables en Alberta et en Saskatchewan mettant en vedette des conférenciers et des exposants de l’industrie. Calgary (Alb.) Les 5 et 6 juin 2017 : AB11
Collectivités à consommation d’énergie intelligente Réunion du collectif Energy Futures Lab pour discuter de collectivités à consommation d’énergie intelligente. Edmonton (Alb.) 6 juin 2017 : AB12
Efficience radicale du carbone à la production d’énergie Réunion du collectif Energy Futures Lab pour discuter de l’efficience radicale du carbone dans la production d’énergie. Edmonton (Alb.) 8 juin 2017 : AB13
Le Festival des grandes idées Exposition organisée par ABC Tech mettant en vedette des innovateurs de la région d’Edmonton. Edmonton (Alb.) Les 9 et 10 juin 2017 : AB14
Salon sur le pétrole mondial Événement de l’industrie mettant en vedette des séminaires de formation, des possibilités de réseautage et des exposants du secteur de l’énergie. Calgary (Alb.) Du 13 au 15 juin 2017 : AB15
Congrès international sur le maintien et l’expansion des affaires 2017 Congrès annuel portant avant tout sur les tendances de l’industrie, les tactiques et les stratégies de maintien et d’expansion des affaires et des défis. Edmonton (Alb.) Les 19 et 20 juin 2017 : AB16
Tecnovate 17 Forum de TECTERRA qui offre aux entreprises de technologies géospatiales du Canada des possibilités d’établir des contacts, de bâtir des alliances et de développer des débouchés commerciaux. Calgary (Alb.) 21 juin 2017 : AB17
Saskatchewan
Événement de réseautage et à valeur agricole 2017 Le thème de cette année est « La croissance, les possibilités et les défis liés à la transformation agricole à valeur ajoutée ». Les ateliers comportent une allocution de Lyle Stewart, ministre de l’Agriculture de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que d’autres conférenciers locaux et internationaux. Saskatoon (Sask.) 4 mai 2017 : SK1
Congrès sur le pétrole dans le bassin Williston 2017 Le congrès comprendra des discussions sur l’optimisation de la production et du transport du pétrole, la géologie et des questions environnementales. Il y aura également l’atelier commun qui vise à présenter aux délégués un point de vue particulier sur la géologie propre au bassin de Williston. Regina (Sask.) Du 2 au 4 mai 2017 : SK2
Congrès annuel 2017 de la Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. Le congrès de cette année aura pour thème « L’innovation dans les entreprises grâce à la technologie » qui mettra en vedette des conférenciers et du contenu de haut calibre. Les participants pourront en apprendre davantage sur certaines des entrepreneures prometteuses de la province. Saskatoon (Sask.) 10 mai 2017 : SK3
Sommet sur la capture du carbone : Célébrer l’innovation en Saskatchewan Le sommet comportera une visite de l’Unité de capture et de stockage du carbone (CSC) de SaskPower, ainsi que des conférenciers de premier plan de l’industrie, notamment un exposé spécial du ministre de l’Environnement de la Saskatchewan. L’événement met aussi en vedette une présentation de SaskPower sur l’avenir des activités de CSC. Weyburn (Sask.) 11 mai 2017 : SK4
56e édition du Canada Wide Science Festival (CWSF) Présenté par l’Université de Regina, l’événement reconnaît les élèves de la 7e à la 12e année qui ont trouvé des solutions à des préoccupations locales, régionales ou mondiales dans le cadre de leurs projets de science. Les élèves cherchent à obtenir presque un million de dollars en argent comptant et en bourses d’études et sont évalués par des juges bénévoles. Regina (Sask.) Du 14 au 20 mai 2017 : SK5
Conférence sur leadership 2017 Présenté par l’Edwards School of Businesses, cet événement d’une journée en collaboration avec des professionnels reconnus représentant les secteurs de la santé, de la technologie, des sports et de l’éducation. L’événement offrira aux participants les outils et les pratiques exemplaires dont ils ont besoin pour prendre des décisions plus stratégiques. Saskatoon (Sask.) 18 mai 2017 : SK6
Conférence sur les tendances émergentes de la main-d’œuvre Parrainée par le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan, cette conférence mettra en vedette le ministre de l’Économie de la Saskatchewan qui présentera un aperçu des défis et des perspectives du marché du travail de la province. Regina (Sask.) 24 mai 2017 : SK7
Semaine des mines de la Saskatchewan 2017 Au cours de la semaine, divers événements et activités seront présentés et le 49e concours annuel de compétence en sauvetage minier et intervention d’urgence sera le clou de l’événement. Saskatoon (Sask.) 28 mai au 3 juin 2017 : SK8
Institut international d’innovation dans les minéraux – 4e Conférence annuelle « Parlons minéraux! » L’événement de cette année inclut des séances sur « L’innovation par les systèmes, les technologies et la culture appropriés », « Les écosystèmes, force motrice de l’innovation » et « PotashCorp Kamskénow – Un parcours d’apprentissage en sensibilisation culturelle ». Saskatoon (Sask.) 1er juin 2017 : SK9
Aboriginal Business Match Event (ABM) L’événement qui se tiendra en juin braquera les projecteurs sur l’agriculture et la fabrication. Il mettra en contact des décideurs communautaires, nationaux et internationaux pour leur offrir des perspectives commerciales en utilisation productive des terres et équipement industriel et divers. Regina (Sask.) Du 5 au 7 juin 2017 : SK10
Canada’s Farm Progress Show (40e anniversaire) Le 40e anniversaire du Farm Progress Show du Canada attire plus de 40 000 participants et 700 exposants partout dans le monde. Cet événement met en contact des producteurs locaux et des clients étrangers avec les toutes dernières technologies au chapitre de l’équipement et de la technologie de production agricole en milieu aride. Regina (Sask.) Du 21 au 23 juin 2017 : SK11
Manitoba
Chambre de commerce de Winnipeg – Semer la graine Le premier ministre du Manitoba, le maire de Winnipeg et des experts discuteront d’aperçus de l’innovation et des réductions de coût que les P3 peuvent apporter au marché des infrastructures de Winnipeg. Winnipeg (Man.) 2 mai 2017 : MB1
Congrès canadien sur l’entreprise sociale Le Réseau canadien de développement économique communautaire (DEC) présente un congrès qui réunira plus de 250 entrepreneurs sociaux, investisseurs, responsables de politiques et partisans de toutes les régions du Canada. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 10 au 12 mai 2017 : MB2
Vision Quest Vision Quest réunit des innovateurs, des entrepreneurs, des chefs d’entreprise et des jeunes pour discuter des entreprises et des communautés autochtones et de leur développement économique, et pour en faire la promotion. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 16 au 18 mai 2017 : MB3
AICDS L’Association des industries canadiennes de défense et de sécurité (AICDS) présentera des technologies, des produits et des services de pointe à l’intention de l’armée, de la marine, des forces aériennes et des forces interarmées. Ottawa (Ont.) Les 31 mai au 1er juin 2017 : MB4
Olympiades nationales des métiers et des technologies 2017 Les Olympiades nationales des métiers et des technologies constituent la seule compétition nationale pour les étudiants et les apprentis de multiples domaines spécialisés et technologies d’un bout à l’autre du Canada. Chaque année, plus de 500 étudiants participent à plus de 40 compétitions dans des métiers qualifiés et des technologies. Winnipeg (Man.) Du 31 mai au 3 juin 2017 : MB5

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Le rôle de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) est d'accroître la compétitivité économique à long terme de l'Ouest canadien en soutenant des programmes et des services qui renforcent l'innovation, l'expansion des entreprises et le développement économique communautaire. De plus, le Ministère mène des activités en matière de politique, de défense des intérêts et de coordination qui visent à faire valoir les intérêts de l'Ouest dans la politique économique nationale.