Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Provincial Government Developments

British Columbia

  • Government of BC renews the #BCTECH Strategy – The Government of BC has released an update to its #BCTECH Strategy, which was launched at the start of 2016. The update focuses on skills and talent, including commitments to increase the number of tech grads by 1,000 per year, double tech co-op placements to over 1,400 students per year, and expand the Mitacs student research program by two-thirds to over 800 internships annually. The update also includes expanded eligibility for BC’s Interactive Digital Media Tax Credit to include augmented reality/virtual reality products and an increase in the Small Business Venture Capital tax credit budget of $3.5 million per year. Other initiatives include a new Innovative Ideas Fund, which will encourage government purchase of innovative technology products, a pilot “Startup in Residence” program to support the test and launch of private-sector solutions to public-sector challenges, and a new rural representative on the BC Innovation Council.
  • BC releases rural economic strategy – The Government of BC released a new rural economic development strategy, Building on our Rural Advantages. The strategy outlines a three-pronged approach to build, strengthen, and diversify rural communities. Investments are expected to support up to 26,600 direct and indirect jobs. The impact is expected to contribute $2.8 billion to provincial GDP. Initiatives include $40 million to expand and enhance high-speed Internet, a $10 million investment in management of invasive plant species, an extension of the $25 million Rural Dividend Fund, $150 million for the Forest Enhancement Society of British Columbia to plant trees and create jobs, a phase-out of the provincial sales tax on electricity purchases, and a reduction in the small business tax rate.
  • BC’s mining competitiveness – BC Minister of Energy and Mines, Bill Bennett, announced new policies and funding to increase competitiveness, strengthen First Nations involvement, and enhance responsible resource development in BC’s mining sector. Policies and funding include: $18 million over three years for mines permitting and oversight, elimination of the provincial sales tax on electricity over the next two years, adding community engagement as a deductible expense in BC’s mining exploration tax credit program, establishing a Major Mines Permitting Office to improve coordination of mine permits across government, and reducing turnaround time for Notice of Work permits. Despite these actions the Fraser Institute’s annual Survey of Mining Companies shows BC has dropped ten places to 27th for investment attractiveness in mining. BC, along with the Northwest Territories and Yukon, are the country’s mining districts where it takes the longest to obtain exploration permits, with 60 per cent of survey respondents indicating wait times in BC have lengthened over the past decade.
  • Using innovation to drive commercialization in BC’s forest sector – The Government of BC has announced a Clean-Tech Innovation Strategy for the BC Forest Sector. The strategy, created in partnership with FPInnovations, will help increase the value of BC’s forest resources, as well as identify innovative solutions to strengthen the forestry sector. FPInnovations provides creative scientific solutions to support the global competitiveness of the Canadian forestry sector. The three themes of the strategy are: enhanced economic viability, environmental sustainability, and Aboriginal and community technical support.

Alberta

  • Alberta government releases 2017 budget – Alberta Treasury Board and Finance released its 2017 budget, which forecasts a $10.3 billion deficit for 2017-18 (3.2 per cent of GDP). The province’s net debt-to-GDP ratio is expected to increase from 3.1 per cent in 2016-17 to 12.3 per cent by 2019-20, as the government runs continuous deficits. The budget builds upon initiatives included in Budget 2016 and announcements made over the previous 12 months. These initiatives include continuation of the Climate Leadership Plan which reinvests $5.4 billion in carbon levy revenue over the next three years, continuation of the $250 million Job Creation and Diversification Plan, and $129 million for the First Nations Development Fund. GDP is expected to grow by 2.6 per cent in 2017-18.
  • New funding for Alberta’s Carbon Conversion Technology Centre – Natural Resources Canada (NRCan) and Alberta Economic Development and Trade (EDT) have announced $10 million each in funding for the new Alberta Carbon Conversion Technology Centre (ACCTC) in Calgary. The federal funding is part of NRCan’s Oil and Gas Clean Tech Program, from Budget 2016, which provides $50 million over two years for technologies that reduce greenhouse gas emissions from the oil and gas sector. The ACCTC will be owned and operated by InnoTech Alberta, a subsidiary of Alberta Innovates, and will enable near-commercial scale testing of CO2 capture and utilization technologies. Finalists in COSIA’s Carbon X-PRIZE competition and winners of Emissions Reductions Alberta’s $35 million Grand Challenge will be among the first to benefit from ACCTC facilities.
  • Alberta Premier meets with US lawmakers – Alberta Premier Rachel Notley traveled to Washington, DC from February 26 to March 1 to engage in bilateral discussions with US officials and lawmakers. The mission included meetings with: George David Banks, Special Assistant to the President for International Energy and Environment; Senator Jon Tester, who sits on the subcommittee for energy and water development as well as the subcommittee responsible for agriculture; and Fred Upton, chair of the energy subcommittee. Ms. Notley also met with industry leaders from the US Chamber of Commerce and the Canadian-American Business Council, among others. Prior to this trip, Premier Notley met with Alberta business leaders from the oil and gas, agriculture, forestry, and manufacturing sectors to discuss Alberta’s trade relations with the US.
  • Alberta Premier participates in global energy conference – Premier Notley and Energy Minister Margaret McCuaig-Boyd participated in the CERAWeek energy conference in Houston. Texas from March 6 to 10. Premier Notley was part of a panel discussion on energy and the environment, where she was quoted as saying that it is important for the oil sands industry to plan on the basis of “a business cycle that is longer than the current political cycle in the US.” Ms. Notley also met with international oil and gas executives and the Governor of Texas, Greg Abbott, and attended roundtables on innovation, economic diversification, and Canadian perspectives.
  • Alberta provides additional funding for Apprenticeship Training Awards – The Government of Alberta is providing $1 million in additional funding for its Apprentice Training Awards due to increased demand by unemployed apprentices in the province. The original investment in these awards was $1.5 million in the fall of 2016, providing 1,500 apprentices with $1,000 each towards technical training programs. The additional funds will be allocated to 1,000 more apprentices by March 31.
  • Alberta government provides new solar installation rebates – The Government of Alberta has introduced a $36 million Residential and Commercial Solar Program, which provides rebates for homeowners, businesses, and non-profit organizations that install rooftop solar panels. The Minister of Environment and Parks, Shannon Phillips, estimates that the program will lead to new panels on 10,000 rooftops by 2020. Other impacts include the creation of 900 jobs in Alberta’s solar sector, cutting solar installation costs by up to 30 per cent for residences and 25 per cent for businesses, and reducing greenhouse gas emissions in the province by approximately 500,000 tonnes.

Saskatchewan

  • Government of Saskatchewan releases its budget for 2017-18 – On March 22, 2017, Saskatchewan Finance Minister Kevin Doherty tabled the province’s budget titled “Meeting the Challenge.” The budget controls spending, modernizes and expands the tax base, and invests in priority government programs, services, and infrastructure projects. It also outlines a plan to return to balanced budgets in three years. A deficit of $685 million is forecast for 2017-18, and a number of measures are included in the budget to help meet the financial challenge. Measures include increasing the provincial sales tax by one percentage point, increasing the Education Property Tax, and higher taxes on tobacco. The budget also includes $3.7 billion for investment in infrastructure, $5.6 billion in health spending, and nearly $1.4 billion on social services and assistance. The budget also provides $210 million in program funding for First Nations and Métis organizations and individuals.
  • Premier Brad Wall promotes trade in Iowa – Saskatchewan Premier Brad Wall traveled to Iowa in mid-March to help promote trade between Canada and the United States. The trip comes as a result of discussions with Prime Minister Justin Trudeau who asked the Premier to represent Canada in Iowa. On March 15, 2017, Premier Wall addressed the Iowa House of Representatives to stress the importance of free trade between Canada and the United States. The Premier referred to Saskatchewan lentil farmers who grow about 60 per cent of the world’s lentils and are in need of fair trading partners. Premier Wall also participated in a roundtable discussion with state agricultural organizations and delivered remarks at a reception attended by several hundred business, government, and academic representatives. Iowa counts Canada among its top trading partners, and last year, Canada-Iowa trade was almost $6 billion. Saskatchewan exporters shipped US$335 million worth of goods to Iowa in 2016, mainly potash, oats, canola, and live swine. Iowa in turn had exports of US$363 million, primarily agricultural equipment, to Saskatchewan in 2016. The United States is the province’s largest export market and a solid economic relationship is critical to maintaining a strong Saskatchewan economy and contributing to one in five Saskatchewan jobs that depend on international trade.
  • Government of Saskatchewan to reduce public sector compensation – In its 2017-18 budget, the Saskatchewan government proposed a reduction of $250 million in public sector compensation, representing a savings of roughly 3.5 per cent. The targeted reduction will apply across the public sector and will impact employees at government ministries, Crown corporations, agencies, health regions, school divisions, and the post-secondary sector. The provincial government has indicated that the specifics of how the savings will be achieved will be determined through negotiation. Previously, the government announced its plan to reduce salaries for Members of the Legislative Assembly and Ministers by 3.5 per cent. At the same time, staff in the Premier’s office, caucus offices, and Ministers’ offices will receive nine unpaid days off in the coming year, which is roughly equivalent to a reduction of 3.5 per cent as well.

Manitoba

  • Diamonds discovered in northeast Manitoba – On March 6, 2017, the Government of Manitoba announced that they have received reports confirming the existence of diamonds in northeastern Manitoba. The discovery, made by geologists at the Manitoba Geological Survey and their industry partners, Lynx Consortium, marks the first time that diamonds have been found in the province.
  • Trades training for refugees in Manitoba – On March 7, 2017, the Government of Manitoba and Red River College announced a new training program to provide language and construction skills to refugees and newcomers that have arrived in the province in the past year. The province is contributing $225,000 to the program, which will focus on developing essential language, safety, and basic construction skills.
  • Province releases third quarter financial report - Manitoba Finance Minister Cameron Friesen released the province’s third quarter report on March 20, 2017. The report projects a deficit of $872 million, which is an improvement from the $911 million projected when the 2016 budget was presented.
  • Pallister, federal Liberals suffer from a failure to communicate – Manitoba Premier Brian Pallister was disappointed that there was no new funding in the federal budget for kidney disease research, medevac flights, or services for refugees crossing the border. The premier has been at odds with the federal government over health funding, climate policy, and funding for a $60 million “Factory of the Future” that the National Research Council had promised to build in Winnipeg in 2015.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Le point sur les gouvernements provinciaux

Colombie-Britannique

  • Le gouvernement de la C.-B. renouvelle la stratégie #BCTECH – Le gouvernement de la C.-B. a diffusé une mise à jour sur sa stratégie #BCTECH, qui a été lancée au début de 2016. Cette mise à jour traite des compétences et des talents, y compris les engagements visant à accroître le nombre de diplômés en technologie de 1 000 par année, à doubler le nombre de stages coopératifs de manière à ce que 1 400 étudiants en bénéficient chaque année, et à élargir des deux tiers le programme Mitacs de recherche par des étudiants pour atteindre 800 stages par année. Elle porte par ailleurs sur l’admissibilité accrue au crédit d’impôt de la C.-B. pour les produits de médias numériques interactifs, qui inclut les produits de réalité augmentée/réalité virtuelle ainsi qu’une augmentation de 3,5 millions de dollars par année du budget alloué au crédit d’impôt pour capital de risque des petites entreprises. Certaines des autres initiatives prévues sont les suivantes : un nouveau fonds pour idées novatrices, qui encouragera l’achat, par le gouvernement, de produits technologiques novateurs, un programme pilote « Startup in Residence » visant à appuyer la mise à l’essai et le lancement de solutions du secteur privé pour résoudre des problèmes du secteur public, et l’arrivée d’un nouveau représentant des régions rurales sur le BC Innovation Council.
     
  • La C.-B. rend publique une stratégie en matière d’économie rurale – Le gouvernement de la C.-B. a dévoilé une nouvelle stratégie de développement économique rural : Building on our Rural Advantages. Cette stratégie expose une approche à trois volets pour l’établissement, la consolidation et la diversification des collectivités rurales. Les investissements prévus sont censés appuyer jusqu’à 26 600 emplois directs et indirects, ce qui devrait contribuer pour 2,8 milliards de dollars au PIB provincial. Parmi les initiatives visées figurent les suivantes : 40 millions de dollars pour l’expansion et l’amélioration du réseau Internet haute vitesse, investissement de 10 millions de dollars dans la gestion des espèces végétales envahissantes, augmentation du Rural Dividend Fund de 25 millions de dollars, 150 millions de dollars destinés à la Forest Enhancement Society of British Columbia pour la plantation d’arbres et la création d’emplois, élimination de la taxe de vente provinciale sur les achats d’électricité, et réduction du taux d’imposition des petites entreprises.
     
  • Compétitivité des mines de la C.-B. – Le ministre de l’Énergie et des Mines de la C.-B., Bill Bennett, a annoncé de nouvelles politiques et un nouveau financement visant à accroître la compétitivité, à intensifier la participation des Premières Nations et à renforcer la mise en valeur responsable des ressources dans le secteur minier de la province. Soulignons les politiques et financements suivants : 18 millions de dollars sur trois ans pour l’octroi de permis et la surveillance des mines, élimination de la taxe de vente provinciale sur l’électricité pour les deux prochaines années, ajout de l’engagement communautaire en tant que dépenses déductibles au titre du programme de crédits d’impôt pour l’exploration minière en C.-B., mise sur pied d’un Major Mines Permitting Office en vue d’améliorer la coordination des activités d’octroi de permis miniers à l’échelle du gouvernement, et réduction des délais de traitement des permis (Notice of work). En dépit de ces mesures, le sondage annuel des compagnies minières de l’Institut Fraser révèle que la C.-B. est tombée au 27e rang (recul de dix rangs) pour ce qui est de l’attraction des investissements dans le secteur minier. La C.-B., les Territoires du Nord-Ouest et le Yukon sont les administrations où les délais de traitement des permis d’exploration sont les plus longs au Canada, et 60 % des répondants au sondage ont souligné que ces délais ont augmenté au cours de la dernière décennie en C.-B.
     
  • Utiliser l’innovation pour stimuler la commercialisation dans le secteur forestier de la C.-B. – Le gouvernement de la C.-B. a annoncé une stratégie d’innovation dans les technologies propres pour le secteur forestier de la province. Cette stratégie, créée en partenariat avec FPInnovations, contribuera à accroître la valeur des ressources forestières de la C.-B. et à cibler des solutions novatrices destinées à renforcer le secteur. FPInnovations offre des solutions scientifiques créatives pour accroître la compétitivité du secteur forestier canadien sur la scène internationale. Les trois thèmes de la stratégie sont les suivants : accroissement de la viabilité économique, durabilité environnementale et soutien technique des Autochtones et des collectivités.

Alberta

  • Le gouvernement de l’Alberta rend public son budget de 2017 – Conseil du Trésor et Finances Alberta a déposé son budget de 2017, qui prévoit un déficit de 10,3 milliards de dollars pour 2017-2018 (3,2 % du PIB). Le rapport entre la dette nette et le PIB de la province devrait passer de 3,1 % en 2016-2017 à 12,3 % d’ici 2019-2020, à mesure que le gouvernement cumulera les déficits. Le budget repose sur les initiatives figurant dans le budget de 2016 et les annonces faites au cours des 12 derniers mois. Soulignons les initiatives suivantes : poursuite du Climate Leadership Plan, qui réinvestit 5,4 milliards de dollars en revenus de la taxe sur le carbone dans les trois prochaines années, poursuite du Job Creation and Diversification Plan de 250 millions de dollars, et affectation de 129 millions de dollars au First Nations Development Fund. Le PIB de la province devrait augmenter de 2,6 % en 2017-2018.
     
  • Nouveau financement pour l’Alberta Carbon Conversion Technology Centre – Ressources naturelles Canada (RNCan) et le ministère du Développement économique et du Commerce de l’Alberta (DEC) ont annoncé un financement de 10 millions de dollars chacun pour le nouveau Alberta Carbon Conversion Technology Centre (ACCTC), à Calgary. Le financement fédéral provient du Programme de technologies propres pétrolières et gazières, annoncé dans le budget de 2016, qui prévoit 50 millions de dollars sur deux ans pour les technologies qui réduisent les émissions de gaz à effet de serre dans le secteur du pétrole et du gaz. L’ACCTC sera détenu et exploité par InnoTech Alberta, une filiale d’Alberta Innovates, et permettra de mettre à l’essai à une échelle quasi commerciale les technologies de captage et d’utilisation du CO2. Les finalistes du concours Carbon X-PRIZE de la COSIA et les gagnants du Grand Challenge de 35 millions de dollars d’Emissions Reduction Alberta seront parmi les premiers à bénéficier des installations de l’ACCTC.
     
  • La première ministre de l’Alberta rencontre des législateurs américains – La première ministre de l’Alberta, Rachel Notley, s’est rendue à Washington D.C., du 26 février au 1er mars, en vue d’entamer des discussions bilatérales avec des représentants et des législateurs du gouvernement américain. Cette mission a comporté des réunions avec : George David Banks, assistant spécial du président à la politique internationale en matière d’énergie et d’environnement; le sénateur Jon Tester, qui siège au sous-comité de la mise en valeur de l’énergie et de l’eau ainsi qu’au sous-comité responsable de l’agriculture; et Fred Upton, président du sous-comité de l’énergie. Mme Notley s’est également entretenue avec des chefs de file de l’industrie à la Chambre de commerce des États-Unis et au Conseil des affaires canadiennes-américaines. Avant ce voyage, la première ministre Notley avait rencontré de grands dirigeants d’entreprises des secteurs du pétrole et du gaz, de l’agriculture, des forêts et du secteur manufacturier, en vue d’aborder la question des relations commerciales de l’Alberta avec les États-Unis.
     
  • La première ministre de l’Alberta participe à une conférence mondiale sur l’énergie – La première ministre Notley et la ministre de l’Énergie, Margaret McCuaig-Boyd, ont participé à la conférence CERAWeek sur l’énergie à Houston, au Texas, du 6 au 10 mars. La première ministre Notley a participé à une discussion d’experts sur l’énergie et l’environnement, où l’on a cité une de ses affirmations voulant qu’il était important pour l’industrie des sables bitumineux d’établir ses plans d’activités en fonction d’« un cycle plus long que le cycle politique actuel aux États-Unis ». Mme Notley a par ailleurs rencontré des cadres supérieurs du pétrole et du gaz sur la scène internationale ainsi que le gouverneur du Texas, Greg Abbott, et a assisté à des tables rondes sur l’innovation, la diversification économique et les perspectives canadiennes.
     
  • L’Alberta accorde des fonds supplémentaires aux Apprenticeship Training Awards – Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a accordé une somme supplémentaire d’un million de dollars aux Apprentice Training Awards, répondant à la demande accrue de la part des apprentis sans emploi de la province. L’investissement initial, qui s’élevait à 1,5 million de dollars versés à l’automne 2016, a permis d’attribuer 1 000 $ à 1 500 apprentis pour qu’ils participent à des programmes de formation technique. Ce nouveau financement bénéficiera à 1 000 apprentis de plus d’ici le 31 mars.
     
  • Le gouvernement de l’Alberta offre une remise pour l’installation de panneaux solaires – Le gouvernement de l’Alberta a lancé un programme d’énergie solaire résidentielle et commerciale de 36 millions de dollars, qui prévoit des remises pour les propriétaires résidentiels, les entreprises et les organismes à but non lucratif qui installeront des panneaux solaires sur des toitures. La ministre de l’Environnement et des Parcs, Shannon Phillips, estime que ce programme permettra de mettre en place de nouveaux panneaux solaires sur 10 000 toits d’ici 2020. Les principaux autres effets seront les suivants : création de 900 emplois dans le secteur de l’énergie solaire en Alberta, réduction des coûts d’installation de panneaux solaires allant jusqu’à 30 % pour les résidences et jusqu’à 25 % pour les entreprises, et diminution des émissions de gaz à effet de serre d’environ 500 000 tonnes à l’échelle de la province.

Saskatchewan

  • Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan rend public son budget de 2017-2018 – Le 22 mars 2017, le ministre des Finances de la Saskatchewan, Kevin Doherty, a déposé le budget de la province intitulé « Relever le défi ». Ce budget vise le contrôle les dépenses, la modernisation et l’élargissement de l’assiette fiscale, et les investissements dans des programmes et services gouvernementaux et des projets d’infrastructures prioritaires. Il renferme par ailleurs un plan de retour à un budget équilibré dans trois ans. Prévoyant un déficit de 685 millions de dollars pour 2017-2018, le budget propose un certain nombre de mesures pour relever le défi financier. Celles-ci comprennent une hausse de 1 % de la taxe de vente provinciale, ainsi qu’une augmentation de la taxe scolaire imposée aux propriétaires et de la taxe sur le tabac. Le budget prévoit par ailleurs des investissements de 3,7 milliards de dollars dans l’infrastructure, de 5,6 milliards dans la santé et de près de 1,4 milliard dans l’aide sociale et les services sociaux. Une somme de 210 millions de dollars sera accordée à des organismes des Premières Nations et de Métis et aux membres de ces groupes.
     
  • Le premier ministre Brad Wall fait la promotion des échanges en Iowa – Le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, s’est rendu en Iowa à la mi-mars en vue d’aider à promouvoir les échanges entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Ce déplacement avait été décidé lors d’une discussion avec le premier ministre Justin Trudeau, qui avait demandé au premier ministre de la Saskatchewan de représenter le Canada en Iowa. Le 15 mars 2017, le premier ministre Wall a pris la parole à la Chambre des représentants de l’Iowa, afin de souligner l’importance du libre-échange entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Il a évoqué la situation des producteurs de lentilles de la Saskatchewan qui satisfont environ 60 % des besoins mondiaux et qui sont à la recherche de bons partenaires commerciaux. Le premier ministre Wall a par ailleurs participé à une table ronde en compagnie d’organismes agricoles d’État et a fait des déclarations lors d’une réception à laquelle ont assisté plusieurs centaines de représentants d’entreprises, de gouvernements et d’établissements d’enseignement. Le Canada compte parmi les principaux partenaires commerciaux de l’Iowa; l’année dernière, les échanges entre les deux parties se sont élevés à près de 6 milliards de dollars. Les exportations de la Saskatchewan à destination de l’Iowa ont atteint 335 millions de dollars américains en 2016, et étaient principalement constituées de potasse, d’avoine, de canola et de porcs vivants. Quant à l’Iowa, ses exportations vers la Saskatchewan se sont chiffrées à 363 millions de dollars américains cette même année, surtout dans le domaine de l’équipement agricole. Les États-Unis constituent le principal marché d’exportation de la province, et il est indispensable d’entretenir de solides relations commerciales afin de maintenir la santé économique de la Saskatchewan, un emploi sur cinq étant tributaire du commerce international.
     
  • Le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan veut réduire la rémunération dans le secteur public – Dans son budget de 2017-2018, le gouvernement de la Saskatchewan a proposé de réduire de 250 millions de dollars la rémunération dans le secteur public, soit des économies d’à peu près 3,5 %. Cette diminution touchera le secteur public en général, et en particulier les employés des ministères, des sociétés d’État, des organismes gouvernementaux, des régions sanitaires, des divisions scolaires et du secteur postsecondaire. Le gouvernement provincial a indiqué que les détails des économies réalisées seront déterminés par la voie de négociations. Le gouvernement a d’abord annoncé son intention de diminuer de 3,5 % les salaires des membres de l’Assemblée législative et des ministres. Parallèlement, le personnel du Cabinet du premier ministre, des bureaux de caucus et des bureaux de ministres obtiendra neuf jours de congé sans rémunération au cours de la prochaine année, ce qui correspond également à une réduction d’environ 3,5 %.

Manitoba

  • Découverte d’un gisement de diamants dans le nord-est du Manitoba – Le 6 mars 2017, le gouvernement du Manitoba a annoncé qu’il avait reçu des rapports confirmant l’existence d’un gisement de diamants dans le nord-est de la province. C’est la première fois que l’on trouve des diamants dans la province, et cette découverte a été réalisée par des géologues du Manitoba Geological Survey et leur partenaire de l’industrie, le Consortium Lynx.
     
  • Formation professionnelle à l’intention des réfugiés au Manitoba – Le 7 mars 2017, le gouvernement du Manitoba et le Collège Red River ont annoncé un nouveau programme de formation visant à offrir des cours de langue et de construction aux réfugiés et nouveaux arrivants qui se sont installés dans la province l’année dernière. La province verse 225 000 $ au programme, qui se centrera sur les compétences essentielles en langue, en sécurité et en construction.
     
  • La province diffuse son rapport financier du troisième trimestre – Le ministre des Finances du Manitoba, Cameron Friesen, a rendu public le rapport financier du troisième trimestre de la province, le 20 mars 2017. Ce rapport prévoit un déficit de 872 millions de dollars, soit une amélioration par rapport aux 911 millions de dollars prévus au moment de la présentation du budget de 2016.
     
  • Selon M. Pallister, les Libéraux fédéraux ont du mal à communiquer – Le premier ministre du Manitoba, Brian Pallister, s’est dit déçu du fait que le budget fédéral ne prévoit aucun nouveau financement pour la recherche sur les maladies rénales, les vols pour évacuation médicale et les services aux réfugiés qui traversent la frontière. Le premier ministre s’oppose actuellement au gouvernement fédéral au sujet du financement de la santé, de la politique climatique et du financement d’une « usine de l’avenir » au coût de 60 millions de dollars, que le Conseil national de recherches avait promis de construire à Winnipeg en 2015.