Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Upcoming Events

Event Description Location Date
British Columbia
Transportation Summit 2017: The Future of Our Region The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host this opportunity for the business community to discuss the future of the region’s transit and transportation networks. Vancouver, BC Transportation Summit 2017 :March 3, 2017
#BCTECH Summit The Province of BC and the BC Innovation Council will co-host the second annual #BCTECH Summit, the largest conference in BC showcasing the province’s technology industry. Vancouver, BC #BCTECH :March 14-15, 2017
Bank of Canada The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host the Bank of Canada’s Deputy Governor, Lawrence Schembri, for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC Bank of Canada :March 22, 2017
University of British Columbia The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host UBC’s new President and Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Santa Ono, for his inaugural address. Vancouver, BC University of British Columbia :March 28, 2017
Air Canada The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host Air Canada President and CEO, Calin Rovinescu, to discuss competitive business in the 21st century. Vancouver, BC Air Canada :April 20, 2017
Simon Fraser University The Greater Vancouver Board of Trade will host SFU President and Vice-Chancellor, Andrew Petter, in a discussion about building BC’s innovation economy. Vancouver, BC Simon Fraser University :May 30, 2017
Alberta
Creating Prosperity Through Innovation A lunch event hosted by TECTERRA, featuring Director of Portfolio Development, Richard Gorecki. Edmonton, AB Creating Prosperity Through Innovation :March 1, 2017
Propel Energy Tech Forum An annual forum for energy technology companies that focuses technology developments in energy efficiency, oil and gas extraction, pipeline operations, and environmental monitoring. Calgary, AB Propel Energy Tech Forum :March 1-2, 2017
Calgary Downtown Economic Summit An event hosted by Calgary Economic Development, Calgary Municipal Land Corporation, and the City of Calgary to identify emerging trends and opportunities for Calgary’s city centre. Calgary, AB March 2, 2017
Addressing the Essential Skills Gap A Canadian Apprenticeship Forum roundtable on how to address essential skills deficits among apprentices. Edmonton, AB Addressing the Essential Skills Gap :March 2, 2017
Southeast Alberta Energy Diversification Symposium (SEEDS) A conference hosted by the Alberta Labour, Economic Development Alliance of Southeast Alberta, and Medicine Hat College to provide an opportunity for discussion about Southeast Alberta’s energy diversification opportunities. Medicine Hat, AB SEEDS :March 2-3, 2017
CERI 2017 Oil and Gas Symposium: Where do we go from here? Symposium hosted by the Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI) to discuss the current oil and gas extraction environment, such as pipeline approvals, LNG plants, market prices, and First Nations engagement. Calgary, AB CERI :March 6-7, 2017
Western Business Outlook: Edmonton The Conference Board of Canada’s outlook for Edmonton in 2017 from a global, national, provincial, and metropolitan perspective. Edmonton, AB Western Business Outlook: Edmonton :March 8, 2017
Western Business Outlook: Calgary The Conference Board of Canada’s outlook for Calgary in 2017 from a global, national, provincial, and metropolitan perspective. Calgary, AB Western Business Outlook: Calgary :March 10, 2017
Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital 2017 Reverse Trade Show A trade show hosted by Alberta Health Services which highlights clinical care challenges that could be addressed through the development of innovative technological solutions. Edmonton, AB Glenrose Rehabilitation Hospital 2017 Reverse Trade Show :March 21, 2017
Oil Sands Innovation Summit Canada’s Oil Sands Innovation Alliance (COSIA) will hold a summit showcasing how innovation is improving the environmental performance of Canada’s oil sands. Calgary, AB Oil Sands Innovation Summit :March 21-22, 2017
EDA 2017 Annual Professional Conference & AGM Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) will host its annual conference with the theme of “Embracing Change. Creating Opportunity.” Banff, AB EDA :March 22–24, 2017
AccelerateAB An annual event connecting local startups, mentors, investors, and other partners to accelerate the success of Alberta’s entrepreneurs. Calgary, AB AccelerateAB :April 19, 2017
XXV Anniversary Business Forum and Gala Dinner The Canadian Council for the Americas is hosting an event to discuss the future of the economic regions in the Americas (NAFTA, Pacific Alliance, Pacific Rim, US-Canada, and the Americas). Calgary, AB XXV Anniversary Business Forum and Gala Dinner :April 25, 2017
IPAC & Conference Board of Canada Present: Resilience A conference focused on the increased risks posed by natural hazards and the responses from both public and private sectors. It will also feature a lessons learned event for the May 2016 Fort McMurray wildfire. Edmonton, AB IPAC :April 25-26, 2017
University of Calgary’s W21C Program 2017 Reverse Trade Show A trade show hosted by Alberta Health Services which highlights clinical challenges for seniors that could be addressed through the development of innovative technological solutions. Calgary, AB May 2, 2017
CCAB Aboriginal Economic Development Conference A conference highlighting innovation in the Indigenous economy. Calgary, AB CCAB :May 11, 2017
2017 Canadian Inland Ports Conference An annual Van Horne Institute conference discussing the present and future economic benefit of inland ports for the provinces and communities in which they are located. Calgary, AB 2017 Canadian Inland Ports Conference :May 24, 2017
Saskatchewan
The Centre for the Study of Science and Innovation (CSIP) Launch CSI, the newest research centre to be launched by the Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy, is an academic research institute that supports the advancement of understanding about policy through the application of robust, theory, innovative method and evidence-based discussions. Saskatoon, SK
Regina, SK
CSIP :March 8 & 13, 2017
SUSTAINTECH 2017 The third annual SustainTech conference, organized by the Saskatchewan Environmental Industry and Managers Association (SEIMA), brings together industry, academia, and regulators to share new ideas and technologies. Saskatoon, SK SUSTAINTECH 2017 :March 16, 2017
CANDO Links to Learning Links to Learning is an annual training forum for First Nations Economic Development Officers and Land Management Officers. Saskatoon, SK March 28-30, 2017
Saskatchewan Economic Summit 2017 The Saskatchewan Economic Summit 2017 is organized by the Conference Board of Canada’s Saskatchewan Institute. The Summit is an opportunity for senior government officials and decision-makers from the private sector to discuss issues affecting Saskatchewan. Regina, SK Saskatchewan Economic Summit 2017 :April 3-4, 2017
Saskatchewan Mining Supply Chain Forum The 9th Annual Saskatchewan Mining Supply Chain Forum is presented by the Saskatchewan Mining Association, the Saskatchewan Ministry of the Economy, and the Saskatchewan Industrial and Mining Suppliers Association. The Forum will provide information on how businesses can access mining supply opportunities. Saskatoon, SK Saskatchewan Mining Supply Chain Forum :April 4, 2017
Johnson Shoyama Graduate School 2017 Tansley Lecture Under the theme: “Canada and President Trump: How do we manage?” – former Canadian diplomat Colin Robertson explores the uncertain and critical era into which Canada-U.S relations are entering. Regina, SK Johnson Shoyama Graduate School 2017 Tansley Lecture :April 5, 2017
2017 Agri-Value and Networking Event This year’s theme is “Growth, Opportunities and Challenges in Value-Added Processing.” The workshops will feature an address by Lyle Stewart, the Saskatchewan Minister of Agriculture as well as other local and international speakers. Saskatoon, SK 2017 Agri-Value and Networking Event :May 4, 2017
2017 Williston Basin Petroleum Conference The 2017 conference includes talks on production optimization, geology, and environmental issues. Also featured is the core workshop, intended to give delegates a unique perspective on the geology of key plays within the Williston Basin. Regina, SK 2017 Williston Basin Petroleum Conference< :May 2-4, 2017
Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. 2017 Annual Business Conference This year’s business conference will focus on “Business Innovation Through Technology,” featuring high-calibre speakers and content while providing the opportunity to learn from some of the province’s up-and-coming entrepreneurs. Saskatoon, SK Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan :May 10, 2017
Saskatchewan Mining Week 2017 The week-long event will feature various activities and events ending with the 49th Annual Emergency Response/Mine Rescue Skills Competition. Saskatoon, SK Saskatchewan Mining Week 2017 :May 28-June 3, 2017
Manitoba
Rotary Career Symposium Manitoba’s largest career symposium with over 185 exhibit booths with post-secondary and employment options for students and job seekers. Winnipeg, MB Rotary Career Symposium :March 14-16, 2017
2017 Dare to Compete (un)Conference The conference is organized around the Industry 2030 themes: Human Resources & Skills Development, Technology & Innovation, Trade & Business Development, and the Business Environment. Winnipeg, MB 2017 Dare to Compete :March 21, 2017
Manitoba Sustainable Energy Association (ManSEA) Conference and ManSEA’s annual general meeting with the theme of “Carbon Pricing and Sustainable Energy – What does it mean for me?” Portage la Prairie, MB ManSEA :April 5, 2017
Red River College (RRC) Applied Research and Innovation day A showcase of student and staff applied research that’s happening at RRC and being driven by industry. Winnipeg, MB RRC :April 6, 2017

Western Economic Diversification Canada

The role of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of Western Canada by supporting programs and services that enhance innovation, business development, and community economic development. In addition, the department undertakes policy, advocacy and coordination activities in order to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic decision-making.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Événements à venir

Événement Description Lieu Date
Colombie-britannique
Sommet sur le transport 2017 : l'avenir de notre région La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver est à l'origine de cette possibilité pour les entreprises de discuter de l'avenir des réseaux de transport et des transports en commun dans la région. Vancouver (C.-B.) 3 mars 2017 : CB1
Sommet #BCTECH La province de la Colombie-Britannique et le BC Innovation Council organiseront conjointement le deuxième sommet annuel #BCTECH, le plus important congrès de la province sur l'industrie technologique. Vancouver (C.-B.) 14-15 mars 2017 : CB2
Banque du Canada La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver accueillera le sous-gouverneur de la Banque du Canada, Lawrence Schembri, qui prononcera un discours liminaire. Vancouver (C.-B.) 22 mars 2017 : CB3
Université de la Colombie-Britannique La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver accueillera le nouveau président et vice-chancelier de l'UBC, le professeur Santa Ono, qui prononcera son discours inaugural. Vancouver (C.-B.) 28 mars 2017 : CB4
Air Canada La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver accueillera le président et chef de la direction d'Air Canada, Calin Rovinescu, qui discutera de l'entreprise concurrentielle au XXIe siècle. Vancouver (C.-B.) 20 avril 2017 : CB5
Université Simon Fraser La Chambre de commerce du Grand Vancouver accueillera le président et vice-chancelier de l'USF, Andrew Petter, qui prononcera un discours sur la création d'une économie de l'innovation en Colombie-Britannique. Vancouver (C.-B.) 30 mai 2017 : CB6
Alberta
Créer la prospérité par l'innovation Dîner-causerie organisé par TECTERRA, mettant en vedette le directeur du développement du portefeuille, Richard Gorecki. Edmonton (Alb.) 1er mars 2017 : AB1
Forum Propel Energy Tech Forum annuel destiné aux entreprises technologiques liées à l'énergie, axé sur les percées technologiques dans les domaines de l'efficacité énergétique, de l'extraction du pétrole et du gaz, de l'exploitation de pipelines et de la surveillance de l'environnement. Calgary (Alb.) 1er-2
mars 2017 : AB2
Sommet économique du centre-ville de Calgary Événement organisé par Calgary Economic Development, la Calgary Municipal Land Corporation et la ville de Calgary pour définir les courants émergents et les possibilités au centre-ville de Calgary. Calgary (Alb.) 2 mars 2017
Comment réagir aux lacunes dans les compétences essentielles Table ronde du Forum canadien sur l'apprentissage portant sur des façons de combler les lacunes dans les compétences essentielles des apprentis. Edmonton (Alb.) 2 mars 2017 : AB3
Southeast Alberta Energy Diversification Symposium (SEEDS) Congrès organisé par le ministère du Travail de l'Alberta, l'Economic Development Alliance of Southeast Alberta et le Collège Medicine Hat qui offre une occasion de discuter des possibilités de diversification de l'énergie dans le sud-est de l'Alberta. Medicine Hat (Alb.) 2-3 mars 2017 : AB4
Symposium  sur le pétrole et le gaz CERI 2017 : où nous dirigeons-nous maintenant? Symposium organisé par le Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI) afin de discuter de la situation actuelle de l'extraction de pétrole et de gaz, comme l'approbation de pipelines, les usines de GNL, les prix du marché et l'engagement des Premières Nations. Calgary (Alb.) 6-7 mars 2017 : AB5
Perspectives d'affaires de l'Ouest : Edmonton Les perspectives d'Edmonton par le Conference Board du Canada en 2017 des points de vue mondial, national, provincial et métropolitain. Edmonton (Alb.) 8 mars 2017 : AB6
Perspectives d'affaires de l'Ouest : Calgary Les perspectives de Calgary par le Conference Board du Canada en 2017 des points de vue mondial, national, provincial et métropolitain. Calgary (Alb.) 10 mars 2017 : AB7
Contre-exposition 2017 de l'hôpital de réadaptation Glenrose Salon organisé par les Services de santé de l'Alberta et axé sur les défis des soins cliniques qui pourraient être relevés grâce à l'élaboration de solutions technologiques novatrices. Edmonton (Alb.) 21 mars 2017 : AB8
Sommet sur l'innovation dans les sables bitumineux L'Alliance pour l'innovation dans les sables bitumineux du Canada (AISBC) tiendra un sommet pour démontrer comment l'innovation améliore les répercussions des sables bitumineux du Canada sur l'environnement. Calgary (Alb.) 21-22 mars 2017 : AB9
Congrès professionnel annuel et AGA d'EDA 2017 Economic Developers Alberta (EDA) organisera son congrès annuel sous le thème « Embracing Change. Creating Opportunity ». Banff (Alb.) 22-24 mars 2017 : AB10
AccelerateAB Événement annuel qui réunit de jeunes entreprises locales, des mentors, des investisseurs et d'autres partenaires afin d'accélérer la réussite des entrepreneurs albertains. Calgary (Alb.) 19 avril 2017 : AB11
Dîner de gala et forum des affaires – 25e anniversaire Le Conseil canadien des Amériques organise un événement afin de discuter de l'avenir des régions économiques dans les Amériques (ALENA, Alliance du Pacifique, pays riverains du Pacifique, Canada-États-Unis et les Amériques). Calgary (Alb.) 25 avril 2017 : AB12
L'IPAC et le Conference Board du Canada présentent : Résilience Conférence axée sur les risques croissants que posent les dangers naturels et les réactions des secteurs public et privé. On y présentera également les leçons tirées du feu de forêt de Fort McMurray en mai 2016. Edmonton (Alb.) 25-26 avril 2017 : AB13
Contre-exposition 2017 du programme W21C de l'Université de Calgary Salon organisé par les Services de santé de l'Alberta qui montre les défis cliniques des personnes âgées auxquels l'Alberta pourrait répondre en élaborant des solutions technologiques novatrices. Calgary (Alb.) 2 mai 2017
Congrès sur le développement économique des Autochtones du CCCA Congrès sur l'innovation dans l'économie autochtone. Calgary (Alb.) 11 mai 2017 : AB14
Congrès canadien sur les ports intérieurs 2017 Congrès annuel de l'Institut Van Horne où l'on aborde les avantages économiques actuels et futurs des ports intérieurs pour les provinces et les collectivités où ils sont situés. Calgary (Alb.) 24 mai 2017 : AB15
Saskatchewan
Inauguration du Centre for the Study of Science and Innovation (CSIP) Le tout nouveau centre de recherche qui doit être inauguré par la Johnson Shoyama Graduate School of Public Policy est un institut de recherche universitaire qui fait avancer la compréhension des politiques grâce à l'application d'une théorie solide, d'une méthode innovatrice et des discussions fondées sur des éléments probants. Saskatoon (Sask.)
Regina (Sask.)
8 et 13
mars 2017 : SK1
SUSTAINTECH 2017 Troisième congrès annuel SustainTech, organisé par la Saskatchewan Environmental Industry and Managers Association (SEIMA), qui réunit des membres de l'industrie, des universitaires et des organismes de réglementation pour faire connaitre de nouvelles idées et technologies. Saskatoon (Sask.) 16 mars 2017 : SK2
CANDO Links to Learning Forum de formation annuel destiné aux agents de développement économique des Premières Nations et aux agents de gestion des terres. Saskatoon (Sask.) 28-30 mars 2017
Sommet économique de la Saskatchewan 2017 Le sommet économique de la Saskatchewan 2017 est organisé par le Saskatchewan Institute du Conference Board du Canada. C'est une occasion pour les hauts fonctionnaires du gouvernement et les décideurs du secteur privé de discuter des enjeux qui touchent la Saskatchewan. Regina (Sask.) 3-4 avril 2017 : SK3
Forum de la chaîne d'approvisionnement minier de la Saskatchewan Le 9e forum annuel de la chaîne d'approvisionnement minier de la Saskatchewan est présenté par la Saskatchewan Mining Association, le ministère de l'Économie de la Saskatchewan et la Saskatchewan Industrial and Mining Suppliers Association. Ce forum fournit aux entreprises des renseignements sur les façons d'accéder à des possibilités d'approvisionnement minier. Saskatoon (Sask.) 4 avril 2017 : SK4
Congrès Tansley 2017 de la Johnson Shoyama Graduate School Sous le thème « Le Canada et le président Trump : comment nous en tirons-nous? » l'ex-diplomate canadien Colin Robertson examine l'incertitude et l'étape critique qui débute dans les relations entre le Canada et les États-Unis. Regina (Sask.) 5 avril 2017 : SK5
Événement de réseautage et à valeur agricole 2017 Cette année, le thème de cet événement de réseautage est la croissance, les possibilités et les défis dans le traitement à valeur ajoutée. Les ateliers comprendront une conférence par Lyle Stewart, ministre de l'Agriculture de la Saskatchewan, ainsi que d'autres conférenciers locaux et internationaux. Saskatoon (Sask.) 4 mai 2017 : SK6
Congrès sur le pétrole dans le bassin Williston 2017 Le congrès de 2017 comprend des discours sur l'optimisation de la production, la géologie et des questions environnementales. Il y aura également l'atelier commun, qui cherche à donner aux délégués un point de vue particulier sur la géologie propre au bassin de Williston. Regina (Sask.) 2-4 mai 2017 : SK7
Congrès annuel 2017 de la Women Entrepreneurs of Saskatchewan Inc. Cette année, le thème de la conférence sera l'innovation des entreprises grâce à la technologie. Des conférenciers et du contenu de haut calibre seront présentés et on aura l'occasion d'en apprendre davantage sur certaines des entrepreneures prometteuses de la province. Saskatoon (Sask.) 10 mai 2017 : SK8
Semaine des mines de la Saskatchewan 2017 Au cours de la semaine, divers événements et activités seront présentés et culmineront par le 49e concours annuel de compétences en sauvetage minier et intervention d'urgence. Saskatoon (Sask.) 28 mai-3 juin 2017 : SK9
Manitoba
Symposium sur la carrière du Club Rotary C'est le plus important symposium sur la carrière du Manitoba, avec 185 stands d'exposition, des possibilités d'emploi et d'études postsecondaires pour les étudiants et les chercheurs d'emplois. Winnipeg (Man.) 14-16 mars 2017 : MB1
(Anti) congrès 2017 Dare to Compete Ce congrès est organisé sur les thèmes d'Industrie 2030 : le perfectionnement des compétences et des ressources humaines; la technologie et l'innovation; le développement des affaires; et l'environnement commercial. Winnipeg (Man.) 21 mars 2017 : MB2
Manitoba Sustainable Energy Association (ManSEA) Conférence et assemblée générale annuelle de la ManSEA sous le thème : « Le prix du carbone et l'énergie durable : Qu'est-ce que cela signifie pour vous? » Portage la Prairie (Man.) 5 avril 2017 : MB3
Journée de recherche appliquée et d'innovation du Red River College (RRC) Salon des étudiants et du personnel de recherche appliquée, qui se tient au RRC et qui est axé sur l'industrie. Winnipeg (Man.) 6 avril 2017 : MB4

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Le rôle de Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) est d'accroître la compétitivité économique à long terme de l'Ouest canadien en soutenant des programmes et des services qui renforcent l'innovation, l'expansion des entreprises et le développement économique communautaire. De plus, le Ministère mène des activités en matière de politique, de défense des intérêts et de coordination qui visent à faire valoir les intérêts de l'Ouest dans la politique économique nationale.