Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Operating context: conditions affecting our work

The western Canadian economy accounts for almost 40 percent of Canada’s economy and close to one third of all Canadians live in Western Canada. Due to the size of the western Canadian economy, it has a significant impact on the national economy.

The four provinces in Western Canada have had different economic performances over the last couple of years. Primarily due to lower commodity prices (crude oil in particular), Alberta, and to a lesser extent Saskatchewan, experienced economic hardships while there was moderate growth in British Columbia and Manitoba. Private sector economists expect Alberta and Saskatchewan to regain some momentum in 2017–18, but their recoveries are forecast to be modest by historical standards. The forecast for British Columbia’s economy predicts low to moderate growth in 2017–18, weighed down by the province’s cooling real estate sector. Manitoba, due to its relatively diverse economy, is expected to continue its solid economic performance, albeit at slightly slower pace than in recent years.

With forecasts of slow commodity price recovery moving forward, continued economic success will require innovative building on regional strengths. Progress is being made by Western Canada’s clean technology sector, along with other innovation clusters such as information and communication technology, natural resources, nanotechnology, aerospace, and value-added agriculture. Fostering innovation clusters represents an important opportunity to diversify and strengthen the western Canadian economy.

There is a higher proportion of high-growth small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) (10.1 percent) in Western Canada than in the rest of Canada (8.8 percent), led by Alberta and Saskatchewan.[1] The number of high-growth SMEs in Western Canada grew by 15.4 percent between 2011 and 2014. Continuing to develop firms with high-growth potential is crucial for ensuring continued success of the western Canadian economy. Key challenges for high-growth and innovative firms include: access to talent, management skills, access to capital, access to markets, and being able to take advantage of innovation ecosystems.

Nearly 60 percent of Indigenous Canadians live in Western Canada.[2] The Indigenous population is amongst the youngest and fastest growing demographic, representing the largest untapped labour force in Canada. Currently, Indigenous peoples’ labour market participation and educational attainment trail those of the non-Indigenous population. Over the next 10 years, approximately 400,000 Indigenous Canadians will reach an age to enter the labour market. In addition, Indigenous small business is growing six times faster than in the non-Indigenous market and Indigenous entrepreneurs tend to be about 10 years younger.[3] This creates an enormous potential for Indigenous business growth in Western Canada.

Women represent the majority of university graduates. However, less than a third of science, technology, engineering, and mathematics graduates are women, although this number is increasing.[4] Enhancing the participation of women in these fields would promote diversity in the workforce and help alleviate pressure related to the growing demand for skilled labour that is necessary to succeed in an increasingly innovative economy.

In addition, the integration of skilled immigrant workers also represents an important opportunity to increase labour force capacity and improve economic outcomes. Western Canada attracted 110,000 immigrants in 2015, accounting for over 40 percent of Canada’s immigration.[5] There are also barriers for firms to bring in skilled workers and managers from abroad that limit growth potential and place Western Canadian firms at a disadvantage relative to their international competitors.

 

__________

[1]
Statistics Canada, Survey on Financing and Growth of Small and Medium Enterprises, 2014. This survey includes the territories with British Columbia. http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p2SV.pl?Function=getSurvey&SDDS=2941
[2]
Statistics Canada, 2011 National Household Survey, http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2011/dp-pd/index-eng.cfm
[4]
Statistics Canada, Education in Canada: Attainment, Field of Study and Location of Study, 2013, http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/nhs-enm/2011/as-sa/99-012-x/99-012-x2011001-eng.cfm

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contexte opérationnel : les conditions qui influent sur notre travail

L'économie de l'Ouest canadien représente près de 40 % de la production économique du Canada; en outre, près du tiers des Canadiens habitent dans l'Ouest canadien. En raison de sa taille, l'économie de l'Ouest canadien a une incidente importante sur l'économie nationale.

Les quatre provinces de l'Ouest canadien ont généré différents rendements économiques au cours des dernières années. Principalement en raison des prix plus bas des produits de base (en particulier le pétrole brut), l'Alberta et, à un moindre degré, la Saskatchewan, ont éprouvé des difficultés économiques, alors que la Colombie-Britannique et le Manitoba ont connu une croissance moyenne. Les économistes du secteur privé prévoient un nouvel élan en Alberta et en Saskatchewan en 2017-2018, mais ces reprises devraient être modestes par rapport aux normes historiques. On prévoit que la Colombie-Britannique connaîtra une croissance économique faible à modérée en 2017-2018, en raison du ralentissement de son secteur immobilier. On prévoit que le rendement économique solide du Manitoba se poursuivra en raison de son économie relativement diverse, mais à un rythme plus lent que les années précédentes.

Puisque l'on prévoit une faible hausse des prix des produits de base, la poursuite du succès économique nécessitera l'exploitation des forces régionales. Des progrès sont accomplis par le secteur de la technologie propre de l'Ouest du Canada parallèlement à d'autres grappes d'innovation telles que les technologies d'information et de communications , les ressources naturelles, la nanotechnologie, l'aérospatiale et l'agriculture à valeur ajoutée. Le fait de favoriser les grappes d'innovation constitue une occasion importante de diversifier et renforcer l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

L'Ouest canadien comporte un plus grand nombre de petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) à forte croissance (10,1 %) que le reste du Canada (8,8 %), avec l'Alberta et la Saskatchewan en tête de liste.[1] Le nombre de PME à forte croissance dans l'Ouest canadien a augmenté de 15,4 % entre 2011 et 2014. Il est essentiel de poursuivre le développement d'entreprises à forte croissance pour assurer le succès économique continu de l'Ouest canadien. Les défis majeurs pour les entreprises novatrices et à forte croissance comprennent : l'accès aux talents, les compétences en gestion, l'accès au capital, l'accès aux marchés, et le fait de pouvoir profiter des écosystèmes d'innovation.

Près de 60 % des Autochtones canadiens vivent dans l'Ouest canadien.[2] Les peuples autochtones sont parmi les groupes démographiques les plus jeunes et dont la croissance est la plus rapide, représentant la plus grande population active inexploitée au Canada. La participation des peuples autochtones au marché du travail et leur niveau de scolarité traîne actuellement derrière ceux des populations non autochtones. Au cours des 10 prochaines années, 400 000 Autochtones canadiens atteindront l'âge d'intégrer le marché du travail. De plus, les petites entreprises autochtones se développement six fois plus rapidement que dans le marché non autochtone, et les entrepreneurs autochtones ont tendance à être environ 10 ans plus jeunes.[3] Ceci crée un énorme potentiel de croissance pour les entreprises autochtones de l'Ouest canadien.

Les femmes représentent la majorité des diplômés universitaires. Cependant, moins d'un tiers des diplômés des sciences, de la technologie, du génie et des mathématiques sont des femmes. Ce nombre est toutefois à la hausse.[4] En augmentant le nombre de femmes qui participent à ces secteurs, on contribuerait à diversifier l'effectif et à atténuer le fardeau que présente la demande grandissante pour une main-d'œuvre qualifiée qui s'avère indispensable pour réussir dans une économie de plus en plus innovatrice.

De plus, l'intégration de travailleurs immigrants qualifiés constitue une occasion importante pour augmenter la capacité de l'effectif et améliorer les résultats économiques. En 2015, l'Ouest canadien a attiré 110 000 immigrants, représentant plus de 40 % de l'immigration au Canada.[5] Il existe également des obstacles lorsque les entreprises font appel à des travailleurs et des gestionnaires qualifiés qui limitent le potentiel de croissance. Par conséquent, les entreprises de l'Ouest canadien sont désavantagées relativement à leurs concurrents internationaux.

 

__________

[1]
Statistique Canada, Enquête sur le financement et la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises 2014. Ce sondage comprend les territoires avec la Colombie-Britannique. http://www23.statcan.gc.ca/imdb/p2SV_f.pl?Function=getSurvey&SDDS=2941
[2]
Statistique Canada, 2011. Enquête nationale auprès des ménages, http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/census-recensement/2011/dp-pd/index-fra.cfm
[4]
Statistique Canada, Scolarité au Canada : niveau de scolarité, domaine d’études et lieu des études, 2013, http://www12.statcan.gc.ca/nhs-enm/2011/as-sa/99-012-x/99-012-x2011001-fra.cfm