Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Our Story

WD promotes the development and diversification of the Western Canadian economy and advances the interests of the West in national economic policy, program, and project development and implementation.

WD’s economic development mandate allows it to deliver diverse programs across the West to support communities, business, and not-for-profit organizations. Additionally, WD is responsible for developing policies to support economic development and diversification in Western Canada - such as clean technologies - and helping business grow, innovate, and export.

The Department is headquartered in Edmonton and has an office in the National Capital Region. There are also five regional offices located in Winnipeg, Saskatoon, Edmonton, Calgary, and Vancouver. WD capitalizes on the talents of its staff, with approximately 300 employees in Western Canada and Ottawa, to seize economic development opportunities throughout the West.

Transition

WD experienced a transitional period this year as the department became part of the Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada (ISED) portfolio.

This new working environment has positioned WD to better serve Canadians by taking advantage of its collaborative structure. This includes seizing opportunities to share tools and resources with other Regional Development Agencies (RDAs) under the ISED portfolio.

WD’s shift in focus to support an innovation agenda, and the investment in and support of clean technology, are priorities that we continue to integrate into our programs, initiatives, and services.

Other highlights of WD’s mandate priorities include:

  • Supporting business to increase exports, grow trading relationships, and take advantage of new trade agreements;
  • Promoting economic development and creating jobs for Indigenous Peoples;
  • Identifying Industrial and Technological Benefits for Canadian firms, including the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy;
  • Supporting small- and medium-sized enterprises in taking advantage of government financing and export-oriented supports; and
  • Reducing administrative burdens on small businesses.

In order to support WD staff through this transition period, a learning event was provided to all staff to discuss highlights from transition documents and the work involved in preparing for the transition. An open floor discussion was held to provide employees with the opportunity to share experiences with regard to process and policy changes.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Notre histoire

DEO fait la promotion du développement et de la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien et fait valoir les intérêts de cette région lors de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre de politiques, de programmes et de projets touchant économie nationale.

Le mandat de développement économique de DEO lui permet d’offrir des programmes diversifiés dans l’Ouest pour soutenir les collectivités, les entreprises et les organismes sans but lucratif. En outre, DEO a la responsabilité d’élaborer des politiques de soutien du développement et de la diversification de l’économie dans l’Ouest canadien, par exemple dans le domaine des technologies propres, et d’aider les entreprises à croître, à innover et à exporter.

Le Ministère a son administration centrale à Edmonton et un bureau dans la région de la capitale nationale. Il compte également cinq bureaux régionaux situés à Winnipeg, à Saskatoon, à Edmonton, à Calgary et à Vancouver. DEO tire profit du talent de son personnel; il compte sur un effectif d’environ 300 employés répartis dans l’Ouest canadien et à Ottawa, afin de saisir les occasions de développement économique dans l’ensemble de l’Ouest.

Transition

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada a connu une période de transition cette année; le Ministère fait désormais partie du portefeuille d’Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada (ISDE).

Dans ce nouvel environnement de travail, DEO est en mesure de mieux servir les Canadiens en tirant parti de sa structure de collaboration. Il peut saisir les occasions de partager des outils et des ressources avec d’autres organismes de développement régional (ODR) qui relèvent du portefeuille d’ISDE.

DEO met davantage l’accent sur le soutien d’un programme d’innovation et sur l’investissement dans les technologies propres et le soutien de celles-ci; nous continuons à intégrer ces priorités à nos programmes, à nos initiatives et à nos services.

Voici d’autres faits saillants des priorités du mandat de DEO :

  • soutenir les entreprises pour les aider à accroître leurs exportations, à développer leurs relations commerciales et à profiter de nouveaux accords commerciaux;
  • favoriser le développement économique et créer des emplois pour les peuples autochtones;
  • déterminer les retombées industrielles et technologiques pour les entreprises canadiennes, y compris celles de la Stratégie nationale d’approvisionnement en matière de construction navale;
  • soutenir les petites et moyennes entreprises pour leur permettre de profiter de l’aide gouvernementale en matière de finances et d’exportation;
  • réduire les charges administratives qui pèsent sur les petites entreprises.

Afin de soutenir le personnel de DEO au cours de cette période de transition, on a organisé un événement d’apprentissage pour tout le personnel pour discuter des faits saillants des documents de transition et du travail exigé pour préparer la transition. Un débat a permis aux employés de faire part de leurs expériences en ce qui concerne les changements de processus et de politiques.