Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

 index
 

Upcoming Events

Event Description Location Date
British Columbia
BC Business Summit 2016 The Business Council of BC will host its annual BC Business Summit. This year's event is entitled, BC 2035: A Vision for Economic Growth and Prosperity. Vancouver, BC BC Business Summit 2016:November 1, 2016
Pipeline Success: Getting to Yes Takes a Willingness to Listen and Learn The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Ian Anderson, President, Kinder Morgan Canada, for a keynote address on his experience with the Trans Mountain expansion project. Vancouver, BC Pipeline Success:November 3, 2016
Western Innovation Forum 2016 The Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI) will host a conference aimed at connecting Western Canada's aerospace, marine, defence and security industries to investment, partnership and business opportunities. Vancouver, BC Western Innovation Forum 2016:November 8-9, 2016
Growing the Future Together: BC Agrifood and Seafood Conference The Province of BC will host an agrifood, seafood, and food processing sector conference, including producers, processors, retailers, institutional purchasers, transporters and agritech suppliers. Kelowna, BC Growing the Future Together:November 14-15, 2016
The New U.S. President: What it means for Canada The Vancouver Board of Trade will host this event featuring Gary Doer, Former Ambassador of Canada to the United States, and Gordon Giffin, Former United States Ambassador to Canada. Vancouver, BC The New U.S. President:November 18, 2016
Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City: Addressing Vulnerabilities, Data Gaps and Affordability The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Evan Siddall, President and CEO of Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City:November 30, 2016
Port of Vancouver The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Port of Vancouver President and CEO Robin Silvester for his annual address. Vancouver, BC Port of Vancouver:December 8, 2016
The Future of Vancouver International Airport The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Craig Richmond, President and CEO of the Vancouver Airport Authority for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC The Future of Vancouver International Airport:January 18, 2017
University of British Columbia The Vancouver Board of Trade will host this event featuring Gary Doer, Former Ambassador of Canada to the United States, and Gordon Giffin, Former United States Ambassador to Canada. Vancouver, BC University of British Columbia:January 24, 2017
Western Business Outlook: Vancouver The Conference Board of Canada will partner with the Vancouver Board of Trade to deliver its annual business outlook. Vancouver, BC Western Business Outlook:January 27, 2017
Alberta
Petrochem Canada 2016 Conferencee A conference providing insights into Canada's competitive advantage on the global petrochemical stage. Edmonton, AB Petrochem Canada 2016 Conference:November 1-2, 2016
Unmanned Systems Canada 2016 Annual Conference A conference bringing together industry, government, military and academia to promote the education and innovation of unmanned systems for use in air, land, and sea. Edmonton, AB Unmanned Systems Canada 2016 Annual Conference:November 1-3, 2016
EUREKA/EUROSTARS Information Session An information session hosted by the National Research Council of Canada, El Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnologico Industrial and the Government of Alberta on generating financing for international innovation projects. Edmonton, AB EUREKA:November 2, 2016
Roundtable Luncheon A roundtable luncheon hosted by the C.D. Howe Institute, featuring AIMCo's CEO, Kevin Uebelein. Calgary, AB Roundtable Luncheon:November 3, 2016
AHIA Breakfast Meeting: "Edmonton: Canada's Health City" The Association of Healthcare Internal Auditors (AHIA) will host a meeting with guest speaker, Don Iveson, Mayor of Edmonton. Edmonton, AB AHIA:November 4, 2016
Empower: Women in Business Conference A conference for entrepreneurs, business owners, and other business professionals to network, learn about business planning and hear from successful Canadian women in business. Camrose, AB Empower:November 5, 2016
Indigenous Innovation Summit A summit bringing together Canada's social innovators, entrepreneurs and Indigenous leaders to share ideas and build new fields of innovation. Edmonton, AB Indigenous Innovation Summit:November 7-9, 2016
Calgary Economic Development's 2017 Economic Outlook A presentation by the Chief Economist of ATB Financial, Todd Hirsch, and the Chief Economist of the Conference Board of Canada, Glen Hodgson, on the global, national, regional, and local economic forecasts for 2017. Calgary, AB Calgary Economic Development:November 8, 2016
A Discussion with Minister Deron Bilous: Exploring Alberta's Growth Opportunities Deron Bilous, Minister of Economic Development and Trade, will discuss export expansion and market diversification and government attraction of global investors with Edmonton Chamber members. Edmonton, AB A Discussion with Minister Deron Bilous:November 8, 2016
Kinder Morgan Luncheon – Pipeline Success: Getting 'Yes' Takes a Willingness to Listen and Learn A luncheon hosted by the Edmonton Chamber focused on the industry's role in providing decision-makers with the ability to "get to yes" on pipeline approvals. Edmonton, AB Kinder Morgan Luncheon:November 9, 2016
District Ventures Demo Day An exclusive event featuring Canada's consumer packaged goods; entrepreneurs are able to pitch innovative businesses to investors, retailers and distributors. Calgary, AB District Ventures Demo Day:November 10, 2016
Luncheon: Building Canada's Future through Infrastructure Minister of Infrastructure and Communities, Amarjeet Sohi, will discuss the federal government's priorities for infrastructure development and growth. Edmonton, AB Luncheon:November 10, 2016
Startup Calgary Launch Party Startup Calgary's annual Launch Party will introduce technology startups that have demonstrated product market fit and an ability to attract users or generate revenue. Calgary, AB Startup Calgary Launch Party:November 17, 2016
Parkland Institute's 20th Annual Conference - Shifting Gears: Transitioning to the Future Economy A conference exploring the many transitions that are taking place in Alberta and the world in public services, the economy, the environment, and many other areas. Edmonton, AB Parkland Institute:November 18-20, 2016
Inclusion Works – Indigenous Workplace Inclusion Event and Recruitment Fair A recruitment fair hosted by the Aboriginal Human Resource Council, featuring discussions on indigenous innovation, leaders, and partnerships. Banff, AB Inclusion Works:November 22-24, 2016
Aboriginal Connections Hosted by the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and the Alberta Enterprise Group, this keynote address will provide an opportunity for business leaders across western Canada to learn from the experiences of Fort McKay First Nations Chief, Jim Boucher. Calgary, AB Aboriginal Connections:November 23, 2016
Creating the New Alberta Vision & Leadership Convention A convention featuring panelists from 18 Alberta industries and professions, including agriculture and food processing, transportation and logistics, health and biotech, tourism, manufacturing and export, and environment and cleantech, sharing innovative business ideas. Red Deer, AB Creating the New Alberta Vision:November 26, 2016
AI-EES Tech Talks Alberta Innovates-Energy and Environment Solutions (AI-EES) will host an interactive technology event examining economic diversification, adaptation, and climate change. Calgary, AB AI-EES Tech Talks:November 30, 2016
Alberta Venture -Business Person of the Year The 20th anniversary of Alberta Venture's Business Person of the Year awards, featuring past winners and culminating in a gala event to honour this year's recipient. Calgary, AB Alberta Venture:November 30, 2016
Annual Aboriginal Oil and Gas Forum The 15th annual forum focused on how legislative and regulatory changes impact Aboriginal communities in Western and Northern Canada. Banff, AB Annual Aboriginal Oil and Gas Forum:December 1-2, 2016
International Oil Sands Tailings Conference A conference bringing together experts and individuals interested in tailings technology and management in Alberta's oil sands industry. Lake Louise, AB International Oil Sands Tailings Conference:December 4-7, 2016
2017 ESNA Economic Outlook Conference An annual conference held by the Economics Society of Northern Alberta (ESNA), presenting various economic and industry outlooks for the year ahead. Edmonton, AB 2017 ESNA Economic Outlook Conference:December 8, 2016
2017 Impact Luncheon A lunch hosted by Edmonton Economic Development to celebrate the city's successes over the last year and to discuss how a global mindset translates into a more resilient economy. Edmonton, AB 2017 Impact Luncheon:January 10, 2017
Saskatchewan
Science, Technology, Innovation and Collaboration Awards (STIC) The STIC Awards celebrate the brightest minds in the Saskatoon Region and honours the people, projects, and products that contribute to Saskatoon's world-class science and technology cluster. Saskatoon, SK STIC:November 16, 2016
First Nations Power Authority Forum This one-day forum will focus on renewable energy and answer questions about how First Nations can participate in future power and procurement opportunities to provide meaningful, long-term economic benefits and growth. Saskatoon, SK First Nations Power Authority Forum:November 16, 2016
FUEL Small Business Information Expo FUEL is a business-to-business (B2B) tradeshow and networking event that connects entrepreneurs and SMEs to various government departments, non-profit organizations, and businesses that support small business. Saskatoon, SK FUEL:November 16, 2016
Canola Industry Meeting and Canola Innovation Day The event is for delegates to hear researchers and industry experts discuss the latest developments in the growing canola industry and recent developments in canola genomics. Saskatoon, SK Canola Industry:November 30-December 1, 2016
Manitoba
Manitoba Association of Business Economics (MABE) Economic Outlook Conference The conference includes an overview of national, provincial and local economic conditions combined with focused sessions on Indigenous Economic Growth, downtown development and consolidation in the agricultural sector. Winnipeg, MB MABE:November 3, 2016
Canadian Space Society Annual Summit Summit 2016 brings together academia, industry, and the public. The theme "At the Centre of It All" will focus on the unifying factors that bring Canada, and the rest of the world, together within the space industry. Winnipeg, MB Canadian Space Society Annual Summit:November 14-15, 2016
Manitoba Farm Women's Conference A forum for women to meet, acquire skills, and share ideas that benefit their families, farms, and communities. Portage la Prairie, MB Manitoba Farm Women's Conference:November 20-22, 2016
Western Business Outlook The Conference Board of Canada hosts the Western Business Outlook – Manitoba. Winnipeg, MB Western Business Outlook:November 24, 2016
Manitoba Precision Agriculture Workshop The workshop features speakers, explaining how UAV technologies can simplify farm operations and management, reduce risk, and help increase efficiencies, yields and profits. Southport, MB Manitoba Precision Agriculture Workshop:December 13, 2016
Driving Innovation A Manitoba conference focused on small-to medium-sized businesses. Keep abreast of new technologies, reach new markets and enhance business productivity. Winnipeg, MB Driving Innovation:January 25-26, 2017

Western Economic Diversification Canada

The role of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of Western Canada by supporting programs and services that enhance innovation, business development, and community economic development. In addition, the department undertakes policy, advocacy and coordination activities in order to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic decision-making.


 index

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Événements à venir

Événement Description Endroit Date
Colombie-Britannique
Sommet économique 2016 de la Colombie-Britannique Le Conseil des affaires de la Colombie-Britannique tiendra son sommet économique annuel. L'événement de cette année s'intitule BC 2035: A Vision for Economic Growth and Prosperity (2035 : Vision de croissance économique et de prospérité pour la Colombie-Britannique). Vancouver (C.-B.) 1er novembre 2016: C.-B. 1
Pipeline Success: Getting to Yes Takes a Willingness to Listen and Learn La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera Ian Anderson, président de Kinder Morgan Canada, qui prononcera une allocution sur son expérience avec le projet de prolongement Trans Moutain. Vancouver (C.-B.) 3 novembre 2016: C.-B. 2
Forum sur l'innovation dans l'Ouest 2016 L'Association des industries canadiennes de défense et de sécurité, en collaboration avec Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada, tiendra un congrès qui vise à permettre aux industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine, de la défense et de la sécurité de l'Ouest canadien de saisir des possibilités d'investissement, de partenariats et d'affaires. Vancouver (C.-B.) 8 et 9 novembre 2016: C.-B. 3
Growing the Future Together: BC Agrifood and Seafood Conference La Colombie-Britannique accueillera un congrès du secteur de l'agroalimentaire, des fruits de mer et de la transformation des aliments qui réunira des producteurs, des transformateurs, des détaillants, des acheteurs institutionnels, des transporteurs et des fournisseurs de technologie agricole. Kelowna (C.-B.) 14 et 15 novembre 2016: C.-B. 4
The New US President: What it means for Canada La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera Evan Siddall, président et PDG de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, qui prononcera une allocution. Vancouver (C.-B.) 18 novembre 2016: C.-B. 5
Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City: Addressing Vulnerabilities, Data Gaps and Affordability La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera le président et PDG du Port de Vancouver Robert Silvester qui prononcera son discours annuel. Vancouver (C.-B.) 30 novembre 2016: C.-B. 6
Port de Vancouver La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera le président et PDG du Port de Vancouver Robert Silvester qui prononcera son discours annuel. Vancouver (C.-B.) 8 décembre 2016: C.-B. 7
The Future of Vancouver International Airport La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera Craig Richmond, président et PDG de l'administration aéroportuaire de Vancouver, qui prononcera une allocution. Vancouver (C.-B.) 18 janvier 2017: C.-B. 8
Université de la Colombie-Britannique La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera le nouveau président et recteur de l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, le professeur Santa Ono, pour son discours inaugural. Vancouver (C.-B.) 24 janvier 2017: C.-B. 9
Western Business Outlook: Vancouver Le Conference Board du Canada s'associera à la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver pour annoncer ses perspectives d'affaires annuelles pour l'Ouest. Vancouver (C.-B.) 27 janvier 2017: C.-B. 10
Alberta
Congrès Petrochem Canada 2016 Congrès offrant un aperçu de l'avantage compétitif du Canada sur la scène mondiale dans le domaine de la pétrochimie. Edmonton (Alberta) 1er et 2 novembre 2016: AB 1
Congrès annuel de Systèmes télécommandés Canada 2016 Congrès réunissant l'industrie, le gouvernement, les forces armées et le milieu universitaire pour faire la promotion de l'éducation et de l'innovation dans le domaine des systèmes télécommandés aériens, terrestres et maritimes. Edmonton (Alberta) 1er au 3 novembre 2016: AB 2
EUREKA/EUROSTARS
Séance d'information
Séance d'information organisée par le Conseil national de recherches du Canada, El Centro para el Desarrollo Tecnologico Industrial et le gouvernement de l'Alberta au sujet de l'obtention de financement pour des projets d'innovation internationaux. Edmonton (Alberta) 2 novembre 2016: AB 3
Dîner et table ronde Dîner et table ronde organisés par l'Institut C.D. Howe et mettant en vedette le PDG d'AIMCo, Kevin Uebelein. Calgary (Alberta) 3 novembre 2016: AB 4
Déjeuner-conférence de l'AHIA : « Edmonton : Canada's Health City » L'Association of Healthcare Internal Auditors (AHIA) tiendra une rencontre avec un conférencier, Don Iveson, maire d'Edmonton. Edmonton (Alberta) 4 novembre 2016
Empower : Women in Business Conference Congrès qui donnera l'occasion aux entrepreneures, propriétaires d'entreprise, et autres professionnelles de réseauter, de s'informer sur la planification d'entreprise et de rencontrer d'autres femmes ayant réussi en affaires. Camrose (Alberta) 5 novembre 2016: AB 5
Sommet de l'innovation autochtone Sommet réunissant des acteurs de l'innovation sociale, des entrepreneurs et des dirigeants autochtones qui partageront des idées et bâtiront de nouveaux domaines d'innovation. Edmonton (Alberta) 7 et 9 novembre 2016: AB 6
2017 Economic Outlook, organisé par Calgary Economic Development Exposé de l'économiste en chef d'ATB Financial, Todd Hirsch, et de l'économiste en chef du Conference Board du Canada, Glen Hodgson, à propos des prévisions économiques mondiales, nationales, régionales et locales pour 2017. Calgary (Alberta) 8 novembre 2016: AB 7
Discussion avec le ministre Deron Bilous : Exploring Alberta's Growth Opportunities Deron Bilous, ministre du Développement économique et du Commerce de l'Alberta, discutera avec les membres de la Chambre de commerce d'Edmonton de l'expansion des exportations et de la diversification des marchés et des moyens. Edmonton (Alberta) 8 novembre 2016: AB 8
Dîner table-ronde avec Kinder Morgan – Pipeline Success : Getting 'Yes' Takes a Willingness to Listen and Learn Dîner table-ronde organisé par la Chambre de commerce d'Edmonton au sujet du rôle de l'industrie dans la promotion du dossier de l'oléoduc auprès des décideurs. Edmonton (Alberta) 9 novembre 2016: AB 9
Journée de démonstration de District Ventures Événement exclusif mettant en vedette les produits emballés canadiens; les entrepreneurs auront l'occasion de présenter leurs entreprises novatrices à des investisseurs, détaillants et distributeurs. Calgary (Alberta) 10 novembre 2016
Dîner : Building Canada's Future through Infrastructure Le ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités, Amarjeet Sohi, discutera des priorités du gouvernement fédéral pour le développement et la croissance des infrastructures. Edmonton (Alberta) 10 novembre 2016: AB 10
Fête de lancement organisée par Startup Calgary La fête de lancement annuelle de Startup Calgary présentera des entreprises technologiques naissantes aux produits adaptés au marché et capables d'attirer des utilisateurs ou de générer des revenus. Calgary (Alberta) 17 novembre 2016: AB 11
20e conférence annuelle du Parkland Institute – Shifting Gears : Transitioning to the Future Economy Conférence qui examine les différentes transformations en cours en Alberta et dans le monde dans de nombreux domaines comme les services publics, l'économie et l'environnement. Edmonton (Alberta) 18 au 20 novembre 2016: AB 12
L'intégration : ça travaille! – Événement sur l'inclusion des autochtones en milieu de travail et salon de recrutement Salon de recrutement organisé par le Conseil des ressources humaines autochtones et proposant des discussions sur l'innovation, les leaders et les partenariats autochtones. Banff (Alberta) 22 au 24 novembre 2016: AB 13
Aboriginal Connections Rencontre organisée par le Conseil canadien pour le commerce autochtone et l'Alberta Enterprise Group qui permettra aux chefs de file du milieu des affaires de l'Ouest de profiter de toute l'expérience du chef des Premières Nations de Fort McKay, Jim Boucher, qui prononcera un discours. Calgary (Alberta) 23 novembre 2016: AB 14
Creating the New Alberta Vision & Leadership Convention Convention qui réunit des participants représentant 18 professions et industries albertaines, dont l'agriculture et la transformation des aliments, le transport et la logistique, la santé et les biotechnologies, le tourisme, la fabrication et les exportations, l'environnement et les technologies propres, et où l'on peut échanger des idées commerciales novatrices. Red Deer (Alberta) 26 novembre 2016: AB 15
AI-EES Tech Talks Alberta Innovates-Energy and Environment Solutions (AI-EES) tiendra un événement technologique interactif portant sur l'adaptation et la diversification économique ainsi que les changements climatiques. Calgary (Alberta) 30 novembre 2016: AB 16
Alberta Venture - Personnalité de l'année du milieu des affaires 20e anniversaire du prix de la personnalité de l'année du milieu des affaires d'Alberta Venture regroupant d'anciens lauréats et se terminant par un gala honorant le récipiendaire de cette année. Calgary (Alberta) 30 novembre 2016: AB 17
Forum annuel autochtone sur l'huile et le gaz 15e forum annuel a porté sur l'incidence des changements législatifs et réglementaires sur les collectivités autochtones de l'ouest et du nord du Canada. Banff (Alberta) 1er et 2 décembre 2016: AB 18
Conférence internationale sur les résidus des sables bitumineux Conférence rassemblant des experts et des personnes intéressées par la technologie et la gestion des résidus dans l'industrie des sables bitumineux en Alberta. Lake Louise (Alberta) 4 et 7 décembre 2016: AB 19
Conférence de l'ESNA sur les perspectives économiques 2017 Conférence annuelle organisée par l'Economics Society of Northern Alberta (ESNA), présentant diverses perspectives économiques et de l'industrie pour l'année à venir. Edmonton (Alberta) 8 décembre 2016: AB 20
Dîner Impact 2017 Dîner organisé par Edmonton Economic Development pour célébrer les succès qu'a connus la ville au cours de l'année dernière et discuter en quoi une perspective mondiale peut mener à une économie plus résiliente. Edmonton (Alberta) 10 janvier 2017: AB 21
Saskatchewan
Prix Science, Technology, Innovation and Collaboration (STIC) Ces prix sont remis aux esprits les plus brillants de la région de Saskatoon; ils servent à souligner l'apport de personnes, de projets et de produits qui contribuent à doter Saskatoon d'un pôle scientifique et technologique de calibre mondial. Saskatoon (Sask.) 16 novembre 2016: SK 1
Forum de la First Nations Power Authority Ce forum d'une journée porte sur les énergies renouvelables et répond aux questions sur la façon dont les Premières Nations peuvent participer aux possibilités d'approvisionnement et énergétiques futures afin d'offrir une croissance et des avantages économiques considérables et à long terme. Saskatoon (Sask.) 16 novembre 2016: SK 2
Foire d'information pour les petites entreprises FUEL FUEL est une occasion de réseautage et un salon professionnel interentreprises qui permet aux entrepreneurs et aux petites et moyennes entreprises d'établir des liens avec divers ministères fédéraux, des organisations à but non lucratif et des entreprises qui soutiennent les petites entreprises. Saskatoon (Sask.) 16 novembre 2016: SK 3
Rencontre des membres de l'industrie du canola et journée de l'innovation pour le canola Les délégués pourront écouter des chercheurs et des spécialistes de l'industrie discuter des plus récents progrès au sein d'une industrie du canola en plein essor ainsi que dans le domaine de la génomique du canola. Saskatoon (Sask.) 30 novembre-1er décembre 2016: SK 4
Manitoba
Conférence du Manitoba Association of Business Economics (MABE) sur les perspectives économiques Cette conférence donnera un aperçu de la conjoncture économique nationale, provinciale et locale et présentera des séances consacrées à la croissance économique des Autochtones, au développement des centres-villes et à la consolidation du secteur agricole. Winnipeg (Manitoba) 3 novembre 2016: MB 1
Sommet annuel de la Canadian Space Society Le sommet de 2016 réunit des universitaires, des représentants de l'industrie et des membres du public. Sous le thème « At the Centre of It All », les travaux porteront sur les facteurs qui unifient le Canada et le reste du globe au sein de l'industrie spatiale. Winnipeg (Manitoba) 14 et 15 novembre 2016: MB 2
Conférence des agricultrices du Manitoba Forum permettant aux femmes de se rencontrer, d'acquérir des compétences et d'échanger des idées pouvant profiter à leur famille, leurs fermes et leur collectivité. Portage la Prairie (Manitoba) 20 au 22 novembre 2016: MB 2
Western Business Outlook Le Conference Board du Canada est l'hôte du Western Business Outlook – Manitoba. Winnipeg (Manitoba) 24 novembre 2016: MB 3
Atelier sur l'agriculture de précision du Manitoba Cet atelier accueille des conférenciers expliquant comment les technologies de véhicule aérien sans pilote peuvent simplifier l'exploitation et la gestion de la ferme, réduire les risques et contribuer à accroître l'efficacité, le rendement et les profits. Southport (Manitoba) 13 décembre 2016: MB 4
Driving Innovation Conférence du Manitoba portant sur les petites et moyennes entreprises. Rester à l'affût des nouvelles technologies, percer de nouveaux marchés et accroître la productivité des entreprises. Winnipeg (Manitoba) 25 au 26 janvier 2017: MB 5

 

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a pour rôle de contribuer à hausser la compétitivité économique à long terme de l'Ouest canadien en appuyant des programmes et des services qui stimulent l'innovation et soutiennent l'essor des entreprises et le développement économique des collectivités. L'organisme mène aussi des activités au chapitre des politiques, de la représentation et de la coordination pour faire valoir les intérêts de l'Ouest canadien dans le contexte de la prise des décisions économiques au niveau national.