Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Key Economic Indicators - September

British Columbia Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Canada Last
Update
Gross Domestic Product
Real GDP1 (2007 $billions, forecast) $214 $292 $58 $55 $1,673 2016 (f)
% ch. from year earlier 3.0% -2.0% 0.2% 2.1% 1.5%
Labour Market
Employment (SA, thousands) 2,386 2,251 569 634 18,050 Aug-16
Change from previous month -6.6 2.7 -0.4 -2.4 26.2
% ch. from previous month -0.3% 0.1% -0.1% -0.4% 0.1%
% ch. from year earlier 3.1% -2.3% -0.8% -0.3% 0.4%
Unemployment Rate (SA,%) 5.5% 8.4% 6.3% 5.9% 7.0% Aug-16
percentage points from previous month -0.1 -0.2 0.0 -0.3 0.1
percentage points from previous year -0.7 2.3 1.5 0.2 0
Regular EI beneficiaries (SA) 55,860 99,320 19,980 15,190 575,160 Jul-16
Change from previous month 4580 18,980 3590 100 24,420
% ch. from previous month 8.9% 23.6% 21.9% 0.7% 4.4%
% ch. from year earlier 1.0% 86.5% 40.3% 7.4% 4.9%
Average weekly earnings $915.49 $1,119.24 $974.44 $888.13 $954.61 Jul-16
Change from previous year $1.36 -$18.07 $10.08 $2.26 $1.04
Prices
CPI (y/y) 2.0% 0.7% 0.7% 1.1% 1.1% Aug-16
CPI (y/y) previous month 2.1% 0.7% 1.1% 1.5% 1.3% Jul-16
Consumers and Business
Retail Sales (SA, $millions) $6,256 $6,059 $1,550 $1,574 $44,139 Jul-16
% ch. from previous month 0.9% -0.8% -3.3% -0.9% -0.1%
% ch. from previous year 6.3% -5.0% 0.0% 2.0% 1.8%
Manufacturing Sales (SA, $millions) $3,791 $5,140 $1,120 $1,335 $50,672 Jul-16
% ch. from previous month 2.2% -1.5% -3.6% -3.1% 0.1%
% ch. from previous year 4.0% -11.3% -4.3% -5.2% -2.6%
Building Permits (SA, $millions) $981 $951 $158 $230 $6,470 Jul-16
% ch. from previous month -4.8% 7.4% -44.3% 17.6% 0.8%
% ch. from previous year -14.9% -31.7% -44.5% 25.5% -10.0%
Housing Starts (SAAR, thousands) 35 20 7 5 182 Aug-16
% ch. from previous month -10.4% -22.3% 11.9% -38.5% -6.3%
% ch. from previous year 29.3% -42.2% 51.7% 0.5% -14.7%
International Trade
Merchandise Exports ($millions) $3,282 $6,080 $2,166 $1,059 $35,653 Jul-16
% ch. from previous month 6.0% -1.2% 7.8% -5.0% -7.4%
% ch. from previous year 4.8% -28.0% -18.3% 3.1% -11.3%
Merchandise Imports ($millions) $4,256 $1,882 $797 $1,468 $41,847 Jul-16
% ch. from previous month 2.3% -5.4% -2.1% -15.8% -9.3%
% ch. from previous year -2.8% -22.3% -5.0% -19.4% -7.2%
Demographics
Population (estimate) 4,720,932 4,249,842 1,146,655 1,308,912 36,155,487 Q2 2016
% ch. from previous year 1.0% 1.8% 1.4% 1.5% 1.1%
Largest Cities (CMAs) Vancouver (2,504,340) Calgary (1,439,756) Saskatoon (304,975) Winnipeg* (793,428) 2015
Victoria* (365,291) Edmonton* (1,363,277) Regina* (241,422)

* Provincial Capital

[1] Real GDP at basic prices, forecast (Conference Board of Canada Provincial Outlook Spring 2016)

SA - Seasonally adjusted

SAAR - Seasonally adjusted at annual rates

Sources: Statistics Canada and Conference Board of Canada

Return to the top of this page top of page

Upcoming Events

Event Description Location Date
British Columbia
Moving TransLink Forward: 6 Months of Progress The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Kevin Desmond, President and CEO of TransLink, for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC Moving TransLink Forward:October 13, 2016
WE FOR SHE: Championing the Next Generation The Vancouver Board of Trade will host one of North America’s largest gatherings of women’s organizations, companies, experts, business leaders, advocates, and young women to focus on the economic impact of women in the province of BC. Vancouver, BC WE FOR SHE:October 14,2016
Tackling Canada’s productivity gap: It starts with entrepreneurs The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Michael Denham, President and CEO of the Business Development Bank of Canada, for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC Tackling Canada’s productivity gap:October 17, 2016
Not easy being green: How BC is reducing emissions and growing the economy The Vancouver Board of Trade will host BC Minister of Environment Mary Polak for a keynote address on her Ministry’s top priorities and the new Climate Leadership Plan. Vancouver, BC Not easy being green:October 20, 2016
2016 Vancouver Island Economic Summit The Vancouver Island Economic Alliance will host its annual Economic Summit. Nanaimo, BC 2016 Vancouver Island Economic Summit:October 26-27, 2016
BC Business Summit 2016 The Business Council of BC will host its annual BC Business Summit. This year’s event is entitled, BC 2035: A Vision for Economic Growth and Prosperity. Vancouver, BC BC Business Summit 2016:November 1, 2016
Western Innovation Forum 2016 The Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI) will host a conference aimed at connecting Western Canada's aerospace, marine, defence and security industries to investment, partnership and business opportunities. Vancouver, BC Western Innovation Forum 2016:November 8-9, 2016
Growing the Future Together: BC Agrifood and Seafood Conference The Province of BC will host an agrifood, seafood, and food processing sector conference, including producers, processors, retailers, institutional purchasers, transporters and agritech suppliers. Kelowna, BC Growing the Future Together:November 14-15, 2016
The New U.S. President: What it means for Canada The Vancouver Board of Trade will host this event featuring Gary Doer, Former Ambassador of Canada to the United States, and Gordon Giffin, Former United States Ambassador to Canada. Vancouver, BC The New U.S. President:November 18, 2016
Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City: Addressing Vulnerabilities, Data Gaps and Affordability The Vancouver Board of Trade will host Evan Siddall, President and CEO of Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation, for a keynote address. Vancouver, BC Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City:November 30, 2016
Alberta
The Pipeline Gridlock Conference The Indian Resource Council is hosting a forum for industry, government, and Indigenous leaders to discuss challenges facing the pipeline industry and opportunities for Indigenous involvement in determining solutions. Calgary, AB The Pipeline Gridlock ConferenceOctober 3-4, 2016
CERI 2016 Electricity Conference, The Canadian Electricity Sector at a Crossroads: Exploring Alternative Paths The Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI)’s 2016 Electricity Conference will focus on challenges and opportunities faced by Canada’s electricity sector over the next three decades, including greenhouse gases, technological developments, and uncertain fuel prices and environmental regulations. Calgary, AB The Canadian Electricity Sector at a Crossroads:October 3-4, 2016
Economic Society of Northern Alberta (ESNA) ESNA's monthly lunch hour speaker's series, featuring the Hon. Amarjeet Sohi, Minister of Infrastructure and Communities. Edmonton, AB Economic Society of Northern Alberta:October 11, 2016
Calgary Energy Roundtable A private sector forum founded by the Canada Europe Roundtable for Business that discusses Canada’s energy sector in the context of domestic and international oil and gas markets. Calgary, AB Calgary Energy Roundtable:October 12, 2016
FDI Canada Forum A conference exploring foreign direct investment (FDI) opportunities and policies in the context of the Canadian marketplace. Calgary, AB FDI Canada Forum:October 18-19, 2016
Startup Edmonton Launch Party Startup Edmonton will hold its third annual Edmonton Startup Week, featuring five days and more than 20 events dedicated to Edmonton’s startup community. Edmonton, AB Startup Edmonton Launch Party:October 20, 2016
ACAMP Seminar Series Presents: Autonomous Systems for Transportation This seminar series aimed at Alberta’s innovation community will provide information on Autonomous Systems for Transportation, new developments in the industry, and enable networking opportunities. Calgary, AB ACAMP Seminar Series Presents:October 25, 2016
Clean Tech – What does the future hold? A breakfast discussion held by the Leduc-Nisku Economic Development Association on opportunities in clean technology and how companies can get involved to provide services, support and manufacturing in this industry. Leduc, AB Clean Tech:October 26, 2016
Women Building Extraordinary Futures Hosted by Women Building Futures (WBF), this event will feature the launch of WBF’s new Strategic Plan, acknowledge WBF supporters, and celebrate the impacts of the outgoing President and CEO, JudyLynn Archer. Edmonton, AB Women Building Extraordinary Futures:October 27, 2016
ASTech Awards The 2016 ASTech Awards, held in conjunction with the Next Gen Innovators Showcase, highlight innovative projects in science and technology, as well as start-ups and science fair students. Edmonton, AB ASTech Awards:October 28, 2016
Petrochem Canada 2016 Conference A conference providing insights into Canada’s competitive advantage on the global petrochemical stage. Edmonton, AB Petrochem Canada 2016 Conference:November 1-2, 2016
Unmanned Systems Canada 2016 Annual Conference A conference bringing together industry, government, military and academia to promote the education and innovation of unmanned systems for use in air, land, and sea. Edmonton, AB Unmanned Systems Canada 2016 Annual Conference:November 1-3, 2016
Indigenous Innovation Summit A summit bringing together Canada’s social innovators, entrepreneurs and Indigenous leaders to share ideas and build new fields of innovation. Edmonton, AB Indigenous Innovation Summit:November 7-9, 2016
Calgary Economic Development’s 2017 Economic Outlook A presentation by the Chief Economist of ATB Financial, Todd Hirsch, and the Chief Economist of the Conference Board of Canada, Glen Hodgson, on the global, national, regional, and local economic forecasts for 2017. Calgary, AB Calgary Economic Development’s 2017 Economic Outlook:November 8, 2016
Startup Calgary Launch Party Startup Calgary’s annual Launch Party will introduce technology startups that have demonstrated product market fit and an ability to attract users or generate revenue. Calgary, AB Startup Calgary Launch Party:November 17, 2016
Aboriginal Connections Hosted by the Canadian Council for Aboriginal Business and the Alberta Enterprise Group, this keynote address will provide an opportunity for business leaders across western Canada to learn from the experiences of Fort McKay First Nations Chief, Jim Boucher. Calgary, AB Aboriginal Connections:November 23, 2016
Creating the New Alberta Vision & Leadership Convention A convention featuring panelists from 18 Alberta industries and professions, including agriculture and food processing, transportation and logistics, health and biotech, tourism, manufacturing and export, and environment and cleantech, sharing innovative business ideas. Red Deer, AB Creating the New Alberta Vision:November 26, 2016
Saskatchewan
Pulse a Palooza – A celebration of the International Year of the Pulses 2016 The United Nations Food and Agriculture Organization has designated 2016 as the International Year of the Pulses. Saskatchewan has been playing an ever-larger role in feeding pulses to the world, currently providing 30 to 40% of global pulses. Saskatoon, SK Pulse a Palooza:October 5, 2016
Community Futures 10th Annual Women’s Workshop The theme of this year’s workshop is “Volunteering in your community – making your community a better place to live.” La Ronge, SK Community Futures 10:October 6, 2016
First Nations Land Governance and Economic Development Conference A national land governance and economic development conference hosted by Saskatchewan First Nations Groups. Discussions will revolve around land use planning, successful joint ventures, and sustainable community development by First Nations. WD Saskatchewan Region A/ADM is a guest speaker. Saskatoon, SK First Nations Land Governance and Economic Development Conference:October 11-13, 2016
9th Women in Leadership Conference Features well known speakers from Saskatchewan who will talk about a host of topics ranging from adapting to transformation, striving for goals and knowing when to listen. The keynote speaker will be the Saskatchewan Minister of Central Services, the Hon. Christine Tell. Regina, SK 9th Women in Leadership Conference:October 13, 2016
Premier Brad Wall Address to the Regina Chamber of Commerce Premier of Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, will deliver a talk on a Saskatchewan plan to fight climate change as part of this Luncheon series. Regina, SK Premier Brad Wall Address:October 18, 2016
STEP 2016 Trade Conference and 20th Anniversary This conference is an opportunity for Saskatchewan exporters to network and learn about current trade activity and discuss the challenges and strengths facing them in today's global marketplace. Regina, SK STEP 2016 Trade Conference:October 18-19, 2016
ABEX Awards 2016 This year, the Saskatchewan Chamber of Commerce is celebrating the 33rd anniversary of the Achievement in Business Excellence (ABEX) Awards. The event celebrates the brightest and best in Saskatchewan's business community. Saskatoon, SK ABEX Awards 2016:October 22, 2016
Economic Developers Association of Canada 48th Annual Conference This event is titled “Change Agents”. The main topic is Economic Diversification: Strategies for Revitalizing Local Economies. Saskatoon, SK Economic Developers Association of Canada:October 22-25, 2016
Science, Technology, Innovation and Collaboration Awards (STIC) The STIC Awards celebrate the brightest minds in the Saskatoon Region and honours the people, projects, and products that contribute to Saskatoon’s world-class science and technology cluster. Saskatoon, SK Science, Technology, Innovation and Collaboration Awards:November 16, 2016
Canola Industry Meeting and Canola Innovation Day The event is for delegates to hear researchers and industry experts discuss the latest developments in the growing canola industry and recent developments in canola genomics. Saskatoon, SK Canola Industry Meeting:November 30-
December 1, 2016
Manitoba
23rd Annual Council for the Advancement of Native Development Officers (Cando) National Conference The conference includes Cando’s annual meeting and will focus on partnerships for prosperity: Change, Collaboration and Opportunity. Whitehorse, Yukon Cando:October 3-6, 2016
Manitoba Association of Business Economics (MABE) Economic Outlook Conference The conference includes an overview of national, provincial and local economic conditions combined with focused sessions on Indigenous Economic Growth, downtown development and consolidation in the agricultural sector. Winnipeg, MB MABENovember 3, 2016
Canadian Space Society Annual Summit Summit 2016 brings together academia, industry, and the public. The theme "At the Centre of It All" will focus on the unifying factors that bring Canada, and the rest of the world, together within the space industry. Winnipeg, MB Canadian Space Society Annual Summit:November 14-15, 2016
Western Business Outlook The Conference Board of Canada hosts the Western Business Outlook – Manitoba. Winnipeg, MB Western Business Outlook:November 24, 2016

Western Economic Diversification Canada

The role of Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is to improve the long-term economic competitiveness of Western Canada by supporting programs and services that enhance innovation, business development, and community economic development. In addition, the department undertakes policy, advocacy and coordination activities in order to advance the interests of Western Canada in national economic decision-making.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Principaux indicateurs économiques – septembre

  Colombie-Britannique Alberta Saskatchewan Manitoba Canada Dernière mise
à jour
Produit intérieur brut
PIB1 réel (milliards de $ de 2007, prévision) 214 $ 292 $ 58 $ 55 $ 1 673 $ 2016 (f)
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 3,0 % -2,0 % 0,2 % 2,1 % 1,5 %  
 
Marché du travail
Emplois (DD, milliers) 2 386 2 251 569 634 18 050 août 2016
Variation par rapport au mois précédent -6,6 2,7 -0,4 -2,4 26,2  
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. -0,3 % 0,1 % -0,1 % -0,4 % 0,1 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 3,1 % -2,3 % -0,8 % -0,3 % 0,4 %  
 
Taux de chômage (DD, %) 5,5 % 8,4 % 6,3 % 5,9 % 7,0 % août 2016
points de pourcentage par rapport au mois précédent -0,1 -0,2 0 -0,3 0,1  
points de pourcentage par rapport à l'année précédente -0,7 2,3 1,5 0,2 0  
 
Bénéficiaires réguliers de l'AE (DD) 55 860 99 320 19 980 15 190 575 160 juil. 2016
Variation par rapport au mois précédent 4 580 18 980 3 590 100 24 420  
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. 8,9 % 23,6 % 21,9 % 0,7 % 4,4 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 1,0 % 86,5 % 40,3 % 7,4 % 4,9 %  
 
Revenus hebdomadaires moyens 915,49 $ 1 119,24 $ 974,44 $ 888,13 $ 954,61 $ juil. 2016
Variation par rapport à l'année précédente 1,36 $ -18,07 $ 10,08 $ 2,26 $ 1,04 $  
 
Prix
IPC (d'une année à l'autre) 2,0 % 0,7 % 0,7 % 1,1 % 1,1 % août 2016
IPC (d'une année à l'autre) mois précédent 2,1 % 0,7 % 1,1 % 1,5 % 1,3 % juil. 2016
 
Consommateurs et entreprises
Ventes au détail (DD, millions $) 6 256 $ 6 059 $ 1 550 $ 1 574 $ 44 139 $ juil. 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. 0,9 % -0,8 % -3,3 % -0,9 % -0,1 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 6,3 % -5,0 % 0,0 % 2,0 % 1,8 %  
 
Ventes du secteur manufacturier (DD, millions $) 3 791 $ 5 140 $ 1 120 $ 1 335 $ 50 672 $ juil. 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. 2,2 % -1,5 % -3,6 % -3,1 % 0,1 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 4,0 % -11,3 % -4,3 % -5,2 % -2,6 %  
 
Permis de construire (DD, millions $) 981 $ 951 $ 158 $ 230 $ 6,470 $ juil. 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. -4,8 % 7,4 % -44,3 % 17,6 % 0,8 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. -14,9 % -31,7 % -44,5 % 25,5 % -10,0 %  
 
Mises en chantier (TAD, milliers) 35 20 7 5 182 août 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. -10,4 % -22,3 % 11,9 % -38,5 % -6,3 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 29,3 % -42,2 % 51,7 % 0,5 % -14,7 %  
 
Commerce international
Exportations de marchandises (millions $) 3 282 $ 6 080 $ 2 166 $ 1 059 $ 35 653 $ juil. 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. 6,0 % -1,2 % 7,8 % -5,0 % -7,4 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 4,8 % -28,0 % -18,3 % 3,1 % -11,3 %  
 
Importations de marchandises (millions $) 4 256 $ 1 882 $ 797 $ 1 468 $ 41 847 $ juil. 2016
% de var. par rapport au mois préc. 2,3 % -5,4 % -2,1 % -15,8 % -9,3 %  
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. -2,8 % -22,3 % -5,0 % -19,4 % -7,2 %  
 
Données démographiques
Population (estimation) 4 720 932 4 249 842 1 146 655 1 308 912 36 155 487 2016 (deuxième trimestre)
% de var. par rapport à l'année préc. 1,0 % 1,8 % 1,4 % 1,5 % 1,1 %  
Principales villes (RMR) Vancouver (2 504 340) Calgary (1 439 756) Saskatoon (304 975) Winnipeg* (793 428)   2015
  Victoria* (365 291) Edmonton* (1 363 277) Regina* (241 422)      

* Capitale de la province

[1] PIB réel aux prix de base, prévision (Conference Board du Canada, données prévisionnelles pour les provinces, automne 2015)

DD - Données désaisonnalisées

TAD - Taux annuel désaisonnalisé

Sources : Statistique Canada et Conference Board du Canada

 

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Événements à venir

Événement Description Endroit Date
Colombie-Britannique
Moving TransLink Forward: 6 Months of Progress La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera Kevin Desmond, président et chef de la direction de TransLink, qui prononcera un discours-programme. Vancouver (C.-B.) 13 octobre 2016 : C.-B. 1
WE FOR SHE: Championing the Next Generation La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver accueillera l'un des plus importants rassemblements d'organisations de femmes, de sociétés, de chefs d'entreprise, d'intervenants et de jeunes femmes en Amérique du Nord, afin de se pencher sur l'incidence économique des femmes en Colombie-Britannique. Vancouver (C.-B.) 14 octobre 2016 : C.-B. 2
Tackling Canada's productivity gap: It starts with entrepreneurs Michael Denham, président et chef de la direction de la Banque de développement du Canada, prononcera un discours-programme devant la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver. Vancouver (C.-B.) 17 octobre 2016 : C.-B. 3
Not easy being green: How BC is reducing emissions and growing the economy La Chambre de commerce de Vancouver va accueillir la ministre de l'Environnement de la Colombie-Britannique, Mary Polak, qui prononcera un discours-programme à propos des grandes priorités de son ministère et du nouveau plan directeur sur le climat. Vancouver (C.-B.) 20 octobre 2016 : C.-B. 4
Sommet économique 2016 de la Vancouver Island Economic Alliance La Vancouver Island Economic Alliance va tenir son sommet économique annuel. Nanaimo, (C.-B.) 26-27 octobre 2016 : C.-B. 5
BC Business Summit 2016 Le Business Council de la Colombie-Britannique va tenir son sommet annuel, intitulé BC 2035: A Vision for Economic Growth and Prosperity. Vancouver (C.-B.) 1er novembre 2016 : C.-B. 6
Forum sur l'innovation dans l'Ouest de 2016 L'Association des industries canadiennes de défense et de sécurité (AICDS) organisera une conférence dans le but d'aider les industries de l'aérospatiale, de la marine, de la defense et de la sécurité de l'Ouest canadien à tirer profit des perspectives d'investissement, de partenariat et d'affaires. Vancouver (C.-B.) 8-9 novembre 2016 : C.-B. 7
Growing the Future Together: BC Agrifood and Seafood Conference La Colombie-Britannique accueillera une conférence rassemblant des membres du secteur de l'agroalimentaire, des produits de la mer et de la transformation des aliments – producteurs, entreprises de transformation, détaillants, acheteurs institutionnels, transporteurs, fournisseurs de technologies agricoles, etc. Kelowna, (C.-B.) 14-15 novembre 2016 : C.-B. 8
The New U.S. President: What it means for Canada Cet événement, dont la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver sera l'hôte, réunira Gary Doer, ancien ambassadeur canadien aux États-Unis, et Gordon Giffin, ancien ambassadeur américain au Canada. Vancouver (C.-B.) 18 novembre 2016 : C.-B. 9
Housing in Canada and the Imaginary City: Addressing Vulnerabilities, Data Gaps and Affordability Evan Siddall, président et premier dirigeant de la Société canadienne d'hypothèques et de logement, prononcera un discours-programme devant la Chambre de commerce de Vancouver. Vancouver (C.-B.) 30 novembre 2016 : C.-B. 10
Alberta
Conférence sur l'engorgement des réseaux de pipelines Le Conseil des ressources indiennes organise un forum réunissant des chefs de file de l'industrie et de l'État ainsi que des dirigeants autochtones afin de discuter des défis qui se posent au secteur des pipelines et des possibilités de participation des autochtones en vue de trouver des solutions. Calgary (Alberta) 3-4 octobre 2016 : AB 1
Conférence 2016 du CERI sur l'électricité – The Canadian Electricity Sector at a Crossroads: Exploring Alternative Paths La conférence 2016 du Canadian Energy Research Institute (CERI) sur l'électricité abordera les défis qui se posent et les possibilités qui s'offrent au secteur canadien de l'électricité au cours des trois prochaines décennies, ce qui inclut les gaz à effet de serre, l'évolution des technologies, l'incertitude entourant les cours du carburant et la réglementation environnementale. Calgary (Alberta) 3-4 octobre 2016 : AB 2
Economic Society of Northern Alberta (ESNA) Dîner-causerie mensuel de l'ESNA, avec l'honorable Amarjeet Sohi, ministre de l'Infrastructure et des Collectivités. Edmonton (Alberta) 11 octobre 2016 : AB 3
Table ronde sur l'énergie à Calgary Fondé par le Forum sur le commerce Canada-Europe, ce forum du secteur privé offre l'occasion de discuter au sujet du secteur énergétique canadien dans le contexte des marchés canadiens et internationaux des hydrocarbures. Calgary (Alberta) 12 octobre 2016 : AB 4
FDI Canada Forum Conférence sur les perspectives entourant l'investissement direct étranger ainsi que sur les politiques régissant ce type d'investissement dans le contexte du marché canadien. Calgary (Alberta) 18-19 octobre 2016 : AB 5
Fête de lancement organisée par Startup Edmonton Startup Edmonton tient sa troisième semaine annuelle du démarrage d'entreprises à Edmonton : cinq jours et plus de 20 événements axés sur les entreprises en démarrage. Edmonton (Alberta) 20 octobre 2016 : AB 6
Séminaires de l'ACAMP : systèmes autonomes de transport Ces séminaires visent la collectivité albertaine de l'innovation; on y fournit des renseignements sur les systèmes autonomes de transport et les nouveaux développements dans le domaine, et c'est aussi une bonne occasion de réseautage. Calgary (Alberta) 25 octobre 2016 : AB 7
Clean Tech – What does the future hold? Déjeuner-causerie organisé par la Leduc-Nisku Economic Development Association sur les perspectives du secteur des technologies propres et la façon pour les sociétés de fournir des services, du soutien et des services de fabrication dans ce secteur. Leduc (Alberta) 26 octobre 2016 : AB 8
Women Building Extraordinary Futures Événement de Women Building Futures (WBF) : on lancera le nouveau plan stratégique de WBF, on saluera les partisans de l'organisme et on célébrera les réalisations de la présidente et dirigeante sortante, JudyLynn Archer. Edmonton (Alberta) 27 octobre 2016 : AB 9
Prix ASTech Le gala des prix ASTech 2016 se tient de pair avec l'exposition Next Gen Innovators; les prix vont à des projets innovateurs en sciences et en technologie, à des entreprises naissantes et à des étudiants prenant part à des foires scientifiques. Edmonton (Alberta) 28 octobre 2016 :AB 10
Conférence de 2016 de Petrochem Canada Conférence où l'on fait le point sur l'avantage concurrentiel du Canada en pétrochimie au niveau international. Edmonton (Alberta) 1-2 novembre 2016 : AB 11
Conférence annuelle 2016 de Systèmes télécommandés Canada Réunit l'industrie et l'État, des militaires et des chercheurs à des fins de conscientisation et d'innovation à l'égard des systèmes de transport aérien, terrestre et maritime sans pilote. Edmonton (Alberta) 1-3 novembre 2016 : AB 12
Sommet de l'innovation autochtone Sommet qui réunit des innovateurs sociaux, des entrepreneurs et des dirigeants autochtones canadiens pour échanger des idées et ouvrir de nouveaux champs d'innovation. Edmonton (Alberta) 7-9 novembre 2016 : AB 13
2017 Economic Outlook, organisé par Calgary Economic Development Présentation par l'économiste en chef d'ATB Financial, Todd Hirsch, et l'économiste en chef du Conference Board du Canada, Glen Hodgson, sur les prévisions économiques mondiales, nationales, régionales et locales en 2017. Calgary (Alberta) 8 novembre 2016 : AB 14
Fête de lancement organisée par Startup Calgary Fête annuelle : présentation d'entreprises technologiques naissantes aux produits adaptés au marché et capables d'attirer des utilisateurs ou de générer des revenus. Calgary (Alberta) 17 novembre 2016 : AB 15
Aboriginal Connections Discours-programme organisé par le Conseil canadien pour le commerce autochtone et l'Alberta Enterprise Group, qui permettra aux chefs de file du milieu des affaires de l'Ouest de profiter de toute l'expérience du chef des Premières Nations de Fort McKay, Jim Boucher. Calgary (Alberta) 23 novembre 2016 : AB 16
Creating the New Alberta Vision & Leadership Convention Convention qui réunit des participants représentant 18 professions et industries albertaines, dont l'agriculture et la transformation des aliments, le transport et la logistique, la santé et les biotechnologies, le tourisme, la fabrication et les exportations, l'environnement et les technologies propres, et où l'on peut échanger des idées commerciales innovatrices. Red Deer (Alberta) 26 novembre 2016 : AB 17
Saskatchewan
Pulse a Palooza – Célébrer 2016, Année internationale des légumineuses L'Organisation des Nations Unies pour l'alimentation et l'agriculture a désigné 2016 comme étant l'Année internationale des légumineuses. La Saskatchewan joue un rôle de plus en plus grand en vue d'approvisionner la planète en légumineuses, fournissant actuellement entre 30 % et 40 % des légumineuses du globe. Saskatoon (Sask.) 5 octobre 2016 : SK 1
10e atelier annuel pour les femmes de Community Futures Le thème de l'atelier de cette année est le bénévolat au sein de sa collectivité pour en faire un meilleur endroit où vivre (« Volunteering in your community – making your community a better place to live »). La Ronge (Sask.) 6 octobre 2016 : SK 2
Conférence sur le développement économique et la gouvernance des terres des Premières Nations Conférence nationale sur le développement économique et la gouvernance des terres, organisée par des groupes des Premières Nations de la Saskatchewan. Les discussions porteront sur la planification de l'utilisation des terres, les coentreprises et le développement communautaire durable par les Premières Nations. Le SMA intérimaire de DEO pour la région de la Saskatchewan est conférencier. Saskatoon (Sask.) 11-13 octobre 2016 : SK 2
9e conférence Women in Leadership Des conférencières bien connues de la Saskatchewan aborderont des sujets variés, par exemple comment s'adapter aux transformations, s'efforcer d'atteindre ses objectifs et savoir quand écouter. La conférencière principale sera la ministre des Services centraux de la Saskatchewan, l'honorable Christine Tell. Regina (Sask.) 13 octobre 2016 : SK 3
Allocution du premier ministre Brad Wall devant la Chambre de commerce de Regina Dans le cadre des déjeuners-causeries tenus par la Chambre de commerce, le premier ministre de la Saskatchewan, Brad Wall, prononcera une allocution portant sur le plan de sa province pour contrer les changements climatiques. Regina (Sask.) 18 octobre 2016 : SK 4
Conférence commerciale 2016 et 20e anniversaire de STEP Conférence offrant aux exportateurs de la Saskatchewan l'occasion d'établir des contacts, d'en apprendre plus sur les activités commerciales en cours et de discuter de leurs défis et de leurs avantages actuels au sein du marché mondial. Regina (Sask.) 18-19 octobre 2016 : SK 5
Prix ABEX 2016 La Chambre de commerce de la Saskatchewan fête cette année le 33e anniversaire des prix Achievement in Business Excellence (ABEX), qui récompensent les meilleurs et les plus brillants des membres du milieu des affaires de la province. Saskatoon (Sask.) 22 octobre 2016 : SK 6
48e conférence annuelle de l'Association canadienne de développement économique Le titre de la conférence est « Change Agents », et le thème principal est celui de la diversification économique et des stratégies de revitalisation des économies locales. Saskatoon (Sask.) 22-25 octobre 2016 : SK 7
Prix Science, Technology, Innovation and Collaboration (STIC) Ces prix sont remis aux esprits les plus brillants de la région de Saskatoon; ils servent à souligner les personnes, les projets et les produits qui contribuent à doter Saskatoon d'un pôle scientifique et technologique de calibre mondial. Saskatoon (Sask.) 16 novembre 2016 : SK 8
Rencontre des membres de l'industrie du canola et journée de l'innovation pour le canola Les délégués pourront écouter des chercheurs et des spécialistes de l'industrie discuter des plus récents développements au sein d'une industrie du canola en plein essor ainsi que dans le domaine de la génomique du canola. Saskatoon (Sask.) 30 novembre -
1er décembre 2016 : SK 9
Manitoba
23e conférence nationale annuelle du Conseil pour l'avancement des agents de développement autochtones (CAADA) La conférence englobe l'assemblée annuelle du CAADA et portera d'abord sur les partenariats à l'appui de la prospérité, dans l'optique du changement, de la collaboration et des possibilités à saisir (« Change, Collaboration and Opportunity »). Whitehorse (Yukon) 3-6 octobre 2016 : MB 1
Conférence du Manitoba Association of Business Economics (MABE) sur les perspectives économiques Lors de cette conférence, on donnera un aperçu de la conjoncture économique nationale, provinciale et locale, et il y aura des séances consacrées à la croissance économique des Autochtones, au développement des centres-villes et à la consolidation du secteur agricole. Winnipeg (Man.) 3 novembre 2016 : MB 2
Sommet annuel de la Canadian Space Society Le sommet de 2016 réunit des universitaires, des représentants de l'industrie et des membres du public. Sous le thème « At the Centre of It All », les travaux porteront sur les facteurs qui unifient le Canada et le reste du globe au sein de l'industrie spatiale. Winnipeg (Man.) 14-15 novembre 2016 : MB 3
Western Business Outlook Le Conference Board du Canada est l'hôte du Western Business Outlook – Manitoba. Winnipeg (Man.) 24 novembre 2016 : MB 4

 

 

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a pour rôle de contribuer à hausser la compétitivité économique à long terme de l'Ouest canadien en appuyant des programmes et des services qui stimulent l'innovation et soutiennent l'essor des entreprises et le développement économique des collectivités. L'organisme mène aussi des activités au chapitre des politiques, de la représentation et de la coordination pour faire valoir les intérêts de l'Ouest canadien dans le contexte de la prise des décisions économiques au niveau national.