Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Section 6: Trends, Best Practices and Possible Improvements

Research shows there are over 500 federal and provincial programs that fund research, technology or firm development in Canada.31 The programs differ according to a variety of factors including focus, region, financial instrument (e.g., grants, contributions, loans, tax credits) or sector. Internationally, some research32 shows policy makers across the OECD countries are recognizing the importance of high growth firms (HGFs)33, particularly high growth start-up firms. Supports for high growth start-up firms include grants, tax incentives, accelerators, incubators, access to funding and proof-of-concept funds.

Federal programs are delivered through Western Economic Diversification (WD) and other regional development agencies34, other departments such as Industry Canada35 (Canada Small Business Financing Program) or National Research Council (Industrial Research Assistance Program) and Crown Corporations such as the Business Development Bank. Regionally, one report36 found that all Canadian provinces and territories have programs to support businesses; financial instruments include Grants and Contributions (non-repayable, repayable and conditionally repayable), loans, financing, tax credits and deductions and scholarship programs.

Best practices and possible improvements

The literature and the evaluation yield the following summary list of best practices and opportunities for improvements.

Best practices. Processes that are working well for the department and proponents include partnering and collaboration with industry and other organizations, aligning with provincial priorities, the rigorous project assessment and due diligence process, and the flexibility in both type and implementation of projects.

Possible Improvement: focus on high growth businesses. Research shows that high growth firms of all sizes drive productivity growth.37 A study by Industry Canada38 using Canadian business data (2000–2010) found that many SMEs have the financial resources to realize higher levels of growth than what they achieved. Potential actions to increase the numbers of high growth firms include management training for high growth and increased access to capital for businesses with high growth potential. Business leaders in Canada are considered to be more risk averse than their counterparts in the United States. Although many Canadian firms realize high growth rates in their first five years, they do not sustain high growth over the long term. In fact, one study39 reported that 70% of surveyed Chief Executive Officers (CEOs) of emerging technology companies plan to exit their business within the next six years through acquisition or an IPO. Research40 suggests SMEs could benefit from conditional loans and grants to encourage investment in training, research and development or technology and thus enhance their potential for higher growth.

WD focuses, to some extent, on management training under the expected result “increased adoption of sound management and business practices, and technology”. For example, some key informants indicated that the department supports this area through the Western Canada Business Service Network and Community Futures organizations which offer business counselling, seminars and workshops. A few key informants noted, however, that the department’s focus on this outcome has decreased recently as it did not align directly with WD’s strategic priorities. In terms of access to capital, some key informants commented that this has not been a big focus for the G&C projects, only a small amount of capital is provided and the department does not provide direct funding to SMEs. However, since the launch of the Western Innovation Initiative in 2013, WD is now providing loans to SMEs to advance efforts to bring technology based products, processes and services to the commercial marketplace. Furthermore, the department supports both business creation and expansion although it does not specifically target firms with high growth potential.

Possible improvement: increased adoption of advanced technology. Research41 shows that technology adoption increases productivity, innovation and competitiveness. SMEs tend to be slow adopters of technology, hindering their growth and productivity. Successful firms in all industries increasingly rely on technology and governments need to collaborate with industry to finance and encourage investment in technology.

Key informants noted that the department tends to fund more technology commercialization rather than technology adoption projects and that, in the past, the department has discontinued project funding too early and has been unwilling to reimburse operating costs required to advance the project. Going forward, the department could increase its focus on technology adoption projects and provide longer term, more flexible funding to these projects.

Possible improvement: promote international trade. Research42 shows that Canada must increase exports to raise competitiveness and productivity, however, only 3.6% of Canadian companies currently export. About 90% of Canadian exporters were small businesses in 2011, a small increase over 2008 (85%) and 1999 (87%). However, only 10.4% of SMEs were exporters that year43.

Although trade is a federal government and WD priority, research44 shows that organizations and businesses that need this support are frequently not aware of government programs. The federal government needs to increase awareness and accessibility of their programs to exporters.

WD’s programming supports international trade through the intermediate outcome “Western SMEs are engaged in international business, competitive, and strong”. When questioned about the programming impact related to this outcome, key informants indicated some projects have allowed SMEs to add value and increase competitiveness. On the negative side, some key informants were of the opinion that SMEs in Canada tend to rely on resources, are risk averse and inward focused, and, therefore, do not export. Furthermore, although trade is a departmental priority, some key informants noted difficulties separating federal from provincial responsibilities and the best mechanisms for support.

The department could review its programming to determine how to improve programming impacts related to international trade. Possible improvements include enhancing SME access and awareness of current programming and the benefits of international trade. Through greater focus on international trade, the Business Productivity and Growth projects can reinforce and augment WD’s current activities under its Trade, Investment and Market Access sub-program.

 


[31] PriceWaterhouseCoopers. “Response to R&D Review Panel Consultation Questions”. 2011.

[32] Mason C., Brown R. "Entrepreneurial ecosystems and growth oriented entrepreneurship." 2014. This paper references the following publication: Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. "High-growth enterprises: what governments can do to make a difference". 2010.

[33] Eurostat – OECD Manual on Business Demography Statistics, Chapter 8. The OECD definition of high growth enterprise: "All enterprises with average annualised growth greater than 20% per annum, over a three year period should be considered as high-growth enterprises. Growth can be measured by the number of employees or by turnover."

[34] Programs include, for example: 1) Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency: Business Development Program; 2) Canadian Economic Development for Quebec Regions: Quebec Economic Development Program; 3) Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario: Investing in Business Growth and Productivity; 4) FedNor: Northern Ontario Development Program.

[35] As of November 4, 2015, the Ministries of Science and Technology and Industry Canada were combined to form Innovation, Science and Economic Development Canada.

[36] Acacia Policy Consulting Inc. "Policies and Programs of Canadian Provinces and Territories. Mechanisms to Support SMEs and Established Aerospace Firms." 2012.

[37] Deloitte. A series reports including: 1) "The future of productivity: An eight step game plan for Canada"; 2) "The future of productivity: Clear choices for a competitive Canada"; 3)" The future of productivity: A wake-up call for Canadian companies"; 4) "The future of productivity: Smart exporting for Canadian companies".

[38] Industry Canada. "Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises Growth Study: Actual vs. Sustainable Growth". 2013.

[39] Pricewaterhousecoopers. "Building tomorrow's giants. 2014 Emerging companies' survey". There were 150 interviews completed with Canadian technology CEOs.

[40] Centre for Digital Entrepreneurship + Economic Performance (deepcentre). "Driving Canadian Growth and Innovation: Five Challenges Holding Back Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Canada". 2013.

[41] Centre for Digital Entrepreneurship + Economic Performance (deepcentre). "Driving Canadian Growth and Innovation: Five Challenges Holding Back Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Canada". 2013.

[42] Deloitte. "The future of productivity: Smart exporting for Canadian companies". 2014.

[43] Industry Canada. "Key Small Business Statistics". 2013.

[44] Deloitte. “The future of productivity: Smart exporting for Canadian companies”. 2014.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Section 6 : Tendances, pratiques exemplaires et pistes d’amélioration

D'après les recherches, plus de 500 programmes fédéraux et provinciaux financent la recherche ainsi que le développement de technologies et d'entreprises au Canada31Les programmes se distinguent les uns des autres sur le plan de leur centre d’intérêt, de la région visée, de l’instrument financier utilisé (subventions, contributions, prêts, crédits d’impôt, etc.) ou du secteur auquel ils s’appliquent. À l’échelle mondiale, des recherches32ont montré que les décideurs des pays de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques (OCDE) reconnaissent l’importance des entreprises à forte croissance33, et notamment les entreprises en démarrage à forte croissance. L'aide aux entreprises en démarrage à forte croissance peut prendre la forme de subventions, de mesures d'incitation fiscale, d'accélérateurs, d'incubateurs, de mesures d'accès au financement et de fonds de validation de concept.

Les programmes fédéraux sont fournis par l'intermédiaire de DEO et d'autres organismes de développement régional34, d'autres ministères tels Industrie Canada35 (Programme de financement des petites entreprises du Canada) ou du Conseil national de recherches Canada (Programme d'aide à la recherche industrielle), ainsi que de sociétés d'État telle la Banque de développement du Canada. À l'échelle régionale, selon un rapport36 les provinces et les territoires canadiens offrent tous des programmes de soutien aux entreprises. Ces programmes proposent divers instruments financiers : subventions et contributions (non remboursables, remboursables et remboursables sous conditions); prêts; aide financière; crédits d’impôt et déductions fiscales, bourses d’études.

Pratiques exemplaires et améliorations possibles

Voici une liste sommaire de pratiques exemplaires et de pistes d’amélioration relevées dans le cadre d’une recension documentaire et d’une analyse.

Pratiques exemplaires. Les processus qui fonctionnent bien pour le Ministère et les promoteurs englobent les partenariats et les collaborations avec l’industrie et d’autres organismes, la conformité avec les priorités provinciales, la rigueur de l’évaluation des projets et du processus de diligence raisonnable, de même que la souplesse quant aux types de projets et à leur mise en œuvre.

Amélioration possible : mettre l'accent sur les entreprises à forte croissance. La recherche montre que les entreprises à forte croissance, peu importe leur taille, stimulent la croissance de la productivité 37. Une étude réalisée par Industrie Canada38 à partir de données sur les entreprises canadiennes (2000 à 2010) a conclu que de nombreuses PME disposent des ressources financières nécessaires pour réaliser des taux de croissance supérieurs à ceux qu'elles enregistrent. Diverses mesures pourraient contribuer à accroître le nombre d'entreprises à forte croissance, dont la formation des cadres et l'accès accru au capital pour les entreprises qui présentent un potentiel de forte croissance. Il est reconnu que les chefs d'entreprise canadiens sont moins enclins à prendre des risques que leurs homologues américains. Les entreprises canadiennes sont nombreuses à ne pouvoir maintenir à long terme les taux de croissance élevés des cinq premières années. À ce titre, une étude39 révèle que 70 % des présidents-directeurs généraux (PDG) de nouvelles entreprises spécialisées dans les technologies qui ont été interrogés projetaient de se retirer dans les six années suivantes, par une acquisition ou par un premier appel public à l’épargne (PAPE). La recherche40 indique par ailleurs que l’octroi de subventions et de prêts conditionnels encourageant l’investissement dans la formation, la recherche et le développement, ainsi que la technologie, permettrait aux PME de renforcer leur potentiel de forte croissance.

Dans une certaine mesure, le résultat « Adoption de saines pratiques de gestion et d’affaires, et de technologies » de DEO met l’accent sur la formation des cadres. Ainsi, des informateurs clés indiquent que le Ministère soutient ce volet par l’entremise du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l’Ouest canadien et des Sociétés de développement des collectivités, lesquels offrent des services de counselling, des séminaires et des ateliers. Toutefois, quelques-uns soulignent que ce résultat retient moins l’attention du Ministère depuis un certain temps parce qu’il ne cadre pas directement avec les priorités stratégiques de DEO. Quant à l’accès au capital, quelques informateurs clés mentionnent qu’il n’a jamais fait partie des grandes priorités des projets de S et C, que l’apport en capital est faible et que le Ministère ne finance pas directement les PME. Cela étant dit, depuis le lancement de l’Initiative d’innovation dans l’Ouest en 2013, DEO octroie des prêts aux PME afin de soutenir les efforts de commercialisation de produits, de processus et de services technologiques. De plus, le Ministère soutient la création et l’expansion d’entreprises, bien qu’il ne cible pas expressément les entreprises à fort potentiel de croissance.

Amélioration possible : favoriser l’adoption de technologies de pointe. Selon la recherche41, l'adoption de technologies contribue à dynamiser la productivité, l'innovation et la compétitivité. Or, la lenteur des PME à intégrer de nouvelles technologies nuit à leur croissance et à leur productivité. Dans tous les secteurs, les entreprises qui tirent le mieux leur épingle du jeu tablent de plus en plus sur la technologie; les gouvernements doivent collaborer avec l'industrie pour financer et encourager l'investissement dans ce domaine.

Les informateurs clés mentionnent que le Ministère a plus tendance à financer les projets de commercialisation de la technologie que ceux qui sont axés sur l’adoption de technologies et que, dans le passé, il a interrompu trop tôt le financement de projets et a été peu enclin à rembourser les frais d’exploitation engagés pour les faire avancer. Le Ministère devrait s’intéresser de plus en plus aux projets d’adoption de technologies et prévoir des modalités plus souples de financement à long terme.

Amélioration possible : promouvoir le commerce international. Selon la recherche42, le Canada doit augmenter ses exportations pour accroître sa compétitivité et sa productivité; or, seulement 3,6 % des entreprises canadiennes font de l'exportation. En 2011, environ 90 % des exportateurs canadiens étaient de petites entreprises, ce qui représente une légère hausse par rapport à 2008 (85 %) et à 1999 (87 %). Cependant, cette même année, seulement 10,4 % des PME faisaient de l'exportation43.

Bien que le commerce soit une priorité pour le gouvernement fédéral et pour DEO, la recherche44 révèle que les organismes et les entreprises qui ont besoin de cette aide ignorent souvent que des programmes gouvernementaux existent. Le gouvernement fédéral doit faire des efforts pour mieux les faire connaître et faciliter leur accès aux exportateurs.

DEO offre des programmes axés sur le soutien au commerce international au titre du résultat intermédiaire « les PME de l’Ouest canadien participent au commerce international et elles sont compétitives et prospères ». Interrogés sur la manière dont ce résultat influe sur les programmes, les informateurs clés ont déclaré que certains projets ont permis aux PME de rehausser leur valeur ajoutée et leur compétitivité. Les informateurs émettent cependant certains bémols relativement aux PME canadiennes, qui, selon eux, sont dépendantes des ressources, réticentes à prendre des risques et tournées vers le marché intérieur, ce qui explique pourquoi elles exportent peu. Qui plus est, même si le Ministère traite le commerce comme une priorité, des informateurs clés soulignent qu’il est difficile de départager les responsabilités provinciales et les responsabilités fédérales et de déterminer quels sont les meilleurs mécanismes d’aide.

Le Ministère pourrait revoir ses programmes pour en améliorer les incidences dans le domaine du commerce international. Notamment, il pourrait améliorer l’accès des PME aux programmes existants et aux avantages du commerce international, et veiller à mieux les faire connaître. En étant axés davantage sur le commerce international, les projets de productivité et de croissance des entreprises contribueront à renforcer et à élargir les activités menées actuellement par DEO dans le cadre du sous-programme Commerce, investissement et accès aux marchés.

 


[31] PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Response to R&D Review Panel Consultation Questions, 2011.

[32]MASON, C., et R. BROWN, Entrepreneurial ecosystems and growth oriented entrepreneurship, 2014. Ce document renvoie à un rapport de l’Organisation de coopération et de développement économiques, High-growth enterprises: what governments can do to make a difference, 2010.

[33] Eurostat – OECD Manual on Business Demography Statistics, chapitre 8. L’OCDE définit ainsi les entreprises à haute croissance : Toutes les entreprises dont la croissance moyenne du chiffre d’affaires, en données annualisées, reste supérieure à 20 % par an pendant une période de trois ans. La croissance se mesure en fonction du nombre d’employés ou du chiffre d’affaires.

[34] Voici une liste partielle de ces programmes : 1) Programme de développement des entreprises de l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique; 2) Programme de développement économique du Québec de Développement économique Canada pour les régions du Québec; 3) Investir dans la croissance et la productivité des entreprises de FedDev Ontario; 4)Programme de développement du Nord de l'Ontario de FedNor.

[35] Le 4 novembre 2015, Sciences et Technologie Canada et Industrie Canada ont été fusionnés en un organisme unique : Innovation, Sciences et Développement économique Canada.

[36] Acacia Policy Consulting Inc., Policies and Programs of Canadian Provinces and Territories. Mechanisms to Support SMEs and Established Aerospace Firms, 2012.

[37] Série de rapports de Deloitte : 1) L’avenir de la productivité : Un plan de match en huit étapes pour le Canada; 2) L’avenir de la productivité 2012 : Des choix décisifs pour une compétitivité accrue du Canada; 3) L’avenir de la productivité 2013 : Comblez l’écart de perception; 4) L’avenir de la productivité 2014 : Exportation avisée pour les entreprises canadiennes.

[38] Industrie Canada, Étude de la croissance des petites et moyennes entreprises : croissance réelle par rapport à croissance durable, 2013.

[39]PriceWaterhouseCoopers, Building tomorrow’s giants. 2014 Emerging companies’ survey. Le sondage a été mené auprès de 150 PDG d’entreprises canadiennes du secteur des technologies.

[40]Centre for Digital Entrepreneurship + Economic Performance (deepcentre), Driving Canadian Growth and Innovation: Five Challenges Holding Back Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Canada, 2013.

[41] Centre for Digital Entrepreneurship + Economic Performance (deepcentre), Driving Canadian Growth and Innovation: Five Challenges Holding Back Small and Medium-Sized Enterprises in Canada, 2013.

[42] Deloitte, L’avenir de la productivité 2014 : Exportation avisée pour les entreprises canadiennes, 2014.

[43]Industrie Canada, Principales statistiques relatives aux petites entreprises, 2013.

[44] Deloitte, L’avenir de la productivité 2014 : Exportation avisée pour les entreprises canadiennes, 2014.