Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1987 under the provisions of the Western Economic Diversification Act (1988), and mandated to promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation. This broad mandate allows the department to implement tailored programs and initiatives to assist western Canadians to create strong, competitive and innovative businesses and communities.

The Minister of Health, supported by the Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification), is responsible for this organization.

The Privacy Act extends the present laws of Canada that protect the privacy of individuals and provide individuals with a right of access to personal information about themselves. It also protects the privacy of individuals by denying third parties access to personal information relating to them and enabling them to exercise strict control over the collection, disclosure and use of such information. Necessary exceptions should be limited and specific.

This report describes how WD administered the Act during fiscal year 2014-2015, and fulfills the requirements under Section 72 that every government institution must prepare an annual report on the administration of this Act each fiscal year and ensure it is tabled in Parliament.

WD will publish its Annual Report to Parliament on its public website (www.wd-deo.gc.ca) once it has been tabled in the House of Commons and the Senate.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a été établi en 1987 en vertu des dispositions de la Loi sur la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien (1987), et a le mandat de promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de l’Ouest dans l’élaboration et la mise en œuvre des politiques, des programmes et des projets économiques nationaux. Ce vaste mandat permet au Ministère de mettre en œuvre des initiatives et des programmes adaptés visant à aider la population de l’Ouest canadien à mettre sur pied des entreprises et des collectivités dynamiques, compétitives et innovatrices.

La ministre de la Santé, appuyée par la ministre d’État (Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest), est responsable de cette organisation.

La Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels vient compléter la législation canadienne qui se rapporte à la protection de la vie privée des individus et confère à ces derniers le droit d’accéder aux renseignements personnels qui les concernent. Elle protège aussi la vie privée des individus en interdisant la communication des renseignements personnels qui les concernent à de tierces parties et en leur permettant d’exercer un contrôle strict sur la collecte, la communication et l’utilisation de tels renseignements. Les exceptions nécessaires devraient être limitées et clairement définies.

Le présent rapport décrit comment DEO a appliqué la Loi durant l'exercice 2014-2015 et répond aux exigences de l'article 72, qui prévoit qu'à la fin de chaque exercice financier, chacune des institutions fédérales doit établir un rapport annuel sur l'application de la Loi et veiller à ce qu'il soit présenté au Parlement.

DEO affichera le rapport annuel au Parlement sur son site Internet (www.deo-wd.gc.ca) une fois qu'il aura été déposé à la Chambre des communes et au Sénat.