Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Section III: Supplementary Information

Financial Statements Highlights

The financial highlights presented within this Departmental Performance Report are intended to serve as a general overview of Western Economic Diversification Canada's (WD) financial position and operations. The unaudited financial statements are prepared in accordance with accrual accounting principles (the link to complete financial statements is at the end of this section).

 

Condensed Statement of Operations (unaudited)
For the Year Ended March 31, 2015
(dollars)
Financial Information 2014–15
Planned Results
2014–15
Actual
2013–14
Actual
Difference
(2014–15 actual minus 2014–15 planned)
Difference
(2014–15 actual minus 2013–14 actual)
Total expenses 148,992,654 151,214,094 188,000,865 2,221,440 (36,786,771)
Total revenues 3,071 589 835 (2,482) (246)
Net cost of operations before government funding and transfers 148,989,583 151,213,505 188,000,030 2,223,922 (36,786,525)

 

Expenses- Where Funds Go ($151.2 million)

Total Expenses were $151.2 million in 2014–15, a decrease of $36.8 million (20 percent) over 2013–14. This year-over-year decrease is attributed to a reduction in transfer payment spending of $28.8 million, primarily due to the completion of the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund and the Western Economic Partnership Agreements. The remaining $6.1 million is attributed to a reduction in operating expenses.

 

Condensed Statement of Financial Position (unaudited)
As at March 31, 2015
(dollars)
Financial Information 2014–15 2013–14 Difference
(2014–15 minus 2013–14)
Total net liabilities 73,163,019 64,730,222 8,432,797
Total net financial assets 69,989,517 61,867,745 8,121,772
Departmental net debt (3,173,502) (2,862,477) (311,025)
Total non-financial assets 228,463 467,452 (238,989)
Departmental net financial position (2,945,039) (2,395,025) (550,014)

 

Net Financtial Assets ($70.0 million)

 

Net Financial Assets equaled $70.0 million at the end of 2014–15, an increase of $8.1 million (13 percent) over 2013–14. This increase is related to amounts Due from Consolidated Revenue Fund, which will be available to draw upon to pay for accounts payable established in 2014–15. The increase is attributed to additional accounts payable established for the Western Diversification Program (WDP) and Western Innovation Initiative (WINN).

 

Liabilities ($73.2 million)

 

Total Liabilities were $73.2 million at the end of 2014–15, an increase of $8.4 million (13 percent) over 2013–14. This net increase is a result of the establishment of additional accounts payable for WDP and WINN.

 

Financial Statements

The complete WD financial statements can be found at www.wd-deo.gc.ca/eng/59.asp.

 

Supplementary Information Tables

The supplementary information tables listed in the 2014–15 Departmental Performance Report are available on the WD website.[xxxi]

  1. Departmental Sustainable Development Strategy;
  2. Details on Transfer Payment Programs of $5 Million or More;
  3. Internal Audits and Evaluations;
  4. Response to Parliamentary Committees and External Audits;
  5. Up-Front Multi-Year Funding; and
  6. User Fees Reporting.

 

Tax Expenditures and Evaluations

The tax system can be used to achieve public policy objectives through the application of special measures such as low tax rates, exemptions, deductions, deferrals and credits. The Department of Finance Canada publishes cost estimates and projections for these measures annually in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations[xxxii] publication. The tax measures presented in the Tax Expenditures and Evaluations publication are the responsibility of the Minister of Finance.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Section III: Renseignements supplémentaires

Faits saillants des états financiers

La présentation des principales données financières dans le RMR donne une vue d’ensemble de la situation et des opérations financières de DEO. Les états financiers non audités sont préparés selon les règles de la comptabilité d’exercice (le lien vers les états financiers complets se trouve à la fin de la présente section).

 

État condensé des opérations (non audité)
Pour l’exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015
(dollars)
Information financière Résultats attendus
2014–2015
Résultats réels
2014–2015
Résultats réels
2013–2014
Écart
(résultats reels 2014-2015
moins résultats attendus
2014-2015)
Écart
(résultats réels
2014-2015
moins résultats réels
2013-2014)
Total des charges 148 992 654 151 214 094 188 000 865 2 221 440 (36 786 771)
Total des revenus 3 071 589 835 (2 482) (246)
Coût de fonctionnement net avant le financement du gouvernement et transferts 148 989 583 151 213 505 188 000 030 2 223 922 (36 786 525)

 

Dépenses - Destination des fonds (151,2 millions $)

Le total des dépenses a atteint 151,2 millions $ en 2014-2015, soit une diminution de 36,8 millions $ (20 %) par rapport au total de l’exercice 2013-2014. Cette diminution d’un exercice à l’autre s’explique par la réduction des dépenses de paiements de transfert de 28,8 millions $, en particulier par la fin du Fonds d’amélioration de l’infrastructure communautaire et des Ententes de partenariats pour le développement économique de l’Ouest. Les autres 6,1 millions $ proviennent d’une réduction des dépenses de fonctionnement.

État condensé de la situation financière (non audité)
Au 31 mars 2015
(dollars)
Information financière 2014–2015 2013–2014 Écart
(2014–2015 moins 2013–2014)
Total des passifs nets 73 163 019 64 730 222 8 432 797
Total des actifs financiers nets 69 989 517 61 867 745 8 121 772
Dette nette du ministère (3 173 502) (2 862 477) (311 025)
Total des actifs non financiers 228 463 467 452 (238 989)
Situation financière nette du ministère (2 945 039) (2 395 025) (550 014)

 

Actifs finaniers nets (70,0 millions $)

 Les actifs financiers nets se chiffraient à 70,0 millions $ à la fin de 2014-2015, soit une augmentation de 8,1 millions $ (13 %) par rapport aux actifs de 2013-2014. Cette augmentation est liée aux montants à recevoir du Trésor qui seront disponibles pour le règlement des comptes créditeurs de 2014-2015. L’augmentation est attribuable à des comptes créditeurs additionnels établis au PDEO et à l’Initiative InnO.

 

Passifs (73,2 millions $)

Le total des passifs s’élevait à 73,2 millions $ à la fin de 2014-2015, soit une augmentation de 8,4 millions $ (13 %) par rapport au total des passifs de l’exercice précédent. Cette augmentation nette s’explique par des comptes créditeurs additionnels au PDEO et à l’Initiative InnO.

 

États financiers

Les états financiers complets de DEO se trouvent à l’adresse www.wd-deo.gc.ca/fra/59.asp.

 

Tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires

Les tableaux de renseignements supplémentaires énumérés dans le Rapport ministériel sur le rendement 2014-2015[xxxi] se trouvent sur le site Web de DEO.

 

Dépenses fiscales et évaluations

Il est possible de recourir au régime fiscal pour atteindre des objectifs de la politique publique en appliquant des mesures spéciales, comme de faibles taux d’impôt, des exemptions, des déductions, des reports et des crédits. Le ministère des Finances Canada publie annuellement des estimations et des projections du coût de ces mesures dans une publication intitulé Dépenses fiscales et évaluations.[xxxii] Les mesures fiscales présentées dans le rapport ladite publication Dépenses fiscales et évaluations relèvent de la seule responsabilité du ministre des Finances.