Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Sub-program 1.3.2: Economic Analysis

Description

Economic Analysis increases understanding of western Canadian challenges, opportunities, and priorities through externally generated or in-house research. Economic analysis also supports internal as well as Government of Canada policy and program development. Transfer payments in support of this sub-program are made under the authority of the Western Diversification Program.

 

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2014-15
Planned Spending
2014-15
Actual Spending
2014-15
Difference
(actual minus planned)
3,378,050 2,888,883 (489,167)

Note: Actual spending is lower than planned as a result of reallocation of funding to other departmental priorities.

 

Human Resources (FTEs)
2014–15
Planned
2014–15
Actual
2014–15
Difference
(actual minus planned)
14 12 (2)

 

Performance Results
Expected Result Performance Indicators Targets Actual Results
Decisions impacting the western Canadian economy are informed by evidence-based economic analysis Number of evidence-based economic analyses conducted/ funded by WD 31 47

 

Performance Analysis and Lessons Learned

WD tracks one indicator to capture the impact of the Economic Analysis sub-program: number of evidence-based economic analyses conducted or funded by WD.

WD exceeded its targets on the performance indicator related to the Economic Analysis sub-program (see Performance Results table above).  The Department increased its internal economic analysis to inform departmental strategic directions, support project investment decisions and to inform departmental advocacy activities.

Economic analysis undertaken by WD in 2014–15 supported the department's advocacy and coordination work as well as its program delivery.  For example, a comprehensive analysis of socio-economic indicators for Western Canada (State of the West) helped inform senior management of the regional strengths, opportunities and challenges related to Western Canada's economy and WD's priorities. Furthermore, the development of regional sector profiles supported the development of strategies for sector support with WD's priorities. Evidence–based analysis also supported stakeholder engagement.  For instance, monthly reporting and analysis of issues relevant to economic development in Western Canada has been used to inform stakeholders of key issues, challenges and opportunities in Western Canada.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sous-programme 1.3.2 : Analyse économique

Description

Le sous-programme Analyse économique permet de mieux comprendre les défis, les possibilités et les priorités de la population de l’Ouest canadien grâce à des études externes ou internes. Il appuie également l’élaboration de politiques et de programmes internes et du gouvernement du Canada. Les paiements de transfert à l’appui de ce sous-programme sont effectués dans le cadre du Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest.

 

Ressources financières budgétaires (dollars)
Dépenses prévues
2014–2015
Dépenses réelles
2014–2015
Écart
dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2014–2015
3 378 050 2 888 883 (489 167)

Remarque : Les dépenses réelles sont inférieures aux prévisions en raison d’une réaffectation des fonds à d’autres priorités ministérielles.

 

Ressources humaines (ETP)
Prévu
2014–2015
Réel
2014–2015
Écart
(nombre réel moins nombre prévu)
2014–2015
14 12 (2)

 

Résultats du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Résultats réels
Les décisions qui ont une incidence sur l’économie de l’Ouest canadien s’appuient sur des analyses économiques fondées sur des données probantes Nombre d’analyses économiques fondées sur des données probantes menées ou financées par DEO 31 47

 

Analyse du rendement et leçons retenues

DEO suit un indicateur pour mesurer l’incidence du sous-programme Analyse économique, soit le nombre d’analyses économiques fondées sur des données probantes menées ou financées par DEO.

DEO a dépassé les cibles des indicateurs de rendement du sous-programme Analyse économique (voir le tableau ci-dessus illustrant les résultats liés au rendement). Le Ministère a augmenté son analyse économique interne afin d’éclairer ses orientations stratégiques, de soutenir les décisions sur les investissements des projets et de servir de fondement à ses activités de représentation.

L’analyse économique entreprise par DEO au cours de l’exercice 2014-2015 a soutenu les efforts de représentation et de coordination du Ministère ainsi que sa prestation de programmes. Par exemple, une analyse approfondie des indicateurs socio-économiques de l’Ouest canadien (État de l’Ouest) a renseigné la haute direction au sujet des forces, des possibilités et des défis régionaux relatifs à l’économie de l’Ouest canadien et aux priorités de DEO. De plus, la mise au point de profils sectoriels régionaux a soutenu l’élaboration de stratégies de soutien sectoriel avec les priorités de DEO. Des analyses fondées sur des données probantes ont également soutenu la mobilisation des intervenants. Par exemple, l’analyse et les rapports mensuels sur les problèmes touchant le développement économique de l’Ouest canadien ont informé les intervenants des enjeux, des défis et des occasions dans l’Ouest canadien.