Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Program 1.3: Policy, Advocacy and Coordination

Description

Policy, Advocacy and Coordination supports the advancement of the interests of Western Canada through effective strategies, policies and programs that address western economic development needs and by establishing cooperative relationships with key stakeholders. Transfer payments in support of this program are made under the authority of the Western Diversification Program.

 

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2014-15
Main Estimates
2014-15
Planned Spending
2014-15
Total Authorities
Available for Use
2014-15
Actual Spending
(authorities used)
2014-15
Difference
(actual minus planned)
10,741,002 10,741,002 11,153,518 8,736,194 (2,004,808)

Note: Actual spending is lower than planned as a result of reallocation of funding to other departmental priorities.

 

Human Resources (FTEs)
2014–15
Planned
2014–15
Actual
2014–15
Difference
(actual minus planned)
64 58 (6)

 

Performance Results
Expected Result Performance Indicators Targets Actual Results
Policies that strengthen the western Canadian economy Percentage of key informants with the opinion that WD activities resulted in policies that support the economic development of Western Canada 90% 82.7%[xxiii]
Programs that strengthen the western Canadian economy Percentage of key informants with the opinion that WD activities resulted in programs that support the economic development of Western Canada 90% 87.0%[xxiv]

 

Performance Analysis and Lessons Learned

WD continually refines and focuses its Policy, Advocacy and Coordination (PAC) program to meet the changing priorities of western Canadians.  Through economic analysis, as well as engagement with key stakeholders, WD works to ensure that its priorities continue to be well aligned with specific needs of the business community in Western Canada.  Results from the March 2014 PAC survey[xxv] sent to key stakeholders indicated that WD needs to enhance its communication efforts and better inform stakeholders of departmental activities and success stories.

WD has organized and convened several strategic events with key stakeholders in 2014–15. A significant example is the first Western Innovation Forum (WIF) which WD hosted in April 2014 in collaboration with Mitacs and the Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI) in Vancouver.[xxvi] This industry-oriented event with more than 500 participants connected Western Canada's aerospace, marine, defence and security industries with innovation-driven investment, partnership and business opportunities. The two day forum provided an opportunity for businesses, industry, government, researchers and suppliers to connect on opportunities and discuss key issues facing businesses and innovators in Western Canada. The event facilitated more than 140 Business-to-Business and Business-to-Government meetings. Benefits identified by businesses include the unique networking opportunities and making valuable business connections. Ninety eight percent of participants surveyed found the event met or exceeded expectations; 83 percent established new connections; and 49 percent identified prospective leads. Based on the success of the first forum, WD in collaboration with CADSI, Mitacs and the Canadian Commercial Corporation hosted a second WIF in April 2015.[xxvii]

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme 1.3 : Politique, représentation et coordination

Description

Le programme Politique, représentation et coordination appuie la défense des intérêts de l’Ouest canadien par le biais de stratégies, de politiques et de programmes efficaces qui répondent aux besoins de développement économique de cette région, et par l’établissement de relations de collaboration avec les principaux intervenants. Les paiements de transfert à l’appui de ce programme sont effectués dans le cadre du Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest.

 

Ressources financières budgétaires (dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2014–2015
Dépenses prévues
2014–2015
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2014–2015
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2014-15
Écart
(dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2014–2015
10 741 002 10 741 002 11 153 518 8 736 194 (2 004 808)

Remarque : Les dépenses réelles sont inférieures aux prévisions en raison d’une réaffectation des fonds à d’autres priorités ministérielles.

 

Ressources humaines (ETP)
Prévu
2014–2015
Réel
2014–2015
Écart
(nombre réel moins nombre prévu)
2014–2015
64 58 (6)

 

Résultats du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Résultats réels
Politiques qui renforcent l’économie de l’Ouest canadien Pourcentage d’informateurs clés considérant que les activités de DEO mettent en place des politiques appuyant le développement économique de l’Ouest canadien 90 % 82,7 %[xxiii]
Programmes qui renforcent l’économie de l’Ouest canadien Pourcentage d’informateurs clés considérant que les activités de DEO mettent en place des programmes appuyant le développement économique de l’Ouest canadien 90 % 87,0 %[xxiv]

 

Analyse du rendement et leçons retenues

DEO retouche continuellement et recentre son programme Politique, représentation et coordination de manière à répondre aux priorités changeantes des Canadiens de l’Ouest. Par l’analyse économique, de même que par l’engagement auprès des principaux intervenants, DEO s’emploie à faire en sorte que les priorités soient centrées sur les besoins propres au milieu d’affaires de l’Ouest canadien. Les résultats de l’enquête[xxv] menée en mars 2014 par DEO sur le programme Politique, représentation et coordination ont fait ressortir le besoin d’améliorer la communication et de mieux informer les intervenants au sujet des activités du Ministère et de ses histoires de réussite.

DEO a organisé plusieurs événements stratégiques avec les principaux intervenants en 2014-2015. Un exemple important est le premier Forum sur l’innovation dans l’Ouest que DEO a tenu en avril 2014 en collaboration avec Mitacs et l’Association des industries canadiennes de défense et de sécurité (AICDS) à Vancouver[xxvi]. Cet événement à vocation industrielle a permis de mettre en relation plus de 500 participants des industries de l’aérospatiale, de la marine, de la défense et de la sécurité de l’Ouest canadien avec des occasions d’affaires, d’investissement et de partenariat axées sur l’innovation. Le forum de deux jours a donné aux entreprises, à l’industrie, au gouvernement, aux chercheurs et aux fournisseurs la possibilité d’établir des relations et de discuter des principaux enjeux rencontrés par les entreprises et les innovateurs dans l’Ouest canadien. Cet événement a facilité plus de 140 réunions entre entreprises et entre des entreprises et le gouvernement. Les avantages indiqués par les entreprises comprennent des occasions uniques de réseautage et l’établissement de précieuses relations d’affaires. Quatre-vingt-dix-huit pour cent des participants sondés ont estimé que l’événement avait satisfait ou dépassé leurs attentes; 83 % ont établi de nouvelles relations; 49 % ont pu dépister des occasions. En se fondant sur la réussite de ce premier forum, DEO a tenu un deuxième Forum sur l’innovation dans l’Ouest en collaboration avec l’AICDS, Mitacs et la Corporation commerciale canadienne en avril 2015[xxvii]