Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Sub-program 1.3.1: Advocacy and Coordination

Sub-program Description

Advocacy and Coordination advances Western Canada's interests in national policies, priorities, and programs through inclusion of regional issues and opportunities as identified by key stakeholders. Efforts in this sub-program lead to balanced, regionally sensitive approaches to Government of Canada priorities, coordinated economic development in the West and increased procurement opportunities in Western Canada. Transfer payments in support of this sub-program are made under the authority of the Western Diversification Program.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2013-14
Planned Spending
2013-14
Actual Spending
2013-14
Difference
(actual minus planned)
4,774,304 5,881,801 1,107,497

 

Human Resources (FTEs)
2013–14
Planned
2013–14
Actual
2013–14
Difference
(actual minus planned)
41 54 13

Note: Actual spending and FTE utilization in this area increased compared to planned numbers as a result of the realignment of operating costs and FTEs in 2013–14.

Performance Results
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Actual Results
Access to economic opportunities for Western Canada Number of initiatives WD engaged in to enhance access to economic development opportunities for Western Canada 23 29
Coordinated economic development activities, policies and programs in Western Canada Number of economic development initiatives undertaken, programs implemented and policies developed which were coordinated by WD 21 27
Access to procurement opportunities for western Canadian SMEs Number of initiatives WD engaged in to enhance access to procurement opportunities for western Canadian SMEs 31 63

Performance Analysis and Lessons Learned

WD tracks three indicators to capture the impact of the Advocacy and Coordination sub-program: number of initiatives WD engaged in toward enhancing access to economic development opportunities for Western Canada; number of economic development initiatives undertaken, programs implemented and policies developed which were coordinated by WD; and number of initiatives engaged in by WD toward enhanced access to procurement opportunities for western Canadian SMEs.

WD exceeded its targets for all three indicators due in part to significantly higher investment in this area (see Performance Results table above). In particular, WD engaged in substantially more initiatives to enhance access to federal defence procurement opportunities for western Canadian SMEs, reflecting the growing importance of the defence sector in Western Canada.

An example of a successful initiative to support regionally-sensitive development is WD's participation on a Foreign Trade Zone committee where WD worked with the other RDAs and Finance Canada to develop a common approach to replicating single window government task forces on foreign trade zones at other locations. WD used the outcome of that work to support Foreign Affairs, Trade and Development Canada in establishing and launching its new marketing program for organizations seeking to promote local Foreign Trade Zone-type benefits linked to strategic locations across Canada.

Another significant initiative led by WD to support coordinated economic development in Western Canada was a series of innovation-focused roundtables held across Western Canada. These roundtables helped WD to bring western Canadian perspectives to national innovation policy making, enhanced and shaped departmental support for innovation, strengthened collaboration between key stakeholders in the region, and reinforced WD's role as a convener and pathfinder. A key outcome of these roundtables was the development of a Western Innovation Forum[28] held in April 2014, which focused on facilitating innovation-related business opportunities within the aerospace, defence, marine and security sectors in Western Canada.

As part of Western Canada's Shipbuilding Action Plan, WD hosted its second Western Canada Shipbuilding Symposium:[29]Get on Board the Supply Chain, which provided SMEs the opportunity to learn about new and ongoing business opportunities presented by the National Shipbuilding Procurement Strategy. The event attracted 528 participants, representing 365 unique organizations, and facilitated 72 business-to-business meetings between five prime contractors and tier-one suppliers and 35 western Canadian companies.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Sous-programme 1.3.1 : Représentation et coordination

Description

Le sous-programme Représentation et coordination permet de défendre les intérêts de l'Ouest canadien dans les politiques, les priorités et les programmes nationaux grâce à l'inclusion des questions et des occasions régionales recensées par les principaux intervenants. Les efforts menés dans le cadre du sous-programme donnent lieu à des approches équilibrées et sensibles aux enjeux régionaux afin de réaliser les priorités du gouvernement du Canada, à un développement économique coordonné dans l'Ouest canadien et à une participation accrue aux marchés publics. Les paiements de transfert à l'appui de ce sous-programme sont effectués aux termes du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest.

Ressources financières budgétaires (dollars)
Dépenses prévues
2013-2014
Dépenses réelles
2013-2014
Écart
(dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2013-2014
4 774 304 5 881 801 1 107 497

Ressources humaines (ETP)
Prévu
2013-2014
Réel
2013-2014
Écart
(nombre réel moins nombre prévu)
2013-2014
41 54 13

Nota : Les dépenses réelles et les ETP utilisés ont dépassé ce qui était prévu à cause du réalignement des coûts de fonctionnement et des ETP en 2013-2014.

Résultats du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Résultats réels
Accès aux possibilités de développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien Nombre d'initiatives menées par DEO afin d'améliorer l'accès aux possibilités de développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien 23 29
Coordination des activités, des politiques et des programmes de développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien Nombre d'initiatives de développement économique menées, de programmes mis en œuvre et de politiques élaborées sous la coordination de DEO 21 27
Accès à des possibilités de marchés publics pour les PME de l'Ouest canadien Nombre d'initiatives menées par DEO visant à accroître l'accès aux possibilités de marchés publics pour les PME de l'Ouest canadien 31 63

Analyse du rendement et leçons retenues

DEO suit trois indicateurs pour mesurer l'incidence du sous-programme Représentation et coordination : le nombre d'initiatives menées par DEO afin d'améliorer l'accès aux possibilités de développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien; le nombre d'initiatives de développement économique menées, de programmes mis en œuvre et de politiques élaborées sous la coordination de DEO; et le nombre d'initiatives menées par DEO visant à accroître l'accès aux possibilités de marchés publics pour les PME de l'Ouest canadien.

DEO a dépassé les cibles des trois indicateurs en partie en raison d'investissements beaucoup plus élevés (voir le tableau des résultats ci-dessus). En particulier, DEO s'est engagé dans beaucoup plus d'initiatives visant à améliorer l'accès des PME de l'Ouest canadien aux marchés de défense du gouvernement fédéral, ce qui montre bien l'importance grandissante de ce secteur dans cette région du Canada.

La participation de DEO à un comité sur les zones franches constitue un exemple d'initiative réussie pour soutenir le développement adapté à la région. Au sein de ce comité, le Ministère a travaillé avec d'autres organismes de développement régional et Finances Canada au développement d'une approche commune pour reproduire les groupes de travail du gouvernement à guichet unique sur les zones franches dans d'autres endroits. DEO a utilisé le résultat de ce travail pour soutenir Affaires étrangères, Commerce et Développement Canada dans l'établissement et le lancement de son nouveau programme de marketing au profit des organisations cherchant à promouvoir les avantages locaux comme ceux du programme des zones franches liés à des endroits stratégiques au Canada.

La série de tables rondes centrées sur l'innovation qui se sont tenues partout dans l'Ouest canadien est une autre importante initiative menée par DEO pour soutenir le développement économique coordonné dans l'Ouest canadien. Par ces tables rondes, DEO a imprimé les perspectives de l'Ouest canadien dans la politique nationale en matière d'innovation. Cet exercice d'échanges a amélioré et façonné le soutien en matière d'innovation, renforcé la collaboration entre les principaux intervenants dans la région et réaffirmé le rôle d'éclaireur et de rassembleur du Ministère. L'un des résultats à souligner a été la mise en place du Forum sur l'innovation dans l'Ouest[28] en avril 2014, axé sur les occasions d'affaires en innovation dans les domaines de l'aérospatiale, de la défense, de la marine et de la sécurité dans l'Ouest du Canada.

Dans la foulée du Plan d'action pour la construction navale dans l'Ouest canadien, DEO a tenu son deuxième symposium sur la construction navale de l'Ouest canadien Montez à bord de la chaîne d'approvisionnement.[29] L'événement a permis aux PME de découvrir des occasions d'affaires nouvelles ou permanentes présentées par la Stratégie nationale d'approvisionnement en matière de construction navale. L'activité a attiré 528 participants de 365 organisations uniques et permis la tenue de 72 réunions d'affaires entre cinq grands entrepreneurs, des fournisseurs de premier niveau et 35 sociétés de l'Ouest canadien.