Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Program 1.3: Policy, Advocacy and Coordination

Program Description

Policy, Advocacy and Coordination supports the advancement of the interests of Western Canada through effective strategies, policies and programs that address western economic development needs and by establishing cooperative relationships with key stakeholders. Transfer payments in support of this program are made under the authority of the Western Diversification Program.

Budgetary Financial Resources (dollars)
2013-14
Main Estimates
2013-14
Planned Spending
2013-14
Total Authorities Available for Use
2013-14
Actual Spending
(authorities used)
2013-14
Difference
(actual minus planned)
7,113,497 8,613,497 9,045,067 9,306,314 692,817

 

Human Resources (FTEs)
2013–14
Planned
2013–14
Actual
2013–14
Difference
(actual minus planned)
52 68 16

Note: Actual spending and FTE utilization in this area increased compared to planned numbers as a result of the realignment of costs related to this program. WD conducted a review in 2013–14 based on Treasury Board Secretariat guidelines for the recording and reporting on Internal Services expenditures, which impacted both spending and FTE utilization under Policy, Advocacy and Coordination.

Performance Results
Expected Results Performance Indicators Targets Actual Results
Policies that strengthen the western Canadian economy Percentage of key informants with the opinion that WD activities resulted in policies that support the economic development of Western Canada 90% 82.7%[26]
Programs that strengthen the western Canadian economy Percentage of key informants with the opinion that WD activities resulted in programs that support the economic development of Western Canada 90% 87.0%[27]

Performance Analysis and Lessons Learned

WD continually refines and focuses its Policy, Advocacy and Coordination (PAC) program to meet the changing priorities of western Canadians. Through research and analysis, as well as engagement with key stakeholders, WD works to ensure that its priorities continue to be well aligned with specific needs of the business community in Western Canada. Based on results from the March 2014 PAC survey sent to key stakeholders, WD learned that there is need to enhance its communication and better inform stakeholders of departmental activities and its success stories.

In the fall of 2013, WD undertook broad engagement with key stakeholders across Western Canada in order to gain feedback on western Canadian economic issues, challenges, opportunities and priorities. Based on feedback received from stakeholders, WD developed new priorities going forward: innovation; skills development and training; Aboriginal economic growth; maximizing the ability of western Canadian businesses to capitalize on federal defence procurement; trade and investment; and modernization of the WCBSN. In addition to addressing Western Canada's particular challenges and helping to seize the region's unique opportunities, these priorities are well aligned with the Government of Canada's economic agenda and priorities with respect to innovation, entrepreneurship, trade, responsible resource development and federal defence procurement.

WD's priorities allow the department to quickly identify and act upon emerging issues relevant to Western Canada. For example, WD and other Regional Development Agencies (RDA) provided regional perspectives to inform the development of the Government's Defence Procurement Strategy in order to maximize the opportunities for western Canadian SMEs to benefit from federal defence procurement.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Programme 1.3 : Politique, représentation et coordination

Description

Le programme Politique, représentation et coordination appuie la défense des intérêts de l'Ouest canadien par le biais de stratégies, de politiques et de programmes efficaces qui répondent aux besoins de développement économique de cette région, et par l'établissement de relations de collaboration avec les principaux intervenants. Les paiements de transfert à l'appui de ce programme sont effectués aux termes du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest.

Ressources financières budgétaires (dollars)
Budget principal des dépenses
2013-2014
Dépenses prévues
2013-2014
Autorisations totales pouvant être utilisées
2013-2014
Dépenses réelles
(autorisations utilisées)
2013-2014
Écart
(dépenses réelles moins dépenses prévues)
2013-2014
7 113 497 8 613 497 9 045 067 9 306 314 692 817

Ressources humaines (ETP)
Prévu
2013-2014
Réel
2013-2014
Écart
(nombre réel moins nombre prévu)
2013-2014
52 68 16

Nota : Les dépenses réelles et l'utilisation des ETP pour ce programme ont dépassé ce qui était prévu en raison du réalignement des coûts associés. DEO a effectué un examen en 2013-2014 suivant les lignes directrices du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor sur l'enregistrement et la communication des dépenses rattachées aux services internes, ce qui a eu un effet tant sur les dépenses que sur les ETP du programme Politique, représentation et coordination.

Résultats du rendement
Résultats attendus Indicateurs de rendement Cibles Résultats réels
Politiques qui renforcent l'économie de l'Ouest canadien Pourcentage d'informateurs clés considérant que les activités de DEO mettent en place des politiques appuyant le développement économique de l'Ouest canadien 90 % 82.7 %[26]
Programmes qui renforcent l'économie de l'Ouest canadien Pourcentage d'informateurs clés considérant que les activités de DEO mettent en place des programmes appuyant le développement économique de l'Ouest canadien 90 % 87 %[27]

Analyse du rendement et leçons retenues

DEO retouche continuellement et recentre son programme Politique, représentation et coordination de manière à répondre aux priorités changeantes des Canadiens de l'Ouest. Par la recherche et l'analyse, de même que par l'engagement auprès des principaux intervenants, DEO s'emploie à faire en sorte que les priorités soient centrées sur les besoins propres au milieu d'affaires de l'Ouest canadien. Les résultats de l'enquête menée en mars 2014 par DEO sur le programme Politique, représentation et coordination ont fait ressortir le besoin d'améliorer la communication et de mieux informer les intervenants au sujet des activités du Ministère et de ses histoires de réussite. 

À l'automne 2013, DEO a mobilisé les principaux intervenants dans l'Ouest canadien en vue de solliciter leur rétroaction sur les enjeux, les défis, les occasions et les priorités de l'économie de la région. À la suite de cette rétroaction, DEO s'est donné de nouvelles priorités : l'innovation; le développement des compétences et la formation; le développement économique des Autochtones; la capacité des entreprises de l'Ouest canadien à profiter des marchés de défense du gouvernement fédéral; le commerce et l'investissement; et la revitalisation du RSEOC. Ces priorités s'inscrivent tout à fait dans le programme et les priorités économiques du gouvernement du Canada au regard de l'innovation, de l'entrepreneuriat, du commerce, du développement responsable des ressources et des marchés de défense en plus de s'attaquer aux défis particuliers de l'Ouest canadien et d'aider à saisir les occasions uniques de la région.

DEO s'est fixé des priorités de nature à lui permettre de relever rapidement les problèmes qui se présentent dans l'Ouest canadien et d'agir en conséquence. DEO et d'autres organismes de développement régional ont par exemple exprimé le point de vue régional aux fins du développement de la stratégie d'approvisionnement en matière de défense du gouvernement afin de maximiser les chances des PME de l'Ouest du Canada de profiter des marchés de défense du gouvernement fédéral.