Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Organizational Context

Raison d'être

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) was established in 1988 to promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation. The Minister of Health, supported by the Minister of State (Western Economic Diversification), is responsible for this organization.

As the department responsible for regional development in Western Canada, WD develops and supports economic policies, programs and activities to promote economic growth throughout Western Canada.

Responsibilities

Our Vision

To be leaders in creating a more diversified western Canadian economy that has strong, competitive and innovative businesses and communities.

WD's mandate, derived from the Western Economic Diversification Act, is to develop and diversify the western Canadian economy. This broad mandate allows the department to implement diverse programs and initiatives across the West to help western Canadians create strong, competitive and innovative businesses and communities.

With offices in each western province and its headquarters in Edmonton, WD provides a strong federal presence to promote economic development in the West. Its western base has enabled the department to foster extensive partnerships across Western Canada with business and community organizations, research and academic institutions, Aboriginal groups as well as provincial and municipal governments.

An important contributor to a prosperous western Canadian economy, WD helps build on the West's traditional economic strengths while supporting the transition to a more diverse, modern economy.

 

These connections enable the department to identify and support economic opportunities in the West and to leverage its investments to benefit the western Canadian economy. In addition, through its strong connections with federal departments across Canada and its office in Ottawa, WD ensures that western interests and perspectives are reflected in national decision-making.

WD focuses its activities in three program areas:

Launched in October 2013, the Western Innovation (WINN) Initiative helps western-based SMEs bring innovative technology-based products, processes and services to market.

Business Development and Innovation: WD helps small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) develop and grow, create jobs, expand their markets, increase their exports and become more innovative and productive. The department assists SMEs with international business engagement and works to attract investment to the region, as well as assist western Canadian SMEs to access opportunities linked to government procurement. Further, WD promotes the development and growth of the knowledge-based economy by building innovation capacity and supporting the commercialization of new knowledge-based products, processes and services.

Community Economic Growth: WD helps communities sustain their local economies and adjust to changing economic circumstances through departmental programs and by delivering national initiatives on behalf of the Government of Canada in Western Canada. WD also supports community-based organizations that provide western entrepreneurs with the information, training and loans they need to start and grow their businesses.

Policy, Advocacy and Coordination: WD identifies opportunities to strengthen the western Canadian economy and coordinate economic development activities, policies and programs across the West. WD works to build strategic relationships with key decision makers across Canada and works with western Canadian industry on defence-related procurement opportunities.

WD initiated the Western Diversification Program (WDP) Call for Proposals (CFP) process to enhance responsiveness to economic trends and industry needs and ongoing alignment with Government of Canada priorities.

Utilizing the department's flexibility and ability to respond quickly to the priorities and needs of the West, WD has continued to deliver national initiatives on behalf of the federal government in Western Canada. These include the Community Infrastructure Improvement Fund (CIIF) under Canada's Economic Action Plan (EAP), programming to upgrade and expand western Canadian infrastructure, as well as the Economic Development Initiative aimed at supporting businesses and economic development in western Canadian Francophone communities.

WD is an important contributor to a prosperous western Canadian economy and works to build on the West's traditional economic strengths while supporting a more diverse economy.

Strategic Outcome and Program Alignment Architecture

The Program Alignment Architecture (PAA) provides an overview of how a department's programs and activities are aligned and how their expected results are organized to contribute to achieving the department's strategic outcome. In 2013–14, WD implemented a new, streamlined PAA, which enabled the department to strengthen the capacity to evaluate outcomes and results and to enhance management capacity to allocate resources.

These programs, comprising the department's PAA, help ensure that Western Canada continues to make a strong contribution to Canada's economic success.

 

Strategic Outcome: A growing and diversified western Canadian economy

1.1 Program: Business Development and Innovation

  • 1.1.1 Sub-Program: Trade, Investment and Market Access
  • 1.1.2 Sub-Program: Business Productivity and Growth
  • 1.1.3 Sub-Program: Innovation Capacity Building
  • 1.1.4 Sub-Program: Technology Commercialization

1.2 Program: Community Economic Growth

  • 1.2.1 Sub-Program: Infrastructure Programming
  • 1.2.2 Sub-Program: Community Development
  • 1.2.3 Sub-Program: Community Futures Program
  • 1.2.4 Sub-Program: Targeted Economic Initiatives

1.3 Program: Policy, Advocacy and Coordination

  • 1.3.1 Sub-Program: Advocacy and Coordination
  • 1.3.2 Sub-Program: Economic Analysis

Internal Services

 

Organizational Priorities

In the fall of 2013, WD undertook broad engagement with key stakeholders across Western Canada in order to gain feedback on western Canadian economic issues, challenges, opportunities and priorities. Based on an analysis of opportunities for economic growth and diversification and stakeholders' feedback, WD implemented six new priorities: innovation; skills development and training; Aboriginal economic growth; maximizing the ability of western Canadian businesses to capitalize on federal defence procurement opportunities; trade and investment; and revitalization of the Western Canada Business Service Network[2](WCBSN). This approach will ensure that the department focuses its resources on areas that have the greatest impact on the western Canadian economy. These six new priorities are included in the 2014–15 Report on Plans and Priorities[3] (RPP) as departmental priorities for the next fiscal year.

Although these priorities include new areas of focus, particularly in skills development and Aboriginal economic growth, the focus on innovation, trade and investment, federal defence procurement and the WCBSN have been priorities for the department in recent years.

In 2013–14, WD focused on the five organizational priorities below as outlined in the 2013–14 RPP. These key areas provide greater clarity and focus for the department in pursuing its strategic outcome of a growing and diversified western Canadian economy.

 

Organizational Priorities
Priority Type[4] Program(s)

Technology Commercialization

Ongoing

Business Development and Innovation

Summary of Progress
  • WD contributed to 12 new projects in support of this priority area, totaling $24.3 million, to facilitate technology commercialization in emerging sectors in Western Canada.
     
  • Further to its announcement in the 2012 Federal Budget, WD launched WINN[5] to assist SMEs in the commercialization of new innovative products, processes and services for domestic and international markets, with a particular focus on creating market-ready technologies. A comprehensive outreach campaign resulted in WD receiving 391 applications through the first intake. The first round of investments was announced in June 2014.
Trade and Investment Ongoing Business Development and Innovation
Summary of Progress
  • WD contributed to 16 new projects in support of this priority area, totaling $7.4 million. These projects will support western Canadian engagement in international markets, facilitate connections between western Canadian businesses and multinational aerospace and defence companies, promote western Canadian products, services and technologies abroad and attract foreign investment to Western Canada.
Business Productivity and Growth Ongoing Business Development and Innovation, and Community Economic Growth
Summary of Progress
  • WD contributed to 18 new projects in support of this priority area, totaling $12.4 million. These projects supported SMEs to create jobs, improve their business processes, adopt new technologies and gain access to skilled labour.
     
  • The WCBSN provided a total of 242,878 business information, advisory and training services to SMEs in rural and urban areas, as well as $82.0 million in loans that leveraged an additional $97.6 million. The impacts included 5,507 jobs created or maintained through lending; 2,239 jobs created or maintained through business services; 1,304 businesses created, maintained or expanded through lending; and 2,058 businesses created, maintained or expanded through business services. In addition, the Canada Business Service Centres in SK and MB were transitioned to not-for-profit models (agreements effective April 1, 2014) for consistency across the West.
Advancing the Interests of Western Canada Previously Committed to Policy, Advocacy and Coordination
Summary of Progress
  • WD held a series of innovation-focused roundtables across Western Canada which engaged western Canadian industry, associations, researchers and academia on the advancement of innovation in Western Canada. These roundtables helped WD to bring western Canadian perspectives to national innovation policy making, enhanced departmental programs, policies and advocacy activities related to innovation, strengthened collaboration between key stakeholders and reinforced WD's role as a convener and pathfinder.
     
  • WD represented western interests in the development of national policies and strategies such as the federal Defence Procurement Strategy[6] and the Global Markets Action Plan.[7]
     
  • WD enhanced business connections between SMEs and major international aerospace and defence companies through activities such as those outlined in Western Canada's Shipbuilding Action Plan,[8] including the Western Canada Shipbuilding Symposium.[9]
     
  • WD facilitated business development opportunities and access to international markets by leveraging Canada's Industrial and Regional Benefits policy[10] to respond to 24 supplier development requests and to conduct five supplier development missions and events on behalf of international aerospace and defence firms.
     
  • WD supported the work of the Special Federal Representative on West Coast Energy Infrastructure by contributing to interdepartmental engagement and policy discussions.
Managing in a Changing Environment Previously Committed to All programs
Summary of Progress
  • The Deputy Minister led a staff engagement process to develop a vision for the Blueprint 2020 initiative[11] that focused on strengthening the workplace, supporting employee development and enhancing programs and service offerings to sustain a culture of continuous learning that is innovative, stimulating and informative.
     
  • WD completed centralization of its accounting operations to the Saskatoon office and its procurement functions to the Edmonton office to enhance efficiency. The department is also implementing a lifecycle approach to managing its Grants and Contributions (G&C) projects; this involves having the same staff member assigned to a project from conception to completion, ensuring better continuity in developing and monitoring funded projects.
     
  • WD streamlined its business processes by maximizing the use of technology. Changes were introduced, in particular WINN and the Call for Proposals, to improve service delivery and to manage resources more efficiently.
     
  • WD collaborated with Canadian Heritage to find a common CRM solution for the Regional Development Agencies (RDA) to improve program delivery efficiency and services. The department also collaborated with other RDAs on the Official Languages Twinning Program and Common Human Resources Business Practices.
     
  • WD implemented the streamlined PAA and the associated Performance Measurement Framework (PMF). The new, streamlined PAA eliminates overlap and duplication, assists the department in telling its performance story and enhances the capacity to evaluate outcomes and results of WD programming.

 

Risk Analysis

Key Risks
Risk Risk Response Strategy Link to Program Alignment Architecture

Low rate of investment in research and development (R&D) and adoption of technologies by SMEs

  • Supported 28 projects with $86.0 million in total WD funding.[12]
  • Launched the WINN Initiative.
  • Business Development and Innovation

Small domestic market and increasing global competition

  • Supported 16 projects with $7.4 million in total WD funding.
  • Business Development and Innovation

Declining competitiveness and slow productivity growth of SMEs

  • Supported 18 projects with $12.4 million in total WD funding.
  • Business Development and Innovation

 

Organizational Context for Risks

Western Canada is a significant contributor to the overall Canadian economy. Home to about one-third of all Canadians, Western Canada's real gross domestic product accounted for 37 percent of Canada's economic output in 2012. The West accounted for 78,300 or 35 percent of the 223,500 net jobs created in Canada in 2013, and nearly 40 percent of Canada's exported goods. Western Canada has benefited from the growing global demand for commodities and the development of the mining and energy industries.

Despite its economic strengths, Western Canada faces a number of economic challenges including low rates of R&D, a small domestic market, increasing global competition, and slow productivity growth. These challenges are partially related to the region's traditional strengths in primary production, which tend to be less R&D intensive and pose a challenge for improving labour productivity. By pursuing new investments in priority areas, WD will work to respond to these external risks through the diversification and growth of the western Canadian economy.

To help address the low rate of investment in research and development and adoption of technologies by SMEs, the department launched the WINN Initiative in 2013–14. WINN supports SMEs in their efforts to commercialize innovative, technology-based products, processes and services.

WD also transitioned from a continuous application intake process and introduced a new Call for Proposals (CFP) model[13]for WDP.

Given WD's mandate, these responses demonstrate the department's ability to adapt and adjust to changes to the internal and external environment. Continuing to engage in effective risk management practices will strengthen the department's role in contributing to Western Canada's economic growth and prosperity.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Contexte organisationnel

Raison d'être

Établi en 1988, Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) a comme mandat de promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de cette région dans l'élaboration et la mise en œuvre des politiques, des programmes et des projets économiques nationaux. La ministre de la Santé, épaulée par la ministre d'État chargée de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, est responsable de l'organisation.

En tant que ministère fédéral chargé du développement régional dans l'Ouest canadien, DEO conçoit et soutient des politiques, des programmes et des activités économiques qui favorisent la croissance économique dans l'Ouest canadien.

Responsabilités

Notre vision

Être les maîtres d'œuvre de l'établissement d'une économie plus diversifiée dans l'Ouest canadien reposant sur des entreprises et des collectivités dynamiques, compétitives et novatrices.

Le mandat de DEO, qui est tiré de la Loi sur la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, consiste à soutenir le développement et la diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien. Ce vaste mandat permet au Ministère de mettre en place des initiatives et des programmes diversifiés visant à aider la population de l'Ouest canadien à mettre sur pied des entreprises et des collectivités dynamiques, compétitives et novatrices.

En tant que contributeur important à la prospérité de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, DEO aide la région à bâtir ses forces économiques traditionnelles tout en appuyant sa transition vers une économie plus moderne et plus diversifiée.

Grâce à ses bureaux opérant dans chaque province de l'Ouest et à son administration centrale à Edmonton, DEO représente efficacement le gouvernement fédéral pour promouvoir le développement économique dans l'Ouest canadien. La présence du Ministère dans l'Ouest lui a permis de favoriser l'établissement de partenariats importants avec des entreprises, des organismes communautaires, des établissements universitaires et de recherche, des groupes autochtones, ainsi que des gouvernements provinciaux et des administrations municipales dans tout l'Ouest canadien.

Ces relations permettent au Ministère de cerner et de soutenir les possibilités économiques dans l'Ouest et d'orienter ses investissements dans l'intérêt de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

En outre, grâce à ses liens solides avec les ministères fédéraux partout au Canada et son bureau à Ottawa, DEO s'assure que les intérêts et les points de vue de l'Ouest canadien sont pris en compte dans les décisions nationales.

DEO centre ses activités dans trois secteurs :

Lancée en octobre 2013, l'Initiative d'innovation dans l'Ouest (Initiative InnO) aide les PME de l'Ouest canadien à commercialiser des produits, des procédés et des services technologiques novateurs.

Développement des entreprises et innovation : DEO aide les petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) à se développer, à croître, à créer des emplois, à élargir leurs marchés, à augmenter leurs exportations et à devenir plus novatrices et plus productives. Le Ministère aide les PME dans le cadre de leurs activités internationales et s'efforce d'attirer des investissements dans la région et d'aider les PME de l'Ouest à accéder aux possibilités de marchés publics. De plus, DEO favorise le développement et la croissance de l'économie du savoir en renforçant les capacités d'innovation et en appuyant la commercialisation de nouveaux produits, procédés et services fondés sur le savoir.

Croissance économique des collectivités : DEO aide les collectivités à soutenir leurs économies locales et à s'adapter aux situations économiques changeantes par l'entremise des programmes ministériels et par la mise en œuvre d'initiatives nationales, au nom du gouvernement fédéral, dans l'Ouest canadien. DEO aide également les organisations communautaires qui fournissent aux entrepreneurs de cette région les renseignements, la formation et les prêts dont ceux-ci ont besoin pour lancer et faire croître leur entreprise.

DEO a lancé le processus d'appels de propositions du Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest (PDEO) pour renforcer la capacité de réaction aux tendances économiques et aux besoins de l'industrie et favoriser l'alignement continu avec les priorités du gouvernement du Canada.

Politique, représentation et coordination : DEO trouve des occasions de renforcer l'économie de l'Ouest canadien et de coordonner des activités, des politiques et des programmes de développement économique dans cette région. DEO s'efforce d'établir des relations stratégiques avec d'importants décideurs au Canada et collabore avec l'industrie de l'Ouest canadien en vue de l'obtention de contrats d'approvisionnement fédéraux relatifs à la défense.

Grâce à la souplesse du Ministère et à sa capacité de répondre rapidement aux priorités et aux besoins de l'Ouest canadien, DEO a continué de mettre en œuvre des initiatives nationales au nom du gouvernement fédéral dans l'Ouest canadien. Ces initiatives comprennent le Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (FAIC), dans le cadre du Plan d'action économique du Canada (PAE), des programmes visant la mise à niveau et l'élargissement de l'infrastructure dans l'Ouest canadien, ainsi que l'Initiative de développement économique dont l'objectif est d'appuyer les entreprises et de favoriser le développement économique dans les collectivités francophones de l'Ouest canadien.

DEO contribue de façon importante à la prospérité de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, et s'emploie à aider la région de l'Ouest à mettre à profit ses forces économiques traditionnelles tout en appuyant une économie plus diversifiée.

Résultat stratégique et architecture d'alignement des programmes

L'architecture d'alignement des programmes (AAP) expose comment les programmes et les activités d'un ministère sont alignés et comment les résultats attendus sont organisés de manière à contribuer à l'atteinte du ou des résultats stratégiques du ministère. En 2013-2014, DEO a mis en œuvre une nouvelle version rationalisée de son AAP, qui lui a permis de renforcer sa capacité d'évaluer les résultats et d'accroître la capacité de la direction d'affecter les ressources.

Ces programmes, qui forment l'AAP de DEO, visent à faire en sorte que l'Ouest canadien contribue fortement à la réussite économique du Canada.

Résultat stratégique : Une économie diversifiée et en croissance dans l'Ouest canadien

1.1  Programme : Développement des entreprises et innovation

  • 1.1.1  Sous-programme : Commerce, investissement et accès aux marchés
  • 1.1.2  Sous-programme : Productivité et croissance des entreprises
  • 1.1.3  Sous-programme : Constitution des capacités en matière d'innovation
  • 1.1.4  Sous-programme : Commercialisation de la technologie

1.2  Programme  : Croissance économique des collectivités

  • 1.2.1  Sous-programme : Programmes d'infrastructure
  • 1.2.2  Sous-programme : Développement des collectivités
  • 1.2.3  Sous-programme : Programme de développement des collectivités
  • 1.2.4  Sous-programme : Initiatives économiques ciblées

1.3  Programme : Politique, représentation et coordination

  • 1.3.1  Sous-programme : Représentation et coordination
  • 1.3.2  Sous-programme : Analyse économique

Services internes

Priorités organisationnelles

À l'automne 2013, afin d'obtenir de la rétroaction à l'égard des défis, des possibilités, des priorités et des questions économiques touchant l'Ouest canadien, DEO a entrepris un vaste exercice de mobilisation des principaux intervenants dans l'Ouest canadien. D'après une analyse des possibilités de croissance et de diversification économiques, ainsi que des commentaires des intervenants, DEO a établi six nouvelles priorités : innovation; développement des compétences et formation; développement économique des Autochtones; la capacité des entreprises de l'Ouest canadien à profiter des marchés de défense du gouvernement fédéral; le commerce et l'investissement; commerce et investissement; et revitalisation du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien[2] (RSEOC). Grâce à cette approche, le Ministère verra à consacrer ses ressources à des secteurs qui ont la plus grande incidence sur l'économie de l'Ouest canadien. Ces six nouvelles priorités sont présentées dans le Rapport sur les plans et priorités (RPP) de 2014-2015[3], à titre de priorités ministérielles pour le prochain exercice financier.

Même si ces priorités comprennent de nouveaux secteurs d'intérêt, soit le développement des compétences et le développement économique des Autochtones, l'innovation, le commerce et l'investissement, les marchés de défense du gouvernement fédéral et le RSEOC ont été des priorités du Ministère au cours des dernières années. 

En 2013-2014, DEO a concentré ses efforts sur les cinq priorités organisationnelles présentées ci-dessous et décrites dans le RPP de 2013-2014. Ces secteurs clés donnent au Ministère plus de clarté et l'aide à axer ses efforts sur la réalisation de son résultat stratégique qui consiste à bâtir une économie diversifiée et en croissance dans l'Ouest canadien.

Priorités organisationelles
Priorité Type[4] Programme(s)
Commercialisation de la technologie Permanente Développement des entreprises et innovation
Sommaire des progrès
  • DEO a appuyé 12 nouveaux projets dans ce domaine prioritaire, pour un coût total de 24,3 millions de dollars, en vue de faciliter la commercialisation de la technologie dans les secteurs émergents de l'Ouest canadien.

  • Après avoir fait son annonce dans le budget fédéral de 2012, DEO a lancé l'Initiative InnO[5] afin d'aider les PME au chapitre de la commercialisation de nouveaux services, procédés et produits de technologie à l'intention des marchés nationaux et internationaux, en particulier en vue de la création de technologies prêtes à être commercialisées. À la suite d'une grande campagne de sensibilisation, DEO a reçu 391 demandes dans le cadre du premier cycle de réception des demandes. La première série d'investissements a été annoncée en juin 2014.
Commerce et investissement Permanente Développement des entreprises et innovation
Sommaire des progrès
  • DEO a appuyé 16 nouveaux projets dans ce domaine prioritaire, dont le coût total est de 7,4 millions de dollars. Ces projets appuieront l'engagement de l'Ouest canadien au sein des marchés internationaux, faciliteront l'établissement de relations entre les entreprises de l'Ouest et les multinationales dans le domaine de l'aérospatiale et de la défense, feront la promotion des produits, des services et des technologies de l'Ouest canadien à l'échelle internationale, et attireront les investissements étrangers dans l'Ouest canadien.
Productivité et croissance des entreprises Permanente Développement des entreprises et innovation et Croissance économique des collectivités
Sommaire des progrès
  • DEO a appuyé 18 nouveaux projets dans ce domaine prioritaire, à hauteur de 12,4 millions de dollars. Ces projets ont aidé les PME à créer des emplois, à améliorer leurs processus opérationnels, à adopter de nouvelles technologies et à améliorer l'accès à une main-d'œuvre qualifiée.

  • Le RSEOC a donné un total de 242 878 services sous forme de renseignements opérationnels, de consultation et de formation à des PME de zones rurales et urbaines, en plus d'octroyer des prêts totalisant 82,0 millions de dollars, ce qui a permis de recueillir 97,6 millions de dollars par effet de levier. Ces services ont produit les retombées suivantes : 5 507 emplois ont été créés ou conservés grâce à des prêts; 2 239 emplois ont été créés ou conservés grâce à la prestation de services aux entreprises; 1 304 entreprises ont été créées, maintenues ou agrandies grâce à des prêts; et 2 058 entreprises ont été créées, maintenues ou agrandies grâce à la prestation de services aux entreprises. En outre, les centres de services aux entreprises du Canada en Saskatchewan et au Manitoba sont devenus des modèles sans but lucratif en vue d'assurer l'uniformité dans toute la région de l'Ouest canadien. (Les ententes ont pris effet le 1er avril 2014.)
Promotion des intérêts de l'Ouest canadien Déjà établie Politique, représentation et coordination
Sommaire des progrès
  • DEO a tenu une série de tables rondes axées sur l'innovation dans l'Ouest canadien auxquelles ont participé des intervenants de l'industrie, ainsi que des associations, des chercheurs et des universitaires pour faire la promotion de l'innovation dans l'Ouest. Grâce à ces tables rondes, DEO a fait en sorte que les points de vue de l'Ouest canadien soient inscrits dans la politique nationale sur l'innovation. Elles ont permis aussi d'améliorer les programmes, les politiques et les activités de représentation du Ministère portant sur l'innovation, de pousser la collaboration entre les principaux intervenants et de renforcer le rôle de facilitateur et d'éclaireur du Ministère.

  • DEO a représenté les intérêts de l'Ouest canadien dans l'élaboration de politiques et de stratégies nationales, telles que la Stratégie d'approvisionnement en matière de defense[6] et le Plan d'action sur les marchés mondiaux.[7] 

  • DEO a renforcé les relations commerciales entre les PME et les principales entreprises au sein de l'industrie internationale de l'aérospatiale et de la défense à l'aide d'activités, telles que celles énoncées dans le Plan d'action pour la construction navale dans l'Ouest canadien,[8] notamment le Symposium sur la construction navale de l'Ouest canadien.[9]

  • DEO a facilité les occasions de développement des entreprises et l'accès aux marchés internationaux en s'appuyant sur la Politique des retombées industrielles et régionales du Canada[10] pour répondre à 24 demandes de développement des fournisseurs et pour diriger cinq missions et événements de développement des fournisseurs au nom de multinationales dans le domaine de l'aérospatiale et de la défense.

  • DEO a appuyé les travaux du représentant spécial du gouvernement fédéral sur l'infrastructure énergétique de la côte ouest en participant aux séances de mobilisation et aux discussions sur la politique interministérielles.
Gestion dans un environnement en évolution Déjà établie Tous les programmes
Sommaire des progrès
  • La sous-ministre a dirigé un processus de mobilisation du personnel afin d'établir une vision ministérielle pour l'initiative Objectif 2020[11] qui visait à renforcer le milieu de travail, à appuyer le perfectionnement des employés et à améliorer les offres de programmes et de services dans le but de favoriser une culture d'apprentissage continu novatrice, stimulante et informative.

  • DEO a terminé le processus de centralisation de ses opérations comptables au bureau de Saskatoon et des fonctions d'approvisionnement au bureau d'Edmonton dans un souci d'efficacité. Le Ministère est à mettre en place une approche de gestion de ses projets de subventions et de contributions fondée sur le cycle de vie. Suivant cette approche visant à assurer une meilleure continuité dans l'élaboration et le suivi des projets financés, un projet est confié du début à la fin au même membre du personnel.

  • DEO a rationalisé ses processus opérationnels en optimisant l'utilisation de la technologie. Des changements ont été introduits, notamment la mise en œuvre de l'Initiative InnO et l'appel de propositions, afin d'offrir de meilleurs services et de gérer plus efficacement les ressources.

  • DEO a collaboré avec Patrimoine canadien à la recherche d'une solution de gestion des relations avec la clientèle (GRC) commune pour les organismes de développement régional (ODR) dans le but d'améliorer l'efficacité de la prestation des services et des programmes offerts aux clients. Le Ministère a également collaboré avec d'autres ODR dans le cadre du Programme de jumelage linguistique et du Processus opérationnel commun des ressources humaines.

  • DEO a mis en œuvre la version rationalisée de l'architecture d'alignement des programmes (AAP) et le Cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) connexe. La nouvelle AAP élimine les chevauchements et les recoupements et augmente la capacité d'évaluer les résultats des programmes de DEO. 

Analyse des risques

Principaux risques
Risque Stratégie d'atténuation du risque Lien à l'architecture d'alignement des programmes
Faible taux d'investissement dans le domaine de la recherche-développement (R-D) et d'adoption des technologies par les PME
  • DEO a appuyé 28 projets dans le cadre du PDEO, à hauteur de 86 millions de dollars.[12]
  • DEO a lancé l'Initiative InnO.
  • Développement des entreprises et innovation
Petit marché intérieur et intensification de la concurrence mondiale
  • DEO a appuyé 16 projets à hauteur de 7,4 millions de dollars.
  • Développement des entreprises et innovation

Chute de la compétitivité et faible croissance de la productivité des PME

  • DEO a appuyé 18 projets à hauteur de 12,4 millions de dollars.
  • Développement des entreprises et innovation

Contexte organisationnel des risques

L'Ouest canadien contribue de façon importante à l'économie canadienne dans son ensemble. L'Ouest canadien, qui compte environ un tiers de l'ensemble de la population du Canada, a généré en 2012 un produit intérieur brut réel représentant 37 % de la production économique du Canada. On peut lui attribuer la création de 78 300 des 223 500 emplois au Canada en 2013, soit 35 % des emplois nets créés au pays et près de 40 % des marchandises exportées. L'Ouest canadien a tiré parti de l'augmentation de la demande mondiale de produits de base et du développement des industries minières et énergétiques.

Malgré ses forces économiques, l'Ouest canadien est confronté à des défis économiques – à savoir le faible taux d'investissement dans le domaine de la recherche-développement (R-D), le petit marché intérieur, l'intensification de la concurrence mondiale et la faible croissance de la productivité. Ces défis sont en partie liés aux forces traditionnelles de la région dans le secteur de la production de l'industrie primaire, lequel est moins axé sur la recherche-développement. Ce genre de production présente un obstacle à l'amélioration de la productivité de la main-d'œuvre. En cherchant de nouveaux investissements dans les domaines prioritaires, DEO s'efforcera de répondre à ces risques externes par le biais de la diversification et de la croissance de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.

En 2013-2014, afin de remédier au faible taux d'investissement dans le domaine de la R-D et d'adoption des technologies par les PME, le Ministère a mis en œuvre l'Initiative InnO. Cette dernière vient appuyer les PME dans leurs efforts de commercialisation de produits, de services et de procédés innovateurs et axés sur la technologie.

DEO a également passé d'un modèle de réception de propositions continue à un modèle d'appel de propositions[13] pour le Programme de diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest  (PDEO).

Compte tenu du mandat de DEO, ces stratégies d'intervention témoignent de la capacité du Ministère à s'adapter et à s'ajuster à l'évolution des contextes interne et externe. En continuant d'adopter des pratiques de gestion des risques efficaces, le Ministère arrivera à renforcer son rôle à titre de contributeur à la croissance et à la prospérité de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien.