Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Administration of the Act

Access to Information and Privacy Unit

Western Economic Diversification Canada’s (WD) Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Unit is located in Edmonton, Alberta. The unit oversees the administration of the Act, and is part of the Finance and Corporate Management Directorate. The ATIP Coordinator (Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management) is supported by the Deputy Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator (Manager, Corporate Administration), and one full-time ATIP Officer.

These individuals are accountable for the development, coordination and implementation of effective policies, guidelines, systems and procedures to ensure the Minister’s responsibilities under the Act are met, and to enable the monitoring and timely processing and proper disclosure of information to our clients.

The primary responsibilities of WD’s ATIP Unit include:

  • processing requests in accordance with the Privacy Act;
  • responding to consultations submitted by other federal institutions on WD records being considered for release;
  • developing and maintaining privacy policies, procedures and guidelines to ensure the Act is respected by staff;
  • promoting awareness of the Act within the department to ensure staff is aware of the obligations imposed by the legislation;
  • preparing annual reports to Parliament and other statutory requirements, such as annual statistical reports and the department’s Info Source chapter, as well as any material that may be required by central agencies;
  • representing WD in dealings with the Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS), the Privacy Commissioner of Canada and other federal organisations regarding the application of the Act as it relates to WD;
  • monitoring compliance with the Act, its regulations as well as relevant procedures and policies; and
  • providing ongoing advice and guidance to senior management and staff on information management and privacy legislation.

Wherever possible, the ATIP Unit will coordinate records retrieval with the subject experts only depending on the nature of the request. In the event the subject experts are unknown, Regional ATIP Liaison Officers (RALOs) will contact and identify the appropriate subject experts, coordinate retrieval of records responding to personal information requests, and liaise between the ATIP Unit and regional staff concerning enquiries. RALOs are located in each of WD’s regional offices and corporate business units.

Requests for personal information, if received, are monitoring closely by the ATIP Unit. No additional reporting or monitoring is conducted by other departmental officials due to the confidential nature of these requests.

Delegation of Authority

In accordance with section 73 of the Privacy Act, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health and Minister of Western Economic Diversification delegated her full powers, authorities and responsibilities to the Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management (ATIP Coordinator) and Manager, Corporate Administration (Deputy ATIP Coordinator). The delegation order issued on September 30, 2013, is attached in Annex A.

Departmental Policies and Procedures

There were no changes made to WD’s Privacy Protection policy suite, including the Privacy Protection Procedures Manual, during the 2013-2014 fiscal year as a result of changes in TBS policies or directives, or changes as result of issues raised by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner. Adjustments were made to forms used by Human Resources to include appropriate privacy notices as a result of an audit on the protection of personal information conducted by the Office of the Comptroller General of Canada.

Education, Training and Awareness

Staff training and awareness activities include:

  • The ATIP Coordinator, Deputy ATIP Coordinator and ATIP Officer provide ongoing advice on privacy issues to RALOs and staff to increase awareness of the Act, including guidance on how the department processes requests for personal information and Privacy Impact Assessments (PIA).
     
  • A Privacy Awareness and Information Security presentation was made to WD’s Executive Committee on April 3, 2013, including an overview of the Privacy Act, employee responsibilities for protecting personal information, WD’s mitigation measures for protecting personal information, and document handling (specifically pertaining to personal information). It also included information on departmental policies and procedures established for the protection of privacy, privacy breaches, privacy impact assessments and security incidents.
     
  • An Access to Information and Privacy Awareness Session was conducted on November 4, 2013, for departmental officials. In total, 37 project officers and managers attended the session.
Classification Level # of Participants
CO-01 5
CO-02 21
CO-03 5
EC-06 3
EX-01 1
EX-02 2
  • A training session was conducted on March 20, 2014, for recently appointed Regional ATIP Liaison Officers (RALOs) to discuss the processes utilized by the department when requests for personal information are received. Five RALOs and two back-ups participated in the meeting.
Classification Level # of Participants
AS-03 1
CO-01 1
CO-03 2
CR-04 1
FI-02 1
FI-03 1
  • Access and privacy tips, entitled “The ATIP Eye”, are sent to WD staff via e-mail notices and posted on the department’s intranet site. The tips provide information updates and advice on frequently asked questions, specific exemptions, or areas where the department might improve on its obligations under the Act in 2013–2014, topics included:
     
    • Access and Privacy Policy Suite
       
    • ATIP Learning Opportunities
       
  • WD promoted Data Privacy Day (January 28, 2014) via email to all staff as a news bulletin on the department's intranet site.
     
  • The department maintains an Access to Information and Privacy presence on its intranet site that includes policies, procedures, training and awareness presentations, relevant links to useful sites related to access and privacy, and contact information, as well as "The ATIP Eye" tips.

The Deputy ATIP Coordinator and ATIP Officer attended the Access and Privacy Conference held in Edmonton in June 2013. The Deputy ATIP Coordinator attended the TBS ATIP Coordinators and Practitioners meetings in September 2013. The ATIP Officer participated via teleconference in the November 2013 TBS meetings, which included learning about privacy breaches and institutional privacy action plans, and participated in the Privacy Impact Assessment session lead by the Office of the Privacy Commissioner.

Info Source

WD made minimal changes to its 2013 Info Source chapter which is now published on the department’s public website.

The department did not submit any new Personal Information Banks (PIB) to TBS in 2013-2014.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Administration de la Loi

Section de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Les bureaux de la Section de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) sont situés à Edmonton, en Alberta. La Section supervise l’application de la Loi et fait partie de la Direction générale des finances et de la gestion ministérielle. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP (directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle) est appuyé par le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP (gestionnaire, Administration intégrée) et par un agent de l’AIPRP à plein temps.

Ces personnes sont responsables de l’élaboration, de la coordination et de la mise en œuvre de politiques, de lignes directrices, de systèmes et de procédures efficaces visant à faire en sorte que la ministre puisse assumer ses responsabilités aux termes de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et assurer le suivi des activités, le traitement en temps opportun et la divulgation appropriée de l’information à nos clients.

Les principales responsabilités de la Section de l’AIPRP de DEO consistent à :

  • traiter les demandes conformément à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels;
  • répondre aux consultations soumises par d’autres institutions fédérales au sujet des documents de DEO susceptibles d’être divulgués;
  • élaborer et mettre en œuvre des politiques, des procédures et des lignes directrices de protection des renseignements personnels de sorte que la Loi soit respectée par le personnel;
  • faire connaître la Loi au sein de DEO afin que le personnel soit au courant des obligations imposées par la législation;
  • élaborer des rapports annuels au Parlement et d’autres documents prévus par la Loi, comme les rapports annuels de données statistiques et le chapitre d’Info Source de DEO, ainsi que tout autre document pouvant être demandé par les organismes centraux;
  • représenter DEO dans les rapports avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT) du Canada, le commissaire à la protection de la vie privée du Canada et les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux en ce qui concerne l’application de la Loi au sein de DEO;
  • surveiller la conformité à la Loi, à son règlement d’application, ainsi qu’aux politiques et procédures pertinentes;
  • fournir de façon continue des conseils et de l’encadrement aux cadres supérieurs et aux employés sur la gestion de l’information et la législation en matière de protection des renseignements personnels.

Lorsque possible, la Section de l’AIPRP coordonnera la recherche des documents uniquement avec les experts en fonction de la nature de la demande. Dans l’éventualité où les experts sont inconnus, les agents régionaux de liaison de l’AIPRP (ARLA) identifieront les experts appropriés, communiqueront avec ceux-ci, coordonneront la recherche des documents faisant l’objet de demandes relatives aux renseignements personnels et assureront la liaison entre la Section de l’AIPRP et le personnel des régions en ce qui concerne les demandes. Un ARLA est en poste dans chacun des bureaux régionaux de DEO et dans chacune de ses unités opérationnelles.

Les demandes de renseignements personnels reçues font l’objet d’un suivi étroit par la Section de l’AIPRP. Aucune activité de surveillance ou de production de rapport additionnel n’est réalisée par d’autres fonctionnaires du Ministère en raison de la nature confidentielle de ces demandes.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Conformément à l’article 73 de la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels, l’honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre de la Santé et ministre de la Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien, a délégué l’intégralité de ses pouvoirs et de ses responsabilités au directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle (coordonnateur de l’AIPRP), et au gestionnaire, Administration intégrée (coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP). Une copie de l’ordonnance de délégation émise le 30 septembre 2013 est fournie à l’annexe A.

Politiques et procédures ministérielles

Au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, aucun changement n’a été apporté à l’ensemble de politiques sur la protection des renseignements personnels de DEO, ni au Manuel des procédures relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels, à la suite des modifications apportées aux politiques ou directives du SCT ou des questions soulevées par le Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Des modifications ont été apportées aux formulaires utilisés par les Ressources humaines afin d’y inclure les avis de confidentialité requis à la suite de la vérification de la protection des renseignements personnels réalisée par le Bureau du contrôleur général.

Apprentissage, formation et sensibilisation

Les activités de formation et de sensibilisation auxquelles les employés ont participé comprennent les suivantes :

  • Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP, le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP ainsi que l’agent de l’AIPRP ont fourni, de façon continue, des conseils sur les questions relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels aux ARLA et aux employés afin d’accroître leur sensibilisation à la Loi. Ils ont notamment fourni des conseils quant au traitement des demandes de renseignements personnels par le Ministère et aux évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée.
     
  • Les membres du Comité exécutif de DEO ont assisté le 3 avril 2013 à une présentation sur la protection de la vie privée et la sécurité de l’information. Les thèmes suivants ont été abordés : Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels; responsabilités des employés en matière de protection des renseignements personnels; mesures d’atténuation mises en place par DEO pour protéger les renseignements personnels; manipulation des documents (en particulier ceux qui contiennent des renseignements personnels). La présentation incluait aussi de l’information sur les politiques et procédures ministérielles relatives à la protection des renseignements personnels, les atteintes à la vie privée, les évaluations des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée et les incidents de sécurité.
     
  • Une séance de sensibilisation sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels a eu lieu le 4 novembre 2013 pour les fonctionnaires du Ministère. Au total, 37 agents de projet et gestionnaires ont assisté à cette séance.
Niveau de classification Nombre de participants
CO-01 5
CO-02 21
CO-03 5
EC-06 3
EX-01 1
EX-02 2
  • Une séance de formation a été offerte le 20 mars 2014 aux ARLA récemment nommés afin de discuter des processus utilisés par le Ministère lors de la réception de demandes d'accès à des renseignements personnels. Cinq ARLA et deux remplaçants ont participé à cette rencontre.
Niveau de classification Nombre de participants
AS-03 1
CO-01 1
CO-03 2
CR-04 1
FI-02 1
FI-03 1
  • Les conseils sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels de la série Le regard de l’AIPRP sont envoyés au personnel de DEO sous forme d’avis par courriel et affichés sur le site intranet du Ministère. Ces conseils incluent des mises à jour, des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées ainsi que des informations sur des exceptions précises ou les domaines où le Ministère pourrait améliorer ses résultats relatifs à ses obligations en vertu de la Loi. En 2013-2014, les thèmes abordés ont inclus :
     
    • l'ensemble des politiques sur l'accès à l'information et la protection des renseignements personnels;
       
    • les possibilités d'apprentissage relatives à l'AIPRP.
       
  • DEO a souligné la Journée de la protection des données (28 janvier 2014) en envoyant un courriel à tous les employés et en affichant un bulletin de nouvelles à cet égard sur le site intranet du Ministère.
     
  • Une section du site intranet du ministère est également réservée à l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette section comprend les politiques et les procédures en matière d’AIPRP, les exposés de formation et de sensibilisation présentés par le passé, des liens vers des sites utiles, les coordonnées des personnes-ressources ainsi que les conseils de la série Le regard de l’AIPRP.

Le coordonnateur adjoint et l’agent de l’AIPRP ont assisté à la conférence sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels qui a eu lieu à Edmonton en juin 2013. Le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP a participé aux rencontres des coordonnateurs et des praticiens de l’AIPRP du SCT en septembre 2013. L’agent de l’AIPRP a participé par téléconférence aux rencontres du SCT de novembre 2013, lesquelles incluaient de la formation sur les atteintes à la vie privée et les plans d’action institutionnels en matière de protection des renseignements personnels, et a assisté à la séance sur l’évaluation des facteurs relatifs à la vie privée du Commissariat à la protection de la vie privée.

Info Source

DEO a apporté très peu de changements à son chapitre d’Info Source de 2013, lequel est affiché sur le site Internet du Ministère.

Le Ministère n’a soumis aucun nouveau fichier de renseignements personnels (FRP) au SCT en 2013-2014.