Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Administration of the Act

Access to Information and Privacy Unit

Western Economic Diversification Canada’s (WD) Access to Information and Privacy (ATIP) Unit is located in Edmonton, Alberta. The unit oversees the administration of the Act, and is part of the Finance and Corporate Management Directorate. The ATIP Coordinator (Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management) is supported by the Deputy Access to Information and Privacy Coordinator (Manager, Corporate Administration), and one full-time ATIP Officer.

These individuals are accountable for the development, coordination and implementation of effective policies, guidelines, systems and procedures to ensure the Minister’s responsibilities under the Act are met, and to enable the timely processing and proper disclosure of information to our clients.

The primary responsibilities of WD's ATIP Unit include:

  • processing access requests in accordance with the Act;
     
  • assist requestors in formulating their requests when required;
     
  • responding to consultations from other federal institutions on WD records or information being considered for release;
     
  • applying all discretionary and mandatory exemptions in accordance with the provisions of the Act;
     
  • developing and maintaining policies, procedures and guidelines to ensure the Act is respected by staff;
     
  • promoting awareness of the Act within the department to ensure staff is aware of the obligations imposed by the legislation;
     
  • preparing annual reports to Parliament and other statutory requirements, such as annual statistical reports and the department’s Info Source chapter, as well as any material that may be required by central agencies
     
  • representing WD in dealings with Treasury Board Secretariat, the Office of the Information Commissioner of Canada and other federal organizations regarding the application of the Act as it relates to WD
     
  • monitoring departmental compliance with the Act, its regulations, and relevant policies and procedures; and
     
  • providing ongoing advice and guidance to senior management and staff on information management and access to information legislation.

Regional ATIP Liaison Officers (RALOs) are located in each of WD's regional offices and corporate business units. These individuals are the first point of contact and identify the appropriate subject experts, coordinate retrieval of records responding to access requests, and liaise between the ATIP Unit and regional staff concerning enquiries.

The ATIP Unit monitors the processing of all access requests. The ATIP Coordinator and the department's Executive Committee, RALOs and Communications officials receive weekly status reports of all active formal and informal access requests and consultations.

The ATIP Unit utilizes an ATIP database management system for all administrative actions; however, it processes all records in paper format, except where lists are compiled into Excel format and provided to the applicant electronically. WD does not utilize an electronic redaction system for processing its records

Delegation of Authority

In accordance with section 73 of the Access to Information Act, the Honourable Rona Ambrose, Minister of Health and Minister of Western Economic Diversification delegated her full powers, authorities and responsibilities to the Executive Director, Finance and Corporate Management (ATIP Coordinator) and Manager, Corporate Administration (Deputy ATIP Coordinator). The delegation also extends limited authority to the ATIP Officer to acknowledge access requests, undertake consultations, and manage related extensions. The delegation order issued on September 30, 2013, is attached in Annex A.

Departmental Policies and Procedures

There were no changes made to WD’s Access to Information policy suite, including the Access to Information Procedures Manual, during the 2013-2014 fiscal year as a result of changes in TBS policies or directives, or changes as result of issues raised by the Office of the Information Commissioner or other agents of Parliament.

The department posts summaries of its closed access to information requests to WD’s public website. These postings are also hyperlinked to the “Open Government” website.

Education, Training and Awareness

Staff training and awareness activities include:

  • The ATIP Officer provides ongoing advice on access to information issues, provides guidance on how the department processes access requests, and the rationale required to apply the exemptions and exclusions to Regional ATIP Liaison Officers and staff to increase awareness of the Act.
     
  • In 2013-2014, the ATIP Unit conducted 14 pre-processing meetings throughout the year, which were attended by various subject expert and departmental officials from all five regional offices and two corporate business units as appropriate. These meetings are conducted as new access requests are received and are approximately one-half hour in length, depending on the complexities of the request. They are intended to provide guidance on the records retrieval and review process, recommendations required by the ATIP Unit, and identify volumes of records, potential sensitivities, etc. In total, 61 individuals participated in these meetings.
Classification Level # of Participants Classification Level # of Participants Classification Level # of Participants
AS-01 5 CO-01 1 EX-02 3
AS-02 1 CO-02 3 FI-02 1
AS-03 4 CO-03 12 FI-04 3
AS-04 5 EC-03 2 IS-03 1
AS-05 2 EC-06 5 IS-06 2
AS-07 2 EC-07 1 PG-02 1
CR-04 2 EX-01 4 PG-03 1
  • An Access to Information and Privacy Awareness Session was conducted on November 4, 2013, for departmental officials. In total, 37 project officers and managers attended the session.
Classification Level # of Participants
CO-01 5
CO-02 21
CO-03 5
EC-06 3
EX-01 1
EX-02 2
  • A training session was conducted on March 20, 2014, for recently appointed Regional ATIP Liaison Officers (RALOs) to discuss their roles and responsibilities, and the processes utilized by the department when requests are received. Five RALOs and two back-ups participated
 
Classification Level # of Participants
AS-01 1
CO-01 1
CO-03 2
CR-04 1
FI-01 1
FI-02 1
  • Access and privacy tips, entitled “The ATIP Eye”, are sent to WD staff via e-mail notices and posted on the department’s intranet site. The tips provide information updates and advice on frequently asked questions, specific exemptions, or areas where the department might improve on its obligations under the Act. in 2013–2014, topics included:
     
    • Access and Privacy Policy Suite
    • ATIP Learning Opportunities
    • What is a Transitory or Draft Record?
       
  • WD promoted Right to Know Week (September 23-28, 2013) via e-mail to all staff as a news bulletin on the department’s intranet site.
     
  • The department maintains an Access to Information and Privacy presence on its intranet site that includes policies, procedures, training and awareness presentations, relevant links to useful sites related to access and privacy, and contact information, as well as “The ATIP Eye” tips.

The Deputy ATIP Coordinator and ATIP Officer attended the Access and Privacy Conference held in Edmonton in June 2013. The Deputy ATIP Coordinator attended the TBS ATIP Coordinators and Practitioners meetings in September 2013. The ATIP Officer participated via teleconference in the November 2013 TBS meetings, and also participated via teleconference in two TBS training sessions on Sections 18 and 69 of the Access to Information Act in December 2013.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Administration de la loi

Section de l'accès à l'information et de la protection des renseignements personnels

Les bureaux de la Section de l’accès à l’information et de la protection des renseignements personnels (AIPRP) de DEO sont situés à Edmonton, en Alberta. La Section supervise l’administration de la Loi et fait partie de la Direction générale des finances et de la gestion ministérielle. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP (directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle) est appuyé par le coordonnateur adjoint à l’AIPRP (gestionnaire, Administration intégrée) et par un agent de l’AIPRP à plein temps.

Ces personnes sont responsables de l’élaboration, de la coordination et de la mise en œuvre de politiques, de lignes directrices, de systèmes et de procédures efficaces visant à faire en sorte que le ministre puisse assumer ses responsabilités aux termes de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et à permettre le traitement approprié de l’information et la divulgation opportune à nos clients.

On trouve dans la liste suivante les principales responsabilités de la Section de l'AIPRP de DEO:

  • le traitement des demandes d’accès à l’information conformément à la Loi;
     
  • l’aide aux demandeurs en ce qui concerne la formulation de leur demande, au besoin;
     
  • les réponses aux demandes de consultation soumises par d’autres institutions fédérales au sujet des documents de DEO susceptibles d’être divulgués;
     
  • l’application de toutes les exceptions obligatoires et discrétionnaires prévues par la Loi;
     
  • l’élaboration et la mise en oeuvre de politiques, des procédures et des lignes directrices visant à faire en sorte que la Loi soit respectée par le personnel;
     
  • les efforts visant à bien faire connaître la Loi au sein de DEO afin que le personnel respecte les obligations imposées par la législation;
     
  • l’élaboration des rapports annuels au Parlement et d’autres documents prévus par la Loi, comme les rapports de données statistiques annuels et le chapitre d'Info Source de DEO, ainsi que tout autre document pouvant être demandé par les organismes centraux;
     
  • la représentation de DEO dans les rapports avec le Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor, le Commissariat à l’information du Canada et les autres ministères et organismes fédéraux concernant l'application de la Loi au sein de DEO;
     
  • la surveillance de la conformité du Ministère à la Loi, à son règlement d’application, ainsi qu’aux politiques et aux procédures pertinentes;
     
  • la formulation continue de conseils aux cadres supérieurs et aux employés sur la gestion de l'information et la législation en matière d'accès à l'information.

Des agents régionaux de liaison de l’AIPRP (ARLA) sont en poste dans chacun des bureaux régionaux de DEO et dans chaque unité opérationnelle de l’organisation. Ces agents sont les premières personnes-ressources à joindre en matière d’AIPRP. Ils sont responsables d’identifier les experts appropriés, de coordonner la recherche des documents faisant l'objet de demandes d'accès à l'information et d’assurer la liaison entre la Section de l'AIPRP et le personnel des régions en ce qui concerne les demandes.

La Section de l’AIPRP surveille le traitement de toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information. Le coordonnateur de l’AIPRP et le Comité exécutif du Ministère, les ARLA et les responsables des communications reçoivent un rapport d’étape hebdomadaire sur toutes les demandes d’accès à l’information et consultations actives officielles et non officielles.

La Section de l’AIPRP utilise un système de gestion de la base de données sur l’AIPRP pour toutes les mesures administratives; elle traite néanmoins tous les documents en format papier, sauf dans les cas où les listes sont compilées en format Excel et fournies au demandeur en format électronique. DEO n’utilise pas de système de rédaction électronique pour le traitement de ses documents.

Délégation de pouvoirs

Conformément à l’article 73 de la Loi sur l'accès à l'information, l’honorable Rona Ambrose, ministre de la Santé et ministre de la Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest canadien, a délégué l’intégralité de ses pouvoirs et de ses responsabilités au directeur exécutif, Finances et Gestion ministérielle (coordonnateur de l'AIPRP), et au gestionnaire, Administration intégrée (coordonnateur adjoint de l'AIPRP). La délégation confère aussi à l’agent de l’AIPRP un pouvoir limité pour ce qui est d’accuser réception des demandes d’accès, d’entreprendre des consultations et de gérer les prorogations de délai connexes. Une copie de l’ordonnance de délégation émise le 30 septembre 2013 est fournie à l’annexe A.

Politiques et procédures ministérielles

Au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014, aucun changement n’a été apporté à l’ensemble des politiques sur l’accès à l’information de DEO, ni au Manuel des méthodes sur l’accès à l’information, à la suite de modifications apportées aux politiques ou aux directives du SCT ou à la suite de questions soulevées par le Commissariat à l’information du Canada ou par d’autres agents du Parlement.

Le Ministère a affiché les résumés des demandes d’accès à l’information qui ont été complétées sur son site Internet. Les résumés affichés par DEO sont également hyperliés au site Web Gouvernement ouvert.

Apprentissage, formation et sensibilisation

Les activités de formation et de sensibilisation auxquelles les employés participent comprennent les suivantes :

  • L’agent de l’AIPRP fournit, de façon continue, des conseils sur les questions relatives à l’accès à l’information aux ARLA et aux employés afin d’accroître leur sensibilisation à la Loi. Elle fournit également des conseils quant au traitement des demandes d’accès par le Ministère et à la justification requise pour l’application des exceptions et des exclusions, le cas échéant.
     
  • En 2013-2014, la Section de l’AIPRP a tenu 14 réunions préalables au traitement des demandes auxquelles ont assisté, suivant le cas, divers experts et fonctionnaires du Ministère des cinq bureaux régionaux et de deux unités ministérielles. Ces réunions ont lieu à la réception de nouvelles demandes d’accès à l’information et durent environ une heure et demie, selon la complexité de la demande. Elles visent à fournir des conseils quant au repérage et à l’examen des documents, à formuler des recommandations à l’intention de la Section de l’AIPRP et à déterminer la quantité de documents visés, les enjeux politiques, etc. Au total, 61 personnes ont participé à ces réunions.
Niveau de classification Nombre de participants Niveau de classification Nombre de participants Niveau de classification Nombre de participants
AS-01 5 CO-01 1 EX-02 3
AS-02 1 CO-02 3 FI-02 1
AS-03 4 CO-03 12 FI-04 3
AS-04 5 EC-03 2 IS-03 1
AS-05 2 EC-06 5 IS-06 2
AS-07 2 EC-07 1 PG-02 1
CR-04 2 EX-01 4 PG-03 1
  • Une séance de sensibilisation sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels a eu lieu le 4 novembre 2013 pour les fonctionnaires du Ministère. Au total, 37 agents de projet et gestionnaires ont assisté à cette séance.
Niveau de classification Nombre de participants
CO-01 5
CO-02 21
CO-03 5
EC-06 3
EX-01 1
EX-02 2
  • Une séance de formation a été offerte le 20 mars 2014 aux ARLA récemment nommés pour discuter de leurs rôles et responsabilités, ainsi que des processus utilisés par le Ministère lors de la réception de demandes d’accès à l’information. Cinq ARLA et deux remplaçants ont participé à cette rencontre.
Niveau de classification Nombre de participants
AS-01 1
CO-01 1
CO-03 2
CR-04 1
FI-01 1
FI-02 1
  • Les conseils sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels présentés dans Le regard de l’AIPRP sont envoyés au personnel de DEO par courriel et sont affichés sur le site intranet du Ministère. Les bulletins contiennent des mises à jour, des réponses aux questions les plus fréquemment posées ainsi que des informations sur des exceptions précises ou des domaines où le Ministère pourrait améliorer ses résultats relatifs à ses obligations en vertu de la Loi. En 2013-2014, les thèmes abordés ont inclus :
    • l’ensemble de politiques sur l’accès à l’information et à la protection des renseignements personnels;
    • les occasions d’apprentissage sur l’AIPRP;
    • la définition d’un document éphémère ou d’une ébauche.
  • DEO a souligné la Semaine canadienne du droit à l'information (du 23 au 28 septembre 2013) en envoyant un courriel à tous les employés et un affichant un bulletin de nouvelles sur le site intranet du Ministère.
     
  • Une section du site intranet du Ministère est également réservée à l'accès à l'information et à la protection des renseignements personnels. Cette section comprend toutes les politiques et les procédures en matière d'AIPRP, les coordonnées des personnes-ressources, les exposés de formation et de sensibilisation présentés par le passé, des liens vers des sites utiles, ainsi que les conseils de la série Le regard de l'AIPRP.

Le coordonnateur adjoint et l’agent de l’AIPRP ont assisté à la conférence sur l’accès à l’information et la protection des renseignements personnels qui a eu lieu à Edmonton en juin 2013. Le coordonnateur adjoint de l’AIPRP a participé aux rencontres des coordonnateurs et des praticiens de l’AIPRP du SCT en septembre 2013. L’agent de l’AIPRP a participé par téléconférence aux rencontres du SCT de novembre 2013 et a assisté en décembre 2013, aussi par téléconférence, à deux séances de formation du SCT sur les articles 18 et 69 de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information.