Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Access West logo and newsletter header image

September 2014 Issue

Western Innovation (WINN) Initiative – New Call for Proposals

In a global economy increasingly driven by innovation, Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) has announced the next intake of the Western Innovation (WINN) Initiative. Consultations began on September 1, 2014, followed by an application period of September 30 to October 30, 2014.

WINN is a $100 million five-year federal initiative that offers repayable contributions for small- and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs) with operations in Western Canada. The Initiative is aimed at helping SMEs commercialize new and innovative technologies, by moving them from the later stages of research and development to the marketplace.

WINN is another way in which WD is fueling an innovative West. During the first round of this program, 27 projects were supported leveraging close to $24 million in private capital. The second intake will continue to have a direct positive impact on job creation and the economy.

By helping businesses seize opportunities for innovation, WINN will support the creation of jobs and growth in our communities.

More information on the application process can be found at: www.wd-deo.gc.ca/eng/14859.asp

 

World-Class Research and Technology Development Benefiting Western Canada

David Fissel, President and CEO, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.; Dr. Kate Moran, President and CEO, Ocean Networks Canada; Minister Rempel; and Eric Johnson, Associate Partner, BC Public Sector, IBM Global Services.
David Fissel, President and CEO, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.; Dr. Kate Moran, President and CEO, Ocean Networks Canada; Minister Rempel; and Eric Johnson, Associate Partner, BC Public Sector, IBM Global Services.

As the economy continues to recover around the world, the Harper Government remains committed to supporting western Canadian businesses that are showcasing innovation and successfully competing in global markets.

The following success stories showcase how Western Canada is transforming knowledge into innovative products:

Ocean Networks Canada – British Columbia

Created by the University of Victoria (UVic), Ocean Networks Canada (ONC) is a not-for-profit society aimed at building and sustaining Canada’s role as a global leader in the advancement of innovative ocean science technology. With funding from the Western Diversification Program (WDP), ONC will undertake more projects that support research and development in the oceans sector at the ONC’s Innovation Centre.

This initiative is helping industries design, test and operate new products that can be monitored by researchers and users around the world. As a result, nine new technologies were brought to market and over $9.5 million in sales of equipment and services were generated on the global market.

Programs like Smart Oceans BC build the economy while supporting our Government’s commitments to responsible resource development, world-class marine safety, and technology commercialization,” said Minister Michelle Rempel.

Additionally, ONC received a second investment to support the development of the Smart Oceans BC program. This project allows for real-time monitoring of vessels traffic, waves, currents, and water quality. ONC estimates that the global market for Smart Oceans Systems technology will grow to at least $6 billion, by 2020.

University of Saskatchewan Toxicology Centre – Saskatchewan

The Toxicology Centre at the University of Saskatchewan is exploring sustainable, cost-effective and faster methods of oil sands extraction and tailings ponds restoration. Funding from WD enabled researchers to scale up an innovative clean technology – the San-Tek 2000 – from the Centre’s lab to the pilot plant stage and determine its commercial viability.

This technology separates oil from oil sands bitumen and minimizes the water and energy used in the extraction process. It is also effective at settling pollutants called fine fluid tailings (FFT), generated during the current hot water oil sands extraction process. Waste FFT is an issue because the very fine clay particulates can take up to 100 years to settle out.

With the continued demand for oil sands production, the University of Saskatchewan continues to seize opportunities to bring new applications, technologies and processes to market. National and international sales and project trials have already begun with oil companies that are interested in the technology for multiple uses.

Click here to subscribe to the Access West Newsletter

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Accés Ouest

Numéro de septembre 2014

Initiative d’innovation dans l’Ouest (Initiative InnO) – Nouvel appel de propositions

Dans notre économie mondiale de plus en plus axée sur l’innovation, Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) annonce la prochaine période de réception des demandes de l’Initiative InnO. Les consultations ont débuté le 1er septembre 2014 et seront suivies d’une période de réception des demandes qui s’étendra du 30 septembre au 30 octobre 2014.

L’Initiative InnO est une initiative fédérale de 100 millions de dollars sur cinq ans qui offre des contributions remboursables aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) dont les activités se déroulent dans l’Ouest canadien. L’Initiative vise à aider les PME à commercialiser leurs nouvelles technologies innovatrices en facilitant le passage de ces technologies des derniers stades de recherche et développement à celui de la commercialisation.

L’Initiative InnO est un autre des moyens utilisés par DEO pour alimenter l’innovation dans l’Ouest. Le premier cycle du programme a permis un soutien à 27 projets, suscitant des investissements additionnels du secteur privé de près de 24 millions de dollars. Le deuxième appel de propositions continuera à entraîner des retombées positives pour la création d’emplois et l’économie.

En aidant les entreprises à tirer parti des possibilités d’innovation, l’Initiative InnO favorise la création d’emplois et la croissance dans nos collectivités.

Pour plus d’information sur le processus de demande, visitez http://www.wd-deo.gc.ca/fra/14859.asp.

Des recherches de calibre mondial et un développement technologique qui rapportent à l’Ouest canadien

David Fissel, président et directeur général, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.; Kate Moran, Ph.D., présidente et directrice générale, Ocean Networks Canada; la ministre Rempel; Eric Johnson, partenaire associé, secteur public de la Colombie-Britannique, IBM Global Services.
David Fissel, président et directeur général, ASL Environmental Sciences Inc.; Kate Moran, Ph.D., présidente et directrice générale, Ocean Networks Canada; la ministre Rempel; Eric Johnson, partenaire associé, secteur public de la Colombie-Britannique, IBM Global Services.

Alors que la relance économique se poursuit à l’échelle planétaire, le gouvernement Harper continue à soutenir les entreprises de l’Ouest canadien qui font preuve d’innovation et qui se taillent avec succès une place sur les marchés mondiaux.

Les histoires de réussite ci-dessous illustrent comment l’Ouest canadien transforme le savoir en produits innovateurs.

Ocean Networks Canada – Colombie-Britannique

Créée par l’Université de Victoria (UVic), Ocean Networks Canada (ONC) est une entreprise sans but lucratif qui vise à définir et à soutenir le rôle du Canada à titre de leader mondial dans le développement de technologies océanographiques innovatrices. Grâce à l’aide financière du Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest (PDEO), ONC pourra entreprendre davantage de projets en soutien à la recherche et développement sur les océans à son centre d’innovation.

Cette initiative aide les industries à concevoir, mettre à l’essai et utiliser de nouveaux produits dont le développement pourra faire l’objet d’un suivi par des chercheurs et des utilisateurs du monde entier. Neuf nouvelles technologies ont ainsi été commercialisées et des ventes d’équipement et de services atteignant plus de 9,5 millions de dollars ont été enregistrées sur le marché mondial.

« Des programmes tels que Smart Oceans BC bâtissent l’économie tout en soutenant les engagements de notre gouvernement à l’égard d’une exploitation responsable des ressources, d’une sécurité maritime de calibre mondial et de la commercialisation de la technologie », a déclaré la ministre Michelle Rempel.

ONC a en outre bénéficié d’un second investissement soutenant la réalisation de son programme Smart Oceans BC, qui permet de suivre en temps réel la circulation maritime, les vagues, les courants et la qualité de l’eau. ONC estime que le marché mondial de la technologie des systèmes intelligents de surveillance océanographique atteindra au moins 6 milliards de dollars d’ici 2020.

Centre de toxicologie de l’Université de la Saskatchewan – Saskatchewan

Le centre de toxicologie de l’Université de la Saskatchewan explore diverses méthodes durables, rentables et plus rapides pour extraire les sables bitumineux et restaurer les étangs de résidus. Avec le financement de DEO, les chercheurs ont pu augmenter proportionnellement la taille d’une technologie propre innovatrice – le San-Tek 2000 – pour la faire passer du laboratoire à l’usine pilote et en évaluer la viabilité commerciale.

Cette nouvelle technologie permet de séparer le pétrole du bitume des sables bitumineux et ainsi minimiser les quantités d’eau et d’énergie requises durant l’extraction. Elle facilite en outre le dépôt des résidus fins fluides polluants générés par le processus actuel d’extraction à l’eau chaude des sables bitumineux. Les résidus fins fluides constituent un problème majeur puisque les très fines particules d’argile peuvent mettre jusqu’à 100 ans à se déposer.

Face à la demande continue de production de sables bitumineux, l’Université de la Saskatchewan saisit constamment de nouvelles occasions de commercialisation d’applications, de technologies et de procédés. La vente et la mise à l’essai du produit ont déjà débuté, à l’échelle nationale et internationale, auprès de sociétés pétrolières souhaitant profiter de cette technologie polyvalente.