Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Western Economic Diversification Canada’s Quarterly Financial Report for the quarter ended June 30, 2014

Statement outlining results, risks and significant changes in operations, personnel and program


Introduction

This quarterly financial report should be read in conjunction with the Main Estimates. It has been prepared by management as required by section 65.1 of the Financial Administration Act and in the form and manner prescribed by the Treasury Board. This quarterly report has not been subject to an external audit or review.

Authority, Mandate and Program Activities

Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) is mandated to “promote the development and diversification of the economy of Western Canada and to advance the interests of the West in national economic policy, program and project development and implementation.”

The Report on Plans and Priorities and Main Estimates provide further information on WD’s authority, mandate and program activities.

Basis of Presentation

This quarterly report has been prepared by management using an expenditure basis of accounting. The accompanying Statement of Authorities includes the department’s spending authorities granted by Parliament and those used by the department, consistent with the Main Estimates for fiscal year 2014–15. This quarterly report has been prepared using a special purpose financial reporting framework designed to meet financial information needs with respect to the use of spending authorities.

The authority of Parliament is required before moneys can be spent by the Government. Approvals are given in the form of annually approved limits through appropriation acts or through legislation in the form of statutory spending authority for specific purposes.

The department uses the full accrual method of accounting to prepare and present its annual departmental financial statements that are part of the departmental performance reporting process. However, the spending authorities voted by Parliament remain on an expenditure basis.

Highlights of fiscal quarter and fiscal year to date (YTD) results

Total Authorities Available for Use and Planned Expenditures for the Year Ending March 31, 2015

Planned departmental spending is concentrated in transfer payments (74 percent) and personnel (18 percent). Combined, they account for 92 percent of total planned expenditures (refer to the fiscal year 2014–15 pie chart below). This planned spending pattern remains consistent when compared to fiscal year 2013–14 and it is expected to continue for the remainder of fiscal year 2014–15.

The department experienced an overall decrease in total funding available for use and planned expenditures to $158.9 million for fiscal year 2014–15, compared to $178.7 million for fiscal year 2013–14, as illustrated in the "Statement of Authorities" and "Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object" tables. The net decrease of $19.8 million (11 percent) is due to:

  • a decrease in funding for the Community Infrastructure Investment Fund ($23.1 million);
  • an increase in funding to support the Rick Hansen Foundation ($8 million);
  • a decrease realized through the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 ($7 million);
  • an increase due to a timing difference in the receipt of funding to support the University of Calgary’s School of Public Policy ($1.5 million), as funding was received in the first quarter of 2014–15 compared to the third quarter of 2013–14;
  • a net increase in other funding, notably related to the Economic Development Initiative ($803 thousand).

Text Version (Link 1): Planned Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2014-2015

(in thousands of dollars)

 This pie chart breaks down planned expenditures for the fiscal year 2014–15. This pie chart breaks down planned expenditures for the fiscal year 2013–14.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Total Authorities Used and Expended for the Quarter Ended June 30, 2014

Total authorities used for the first quarter is concentrated in transfer payments (60 percent) and personnel (29 percent). Combined, they account for 89 percent of first quarter actual expenditures (refer to the fiscal year 2014–15 pie chart below). This spending pattern has changed by 5 percent when compared to the same period of fiscal year 2013–14, and it is expected to continue for the remainder of fiscal year 2014–15 as explained below.

First quarter spending reflects a small increase of $45 thousand in total authorities used and actual expenditures for fiscal year 2014–15 when compared to fiscal year 2013–14, as illustrated in the “Statement of Authorities” and “Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object” tables. The net increase of $45 thousand is due to:

  • a decrease in personnel costs due to staff savings ($1.5 million);
  • an increase due to a one-time transition payment in other operating costs for implementing salary payment in arrears by the Government of Canada ($944 thousand);
  • an increase in other operating costs and transfer payments related to the timing of these payments when compared to first quarter of 2013–14 ($565 thousand).

Text Version (Link 2): Actual Expenditures for Fiscal Year 2014-2015

(in thousands of dollars)

 This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30, 2014. This pie chart breaks down actual expenditures for the quarter ended June 30, 2013.

Risks and Uncertainties

The department is managing the implementation of cost containment measures and strategic review savings within a well-defined framework of accountabilities, policies and procedures. It has the necessary system of budgets, reporting and other internal controls to manage within available resources and Parliamentary authorities. Proportionally reduced budget allocations to business and internal services units, supported by the regular review of staffing, and actual and forecast expenditure reports ensure resource utilization remains in line with financial and human resources planning, such that adjustments can be made on time.

The department maintains its financial management processes and it will continue to strengthen them, such that budget management remains effective. This includes assessing the impact of project timing fluctuations and the process for forecasting multi-year funding requirements. The decision-making process facilitates the re-allocation of financial resources to higher-priority initiatives.

Significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs

Cathy Matthews was appointed Chief Financial Officer on June 1, 2014.

Over the next five years, the Western Innovation (WINN) Initiative will provide up to $100 million in repayable assistance to western small- and medium-sized enterprises. The Honourable Michelle Rempel, Minister of State, announced support for 27 projects totaling over $21 million under the WINN Initiative on June 27, 2014.1 There was no incremental funding provided to WD to deliver the WINN Initiative.

Budget 2012 Implementation

This section provides an overview of the savings measures announced in Budget 2012 that are being implemented in order to refocus government and programs; make it easier for Canadians and businesses to deal with their government; and, modernize and reduce the back office.

The department will achieve cumulative savings of $16.3 million by fiscal year 2014–15 through efficiency measures and scaling back where the need is reduced; transforming how it works internally; and by consolidating and streamlining. The department had undertaken a review of internal services that has consolidated functions, notably procurement and accounting operations, to eliminate duplication and reduce operating costs. Other savings measures include: the transfer of the internal audit function to the Office of the Comptroller General; the adoption of a life cycle approach to the management of transfer payment projects; and various other managed expenditure reductions such as travel, professional services and transfer payments. With these changes, WD will focus on supporting management excellence and accountability across government.

In the first year of implementation, fiscal year 2012–13, WD achieved savings of $6.6 million. Savings increased to $9.3 million in 2013–14 and will result in ongoing, cumulative savings of $16.3 million in 2014–15.

The department has realized net savings in actual expenditures of $678 thousand for the first quarter of 2014–15. The balance of Budget 2012 savings will continue to be reflected through to fiscal year-end.

The department will continue to manage financial risks and uncertainties related to the anticipated costs of implementing personnel reduction measures in order to achieve the savings outlined in Budget 2012, the costs of which will vary depending on the timing of employee departures. WD continues to mitigate the implementation of Budget 2012 initiatives through financial management and monitoring processes that facilitate the re-allocation of resources, and financial and human resources planning.

There were no significant changes in relation to operations, personnel and programs for this reporting period related to Budget 2012 initiatives.


[1] News Release: Harper Government Stands Behind Western Canadian Business with WINN

 

Approval by Senior Officials

Approved by:

Daphne Meredith
Deputy Minister
Kathryn Mattern
Acting Chief Financial Officer

Edmonton, Canada
Date: August 19, 2014

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Statement of Authorities (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2014–15
Total available for use for the
year ending March 31, 2015*
Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 36,929 9,404 9,404
Vote 5 – Grants and contributions 117,863 15,926 15,926
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans 4,114 1,028 1,028
Collection agency fees under section 17.1 of the Financial Administration Act 4 4
Minister's salary and motor car allowance 2 1 1
Total budgetary authorities 158,908 26,363 26,363

 

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–14
Total available for use for the year ending March 31, 2014* Used during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Vote 1 – Operating expenditures 40,399 9,357 9,357
Vote 5 – Grants and contributions 133,411 15,738 15,738
Budgetary statutory authorities
Contributions to employee benefit plans 4,889 1,222 1,222
Minister's salary and motor car allowance 2 1 1
Total budgetary authorities 178,701 26,318 26,318

More information is available in the following table.

* Includes only authorities available for use and granted by Parliament at quarter-end.

 

Departmental Budgetary Expenditures by Standard Object (unaudited)

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2014–15
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2015 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2014 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 29,049 7,629 7,629
Transportation and communications 1,279 207 207
Information 397 36 36
Professional and special services 7,012 1,352 1,352
Rentals 2,117 30 30
Repair and maintenance 133 2 2
Utilities, materials and supplies 529 6 6
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 529 5 5
Transfer payments 117,863 15,926 15,926
Other subsidies and payments 1,170 1,170
Total budgetary expenditures 158,908 26,363 26,363

 

(in thousands of dollars) Fiscal year 2013–14
Planned expenditures for the year ending March 31, 2014 Expended during the quarter ended June 30, 2013 Year to date used at quarter-end
Expenditures
Personnel 32,992 9,095 9,095
Transportation and communications 2,809 162 162
Information 345 63 63
Professional and special services 6,667 872 872
Rentals 1,444 234 234
Repair and maintenance 92 3 3
Utilities, materials and supplies 454 18 18
Acquisition of machinery and equipment 487 6 6
Transfer payments 133,411 15,738 15,738
Other subsidies and payments 127 127
Total budgetary expenditures 178,701 26,318 26,318

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Rapport financier trimestriel de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014

Compte rendu soulignant les résultats, les risques et les changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes


Introduction

Ce rapport financier trimestriel devrait être lu de concert avec le Budget principal des dépenses. Il a été préparé par la direction, tel qu’exigé par l’article 65.1 de la Loi sur la gestion des finances publiques et selon les modalités prescrites par le Conseil du Trésor. Il n’a pas fait l’objet d’une vérification externe ou d’un examen.

Autorisations, mandat et activités de programme

Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) a le mandat de « promouvoir le développement et la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien et de faire valoir les intérêts de cette région lors de l’élaboration et de la mise en œuvre d’orientations, de programmes et d’opérations dans le cadre de la politique économique nationale ».

Plus d’informations à propos des autorisations, du mandat et des activités de programme de DEO sont présentées dans le Rapport sur les plans et les priorités et le Budget principal des dépenses.

Méthode de présentation du rapport

Ce rapport trimestriel a été préparé par la direction en utilisant une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses. L’état des autorisations joint à ce rapport inclut les autorisations de dépenser du Ministère accordées par le Parlement et utilisées par le Ministère, conformément au Budget principal des dépenses pour l’exercice 2014-2015. Ce rapport financier trimestriel a été préparé en utilisant un référentiel à usage particulier conçu pour répondre aux besoins d’information financière à l’égard de l’utilisation des autorisations de dépenser.

Le gouvernement ne peut dépenser sans l’autorisation préalable du Parlement. Les autorisations sont accordées par l’entremise de lois de crédits, sous forme de limites annuelles, ou par l’entremise de lois sous forme de pouvoirs législatifs de dépenser à des fins déterminées.

Le Ministère utilise la méthode de la comptabilité d’exercice intégrale pour la préparation de ses états financiers annuels qui font partie du processus de rapport sur le rendement ministériel. Toutefois, les pouvoirs de dépenser votés par le Parlement sont encore en fonction d’une comptabilité axée sur les dépenses.

Faits saillants des résultats financiers trimestriels et cumulatifs

Total des autorisations utilisables et des dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015

Les dépenses prévues par DEO sont concentrées dans les paiements de transfert (74 p. 100) et les coûts relatifs au personnel (18 p. 100). Une fois combinées, elles représentent 92 p. 100 de l’ensemble des dépenses prévues (consulter le diagramme à secteurs ci-dessous pour l’exercice 2014-2015). Cette répartition des dépenses prévues est semblable à celle de l’exercice 2013-2014 et devrait rester pareille pour le reste de 2014-2015.

Dans l’ensemble, DEO a subi une diminution générale des fonds utilisables et des dépenses prévues, qui sont passés de 178,7 millions de dollars en 2013-2014 à 158,9 millions de dollars en 2014-2015, comme indiqué dans les tableaux « État des autorisations » et « Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant. » La diminution nette de 19,8 millions de dollars (11 p. 100) est attribuable à :

  • une diminution des contributions dans le cadre du Fonds d'amélioration de l'infrastructure communautaire (23,1 millions de dollars);
  • une hausse du financement pour appuyer la Fondation Rick Hansen (8 millions de dollars);
  • une diminution des coûts réalisée grâce aux mesures d'économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 (9,3 millions de dollars);
  • une hausse en raison d'un écart temporel lié à la réception de fonds pour appuyer la School of Public Policy de l'Université de Calgary (1,5 million de dollars), car les fonds ont été reçus dans le premier trimestre de 2014-2015, comparativement au troisième trimestre de 2013-2014;
  • une hausse nette d'autre fonds, en particulier en ce qui a trait à l'Initiative de développement économique (803 000 dollars).

Version textuelle (Link 1) : Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice 2014–2015

(en milliers de dollars)

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2014–2015. Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses prévues pour l’exercice 2013–2014.

Total des autorisations utilisées et dépensées pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014

Pour le premier trimestre, le total des autorisations utilisable est concentré dans les paiements de transfert (60 p. 100) et dans les coûts relatifs au personnel (29 p. 100). Une fois combinés, ils représentent 89 p. 100 des dépenses réelles pour le premier trimestre (consulter les diagrammes à secteurs ci-dessous pour l'exercice 2014-2015). Cette répartition des dépenses a changé de 5 p. 100 comparativement à celle de la même période en 2013-2014 et devrait rester pareille pour le reste de l'exercice 2014-2015, comme expliqué ci-dessous.

Pour le premier trimestre, les dépenses témoignent d’une augmentation légère, en 2014-2015, de 45 000 dollars du total des autorisations utilisées et des dépenses réelles, comparativement à 2013-2014, comme on peut le voir dans les tableaux « État des autorisations » et « Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant ». La hausse nette de 45 000 dollars est attribuable à :

  • une diminution des coûts liés au personnel grâce aux mesures d’économie (1,5 million de dollars);
  • une hausse en raison d’un paiement de transition unique dans les autres coûts de fonctionnement pour la mise en œuvre de la paye des salaires en arrérages par le gouvernement du Canada (944 000 dollars);
  • une hausse des autres coûts de fonctionnement et des paiements de transfert en raison d’un écart temporel lié à ces paiements de transfert comparativement au premier trimestre de 2013-2014 (565 000 dollars).

Version textuelle (Link 2) : Dépenses réelles pour l'exercice 2014–2015

(en milliers de dollars)

Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014. Ce diagramme à secteurs montre la répartition des dépenses réelles pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Risques et incertitudes

Le Ministère gère la mise en œuvre des mesures de réduction des coûts et les économies découlant de l’Examen stratégique selon un cadre bien défini de responsabilités, de politiques et de procédures. DEO possède un système approprié de budgets, de rapports et d’autres contrôles internes pour gérer ses activités dans les limites des ressources disponibles et des autorisations parlementaires. La réduction proportionnelle des crédits budgétaires affectés aux unités fonctionnelles et aux unités des services internes, renforcée par l’examen périodique de la dotation en personnel, de même que les rapports sur les dépenses prévues et réelles, assurent une utilisation des ressources conforme aux objectifs de la planification des finances et des ressources humaines tout en permettant d’apporter des corrections en temps opportun.

Le Ministère maintient ses processus de gestion financière et continuera de les renforcer pour préserver l’efficacité de sa gestion budgétaire. Cela comprend l’évaluation de l’impact des changements aux calendriers d’exécution des projets et du processus de prévision des besoins de financement sur plusieurs années. Le processus décisionnel facilite la réaffectation des ressources financières à des initiatives prioritaires.

Changements importants quant au fonctionnement, au personnel et aux programmes

Cathy Matthews a été nommée dirigeante principale des finances le 1er juin 2014.

Au cours des cinq prochaines années, jusqu’à 100 millions de dollars en contributions remboursables à de petites et moyennes entreprises seront offerts dans le cadre de l’Initiative d’innovation dans l’Ouest (Initiative InnO). Le 27 juin 2014, l’honorable Michelle Rempel, ministre d’État, a annoncé du soutien pour 27 projets totalisant plus de 21 millions de dollars dans le cadre de l’Initiative InnO1. Aucun financement supplémentaire n’a été fourni à DEO pour mettre en œuvre l’Initiative InnO.

Mise en œuvre du budget de 2012

La présente section donne un aperçu des mesures d’économie annoncées dans le budget de 2012 qui sont mises en œuvre dans le but de recentrer le gouvernement et les programmes, de faciliter les rapports des Canadiens et des entreprises avec leur gouvernement, ainsi que de moderniser et de rationaliser les services administratifs.

Le Ministère réalisera des économies totalisant 16,3 millions de dollars d’ici l’exercice 2014-2015 grâce à des mesures d’efficacité, en réduisant les activités lorsque les besoins diminuent, en transformant les processus internes et en misant sur les regroupements et la rationalisation. Le Ministère avait procédé à un examen de ses services internes et a consolidé les fonctions, en particulier les services d’approvisionnement et de comptabilité, dans le but d’éliminer le chevauchement des tâches et de réduire les coûts de fonctionnement. On compte parmi les autres mesures d’économie : le transfert de la fonction de vérification interne au Bureau du contrôleur général, l’adoption d’une approche axée sur le cycle de vie pour la gestion des projets de paiements de transfert et diverses mesures de réduction des dépenses contrôlées, notamment en ce qui a trait aux voyages, aux services professionnels et aux paiements de transfert. Ces changements aideront le Ministère à se concentrer sur la promotion de l’excellence en matière de gestion ainsi que sur la responsabilisation dans l’ensemble de l’administration publique.

Au cours de la première année de mise en œuvre, soit l’exercice 2012-2013, DEO a réalisé des économies de 6,6 millions de dollars. Les économies ont augmenté à 9,3 millions de dollars pour 2013-2014 et mèneront à des économies cumulatives et continues de 16,3 millions de dollars en 2014-2015.

Le Ministère a réalisé des économies nettes des dépenses réelles de 678 000 dollars pour le premier trimestre de 2014-2015. Le total des économies du budget de 2012 continuera d’être reflété jusqu’à la fin de l’exercice.

Le Ministère continuera de gérer les incertitudes et les risques financiers ayant trait aux coûts anticipés de la mise en œuvre des mesures de réduction de l’effectif en vue de réaliser les économies prévues par le budget de 2012, coûts qui varieront selon le moment du départ des employés. DEO continue de gérer la mise en œuvre des initiatives du budget de 2012 grâce à des processus de contrôle et de gestion financière qui facilitent la réaffectation des ressources et la planification des ressources humaines et financières.

On n’a constaté aucun changement important lié aux opérations, au personnel et aux programmes pour cette période de rapport en ce qui a trait aux initiatives du budget de 2012.


[1] Communiqué: Le gouvernement Harper épaule les entreprises de l'Ouest canadien par le biais de l'Initiative InnO

 

Approbation de la haute direction

Approuvé par :

Daphne Meredith
Sous-ministre
Kathryn Mattern
Sous-ministe Dirigeante principale des finances intérimaire

Edmonton, Canada
Date : Le 19 août 2014

 


Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

État des autorisations (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014–2015
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 36 929 9 404 9 404
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 117  863 15 926 15 926
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contribution au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 4 114 1 028 1 028
Droits des agences de recouvrement en vertu de l'article 17.1 de la Loi sur la Gestion des finances publiques 4 4
Salaire de la ministre et indemnité de voiture 2 1 1
Autorisations budgétaires totales 158 908 26 363 26 363

 

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013–2014
Crédits totaux disponibles pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014* Crédits utilisés pour le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Crédit 1 – Dépenses de fonctionnement 40 399 9 357 9 357
Crédit 5 – Subventions et contributions 133 411 15 738 15 738
Autorisations législatives budgétaires
Contribution au régime d'avantages sociaux des employés 4 889 1 222 1 222
Salaire de la ministre et indemnité de voiture 2 1 1
Autorisations budgétaires totales 178 701 26 318 26 318

De l'information supplémentaire est fournie dans le prochain tableau.

* N'inclut que les autorisations disponibles pour l'exercice et accordées par le Parlement à la fin du trimestre.

 

Dépenses ministérielles budgétaires par article courant (non vérifié)

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2014–2015
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice se terminant le 31 mars 2015 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2014 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 29 049 7 629 7 629
Transports et communications 1 279 207 207
Information 397 36 36
Services professionnels et spéciaux 7 012 1 352 1 352
Location 2 117 30 30
Services de réparation et entretien 133 2 2
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 529 6 6
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 529 5 5
Paiements de transfert 117  863 15 926 15 926
Autres subventions et paiements 1 170 1 170
Dépenses budgétaires totales 158 908 26 363 26 363

 

(en milliers de dollars) Exercice 2013–2014
Dépenses prévues pour l'exercice terminé le 31 mars 2014 Dépenses durant le trimestre terminé le 30 juin 2013 Cumul des crédits utilisés à la fin du trimestre
Dépenses
Personnel 32 992 9 095 9 095
Transports et communications 2 809 162 162
Information 345 63 63
Services professionnels et spéciaux 6 667 872 872
Location 1 444 234 234
Services de réparation et entretien 92 3 3
Services publics, fournitures et approvisionnements 454 18 18
Acquisition de matériel et d'outillage 487 6 6
Paiements de transfert 133  411 15 738 15  926
Autres subventions et paiements 127 127
Dépenses budgétaires totales 178 701 26 318 26 318