Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Evaluation and Methodology

This section describes the design, methodology and limitations of the evaluation.

Evaluation Logic Model and Framework

A formal logic model was developed for the Community Futures Program (CFP) as part of the national Performance Measurement Strategy (PMS). The CFP logic model is a diagram that depicts the inputs, activities, and outcomes of the CFP and the relationship between them. The model also makes the distinction between the activities and outputs of the government departments that administer the program, and those of the CFs.

Text Version, Figure 1: Logic Model – Community Futures Program

The figure shows the Community Futures Program logic model as a diagram that depicts the inputs, activities, and outcomes of the program and the relationship between them.

The evaluation framework for this study combines the national CFP evaluation framework developed as part of the national PMS and feedback received during the evaluation planning process to reflect coverage of five core issues as per the Treasury Board Secretariat Directive on Evaluation.3

Evaluation Approach and Methodology

A literature review of approaches to evaluating community development programming4 suggests that an evaluation of the CFP requires a mixed-methods research design involving multiple lines of evidence gathered through both quantitative and qualitative methods. Quantitative methods such as data analysis and surveys can be relied upon when describing activities, outputs and short-term impacts. Qualitative methods such as interviews and document review play a critical role in studying intermediate and longer term outcomes. A mixed methods approach allows for triangulation (i.e. convergence of results across lines of evidence) and complementarity (i.e., developing better understanding by exploring different aspects of an evaluation issue).

CFP Evaluation Advisory Committee

An advisory committee was established to provide the evaluation team with input, advice and suggestions regarding the conduct of the study, resolve ambiguous or contentious issues and ensure that the Evaluation Team produces a balanced, objective and credible report. The members were drawn from the department and external sources (CFs and CF Associations). A Terms of Reference guided the operation of the advisory committee.

Preliminary Consultations

Preliminary consultations were conducted with WD corporate and regional staff to develop the Terms of Reference for the evaluation. The terms of reference, including the evaluation framework, was reviewed by the advisory committee, the department’s Directors General of Operations Committee and Executive Committee. The Terms of Reference was finalised after these consultations.

Document and Literature Review

A review was conducted of the department’s documents as well as literature relevant to the CFP. The review of documents was used to assess program relevance and performance. Three main types of documents were assessed and analyzed during the evaluation:

  • General background documentation (e.g. WD documents that describe the program’s history, rationale and program theory, etc.).
  • Industry Canada reports on SMEs in Canada.
  • Program and policy documentation (e.g., Terms and Conditions of the CFP, CF performance reports, CF’s websites, information on CF revitalization process, CF operational documents and manuals, the national PMS, etc.).
  • Past evaluations of the CFP and literature related to community development programming.

Performance Data

The evaluation project team undertook a detailed analysis of project data from 2008–09 to 2012–13 to create a profile of activities implemented through the program. The performance data provided a comprehensive perspective of the outputs and activities of the program (such as statistics on program activities, loans, business support services, etc.). This data is reported by the CFs into a database hosted by CommonGoals5 on a quarterly and/or annual basis. Project data was supplemented by data from the department’s financial and human resource systems where possible.

Statistics Canada Business Number Review

As per a contract established with Statistics Canada, the department was provided with client data on employment, sales and survival rates to be used to report on CFP indicators such as business entry and exit, employment growth and business survival rates. Statistics Canada completed four data runs which were used as the basis for establishing performance targets by the department. In order to facilitate this process, the department provided Statistics Canada with a list of business numbers of their CF clients. Data was received from Statistics Canada at an aggregate level and the department analysed and reported on the data for the evaluation. Comparable6 firms to CF-assisted firms were identified based on postal codes or census division in areas serviced by CFs. The evaluation relied on results from the 2000 to 2010 run of data.

Census Data

Statistics Canada produced customized data profiles for each of the CF service areas. This data, compiled from the 2006 and 2011 census, provided key information required for the evaluation such as population in each CF service area, labour force participation rates, unemployment rates, average household income and employment by industrial sector. The following table shows the distribution of the population served by the CFP in the various regions of Western Canada.

Province Number of CFs Population Served
Manitoba 16 530,670
Saskatchewan 13 616,725
Alberta 27 1,588,310
British Columbia 34 1,726,740
Total 90 4,993,115

Key Informant Interviews

Semi-structured interviews were completed with 60 internal and external stakeholders. Key groups are identified in the table below:

Stakeholder Type Planned Completed
Internal WD management and staff 10 11
Representatives from CF network organizations 10 5
Account managers of financial institutions 10 9
Organizations involved in similar activities as the CFP 10 9
Community groups/leaders 10 14
External stakeholders/subject matter experts 10 12
Total 60 60

Case Studies

Case studies are an effective evaluation method to demonstrate program successes and challenges. While not representative of the entire program, selected case studies are useful for providing examples and demonstrating the effectiveness of the program. Case studies may also be used to illustrate the complexities surrounding the CFP and the contextual elements in which it operates.

A total of 8 case studies (2 per region) were selected for the evaluation based on size, service focus (business vs. community economic development and planning), geographic location and consultation with the CFP Evaluation Advisory Committee. The case study methodology included site visits to each of the 8 CFs to review documents and interview the CF Manager, a Board Member and at least 3 CF clients. The list of CFs selected for the case studies are below.

Selected CF Province City Size of Population*
Central Okanagan CF BC Kamloops 179,840
Central Interior First Nations CF BC Kamloops 9,325
CF Lethbridge AB Lethbridge 115, 605
CF Peace Country AB Peace River 45,140
South Central CF SK Moose Jaw 54,540
Newsask CF SK Tisdale 45,315
CF Greenstone MB Flin Flon 7,330
Cedar Lake CF MB The Pas 15,965

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Surveys

Survey of CF Organizations

To gain insights on the relevance and performance of the CFP, a survey was conducted of the CFs not included in the case studies. For each CF, two survey instruments were circulated: one for the CF Managers and one by the CF Board Chairpersons. A total of 65 CF Managers (79 percent) and 40 CF Chairs (49 percent) completed the survey (response rate of 64 percent). The estimated response rates by province and by respondent type are as below.

CF Manager and Chair Survey Response Rate by Province
  Alberta British Columbia Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Valid contacts 51 63 28 22 164
Non-response rate 33% 33% 54% 27% 36%
Response rate 67% 67% 46% 73% 64%

 

CF Manager and Chair Survey Estimated Response Rate by Respondent Type
  CF Manager CF Chair Total
Valid contacts 82 82 164
Non-response rate 21% 51% 36%
Response rate 79% 49% 64%

CF Client Survey

A survey was conducted with CF clients (including non-recipient loan clients) to collect information on the activities and outcomes of the CFP. Clients were surveyed for insights on program delivery and outcomes. Surveys were expected to inform relevance and performance of the CFP.

In building the sampling frame, CFs were asked to provide the names, positions, telephone numbers and email addresses of all of their clients. Information related to loan amounts, types of services received, time frame for receipt of services and supports for clients was collected through the questionnaire.

The response rates and actual completions were monitored closely after survey implementation to ensure that the survey was being implemented appropriately. The survey was sent by email to 5,743 clients. Emails of 1,195 clients were invalid. A total of 1024 clients started the survey and 893 clients completed it for a response rate of 20%. The estimated response rates by province and by respondent type are as below.

Client Survey Estimated Response Rate by Province
  Alberta British Columbia Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Valid contacts 1,032 2,999 294 223 4,548
Non-response rate 78% (806) 83% (2494) 70% (207) 66% (148) 80% (3655)
Response rate 22% (226) 17% (505 ) 30% (87) 34% (75) 20% (893)

 

Client Survey Estimated Response Rate by Respondent Type
  Loan Clients Non-loan Clients Total
Valid contacts 2,148 2,400 4,548
Non-response rate 71% (1,528) 89% (2,127) 80% (3,655)
Response rate 29% (620) 11% (273) 20% (893)

CF Client Profile: The majority of CF clients (83 percent) indicated that their organizations or businesses were currently operating. About 6 percent indicated that their organizations or businesses were still in the planning stage but not yet operating. About 5 percent indicated that their organization or business had permanently stopped operations. About 7 percent of the CF Clients indicated that their organizations or businesses had temporarily stopped operations, been sold or will not proceed. About 12.4 percent of the CF clients were in the retail trade and 7 percent were in the accommodation and food services sector. The remaining was split among various other sectors as shown below.

Text Version, Figure 2: Business Sector

This figure shows the business sector for Community Futures clients surveyed for the evaluation.

Most clients (68.8 percent) received loans from the CF and assistance in the development of a business plan (36.6 percent).

CF Partner Survey

CFs provided administrative data on names, position, telephone numbers and email addresses of partner organizations. Due to time and resource constraints, most CFs elected to provide a sample of 10 – 25 Partners. In the event a region was over-represented, the survey data was weighted accordingly.

The survey was sent by email to 1,329 partners based on the contact information provided by CFs. Emails sent to 106 of the addresses were invalid. A total of 301 clients completed the survey for a response rate of 24.6 percent. The estimated response rates by province are below.

  Alberta British Columbia Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Valid contacts 279 727 151 66 1223
Non-response rate 67% (186) 78% (565) 85% (129) 64% (42) 75% (922)
Response rate 33% (93) 22% (162) 15% (22) 36% (24) 25% (301)

Evaluation Challenges and Limitations

  • Potential for respondent bias. The evaluation findings are based, in part, on the views of key informants and survey respondents with a vested interest in the CFP program and potentially biased in their responses regarding outcomes. Several measures were taken to reduce the effect of respondent biases and validate interview results, including the following: (i) ensuring that respondents understood the strict confidentiality of responses; (ii) including key informants and survey respondents who do not have any vested interest in the CFP or were unsuccessful in their loan applications to the CF; and (iii) asking respondents to provide a rationale for their ratings, including a description of specific activities which contributed to reported outcomes.
     
  • Surveys: The ability of the evaluation to conduct a survey was impacted by a) the completeness and quality of contact information provided by CFs; and b) the willingness of respondents to participate in the surveys. In the event a region was over-represented, the survey data was weighted accordingly. If a group was under-represented, targeted follow-up calls and/or emails were made to enhance the representativeness of the survey responses.
     
  • Case Studies: Case studies are typically expensive and time consuming to carry out. As explained above, it is not possible to analyze a statistically reliable sample and consequently, case studies are not expected to make statistical generalization of the results. To partially address this limitation, the results from the case studies are used to support findings in other lines of evaluation evidence. In addition, documents reviewed during the case studies included those obtained directly from the CF. Because this may include those documents the CFs believe are important for the evaluation, there is a potential for a selection bias. Information was therefore analyzed together with internal departmental information to reduce this bias.
     
  • Attribution/Contribution: As with most of WD programming, other factors will contribute to the expected results/outcomes of CFP. This challenge is particularly relevant for community based programming, given that multiple factors (i.e., multiple funding partners, influence of volunteer boards and other initiatives delivered by the CFs on behalf of other organizations) can influence outcomes while trying to isolate WD’s specific influence on these outcomes. The evaluation team addressed this challenge of attribution by using Statistics Canada data to compare CF-assisted firms versus non-assisted firms.
     
  • Data availability for assessing efficiency/economy: Accurate data on the operational costs of administering programs at WD is often limited or not available which prohibits an extensive analysis of program efficiency and economy. Alternative ways of assessing efficiency and economy was undertaken, such as seeking out opportunities for more optimal use of resources in program governance and delivery through CFP performance data and key-informant interviews.

 


[3] Treasury Board Secretariat. Directive on Evaluation, 2009 http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=15681

[4] Community Development Evaluation Research, Published by Community Waitakere, New Zealand, August 2012 http://www.communitywaitakere.org.nz/images/research1.pdf.

[5] CommonGoals is a company that developed The Exceptional Assistant (TEA) software used by the CFs to report on performance to the department.

[6] "Comparable firms"? those that are of similar age, size, sector and geographic region, but that have not received a direct monetary contribution from CFs.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Méthodes d'évaluation

Cette section décrit le concept, les méthodes et les limites de l'évaluation.

Modèle logique et cadre d'évaluation

Un modèle logique officiel a été élaboré pour le Programme de développement des collectivités (PDC) dans le cadre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) nationale. Le modèle logique du PDC est un diagramme qui décrit les intrants, les activités et les résultats du PDC et les liens qui les unissent. Le modèle fait aussi la distinction entre les activités et les extrants des ministères qui administrent le programme, et ceux des SADC, aussi appelées « organismes de développement des collectivités (ODC) » .

Version textuelle, Figure 1: Modèle logique – Programme de développement des collectivités

La figure présente le modèle logique du Programme de développement des collectivités sous la forme d’un diagramme comprenant les intrants, les extrants et les résultats du programme ainsi que les liens qui les unissent.

Le cadre d’évaluation pour cette étude combine le cadre d’évaluation national du PDC créé pour la SMR nationale et les commentaires reçus lors du processus de planification de l’évaluation de manière à tenir compte des cinq principaux aspects, conformément à la Directive sur la fonction d’évaluation du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor3

Approche et méthode d'évaluation

Une analyse documentaire des approches d'évaluation des programmes 4 de développement des collectivités indique qu'une évaluation du PDC requiert un plan de recherche mixte faisant appel à des sources de données multiples recueillies au moyen de méthodes quantitatives et qualitatives. On se fie à des méthodes quantitatives telles que l'analyse de données et les sondages pour décrire les activités, les résultats et l'incidence à court terme. Les méthodes qualitatives telles que les entrevues et l'analyse documentaire sont prépondérantes dans l'étude des résultats intermédiaires et à plus long terme. Une approche mixte permet une triangulation (c. à d. la convergence de résultats de sources diverses) et une complémentarité (c. à d. l'établissement d'une meilleure compréhension en examinant différents aspects d'un point d'évaluation).

Comité consultatif d'évaluation du PDC

Un comité consultatif a été établi pour fournir à l'équipe chargée du projet d'évaluation des commentaires, des conseils et des suggestions concernant l'exécution de l'étude; tirer au clair les ambiguïtés et résoudre les questions litigieuses; et veiller à ce que l'équipe produise un rapport équilibré, objectif et crédible. Le comité consultatif était composé de ressources ministérielles et externes (SADC et associations de SADC) et un mandat guidait ses activités.

Consultations préliminaires

Des consultations préliminaires ont été menées avec le personnel ministériel et régional de DEO pour établir le mandat de l'évaluation. Le comité consultatif, de même que le comité des directeurs généraux des opérations et le Comité exécutif du Ministère, ont examiné le mandat, notamment le cadre d'évaluation. Le mandat a été finalisé à la suite de ces consultations.

Analyse documentaire

Une analyse des documents du Ministère et de la documentation liée au PDC a été effectuée. Les documents ont été examinés pour déterminer la pertinence et le rendement du programme. Trois principaux types de documents ont été évalués et analysés pendant l'évaluation :

  • Documents généraux (p. ex. documents de DEO qui décrivent l'historique, la justification et la théorie du programme).
  • Rapports d'Industrie Canada sur les PME au Canada.
  • Documentation de programmes et de politiques (p. ex. mandat du PDC, rapports sur le rendement des SADC, sites Web des SADC, information sur le processus de dynamisation des SADC, documents et manuels d'exploitation des SADC, la SMR nationale).
  • Évaluations antérieures du PDC et documentation liée aux programmes de développement des collectivités.

Données sur le rendement

L'équipe chargée du projet d'évaluation a entrepris une analyse détaillée des données de projet de 2008 2009 à 2012 2013 pour dresser un profil des activités mises en œuvre grâce au programme. Les données sur le rendement ont permis de brosser un tableau complet des extrants et des activités du programme (p. ex. les statistiques sur ces activités, les prêts, les services de soutien aux entreprises). Les SADC consignent ces données trimestriellement ou annuellement dans une base de données hébergée par CommonGoals5. Dans la mesure du possible, les données de projet ont été complétées par des données provenant des systèmes de ressources humaines et financières du Ministère.

Examen des numéros d'entreprise de Statistique Canada

Conformément à un marché conclu à cet effet, Statistique Canada a fourni au Ministère des données des clients sur l'emploi, les ventes et les taux de survie des entreprises, ces données ayant servi à faire le suivi des indicateurs du PDC (p. ex. création et disparition d'entreprises, croissance de l'emploi, taux de survie des entreprises). Statistique Canada a effectué quatre extractions de données, dont le Ministère s'est servi pour établir des objectifs de rendement. Dans le but de faciliter ce processus, le Ministère a fourni à Statistique Canada une liste des numéros d'entreprise des clients des SADC. Statistique Canada a transmis l'ensemble des données au Ministère, qui les a analysées et en a fait rapport pour l'évaluation. Des entreprises semblables6 à celles appuyées par les SADC ont été identifiées selon les codes postaux ou les divisions du recensement dans des secteurs desservis par les SADC. L'évaluation reposait sur les résultats de l'extraction de données de 2000 à 2010.

Données de recensement

Statistique Canada a établi des profils de données personnalisés pour chacun des secteurs de service des SADC. Ces données, compilées à partir des recensements de 2006 et de 2011, ont fourni de l'information essentielle à l'évaluation, dont la répartition de la population desservie par chaque secteur de services des SADC, le taux d'activité, le taux de chômage, le revenu moyen par ménage et le niveau d'emploi par secteur d'activité. Le tableau ci dessous montre la répartition de la population desservie par le PDC dans les différentes régions de l'Ouest du Canada.

Province Nombre de SADC Population desservie
Manitoba 16 530 670
Saskatchewan 13 616 725
Alberta 27 1 588 310
British Columbia 34 1 726 740
Total 90 4 993 115

Entrevues auprès des principaux intervenants

Des entrevues semi structurées ont été réalisées avec 60 intervenants internes et externes. Le tableau suivant décrit les principaux groupes :

Type d'intervenants Entrevue prévue Entrevue terminée
Cadres et membres du personnel de DEO 10 11
Représentants d'organismes membres d'un réseau de SADC 10 5
Gestionnaires de comptes d'institutions financières 10 9
Organismes menant des activités semblables s'apparentant au PDC 10 9
Groupes et dirigeants communautaires 10 14
Intervenants et spécialistes externes 10 12
Total 60 60

Études de cas

Les études de cas constituent une méthode d'évaluation efficace pour démontrer les réussites et les difficultés d'un programme. Bien qu'elles ne soient pas représentatives de l'ensemble du programme, les études de cas sélectionnées sont utiles pour donner des exemples et démontrer l'efficacité du programme. Les études de cas peuvent également servir à illustrer la complexité du PDC et les éléments contextuels dans lesquels il s'exécute.

Des études de cas (huit en tout, deux par région) ont été sélectionnées pour l'évaluation en fonction de la taille, de l'objectif du service (planification et développement économique des collectivités c. des entreprises), de la situation géographique et des consultations avec le comité consultatif d'évaluation du PDC. Les méthodes employées lors de l'étude de cas incluaient des visites dans chacune des huit SADC pour examiner les documents et procéder à une entrevue avec un gestionnaire de SADC, un membre du conseil d'administration et au moins trois clients de SADC. La liste des SADC qui ont fait l'objet d'études de cas se trouve ci-dessous.

SADC choisie Province Ville Taille de la population
Central Okanagan CF C.-B. Kamloops 179 840
Central Interior First Nations CF C.-B. Kamloops 9 325
CF Lethbridge Alb. Lethbridge 115 605
CF Peace Country Alb. Peace River 45 140
South Central CF Sask. Moose Jaw 54 540
Newsask CF Sask. Tisdale 45 315
CF Greenstone Man. Flin Flon 7 330
Cedar Lake CF Man. Le Pas 15 965

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Sondages

Sondages auprès des SADC

Un sondage a été mené auprès des SADC ne faisant pas l'objet d'une étude de cas pour avoir un aperçu de la pertinence et du rendement du PDC. Deux sondages ont été distribués pour chaque SADC : un destiné aux gestionnaires, et l'autre, aux présidents du conseil d'administration. Au total, 65 gestionnaires de SADC (79 %) et 40 présidents de SADC (49 %) ont rempli le sondage (taux de réponse de 64 %). Une estimation des taux de réponse par province et par type de répondant se trouve ci dessous.

Taux de réponse, par province, au sondage rempli par les gestionnaires et les présidents des SADC
  Alberta Colombie-Britannique Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Contacts valides 51 63 28 22 164
Taux de non-réponse 33% 33% 54% 27% 36%
Taux de réponse 67% 67% 46% 73% 64%

 

Estimation du taux de réponse, par type de répondant, au sondage rempli par les gestionnaires et les présidents des SADC
  Gestionnaire de la SADC Président de la SADC Total
Contacts valides 82 82 164
Taux de non-réponse 21% 51% 36%
Taux de réponse 79% 49% 64%

Sondage auprès des clients des SADC

Un sondage a été effectué auprès des clients des SADC (y compris les clients non bénéficiaires d'un prêt) pour recueillir de l'information sur les activités et les résultats du PDC. Les clients ont été invités à répondre au sondage pour obtenir leur point de vue sur l'exécution et les résultats du programme. Les sondages visaient à faire connaître la pertinence et le rendement du PDC.

Pour établir la base de sondage, les SADC devaient fournir les noms, les postes, les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques de tous leurs clients. Les renseignements liés à la valeur des prêts, aux types de services obtenus ainsi qu'au délai de réception des services et des mesures de soutien offerts aux clients ont été recueillis par le truchement du questionnaire.

Les taux de réponse et les sondages remplis ont été étroitement surveillés après la mise en œuvre du sondage pour s'assurer qu'il avait bien été mis en œuvre. Le sondage a été envoyé par courriel à 5743 clients. Les adresses électroniques de 1195 clients étaient invalides. Au total, 1024 clients ont commencé à remplir le sondage et 893 clients l'ont rempli, ce qui donne un taux de réponse de 20 %. Une estimation des taux de réponse par province et par type de répondant figure ci dessous.

Estimation du taux de réponse, par province, au sondage auprès des clients
  Alberta Colombie-Britannique Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Contacts valides 1 032 2 999 294 223 4 548
Taux de non-réponse 78% (806) 83% (2494) 70% (207) 66% (148) 80% (3655)
Taux de réponse 22% (226) 17% (505 ) 30% (87) 34% (75) 20% (893)

 

Estimation du taux de réponse, par type de répondant, au sondage auprès des clients
  Clients titulaires d'un prêt Clients non titulaires d'un prêt Total
Valid contacts 2 148 2 400 4 548
Non-response rate 71% (1528) 89% (2127) 80% (3655)
Response rate 29% (620) 11% (273) 20% (893)

Profil des clients des SADC : La plupart des clients des SADC (83 %) ont indiqué que leurs organisations ou entreprises étaient actuellement en activité. Environ 6 % ont indiqué que leurs organisations ou entreprises en étaient toujours à l'étape de planification. Environ 5 % ont indiqué que leur organisation ou entreprise avait cessé ses opérations de façon permanente. Environ 7 % ont indiqué que leurs organisations ou entreprises avaient temporairement cessé leurs opérations, avaient été vendues ou ne verront pas le jour. Environ 12,4 % des clients œuvraient dans le commerce de détail, et 7 %, dans le secteur des services d'hébergement et de restauration. Les autres clients œuvraient dans les divers autres secteurs indiqués dans la figure ci dessous.

Version textuelle, Figure 2: Secteur des affaires

Cette figure illustre le secteur des affaires des clients des SADC visés par le sondage pour l’évaluation.

La SADC a accordé des prêts à la plupart des clients (68,8 %) et leur a fourni une aide pour établir un plan d'activités (36,6 %).

Sondage auprès des partenaires des SADC

Les SADC ont fourni des données administratives, dont les noms, le poste, les numéros de téléphone et les adresses électroniques d'organisations partenaires. En raison de contraintes de temps et de ressources, la plupart des SADC ont choisi de fournir un échantillon de données pour 10 à 25 partenaires. Lorsqu'une région était surreprésentée, les données du sondage étaient pondérées en conséquence.

Le sondage a été envoyé par courriel à 1329 partenaires d'après les coordonnées fournies par les SADC. Les adresses électroniques de 106 partenaires étaient invalides. Au total, 301 clients ont rempli le sondage, ce qui donne un taux de réponse de 24,6 %. Une estimation des taux de réponse par province figure ci dessous.

Estimation du taux de réponse, par province, au sondage auprès des partenaires
  Alberta Colombie-Britannique Manitoba Saskatchewan Total
Contacts valides 279 727 151 66 1223
Taux de non-réponse 67% (186) 78% (565) 85% (129) 64% (42) 75% (922)
Taux de réponse 33% (93) 22% (162) 15% (22) 36% (24) 25% (301)

Difficultés et limites de l'évaluation

  • Risque d’introduction d’un biais attribuable aux répondants : Les conclusions de l’évaluation reposent en partie sur l’opinion des principaux intervenants et des répondants aux sondages ayant un intérêt direct dans le PDC, et ayant ainsi pu donner des réponses subjectives concernant les résultats du programme. Plusieurs mesures ont été prises pour réduire l’effet du biais attribuable aux répondants et valider les résultats tirés des entrevues, notamment : i) s’assurer que les répondants comprenaient le caractère strictement confidentiel des réponses; ii) inclure des principaux intervenants et répondants aux sondages n’ayant pas d’intérêt direct dans le PDC ou auxquels la SADC n’a pas accordé de prêt; iii) demander aux répondants de justifier les cotes attribuées, notamment en fournissant une description des activités particulières ayant contribué aux résultats mentionnés.
     
  • Sondages : Lors de l'évaluation, les aspects suivants ont eu une incidence sur la capacité de réaliser un sondage : a) l'exhaustivité et la qualité des coordonnées fournies par les SADC; b) le consentement des répondants à participer aux sondages. Lorsqu'une région était surreprésentée, les données du sondage étaient pondérées en conséquence. Si un groupe était sous représenté, des appels de suivi ciblés étaient faits ou des courriels étaient envoyés pour améliorer la représentativité des réponses aux sondages.
     
  • Études de cas : La réalisation d’études de cas est généralement coûteuse et longue. Comme nous l’avons expliqué plus tôt, il est impossible d’analyser un échantillon statistiquement fiable et, par conséquent, il ne faut pas s’attendre à ce que les études de cas puissent permettre de généraliser les résultats du point de vue statistique. Pour remédier en partie à cette situation, les résultats des études de cas servent à appuyer les conclusions d’autres sources de données d’évaluation. De plus, les documents examinés pendant les études de cas comprenaient ceux obtenus directement auprès de la SADC. Étant donné que ces documents pouvaient inclure des documents que les SADC jugeaient importants pour l’évaluation, il existe un risque d’introduction d’un biais attribuable à la sélection. Ces documents ont donc été analysés en même temps que les renseignements ministériels internes pour réduire le risque de biais.
     
  • Attribution/contribution : Comme pour la plupart des programmes de DEO, d’autres facteurs contribueront à l’obtention des résultats attendus pour le PDC. Il s’agit là d’une difficulté qui s’applique particulièrement aux programmes communautaires, étant donné que de nombreux facteurs (c.-à-d. les partenaires de financement multiples, l’influence des conseils d’administration bénévoles, et d’autres initiatives mises en œuvre par les SADC pour le compte d’autres organisations) peuvent influer sur les résultats tandis qu’on tente d’isoler l’incidence précise de DEO sur ces résultats. L’équipe chargée de l’évaluation a réglé cette difficulté au chapitre de l’attribution en utilisant les données de Statistique Canada pour comparer les entreprises appuyées par les SADC avec celles non appuyées par ces dernières.
     
  • Disponibilité des données pour évaluer l’efficacité et la rentabilité : Les données précises sur les coûts de fonctionnement liés à l’administration de programmes à DEO sont souvent limitées ou non disponibles, ce qui empêche l’analyse complète de l’efficacité et de la rentabilité des programmes. On a eu recours à d’autres moyens d’évaluation de l’efficacité et de la rentabilité, notamment la recherche de possibilités d’optimisation de l’utilisation des ressources au niveau de la gouvernance et de l’exécution des programmes grâce à des données sur le rendement du PDC et à des entrevues avec de principaux intervenants.

[3] Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Directive sur la fonction d'évaluation, 2009. http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=15681

[4] Recherche sur l'évaluation du développement des collectivités, publiée par Community Waitakere, Nouvelle Zélande, août 2012 (en anglais seulement) http://www.communitywaitakere.org.nz/images/research1.pdf

[5] CommonGoals est une entreprise ayant développé le logiciel The Exceptional Assistant (TEA) que les SADC utilisent pour faire rapport de leur rendement au Ministère.

[6] « Entreprises semblables » : entreprises d'âge et de taille comparables, qui œuvrent dans le même secteur et se situent dans la même région géographique, mais qui ne bénéficient pas d'une contribution financière directe des SADC.