Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Introduction

Background of the Community Futures Program

The Community Futures Program (CFP) supports community economic development (CED) and builds the self-reliance and capacity of communities to realize their full sustainable potential.

The objectives of the CFP in support of this mandate include:

  1. Fostering economic stability, growth and job creation;
  2. Helping to create diversified and competitive local rural economies; and
  3. Helping to build economically sustainable communities.

The CFP was established in 1985, as part of Employment and Immigration Canada's Canadian Jobs Strategy, with the objective of mitigating the labour market adjustment needs in non-metropolitan areas experiencing chronic or acute unemployment. The CFP created a flexible, national resource to support a bottom-up and participatory approach to community adjustment, diversification and development. The program was transferred to Regional Development Agencies (RDAs) in 1995.

The CFP is delivered through four RDAs in their respective regions: the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), Canada Economic Development Agency for the Regions of Quebec (CED-Q), Western Economic Diversification Canada (WD) and the Federal Economic Development Agency for Southern Ontario (FedDev). The Federal Economic Development Initiative for Northern Ontario (FedNor) under Industry Canada (IC) delivers the CFP in northern Ontario. Departments are accountable for the ongoing management of the Transfer Payment Program (TPP) in accordance with all policies and legislations of the Government of Canada unless otherwise noted in the Terms and Conditions of the CFP.

The CFP is designed to operate in rural communities. Program reach extends to existing and new small and medium-sized enterprises (SMEs), entrepreneurs and community groups and organizations involved in community capacity building. The program works with community stakeholders and partners that include the private sector, non-profit organizations, non-government organizations, financial institutions, equity groups, municipalities, associations, regional networks, educational organizations, labour organizations and First Nations.

The CFP provides financial support to Community Future Organizations (CFs), which are incorporated, not-for-profit organizations with volunteer boards of directors and professional staff. These organizations form a national network of more than 2,0001 volunteers who dedicate thousands of hours annually to their communities. CFs are accountable to government through terms which have been set out in their contribution agreements with Departments.

Community Futures in Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta, and British Columbia

WD assumed responsibility for the CFP in western Canada in April 1995. There were 78 CFs and two CF Associations in existence at the time. Subsequent to the transfer, WD approved the creation of CF Associations in Alberta and Saskatchewan and 12 new CFs to ensure universal coverage for the West.

As at 2013–14 fiscal year, there are 90 non-profit CFs, 4 provincial CF Associations and one Community Futures Pan West (CFPW) Group in Western Canada. The four provincial CF Associations were established to provide common services and support to their member CFs. The CFPW was established as an initiative of the four western CF Associations to enhance collaboration and consistency in the use of tools and services available to all 90 CFs across Western Canada. CFs are part of WD’s Western Canada Business Service Network (WCBSN) and assist with the delivery of WD’s Entrepreneurs with Disabilities Program (EDP), as well as work with the Aboriginal Business Service Network (ABSN). Further, many CFs have been active participants in the delivery of services or programs for other government departments such as Human Resources and Skills Development Canada (HRSDC).

As per the CFP Terms and Conditions, the maximum amount of financial assistance that may be provided by a local CF to any small and medium-sized enterprises (SME) or Social Enterprise shall not normally exceed $150,000. Two or more local CFs may collaborate to provide financial assistance to SMEs or Social Enterprises in cases where there is a demonstrated benefit to their communities. Each participating CF may provide up to $150,000 in such situations.

Program Activities

As stated in the terms and conditions of the CFP, CFs receive support from the department to engage in the following activities:

  • Fostering strategic community planning and socio-economic development by working with their communities to assess local problems, establish objectives, and plan and implement strategies to develop human capital, institutional and physical infrastructure, entrepreneurship, employment, and the economy.
     
  • Providing business services by delivering a range of business counselling and information services to SMEs and Social Enterprises.
     
  • Providing access to capital to assist existing SMEs and Social Enterprises or to help entrepreneurs to create new SMEs and Social Enterprises.
     
  • Supporting community-based projects and special initiatives by collaborating with other partners in the public sector and the community to implement strategic community projects or deliver special initiatives targeted to communities. These projects would vary considerably from one community to another and could include a wide range of local initiatives in areas such as tourism, entrepreneurship, economic opportunities for specific client groups such as women, youth, Aboriginal people and members of official language minorities, or projects which respond to specific challenges facing a community such as downturns in important industries.

The CFP consolidates these activities as a sub-program under the program activity of Community Economic Growth within WD’s Program Alignment Architecture (PAA).

Specifically, the expected results under the CF sub-program relate to “a strong rural community strategic planning and implementation,” “access to business development services” and “access to capital and leveraged capital.”

Community Futures Program Governance Structure

Although WD is not directly involved in the operation and decision-making activities of the CFs, WD provides annual funding to the CFs. Overall responsibility for the achievement of WD results is vested with WD’s Deputy Minister, assisted by the Executive Team. Four regional Assistant Deputy Ministers report to the Deputy Minister and are responsible for program delivery in each of their respective western provinces.

Regional program managers and officers liaise with CFs to provide the annual funding. Responsibilities of the program managers and officers include:

  • assessing and reviewing CF performance targets and plans in order to determine the appropriateness of renewing contribution agreements;
     
  • assessing the risk of each CF when developing and negotiating contribution agreements in order to develop an appropriate monitoring system;
  • liaising with CFs on strategic and operational issues;
     
  • reviewing and approving CF payment claims; and
     
  • monitoring CFs to ensure compliance with the terms and conditions of the contribution agreements between WD and the CF.

The on-going daily activities of individual CFs are directed by its volunteer Board and implemented through the management and staff of the organizations. CFs typically employ between three to five professional staff. Each CF is headed by a General Manager who reports to a Board of Directors. Typically, a loans officer and a community development officer report to the General Manager, along with administrative staff.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Community Futures Program Funding Allocations

The annual departmental expenditure for the CFP for the 2008–13 period is presented in millions of dollars (table below).

WD Grants and Contribution (G&C) CFP Expenditures 2008–13 ($ millions)
Year CFP Operating Funds CFP Loan Funds CFP Association Funds G&C
2008–09 27.0 10.0 0.8 37.8
2009–10 27.6 3.5 0.8 32.0
2010–11 28.4 0.02 0.9 29.2
2011–12 26.7 0.02 0.8 27.6
2012–13 28.6 0 0.8 29.4
Total $156.0

Source: WD Finance and Corporate Management

Evaluation of the CFP

The last evaluation of the CFP was conducted in 2008. The evaluation reported that there was a continued need for the CFP and the objectives and mandate of the program remained relevant to government responsibilities and priorities. Impacts highlighted in the evaluation indicated that CF activities supported economic growth and diversification of communities and strengthen community capacity. The evaluation provided the following recommendations:

There were two main recommendations related to the relevance section:

  • WD should introduce one or two specific indicators to capture CFs’ role in pursuing collaborative relationships with other organizations (i.e. informal arrangements, memorandums of understanding, etc.) and acting as a gateway to services for their clients (e.g. number of referrals).
     
  • WD Program Managers need to review the recent shift in WD priorities to determine how the CF Program should respond in the future.

There were two main recommendations related to the design and delivery section:

  • WD should take the necessary steps to further enhance the management of the investment fund.
     
  • WD should take the necessary steps to enhance the reliability and use of performance data.

There were two recommendations related to the impact section:

  • WD needs to further define the indicators associated with the long-term outcomes of the program and ensure that data is being tracked against the established indicators.
     
  • Subject to WD preparing a plan to implement the other recommendations in this report, WD should continue its support and long term commitment to the three services provided by the CF program.

Based on a follow-up conducted in 2011 on the status of the recommendations, most of the recommendations were completed by the department. The recommendation related to the development of specific indicators was indicated as on-going and being is addressed through the development and implementation of the national CF Performance Measurement Strategy (PMS). Decisions related to the development of a new database for the CFP was deferred by the department.

The Community Futures Performance Measurement Strategy

A national Performance Measurement Strategy (PMS) was developed by all RDAs for the CFP and contains a national evaluation framework and performance measurement framework for ongoing data collection. A committee comprised of representatives from all RDAs was responsible for coordination of its implementation. WD’s Performance Measurement Framework (PMF) for 2013–14 includes indicators derived from the national PMS which allow the department to report CFP results publicly and to parliament. The CFP performance indicators are captured in a database hosted by CommonGoals, the developer of the performance measurement software used by the majority of CFs.

Scope and Objectives of the Evaluation

The Treasury Board of Canada Secretariat (TBS) Policy on Evaluation2 requires the department to evaluate the relevance and performance of all direct programs spending every five years. As outlined in its approved 2013–14 evaluation plan, the department committed to conducting an evaluation of the CFP in 2013–14. Each RDA is required to complete an evaluation of their CFP by June 2014.

The scope of the evaluation includes CFP activities funded between 2008–09 and 2012–13. All RDAs coordinated on the evaluation of the CFP using the evaluation framework developed as part of the national PMS.

The department is currently undertaking a revitalization exercise of the CFP. The revitalization of the CFP is to ensure that the CFs become more productive, efficient and relevant to the evolving needs of western Canadian rural communities and the priorities of the federal government and the department.

The CF revitalization initiative includes a review of:

  • Governance and accountability
  • Performance and Alignment
  • Role and structure of CF Associations

In order to minimise duplication of effort, the evaluation draws upon findings in the revitalization exercise to support some of the issues in the evaluation framework. The evaluation serves as a complement to the broader revitalization initiative.

A list of the specific questions addressed in the evaluation is provided in the following table.

Evaluation Issues: Evaluation Questions:
Relevance 1. Is there a continued need for the CFP?

2. To what extent are the objectives of the CFP aligned with: i) Departmental strategic outcomes? ii) Federal priorities and strategies?

3. To what extent are the objectives of the CFP aligned with the federal government’s activities, roles and responsibilities?

4. Does the CFP complement, duplicate or overlap other government programs or private services?
Performance (Effectiveness) 5. Establishing incrementality: What impact would the absence of CFP funding have had on the: Business start-up? Survival of the business? Growth of the business? Community strategic planning and development?

6. To what extent have the immediate, intermediate and ultimate outcomes of the CFP been achieved?

6.1 To what extent have CFP activities contributed to the achievement of identified immediate outcomes in: Improved access to capital? Enhanced business services? Strengthened community strategic planning? More effective implementation of CED through projects, partnerships and CED initiatives?

6.2 To what extent have the CFP activities and immediate outcomes contributed to the achievement of identified intermediate outcomes in: Improved business practices and increased entrepreneurship? Strengthened and expanded businesses? Strengthened capacity for socio-economic development?

6.3 To what extent have the CFP activities, immediate and intermediate outcomes contributed to its identified ultimate outcome in: Economic stability, growth and job creation? Diversified and competitive local rural economies? Economically sustainable communities?

7. What are the barriers to achieving the CFP immediate, intermediate and ultimate outcomes and to what extent are these being mitigated?

8. To what extent are the CFP’s performance measurement and reporting structures effective in reporting on the achievement of the CFP outcomes? How is the performance information used by CFs? By departments?
Performance (Efficiency and Economy) 9. To what extent is the CFP efficient in the context of the results being achieved?

10. Is there a more cost effective way of achieving expected results, taking into consideration alternative delivery mechanisms, best practices and lessons learned?

11. Are the CF investment funds well managed? Are the loss rates of the loans acceptable? Do the CFs carry an acceptable level of risk? Are CF clients satisfied with services from the CFs?

12. To what extent are the CFs meeting the needs of clients in terms of services rendered?

 


[1] 2012 Annual Report of the Community Futures Network of Canada. http://www.communityfuturescanada.ca/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=IlRwGckP3YQ%3d&tabid=58

[2] Treasury Board Secretariat. Policy on Evaluation, 2009. http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-eng.aspx?id=15024

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Introduction

Contexte du programme de développement des collectivités

Le Programme de développement des collectivités (PDC) soutient le développement économique des collectivités (DEC) et renforce l'auto développement ainsi que la capacité des collectivités à atteindre leur plein potentiel durable.

Les objectifs du PDC, pour remplir ce mandat, sont les suivants :

  1. favoriser la stabilité et la croissance économiques et la création d'emplois;
  2. aider à créer des économies rurales diversifiées et concurrentielles en région;
  3. soutenir la création de collectivités économiquement viables.

Le PDC a vu le jour en 1985, dans le cadre de la stratégie Planification de l'emploi d'Emploi et Immigration Canada. Son objectif consistait à réduire les besoins en adaptation au marché du travail des régions non urbaines où le chômage était chronique ou élevé. Le PDC représentait une ressource nationale souple permettant de soutenir une approche ascendante axée sur la participation à l'égard de l'adaptation, de la diversification et du développement des collectivités. En 1995, le programme a été transféré aux organismes de développement régional (ODR).

Le PDC est offert par les quatre ODR, soit l'Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique (APECA), l'Agence de développement économique du Canada pour les régions du Québec (ADECRQ), Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada (DEO) et l'Agence fédérale de développement économique pour le Sud de l'Ontario (FedDev), ainsi que par l'Initiative fédérale de développement économique pour le Nord de l'Ontario (FedNor) sous la tutelle d'Industrie Canada. Les ministères sont responsables de la gestion continue des programmes de paiements de transfert (PPT), conformément aux politiques du gouvernement du Canada et aux lois en vigueur, à moins de directives contraires dans les modalités du PDC.

Le PDC est conçu pour fonctionner dans les collectivités rurales. La portée du programme s'étend aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME), nouvelles et existantes, aux groupes communautaires et d'entrepreneurs et aux organismes qui participent au renforcement des capacités des collectivités. Les responsables du programme collaborent avec des intervenants de la collectivité et des partenaires, dont des entreprises du secteur privé, des organismes sans but lucratif, des organisations non gouvernementales, des institutions financières, des groupes fiduciaires, des municipalités, des associations, des réseaux régionaux, des établissements d'enseignement, des syndicats et des Premières Nations.

Le PDC fournit un soutien financier aux sociétés d'aide au développement des collectivités (SADC), des organismes sans but lucratif constitués en personne morale, qui comptent sur des conseils d'administration bénévoles et une équipe de professionnels. Ces organismes constituent un réseau national de plus de 2 0001 bénévoles qui consacrent chaque année des milliers d'heures de leur vie à leur collectivité. Les SADC doivent rendre des comptes au gouvernement, conformément aux modalités qui ont été établies dans les ententes de contribution conclues avec les ministères.

Développement des collectivités au Manitoba, en Saskatchewan, en Alberta et en Colombie Britannique

DEO assume la responsabilité du PDC dans l'Ouest du Canada depuis avril 1995. À l'époque, il y avait 78 SADC et deux associations de SADC. À la suite du transfert, DEO a approuvé la création d'autres associations en Alberta et en Saskatchewan et de 12 autres SADC, de manière à servir les régions de l'Ouest universellement.

En date de l'exercice financier 2013-2014, l'Ouest du Canada compte 90 SADC sans but lucratif, quatre associations provinciales de SADC et un groupe de SADC pour l'ensemble de l'Ouest. Les quatre associations provinciales de SADC ont été mises sur pied pour fournir des services communs et un soutien à leurs membres. Le groupe de SADC pour l'ensemble de l'Ouest a été mis sur pied dans le cadre d'une initiative des quatre associations de SADC de l'Ouest visant à améliorer la collaboration et à uniformiser l'utilisation des outils et des services accessibles aux 90 SADC pour l'ensemble de l'Ouest. Les SADC sont l'une des principales composantes du Réseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien (RSEOC) de DEO, contribuent à la prestation du Programme d'aide aux entrepreneurs ayant une incapacité (PAEI) de DEO, et collaborent avec le Réseau de services aux entreprises autochtones (RSEA). En outre, de nombreuses SADC participent activement à la prestation de services ou à l'exécution de programmes pour d'autres ministères, notamment Ressources humaines et Développement des compétences Canada (RHDCC).

Conformément au mandat du PDC, l'aide financière pouvant être versée par une SADC de la région à une PME ou une entreprise sociale ne peut normalement pas excéder 150 000 dollars. Deux SADC ou plus peuvent unir leurs efforts pour offrir une aide financière à des PME ou à des entreprises sociales lorsque celles ci ont fait la preuve que l'aide est profitable à leur collectivité. En pareil cas, chaque SADC participante peut verser au plus 150 000 dollars.

Activités de programme

Tel qu'il est énoncé dans le mandat du PDC, les SADC obtiennent un soutien du Ministère pour mener les activités suivantes :

  • Favoriser la planification stratégique des collectivités et le développement socio économique en collaborant avec leurs collectivités pour évaluer les problèmes locaux; établir des objectifs; planifier et mettre en œuvre des stratégies visant le développement des infrastructures humaines, organisationnelles et physiques, l'entrepreneuriat, l'emploi et l'économie;
     
  • Offrir des services aux entreprises par la prestation de conseils et d'information aux PME et aux entreprises sociales;
     
  • Donner accès à du capital pour aider les PME et les entreprises sociales existantes, ou à des entrepreneurs pour les aider à créer de nouvelles PME et entreprises sociales;
     
  • Soutenir des projets communautaires et des initiatives spéciales en collaborant avec d'autres partenaires du secteur public et de la collectivité pour mettre en œuvre des projets communautaires stratégiques ou réaliser des initiatives spéciales ciblant les collectivités. Ces projets varient considérablement d'une collectivité à l'autre et comprennent de nombreuses initiatives locales dans des domaines comme le tourisme, l'entrepreneuriat, les possibilités économiques offertes à des groupes précis comme les femmes, les jeunes, les Autochtones et les membres des minorités de langue officielle, ou des projets qui permettent de surmonter les difficultés auxquelles fait face une collectivité, comme un ralentissement dans des industries importantes.

Le PDC réunit ces quatre activités en un sous programme relevant de l'activité de programme Croissance économique des collectivités dans l'Architecture d'alignement des programmes (AAP) de DEO. Plus précisément, les résultats attendus se rapportent à « une solide planification stratégique des collectivités en région rurale et une mise en œuvre efficace », à « l'accès aux services de développement des entreprises » et à « l'accès au capital et aux capitaux obtenus par effet de levier ».

Structure de gouvernance du Programme de développement des collectivités

Bien que DEO ne participe pas directement aux activités de fonctionnement et à la prise de décisions des SADC, il leur fournit un financement annuel. La responsabilité globale à l'égard de l'atteinte de résultats pour DEO repose sur le sous ministre de DEO, aidé de l'équipe de direction. Quatre sous ministres adjoints régionaux relèvent du sous ministre et sont responsables de l'exécution du programme dans leur province respective de l'Ouest.

Des gestionnaires de programme et des agents régionaux communiquent avec les SADC pour fournir le financement annuel. Les responsabilités des gestionnaires de programme et des agents incluent notamment :

  • l'évaluation des risques pour chacune des SADC lors de la préparation et de la négociation des ententes de contribution afin de créer un système de surveillance approprié;
     
  • la communication avec les SADC concernant des questions stratégiques et opérationnelles;
     
  • l'examen et l'approbation des demandes de remboursement des SADC;
     
  • la surveillance des SADC pour vérifier le respect des modalités des ententes de contribution conclues avec DEO.

Les activités quotidiennes courantes des SADC sont dictées par leur conseil d'administration bénévole et exécutées par leurs cadres et leurs employés respectifs. Les SADC emploient généralement de trois à cinq professionnels. Chaque SADC a, à sa tête, un directeur général qui relève d'un conseil d'administration. En général, un responsable des prêts et un agent de développement des collectivités relèvent du directeur général, ainsi que le personnel administratif.

Répartition des fonds du Programme de développement des collectivités

Les dépenses annuelles du Ministère pour le PDC de 2008 à 2013 sont exprimées en millions de dollars (tableau ci dessous).

Dépenses de DEO liées aux subventions et aux contributions (S et C) pour le PDC, 2008-2013 (en millions de dollars)
Année Fonds de fonctionnement du PDC Fonds d'emprunt du PDC Fonds d'association du PDC S et C
2008–2009 27,0 10,0 0,8 37,8
2009–2010 27,6 3,5 0,8 32,0
2010–2011 28,4 0,02 0,9 29,2
2011–2012 26,7 0,02 0,8 27,6
2012–2013 28,6 0 0,8 29,4
Total 156,0 $

Source : Finances et Gestion ministérielles, DEO

Évaluation du PDC

La dernière évaluation du PDC a été réalisée en 2008. Selon cette évaluation, le PDC correspond toujours à un besoin, et les objectifs et le mandat du programme demeurent pertinents dans le cadre des responsabilités et des priorités du gouvernement. L'incidence du programme mise en évidence dans l'évaluation indique que les activités des SADC ont favorisé la croissance et la diversification économiques des collectivités et renforcent les capacités de ces dernières. L'évaluation comportait par ailleurs des recommandations.

Deux principales recommandations portaient sur la pertinence du PDC :

  • DEO devrait adopter un ou deux indicateurs précis pour évaluer la capacité des SADC d'entretenir des relations de collaboration avec d'autres organisations (c. à d. ententes informelles, protocoles d'entente) et d'aiguiller leurs clients vers divers services (p. ex. nombre d'aiguillages).
     
  • Les gestionnaires de programme de DEO devraient tenir compte de la récente restructuration des priorités de DEO pour déterminer l'orientation future du PDC.

Deux principales recommandations portaient sur la conception et l'exécution du PDC :

  • DEO devrait prendre les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer davantage la gestion du fonds d'investissement.
     
  • DEO devrait prendre les mesures nécessaires pour accroître la fiabilité des données sur le rendement et en encourager l'utilisation.

Deux principales recommandations portaient sur l'incidence du PDC :

  • DEO devrait mieux définir les indicateurs associés aux résultats à long terme du programme et veiller à faire le suivi des données par rapport aux indicateurs établis.
     
  • En attendant de dresser un plan de mise en œuvre des autres recommandations formulées dans le présent rapport, DEO devrait maintenir son appui et son engagement à long terme envers la prestation des trois services prévus par le PDC.

À la lumière d'un suivi des recommandations réalisé en 2011, le Ministère a exécuté la plupart de celles ci. La recommandation portant sur l'élaboration d'indicateurs précis est actuellement exécutée grâce à l'élaboration et à la mise en œuvre de la Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) nationale du PDC. Le Ministère a reporté la prise de décisions liées à l'élaboration d'une nouvelle base de données pour le PDC.

Stratégie de mesure du rendement du Programme de développement des collectivités

Une Stratégie de mesure du rendement (SMR) nationale a été élaborée par tous les ODR pour le PDC et comporte un cadre national d'évaluation et un cadre de mesure du rendement pour la collecte de données en continu. Un comité formé de représentants de tous les ODR est chargé de coordonner la mise en œuvre. Le Cadre de mesure du rendement (CMR) de DEO pour 2013-2014 recense des indicateurs, inspirés de la SMR nationale, qui permettent au Ministère de faire rapport des résultats du PDC au public et au Parlement. Les indicateurs de rendement du PDC sont consignés dans une base de données hébergée par CommonGoals, le développeur du logiciel de mesure de rendement utilisé par la majorité des SADC.

Portée et objectifs de l'évaluation

Conformément à la Politique sur l'évaluation2 du Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor (SCT), le Ministère a le mandat d’évaluer tous les cinq ans la pertinence et le rendement de toutes les dépenses directes de programmes. Ainsi, dans son plan d’évaluation approuvé pour 2013-2014, le Ministère s’est engagé à évaluer le PDC au cours de l’exercice 2013-2014. Chaque ODR doit évaluer son PDC d’ici juin 2014.

La portée de l'évaluation englobe les activités du PDC financées entre 2008-2009 et 2012-2013. Tous les ODR ont coordonné leurs efforts afin d'évaluer le PDC à l'aide du cadre d'évaluation élaboré pour la SMR nationale.

À l'heure actuelle, le Ministère procède à un exercice de dynamisation du PDC. Il vise à s'assurer que les SADC deviennent plus productives et efficaces et répondent aux besoins changeants des collectivités rurales de l'Ouest du Canada ainsi qu'aux priorités du gouvernement fédéral et du Ministère.

L'initiative de dynamisation du PDC comprend un examen des aspects suivants :

  • Gouvernance et responsabilisation
  • Rendement et harmonisation
  • Rôle et structure des associations de SADC

Afin de minimiser les efforts inutiles, l'évaluation se fonde sur les résultats de l'exercice de dynamisation pour appuyer certains points du cadre d'évaluation. Cette dernière se veut un complément à l'initiative globale de dynamisation.

Une liste des questions précises posées lors de l'évaluation est présentée dans le tableau ci-dessous.

Points d'évaluation Questions d'évaluation
Pertinence 1. Le PDC correspond il toujours à un besoin?

2. Dans quelle mesure les objectifs du PDC s'harmonisent ils avec : i) les résultats stratégiques ministériels? ii) les priorités et les stratégies fédérales?

3. Dans quelle mesure les objectifs du PDC s'harmonisent ils avec les activités, les rôles et les responsabilités du gouvernement fédéral?

4. Y a t il double emploi, chevauchement ou complémentarité entre le PDC et d'autres programmes gouvernementaux ou services du secteur privé?
Rendement (efficacité) 5. Établir l'effet d'accroissement : Quelles auraient été les conséquences de l'absence de financement du PDC pour le démarrage, la survie et la croissance des entreprises, et pour la planification et le développement stratégiques des collectivités?

6. Dans quelle mesure les résultats immédiats, intermédiaires et finaux du PDC ont ils été atteints?

6.1 Dans quelle mesure les activités du PDC ont elles contribué à l'atteinte des résultats immédiats ciblés : accès amélioré au capital; amélioration des services aux entreprises; renforcement de la planification stratégique des collectivités; mise en œuvre plus efficace du DEC grâce à des projets, à des partenariats et à des initiatives de DEC?

6.2 Dans quelle mesure les activités et les résultats immédiats du PDC ont ils contribué à l'atteinte des résultats intermédiaires ciblés : amélioration des pratiques commerciales et de l'entrepreneuriat; renforcement et expansion des entreprises existantes; renforcement des capacités pour le développement socio économique?

6.3 Dans quelle mesure les activités ainsi que les résultats immédiats et intermédiaires du PDC ont ils contribué à l'atteinte des résultats finaux ciblés : stabilité et croissance économiques et création d'emplois; économies rurales diversifiées et concurrentielles de la région; collectivités économiquement viables?

7. Quels sont les obstacles empêchant l'atteinte des résultats immédiats, intermédiaires et finaux du PDC et dans quelle mesure parvient on à les atténuer?

8. À quel point les mesures du rendement et les structures de rapport du PDC sont elles efficaces pour faire rapport de l'atteinte des résultats du PDC? Comment les SADC et les ministères utilisent ils les données sur le rendement?

Rendement (efficacité et rentabilité)

9. Dans quelle mesure le PDC est il efficace en ce qui a trait aux résultats obtenus?

10. Existe t il une manière plus efficace d'atteindre les résultats attendus, en tenant compte d'autres mécanismes de mise en œuvre, des pratiques exemplaires et des leçons retenues?

11. Les fonds d'investissement des SADC sont ils bien gérés? Est ce que les taux de pertes sur prêts sont acceptables? Est ce que le niveau de risque est acceptable pour les SADC? Les clients des SADC sont-ils satisfaits des services de ces dernières?

12. Dans quelle mesure les services rendus par les SADC répondent ils aux besoins de la clientèle?

 


[1] Révision annuelle 2012 du Réseau de développement des collectivités du Canada. http://www.communityfuturescanada.ca/LinkClick.aspx?fileticket=3AkREhEJoi0%3d&tabid=62

[2] Secrétariat du Conseil du Trésor. Politique sur l'évaluation, 2009. http://www.tbs-sct.gc.ca/pol/doc-fra.aspx?id=15024