Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Warning The following document is out of date.

Archived Content

Information identified as archived on the Web is for reference, research or recordkeeping purposes. It has not been altered or updated after the date of archiving. Web pages that are archived on the Web are not subject to the Government of Canada Web Standards. As per the Communications Policy of the Government of Canada, you can request alternate formats on the "Contact Us" page.

Access West logo and newsletter header image

August 2014 Issue

Connecting Western Canadian Aerospace Companies with Global Opportunities

Minister Michelle Rempel with the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Public Works and Government Services, and Gordon Campbell, Canadian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, at the Farnborough Airshow.
Minister Michelle Rempel with the Honourable Diane Finley, Minister of Public Works and Government Services, and Gordon Campbell, Canadian High Commissioner to the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, at the Farnborough Airshow.

The aerospace industry is in full swing in Western Canada with continued growth, at home and around the world. Employing over 27,000 people in high skilled jobs and generating over $3 billion in annual revenues in the West, Canada is truly a leader in aerospace.

Last month, Minister Rempel participated in the Farnborough International Airshow in Farnborough, England, one of the world’s largest exhibitions and air displays, where she officially opened the Western Canada reception.

"The Farnborough Airshow was a great opportunity for targeted networking with professionals and to promote Western Canada’s aerospace sector on an international level. The aerospace industry in the West has a strong reputation for innovation through research and development, as well as a highly-skilled workforce," said Minister Rempel.

In partnership with the Aerospace Industries Association of Canada (AIAC), the Harper Government, through WD, is supporting seven inter-related projects that promote the western Canadian aerospace industry. Ultimately, this will enhance market access and supply chain development opportunities for small- and medium-sized enterprises across the West. At the Farnborough Airshow, WD’s support meant an opportunity for the West’s businesses to connect with international contractors, including some of the industry’s most important players.

This year, Western Canada had a strong presence at Farnborough, with a total of 23 western companies and organizations attending. The results were success stories and deals, which contribute to the advancement of global aerospace capabilities and new economic opportunities for Canadians.

 

Growing at Home: WestDef 2014 Symposium

Minister Michelle Rempel and JR Cox, Chairman of WCDIA at WestDef.<BR><BR>Photo credit: WestDef/Neil Zeller Photography
Minister Michelle Rempel and JR Cox, Chairman of WCDIA at WestDef.

Photo credit: WestDef/Neil Zeller Photography

Canada’s thriving defence and security sector employs approximately 71,000 people, and generates over $12.6 billion in annual revenue. This sector is growing rapidly in Western Canada, and the Harper Government was pleased to support the Western Canadian Defence Industries Association’s (WCDIA) annual conference, WestDef 2014, which took place this past July in Calgary.

With the theme Creating Innovative Opportunities in a Post Afghanistan World, the fifth edition of WestDef was a valuable event for western Canadian businesses, connecting small- and medium-sized enterprises (SME) with key decision makers, while promoting trade and investment in the defence and security industries.

In announcing the funding, Minister Rempel said, "Through our support to WestDef 2014, we are increasing international SME competitiveness and cultivating new investment opportunities. We are committed to strengthening this industry in the West and across Canada by working closely with industry partners."

Quick Facts
  • 202 registrants
  • 53 Western Canadian businesses
  • 163 requested business-to-business (B2B) meetings
  • 29 concurrent sessions (i.e. Lockheed Martin, Department of National Defence, Textron Systems Canada, SAIT Polytechnic, Raytheon, etc.)
  • 17 tradeshow booths

This successful event provided western Canadian businesses with an opportunity to showcase and promote their capabilities to a wide range of national and international industry-related stakeholders.

"Based on the B2B's that occurred at WestDef 2014, early indications are that the relationship between the Edge Group and iTraumaCare may lead to sales of the iTClamp in both Canada and the UK," said James Cox of Edge Group and Dr. Ian Atkinson of iTraumaCare.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Avertissement Le document suivant est désuet.

Information archivée dans le Web

Information identifiée comme étant archivée dans le Web à des fins de consultation, de recherche ou de tenue de documents. Elle n’a pas été modifiée ni mise à jour depuis la date de son archivage. Les pages Web qui sont archivées dans le Web ne sont pas assujetties aux normes applicables au Web du gouvernement du Canada. Conformément à la Politique de communication du gouvernement du Canada, vous pouvez la demander sous d’autres formes. Ses coordonnées figurent à la page « Contactez-nous »

Accés Ouest

Numéro d’août 2014

Connecter les entreprises aérospatiales de l’Ouest canadien aux débouchés internationaux

La ministre Michelle Rempel en compagnie de l’honorable Diane Finley, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, et de Gordon Campbell, Haut-commissaire du Canada au Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord, au Salon aéronautique de Farnborough.
La ministre Michelle Rempel en compagnie de l’honorable Diane Finley, ministre des Travaux publics et des Services gouvernementaux, et de Gordon Campbell, Haut-commissaire du Canada au Royaume-Uni de Grande-Bretagne et d’Irlande du Nord, au Salon aéronautique de Farnborough.

L’industrie aérospatiale connaît un élan incroyable dans l’Ouest canadien, enregistrant une croissance continue au pays comme à l’étranger. Employant plus de 27 000 travailleurs hautement qualifiés et générant des revenus annuels de plus de 3 milliards de dollars dans l’Ouest canadien, le Canada fait preuve d’un véritable leadership dans le secteur de l’aérospatial.

Le mois dernier, la ministre Rempel a participé au Salon aéronautique international de Farnborough, en Angleterre, l’un des plus grands salons et expositions aéronautiques au monde, où elle a officiellement lancé la réception organisée par l’Ouest canadien.

« Le Salon aéronautique de Farnborough offre d’excellentes possibilités de réseautage ciblé avec des professionnels, ainsi qu’une exceptionnelle occasion de promouvoir le secteur aérospatial de l’Ouest canadien sur la scène internationale, a déclaré la ministre Rempel. L’industrie aérospatiale de l’Ouest jouit d’une solide réputation en matière d’innovation soutenue par la recherche et développement, ainsi qu’en raison de sa main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée. »

En partenariat avec l’Association des industries aérospatiales du Canada (AIAC), le gouvernement Harper soutient, par l’entremise de DEO, sept projets interreliés visant à promouvoir l’industrie aérospatiale de l’Ouest canadien. Ces initiatives mèneront à un accès amélioré aux marchés et à de meilleures possibilités de développement de chaînes d’approvisionnement pour les petites et moyennes entreprises de l’ensemble de l’Ouest. L’appui de DEO au Salon aéronautique de Farnborough a donné aux entreprises de l’Ouest l’occasion de créer des liens avec des entrepreneurs internationaux, y compris certains des plus importants acteurs de l’industrie.

Cette année, l’Ouest canadien a profité d’une forte présence à Farnborough, avec un total de 23 entreprises et organisations pour représenter la région. Cette participation a donné lieu à des histoires de réussite et à de nouveaux contrats, contribuant au renforcement des capacités globales de l’industrie aérospatiale et à la création de nouvelles possibilités économiques pour la population canadienne.

 

Pour une croissance locale : Symposium WestDef 2014

La ministre Michelle Rempel et JR Cox, président de la WCDIA à la conférence WestDef.<BR><BR>Photo avec la permission de WestDef/Neil Zeller Photography
La ministre Michelle Rempel et JR Cox, président de la WCDIA à la conférence WestDef.

Photo avec la permission de WestDef/Neil Zeller Photography

Le secteur florissant de la défense et de la sécurité du Canada emploie environ 71 000 personnes et génère des revenus annuels de plus de 12,6 milliards de dollars. Ce secteur jouit d’une croissance rapide dans l’Ouest canadien et c’est avec plaisir que le gouvernement Harper a apporté son soutien à la conférence annuelle sur la défense et la sécurité de la Western Canadian Defence Industries Association (WCDIA), WestDef 2014, qui a eu lieu à Calgary en juillet dernier.

La cinquième édition de WestDef, qui s’est déroulée sous le thème Créons des possibilités d’innovation dans un monde d’après-Afghanistan, a constitué pour les entreprises de l’Ouest canadien un événement très utile, permettant aux petites et moyennes entreprises (PME) de créer des liens avec des décideurs clés et favorisant le commerce et les investissements dans les industries de la défense et de la sécurité.

Lors de l’annonce de financement, la ministre Rempel avait d’ailleurs déclaré : « Par notre appui à WestDef 2014, nous améliorons la compétitivité internationale des PME et cultivons de nouvelles possibilités d’investissement. Nous sommes déterminés à renforcer cette industrie dans l’Ouest et dans l’ensemble du Canada en travaillant étroitement avec les partenaires de l’industrie ».

Faits en bref 
  • 202 inscriptions
  • 53 entreprises de l'Ouest canadien 
  • 163 demandes de rencontres interentreprises
  • 29 séances concurrentes (p. ex., Lockheed Martin, ministère de la Défense nationale, Textron Systems Canada, SAIT Polytechnic et Raytheon)
  • 17 stands d’exposition

Cet événement, qui fut un succès, a donné aux entreprises de l’Ouest l’occasion de montrer et de promouvoir leurs capacités auprès d’une diversité d’intervenants nationaux et internationaux actifs dans cette industrie.

« Si on s’appuie sur les échanges interentreprises qui ont eu lieu à WestDef 2014, les signes avant-coureurs laissent présager que les relations entre Edge Group et iTraumaCare pourraient bien entraîner de nouvelles ventes d’iTClamp au Canada comme au Royaume-Uni », ont indiqué James Cox, d’Edge Group, et Ian Atkinson, Ph.D., d’iTraumaCare.