Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Review on the Implementation of Section 41 of the Official Languages Act 2013-2014 (Part VII)

Minister responsible: The Honourable Michelle Rempel

Deputy Head: Daphne Meredith

Official Languages Champion (or other senior official(s) responsible for official languages): James Meddings
Assistant Deputy Minister - Policy and Strategic Direction

Name of the national coordinator or contact person responsible for the implementation of section 41 (Part VII) of the Official Languages Act:

Linda Quan
National Coordinator for Official Languages 613-952-9389
linda.quan@wd-deo.gc.ca

Name(s) of the regional contact person(s) for section 41 of the OLA(if applicable):
Arabella Olomide
British Columbia - Regional Official Languages Coordinator 604-666-1352
arabella.olomide@wd-deo.gc.ca

Lisa Lecky
Alberta - Regional Official Languages Coordinator780-495-6920
lisa.lecky@wd-deo.gc.ca

Noreen Gallagher
Manitoba - Regional Official Languages Coordinator
204- 983-2837
noreen.gallagher@wd-deo.gc.ca

Matt Deutscher
Saskatchewan - Regional Official Languages Coordinator
306-975-5874
matt.duetscher@wd-deo.gc.ca

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

General Information

Context

In accordance with section 44 of the Official Languages Act (OLA), the Minister of Canadian Heritage must submit an annual report to Parliament on matters relating to its mandate. Therefore, the Minister must report on the implementation of section 41 (Part VII) of the OLA by federal institutions.

The information provided by your institution through this questionnaire will be used to write the Minister of Canadian Heritage’s 2013-2014 Annual Report on Official Languages.

Open-ended questions are used to document your institution’s results that could be highlighted in this annual report.

Instructions

Please return this duly completed questionnaire in both official languages to Canadian Heritage no later than May 30, 2014, to:

portail41-gateway41@pch.gc.ca.

For more information, please contact the Interdepartmental Relations and Accountability Directorate at Canadian Heritage (819-994-3577) or
portail41-gateway41@pch.gc.ca.

A hard copy of this document should be sent to the Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages and to both Parliamentary Standing Committees on Official Languages. You will find their addresses below:

Mr. Graham Fraser
Commissioner of Official Languages
Office of the Commissioner of Official Languages
Canada Building
344 Slater Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0T8

Ms. Suzie Cadieux
Clerk of the Committee
House of Commons Standing Committee on Official Languages
House of Commons of Canada
131 Queen Street, 6th Floor
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A6

Mr. Daniel Charbonneau
Clerk
Standing Senate Committee on Official Languages
Senate of Canada
Chambers Building, Room 1051
40 Elgin Street
Ottawa, Ontario K1A 0A4

Please note

Federal institutions are responsible for communicating their results regarding the implementation of Part VII of the OLA to interested community stakeholders (the Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA) and the Quebec Community Group Network (QCGN), amongst others).

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Development of official-language minority communities (OLMCs) and promotion of English and French in the Canadian society (section 41, part VII of the Official Languages Act)

Tangible Results

1. That key initiatives does your institution want to highlight in relation to the development of official-language minority communities (Francophones outside Quebec and Anglophones in Quebec)? What are the tangible impacts of these initiatives on/in the communities? What is the determining success factor for these initiatives?

Western Economic Diversification Canada’s (WD) mandate contributes to economic development in Western Canada. Therefore, the department’s focus is to seek opportunities for positive measures such as leveraging departmental programs and services, and other funding such as the 2013-18 Roadmap’s Economic Development Initiative (EDI) to contribute to the economic development and vitality of western Official Language Minority Communities (OLMC).

In 2013-14, WD had a number of initiatives that contributed to the economic development of Western Canada’s francophone communities.

First, WD continued its support of the Francophone Economic Development Organizations (FEDO), which are WD’s partners in the Western Canada Business Service Network. There is a FEDO in each of the western provinces of British Columbia (BC), Alberta (AB), Manitoba (MB) and Saskatchewan (SK). In 2013-14, the FEDOs received a total of $2.2 million in annual core funding from WD to deliver business, advisory and training services targeted to francophone entrepreneurs and businesses throughout the four western provinces. WD confirmed that the same level of funding is in place for the FEDOs in 2014-15.

2013-14 results include: 2,776 information services, 2,098 business advisory services and 1,263 participants in business training services delivered. Moreover, 203 youth, 582 immigrants and 2,612 tourists received services from the FEDOs.

Second, WD obtained $3.2 million in renewed Economic Development Initiative (EDI) funding for delivery in Western Canada, under the 2013-18 Roadmap for Canada’s Bilingualism: Education, Immigration, Communities. The funding level was maintained from the last Roadmap.

In preparation for the renewal of the EDI, WD consulted western OLMCs by engaging the FEDOs and participating in Canadian Heritage (PCH) or Industry Canada (IC) led consultations, and used the input to inform the development and implementation of the EDI. This ensured that the EDI continued to respond to OLMC economic development priorities. The 2013-18 renewal follows WD’s successful implementation of the 2008-13 EDI under the “2008-13 Roadmap for Canada’s Linguistic Duality”.

Third, the needs of OLMCs continually informed WD’s decision making processes as it achieved its own departmental priorities. For example, WD considered the francophone communities’ needs in its outreach activities related to the development of its Call For Proposal (CFP) process.

Also, WD undertook targeted outreach in the form of French language information sessions and communications materials to promote the new Western Innovation Initiative and the CFP to OLMCs.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

2. What key initiatives does your institution want to highlight in relation to the promotion of English and French in Canadian society (do not confuse with obligations related to service to the public or language of work, e.g. bilingual Web site, language training for staff)? What are the tangible results of these initiatives in Canadian society? What is the determining success factor for these initiatives?

WD promotes French and English in Canadian society through its communications and outreach activities, and through its programs.

Communications

All of WD’s social media activities are carried out in both French and English. WD continues to use new technologies and platforms to communicate with Canadians and provide information about its programs and services that support business development, innovation and communities.

In March 2014, WD joined LinkedIn, a business social networking forum. The department participates using both official languages. Currently, WD has 640 followers, of which approximately 79 percent are in management or executive ranks.

As highlighted in the 2012-13 Annual Review on OL, WD launched a departmental bilingual Twitter Account.

English @WD_Canada  Français @DEO_Canada

In that first year of activity, WD’s Twitter attracted 775 direct followers and 21 percent of these followers used the Francophone feed. Now there are 1,916 followers and 27 percent of these followers use the French feed.

Twitter and LinkedIn are additional communication tools to share important departmental news and information with targeted audiences, and increase the visibility of departmental activities with stakeholders. WD will continue to communicate to all stakeholders on these social media platforms, in anticipation that they will learn and share information about our events and programs.

Programs

WD’s programs provide funding for projects and all proposals are screened with an internal review tool, the “OL Lens”. This tool aids in the assessment of a project for francophone impacts such as economic benefits, or that contribute to the promotion of French and English.

An example of a WD project that promoted French and English in Canadian society involved the Manitoba Aerospace Association (MAA). WD provided $90,000 for a $610,000 project to support the International Western Canadian Aerospace Expo 2013, in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

Specific funding was directed to support French language services and marketing materials, bilingual website access for the event and the infrastructure to accommodate a future bilingual MAA website.

Two key factors that contributed to the success of this project were:

  1. WD’s OL Lens triggered a discussion that led the MAA to consider the potential economic benefits of using both French and English at its event (i.e., linkage to Quebec aerospace sector and raised credibility of the MAA event with international companies), and
  2. WD’s OL Team provided networking/path-finding to introduce the MAA to francophone communities that could benefit from the project and to relevant economic development partners such as the MB FEDO.

As a result, the MAA undertook its first endeavour to highlight Western Canada's ability to conduct business in both languages. With WD funding, the MAA was able to capitalize on an opportunity to promote Canada’s bilingualism to a domestic and international audience.

One hundred sixteen companies, including eight international manufacturers and 313 people attended, and approximately 28 percent of participants indicated that they created, maintained or expanded a contact with a francophone enterprise. The French language capacity provided at the event demonstrated that the West is open for business to the world in both official languages.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

3. What key achievements with a regional impact (success stories or results on/in the communities or on the promotion of English and French in Canadian society) does your institution want to highlight?

WD encourages western OLMC stakeholders to look for ways to maximize partnerships, funding sources and other resources when developing projects. Multi-region or pan-west projects permits the sharing of skills, experience and capabilities to projects that could benefit all four provinces, such as leveraging of resources to gain broader impacts and to facilitate the sharing of best practices across geographic regions.

An example of a multi-region project:

WD is supporting a $3.46-million international trade initiative led by the Manitoba Music Industry Association (MMA) in collaboration with SaskMusic and Alberta Music. WD will contribute $1.39 million to this three-year initiative. The partners are undertaking a project to promote music industry small and medium sized enterprises in the USA and the continents of Europe and Australia. WD funding includes a component for a pan-western Francophone music development initiative to build market access and capacity of SMEs by coordinating their participation at domestic events that develop business connections across the West, and international opportunities at trade shows in niche Francophone markets.

Factors that will contribute to the success of this project include leadership and funding by the Province of Manitoba; MMA’s partnership with Francophone organizations in MB, AB and SK, which have sector-relevant expertise and credibility in the Francophone community; and MMA’s robust approach to leveraging opportunities at other sector events to achieve the goals of this project. It is anticipated that the project will result in economic impacts, product licences, and export ready companies.

An example of the sharing of ideas across regions:

The AB FEDO is undertaking the creation of a network of municipalities – the Alberta Concerto Network – that want to promote themselves as "bilingual". The idea was inspired by the MB FEDO and the Province of Manitoba’s work with the Association of Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities (AMBM) to develop bilingualism and supporting local economic development initiatives.

By way of background, the AMBM represents 17 Manitoba municipalities that have adopted a policy of active offer of bilingual services in their communities. Its mandate is to bring together bilingual municipalities and help them to adopt bilingual policies, to develop and offer municipal services in French, to promote and develop bilingual municipalities, and to facilitate access to resources for delivery of bilingual municipal services.

The Alberta Concerto Network focuses on four areas of economic development: tourism development; recruitment and employability; attraction of bilingual residents, entrepreneurs and investors; and sustainable development and Green economy. To date, five AB municipalities have joined the Concerto Network to promote the value added of bilingualism for sustainable economic development; to help improve their competitiveness; to share best practices; to attract entrepreneurs; to encourage business creation; and to ensure visibility at the provincial, national and international levels. Discussions are ongoing with several other municipalities that are interested in joining the network.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Bilan de la mise en oeuvre de l’article 41 de la loi sur les Langues Officielles 2013-2014 (Partie VII)

Ministre responsable : l'honorable Michelle Rempel

Administratrice générale : Daphne Meredith

Champion des langues officielles (ou autre(s) fonctionnaire(s) responsable(s) des langues officielles (ex : champion des langues officielles) : James Meddings
Sous-ministre adjoint - Politiques et Orientation stratégique

Name of the national coordinator or contact person responsible for the implementation of section 41 (Part VII) of the Official Languages Act:

Nom du coordonnateur national ou de la personne-ressource responsable de la mise en œuvre de l’article 41 (partie VII) de la Loi sur les langues officielles :

Linda Quan
Coordonnatrice nationale des Langues officielles
613-952-9389
linda.quan@wd-deo.gc.ca

Noms de(s) personne(s)-ressource(s) en région pour l’article 41 de la LLO (si applicable) :
Arabella Olomide
Coordonnatrice régionale des Langues officielles – Colombie-Britannique
604-666-1352
arabella.olomide@wd-deo.gc.ca

Lisa Lecky
Coordonnatrice régionale des Langues officielles – Alberta
780-495-6920
lisa.lecky@wd-deo.gc.ca

Noreen Gallagher
Coordonnatrice régionale des Langues officielles – Manitoba
204- 983-2837
noreen.gallagher@wd-deo.gc.ca

Matt Deutscher
Coordonnateur régional des Langues officielles – Saskatchewan
306-975-5874
matt.duetscher@wd-deo.gc.ca

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Renseignements généraux

Contexte

Conformément à l’article 44 de la Loi sur les langues officielles (LLO), le ministre du Patrimoine canadien doit déposer un rapport annuel au Parlement sur les questions relevant de sa mission en matière de langues officielles. Par conséquent, le ministre doit faire rapport de la mise en œuvre de l’article 41 (partie VII) de la LLO par les institutions fédérales.

Les renseignements fournis par le truchement de ce questionnaire serviront à rédiger le Rapport annuel sur les langues officielles de 2013-2014 du ministre du Patrimoine canadien.

Les questions à développement servent à compiler les résultats de la mise en œuvre de l’article 41 de la LLO que Patrimoine canadien pourrait faire ressortir dans ce rapport annuel.

Instructions

Veuillez retourner le présent questionnaire dûment rempli dans les deux langues officielles à Patrimoine canadien au plus tard le 30 mai 2014, à : portail41-gateway41@pch.gc.ca.

Pour plus de renseignements, prière de communiquer avec la Direction des relations interministérielles et de la responsabilisation à Patrimoine canadien (819-994-3577 ou portail41-gateway41@pch.gc.ca ).

Une copie papier de ce document devrait être acheminée au Commissariat aux langues officielles ainsi qu’aux deux comités parlementaires permanents des langues officielles dont vous trouverez les adresses ci-dessous :

Monsieur Graham Fraser
Commissaire aux langues officielles
Commissariat aux langues officielles
Édifice Canada
344, rue Slater
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0T8

Madame Suzie Cadieux
Greffière du Comité
Comité permanent des langues officielles de la Chambre des communes
Chambre des communes du Canada
131, rue Queen, 6e étage
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A6

Monsieur Daniel Charbonneau
Greffier
Comité sénatorial permanent des langues officielles
Sénat du Canada
Édifice Chambers, Bureau 1051
40, rue Elgin
Ottawa (Ontario) K1A 0A4

Veuillez noter

Il revient aux institutions fédérales de communiquer leurs résultats relatifs à la mise en œuvre de la partie VII de la LLO aux intervenants communautaires intéressés (entre autres la Fédération des communautés francophones et acadienne du Canada (FCFA) et le Quebec Community Group Network (QCGN)).

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM) et promotion du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne (article 41, partie VII de la Loi sur les langues officielles)

Des résultats concrets

1. Quelles initiatives marquantes votre institution veut-elle souligner concernant le développement des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (francophones de l’extérieur du Québec et anglophones du Québec)? Quels sont les effets concrets de ces initiatives dans/pour les communautés? Quel est le principal facteur de succès de ces initiatives?

Le mandat de Diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest Canada (DEO) contribue au développement économique de l’Ouest du Canada. Par conséquent, le Ministère s’attache à trouver des possibilités de mesurer les éléments positifs, comme le fait de tirer parti des programmes et services ministériels, et d’autres financements, comme la Feuille de route 2013-2018 de l’Initiative de développement économique (IDE), afin de favoriser le développement économique et la vitalité des communautés de langue officielle en situation minoritaire (CLOSM).

En 2013-2014, DEO a mis en place plusieurs initiatives qui ont contribué au développement économique des communautés francophones de l’Ouest du Canada.

DEO a tout d’abord continué à apporter son soutien aux Organisations francophones à vocation économique (OFVE) qui sont les partenaires de DEO dans le Réseau de services aux entreprises de l'Ouest canadien. Il existe un OFVE dans chacune des provinces de l’Ouest de la Colombie-Britannique, de l’Alberta, du Manitoba et de la Saskatchewan. En 2013-2014, les OFVE ont obtenu un financement de base total annuel de 2,2 millions de dollars de la part de DEO afin de fournir des services aux entreprises, de conseil et de formation aux entrepreneurs et aux entreprises francophones des quatre provinces de l’Ouest. DEO a confirmé que le même niveau de financement est disponible aux OFVE pour 2014-2015.

Parmi les résultats pour 2013-2014, on cite : 2 776 services d’information, 2 098 services de conseil et 1 263 services de formation fournis. De plus, 203 jeunes, 582 immigrants et 2 612 touristes ont obtenu des services auprès des OFVE.

Ensuite, DEO a obtenu un renouvellement du financement de 3,2 millions de dollars de l’Initiative de développement économique (IDE) pour financer des prestations de services dans l’Ouest canadien en vertu de la Feuille de route pour les langues officielles du Canada 2013-2018 : éducation, immigration, communautés. Le niveau de financement est resté identique à celui de la Feuille de route précédente.

En préparation du renouvellement de l’IDE, DEO a consulté les CLOSM de l’Ouest en mobilisant les OFVE et en participant aux consultations menées par Patrimoine Canada ou Industrie Canada. DEO s’est servi des données recueillies pour élaborer et mettre en œuvre l’IDE. Cette démarche a permis de s’assurer que l’IDE continuerait à répondre aux priorités de développement économique des CLOSM.

Le renouvellement de l’initiative pour 2013-2018 fait suite à la mise en œuvre réussie de l’IDE 2008-2013 par DEO dans le cadre de la « Feuille de route 2008-2013 pour la dualité linguistique canadienne ».

Enfin, les besoins des CLOSM influencent en permanence le processus de prise de décision de DEO au fur et à mesure qu’il satisfait ses propres priorités ministérielles. DEO a par exemple pris en compte les besoins des communautés francophones dans ses activités de sensibilisation pour l’élaboration du processus d’appel de propositions (AP).

En outre, DEO a entrepris une campagne de sensibilisation ciblée sous la forme de séances d’information et de documents de communication en français afin de promouvoir la nouvelle Initiative d'innovation dans l'Ouest et l’AP auprès des CLOSM.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

2. Quelles initiatives marquantes votre institution veut-elle souligner concernant la promotion du français et de l’anglais dans la société canadienne (ne pas confondre avec les obligations relatives au service au public ou à la langue de travail, comme les sites Web bilingues et la formation linguistique du personnel)? Quels sont les effets concrets de ces initiatives dans la société canadienne? Quel est le principal facteur de succès de ces initiatives ?

DEO fait la promotion de l’utilisation du français et de l’anglais dans la société au moyen de ses activités de communication et de sensibilisation et de ses programmes.

Communications

Toutes les activités de DEO sur les médias sociaux sont effectuées à la fois en français et en anglais. Le Ministère continue d’utiliser les nouvelles technologies et plateformes pour communiquer avec les Canadiens et donner de l’information sur les programmes et les services de DEO qui appuient le développement des entreprises, l’innovation et les communautés.

En mars 2014, DEO a créé une page LinkedIn, un forum de réseautage social professionnel. Le Ministère y participe en employant les deux langues officielles. À l’heure actuelle, DEO compte 640 abonnés, parmi lesquels 79 p. 100 occupent des postes de direction.

Comme le souligne l'examen annuel sur les langues officielles 2012-2013, DEO a lancé un compte ministériel Twitter bilingue.

English @WD_Canada Français @DEO_Canada

Dans cette première année d'activité, le compte Twitter a attiré 775 abonnés directs dont 21 p 100 suivaient le fil d'actualité francophone. Il compte désormais 1 916 abonnés dont 27 p. 100 suivent le fil d'actualité en français.

Twitter et LinkedIn sont des outils de communication supplémentaires pour diffuser des nouvelles et de l'information ministérielles importantes auprès des publics cibles et accroître la visibilité des activités ministérielles auprès des intervenants. DEO continuera de communiquer avec tous les intervenants sur les plateformes de médias sociaux, dans la perspective où ils prendront connaissance de nos événements et programmes et qu'ils communiqueront l’information à cet égard.

Programs

Les programmes de DEO financent des projets et des propositions sont sélectionnées à l'aide d'un outil d'examen interne, la « lentille des LO ». Cet outil aide à évaluer les retombées d'un projet sur la communauté francophone comme les avantages économiques qu'il apporte ou son apport à la promotion du français et de l'anglais.

Un exemple de projet de DEO qui a favorisé la promotion du français et de l'anglais dans la société canadienne concernait la Manitoba Aerospace Association (MAA). DEO a versé 90 000 $ pour un projet de 610 000 $ visant à financer l'Expo aéronautique internationale de l'Ouest du Canada 2013 à Winnipeg, au Manitoba.

Des fonds spéciaux étaient destinés à favoriser les services et les documents de commercialisation en langue française, l'accès à un site Web bilingue de l'événement et une infrastructure pour mettre en place un futur site Web bilingue de la MAA.

Deux facteurs essentiels ont contribué à la réussite de ce projet :

  1. la lentille des LO de DEO a déclenché une discussion qui a amené la MAA à prendre en compte les avantages économiques potentiels d'employer à la fois le français et l'anglais dans leur événement (c'est-à-dire, le lien au secteur aérospatial québécois et la crédibilité de l'événement de la MAA auprès des entreprises internationales); et
  2. l'équipe chargée des LO à DEO a effectué du réseautage pour présenter la MAA aux communautés francophones qui pourraient bénéficier de ce projet et aux partenaires de développement économique concernés comme les OFVE du Manitoba.

En conséquence, la MAA a lancé sa première initiative visant à souligner la capacité de l'Ouest canadien à faire affaire dans les deux langues officielles. Grâce au financement de DEO, la MMA a pu saisir l'occasion de promouvoir le bilinguisme du Canada auprès d'un public canadien et étranger.

L'événement a enregistré la participation de 116 entreprises, dont huit fabricants internationaux et 313 personnes. Près de 28 p. 100 des participants ont indiqué qu'ils avaient pris contact, entretenu ou développé des relations avec une entreprise francophone. La communication en langue française pendant l'événement a montré que l'Ouest était ouvert à faire des affaires avec le monde entier dans les deux langues officielles.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

3. Quels « bons coups » ayant un impact régional (succès ou résultats dans les CLOSM ou pour la promotion de l’anglais ou du français dans la société canadienne) votre institution veut-elle souligner?

DEO encourage les intervenants des OFVE dans l’Ouest à trouver des moyens d’augmenter le nombre de partenariats, de sources de financement et d’autres ressources lorsqu’ils doivent mettre en place des projets. Les projets touchant plusieurs régions ou plusieurs provinces de l'Ouest permettent d'appliquer des compétences, de l'expérience et des capacités à des projets qui pourraient être bénéfiques aux quatre provinces, comme tirer parti de ressources pour accroître les retombées et faciliter la diffusion de pratiques exemplaires dans les différentes régions géographiques.

Exemple d'un projet faisant intervenir plusieurs régions :

DEO finance une initiative de commerce international de 3,46 millions de dollars dirigée par la Manitoba Music Industry Association (MMA) en collaboration avec SaskMusic et Alberta Music. DEO versera une contribution de 1,39 million de dollars à cette initiative sur trois ans. Les partenaires mettent sur pied un projet visant à promouvoir les petites et moyennes entreprises du secteur de la musique aux États-Unis, en Europe et en Australie. Le financement de DEO englobe une composante de l’initiative de développement de la musique francophone dans les provinces de l'Ouest en permettant aux petites et moyennes entreprises d'accéder au marché et de renforcer leurs capacités en coordonnant leur participation à des événements nationaux leur permettant d'accroître leurs relations commerciales dans l'Ouest, ainsi qu'à des salons internationaux sur des marchés francophones de niche.

Parmi les facteurs qui contribueront à la réussite de ce projet, on cite la prise d'initiatives et le financement fournis par la province du Manitoba, le partenariat de la MMA avec les organismes francophones au Manitoba, en Alberta et en Saskatchewan qui disposent de l'expertise et de la crédibilité pertinentes dans la communauté francophone ainsi que la démarche rigoureuse de la MMA pour tirer parti d'occasions que présentent d'autres événements du secteur en vue de remplir les objectifs de ce projet. On s'attend à ce que le projet donne lieu à des retombées économiques, des licences de mise en marché et des entreprises prêtes à exporter.

Exemple de l’échange d'idées entre les régions :

L'OFVE en Alberta est en train de créer le réseau Concerto en Alberta – un réseau de municipalités albertaines qui souhaitent faire leur promotion en tant que municipalités bilingues. L'idée s'inspire du travail réalisé par l'OFVE au Manitoba et la province du Manitoba avec l'Association of Manitoba Bilingual Municipalities (AMBM) dans l'optique de développer le bilinguisme et d'appuyer des initiatives de développement économique locales.

À titre d’information, l’AMBM représente 17 municipalités du Manitoba qui ont adopté une politique d’offre active de services bilingues dans leur communauté. Son mandat est de rassembler les municipalités bilingues et de les aider à adopter des politiques bilingues, à élaborer et à offrir des services municipaux en français, à promouvoir et développer des municipalités bilingues et à faciliter l’accès aux ressources pour la prestation de services municipaux bilingues.

Le réseau Concerto met l'accent sur quatre secteurs de développement économique : le développement du tourisme; le recrutement et l'employabilité; l'attraction de résidents, d'entrepreneurs et d'investisseurs bilingues; le développement durable et l'économie verte. À ce jour, cinq municipalités albertaines ont rejoint le réseau Concerto afin de promouvoir la valeur ajoutée du bilinguisme dans le développement économique durable; d'aider à améliorer leur compétitivité; de mettre en commun les pratiques exemplaires; d'attirer des entrepreneurs; d'encourager la création d'entreprises; et d'assurer la visibilité aux niveaux provincial, national et international. Des discussions sont en cours avec plusieurs autres municipalités qui souhaitent intégrer le réseau.