Western Economic Diversification Canada
Symbol of the Government of Canada

Common menu bar links

Evaluation Methodology

This section describes the design, methodology and limitations of the evaluation.

Evaluation Logic Model and Framework

A formal logic model was not developed for the department's Trade and Investment activities. The following logic model, which was designed to help conduct the evaluation reflects the activities, reach, outputs and outcomes in the Market and Trade Development and Foreign Direct Investment sub-activities within the Business Development program activity of the Program Activity Architecture (PAA).

Program Logic Model for Trade and Investment
Activities
  • Implementation of G & C projects
  • Delivery of the North American Platform Program (NAPP)
  • Implementation of G & C projects related to the IRB policy
  • Support of Gateway & Corridors initiatives
  • Trade and Investment Research and Advocacy
Outputs Market and Trade
  • Research
  • Capacity building and outreach (training/mentoring and seminars)
  • Market development
  • Marketing
  • Missions and trade infrastructure
Foreign Direct Investment
  • Research
  • Investment training
  • Investment marketing and promotion events/activities
  • Investment missions
Reach Market and Trade: Federal departments, provincial/municipal governments; provincial/municipal/regional economic agencies; industry associations and small and medium-sized enterprises (indirectly) Foreign Direct Investment: Provincial/municipal/regional economic agencies; potential and existing investors
Immediate Impacts

Market and Trade
Increased awareness

  • Increased awareness of Western Canada in priority markets
  • Increased awareness of trade opportunities for firms in Western Canada

Increased capacity

  • Increased ability for firms in Western Canada to develop/expand into new export markets
  • Increased capacity of western small and medium-sized enterprises to access global value chains, including procurement opportunities

Increased partnerships/networks

  • Increase in international partnerships, including science and technology partnerships
  • Increase in new and existing products for international markets
  • Increase international penetration of western goods and services into international markets

Improved trade infrastructure

  • Improvements in ports and related infrastructure (to improve shipping)
  • Improvements in sector-related infrastructure (i.e. tourism) to improve exports
Foreign Direct Investment

Increased awareness
  • Increased awareness in select markets of Western Canada as a competitive investment destination
  • Increased awareness of Western Canada's technology capabilities
  • Increased awareness of Western Canada's gateway and corridors

Increased capacity

  • Increased awareness of investment trends/issues and best practices
  • Increased capacity to attract foreign investment

Increased foreign investor interest in Western Canada

  • Increase the number of foreign investors seeking to invest in Western Canada
Intermediate Impacts Market and Trade – Increased participation in international markets through increased export capacity and sales for SMEs in Western Canada
Foreign Direct Investment – Increase in foreign investment in Western Canada
Long-term Strong small and medium-sized enterprises in Western Canada with an improved capacity to remain competitive in the global marketplace

This logic model summarises the inter-relationships between the activities, outputs and intended impacts of the department's support for Trade and Investment. The framework for the evaluation was developed based on this logic model.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Major Lines of Evidence

This project was undertaken in two phases. The first phase consisted of the development of the evaluation terms of reference and a detailed evaluation work plan. The plan outlined the strategies and methodologies which were then implemented in the second phase of the project. The field research undertaken in the second phase of the project included document and literature reviews, key informant interviews, case studies and focus groups.

Preliminary Consultations

Preliminary consultations were conducted with WD headquarters and regional staff to develop comprehensive lists of projects, key informant interviewees, survey participants and case studies. This led to the development of the terms of reference for the evaluation. The terms of reference, including the evaluation framework, was reviewed by the department's International Competiveness Team and senior management. Through these consultations, some preliminary evaluation information was also obtained.

Document and Literature Review and Project Database Analysis

A detailed review was conducted of the department's documents as well as literature relevant to WD's Trade and Investment activities. Project and performance information related to WD's Trade and Investment projects was generated from the department's project database and analysed. The document and literature review included:

  • A detailed review of relevant policy documents developed by the department, including strategic plans, annual reports for the department's Trade and Investment activities, briefing notes, corporate plans and priority papers.
  • Literature research related to Trade and Investment developed by experts.
  • A review of past Western Diversification Program evaluation reports.
  • A review of literature on Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency's evaluation of its Trade and Investment activities.

Key Informant Interviews

In total, 42 key informants were interviewed. The following table provides the target number and number of completed interviews for each key informant group as well as a short description of each group's sample.

Key Informants Interviewed by Group
Key Informants Completed Target Number Description of Sample
WD Management and Staff 18 20
  • WD senior management, including Assistant Deputy Ministers and senior managers, as well as WD staff responsible for Trade and Investment activities.
Other Federal, Provincial and Regional Government Representatives 16 10 – 15
  • 6 representatives from other federal government departments, including the DFATD, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada, and Transport Canada.
  • 6 representatives from provincial government departments engaged in Trade and Investment.
  • 4 representatives from regional organizations engaged in Trade and Investment.
Other Industry Stakeholders and Experts 8 10 – 15
  • 5 representatives from industry associations
  • 2 experts in policy research on Trade and Investment
  • 1 regional development organization
Total 42 40 – 50  

The table below depicts the distribution of respondents across regions.

Key Informants Interviewed by Region
Region WD Representatives Other Government Industry and Experts Total
Manitoba 3 6 2 11
Saskatchewan 4 4 1 9
Alberta 3 4 2 9
British Columbia 2 2 3 7
WD Policy and Strategic Direction Edmonton/Ottawa 6 0 0 6
Total 18 16 8 42

All interviews with key informants were done by telephone. Interviewees were contacted at first by email and provided with a letter from the department that explained the purpose of the evaluation and invited them to participate.

Return to the top of this pagetop of page

Client Survey

The following table provides the target number and number of completed interviews for each client and beneficiary (i.e., project participants) group, as well as a short description of each group's sample.

Proponents Surveyed by Group
Target Group Completed Target Number Description of Sample
Project Recipient Survey 41 40 – 50
  • Project recipients were from 36 Western Diversification Program projects, 2 Conference Support Payments projects, and 3 Western Economic Partnership Agreement projects.
Beneficiary (Project Participants) Survey 25 20 – 25
  • Beneficiaries of and participants in Trade and Investment projects (e.g., SMEs or partners that participated in missions or attended a trade show) were surveyed. Contacts were gathered during the project recipient interviews.
Proponents that applied but did not received funding 8 5 – 10
  • Types of projects included projects to attract foreign investment, to host a networking and information event, to attend a trade show or mission, and to develop tools and programming to assist new SME exporters.
Organizations that did not apply for assistance from WD 5 5
  • This list was developed based on an Internet search of similar Trade and Investment organizations that did not receive funding (e.g., non-profit industry associations engaged in Trade and Investment activities in Western Canada). The search included a review of Industry Canada's Directory of Business and Trade Associations.
Total 79 70 – 90  

The table below depicts the distribution of respondents across provinces.

Proponents Surveyed by Region
Province Project Recipients Beneficiaries/ Participants Proponents That Were Not Approved Organizations That Did Not Apply Total
Manitoba 7 13 0 1 21
Saskatchewan 11 4 2 1 18
Alberta 7 6 3 1 17
British Columbia 16 2 3 2 23
Total 41 25 8 5 79

Case Studies

Case study reviews were one of the critical lines of evidence for this evaluation. Case study reviews were conducted of 11 projects funded by the department delivered by eight recipients. The case studies were selected to include a cross-section of projects by province, type of project, size of project and type of recipient organization. The selection of specific projects for the case studies also took into consideration the stage of project development and input provided by departmental representatives regarding the projects. The case studies included at least two projects from each province. The mixture of projects focused on capacity building (international certification and global readiness services), international marketing and trade shows, investment attraction and trade infrastructure.

In conducting the case studies, the evaluation team collected and reviewed background information, including project proposals, progress reports, completion reports and other project outputs. Interviews with proponents of these projects were included as part of the key informant interviews. The list of case study recipients with a description of their projects is as follows:

  • Alberta Women Entrepreneurs: One project to create a diversity certification and global supply chain access program for women business owners across Western Canada.
     
  • Business Link Business Service Center in Alberta and Canada/British Columbia Business Services Society: Two projects to establish global business and export advisory services in Alberta and British Columbia.
     
  • Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association: One project to raise the profile of the hydrogen and fuel cell industry during the 2010 Olympics.
     
  • Motion Picture Production Industry Association: One project to market and attract investment in British Columbia's film, television and digital production industry.
     
  • Regina Exhibition Association: One project to attract new incoming buyers to the Western Canadian Farm Progress Show.
     
  • Saskatchewan Trade and Export Partnership (STEP) and Manitoba Trade and Investment Corporation (MTIC): Two projects to host pavilions for western Canadian agricultural equipment manufacturers at the Agritechnica 2011 international tradeshow.
     
  • Centreport Canada Incorporated: One project to start up and operate Winnipeg's inland port.
  • Agence nationale et internationale du Manitoba: One project to support Centrallia 2012, an international business-to-business forum.

Focus Groups

In total, 39 representatives participated in four focus groups. The breakdown of participants is shown below.

Key Informants Vancouver Winnipeg Saskatoon Edmonton Total
WD Representatives 1 2 2 53 10
Other Provincial and Federal Government Representatives 2 3 3 3 11
Project Recipients and
Industry Stakeholders
4 6 4 4 18
Total 7 11 9 12 39

The participants were selected based on their knowledge and involvement in WD's Trade and Investment activities. Some were also interviewed as part of the key informant interviews and project recipient and proponent surveys. All participants were invited by email and telephone. The sessions were two hours in length.

Evaluation Challenges and Limitations

  • Potential for respondent bias. The evaluation findings are based, in part, on the views of those with a vested interest in the program and potentially biased in their responses regarding outcomes. Several measures were taken to reduce the effect of respondent biases and validate interview results, including the following: (i) interviewers communicated to participants the purpose of this evaluation, its design and methodology, as well as the strict confidentiality of responses; (ii) interviews were conducted by telephone by skilled interviewers; and (iii) the respondents were asked to provide a rationale for their ratings, including a description of specific activities which contributed to the reported outcomes.
     
  • Limited knowledge and familiarity of stakeholders with the department's Trade and Investment activities. Some respondents had difficulty recalling specific aspects of the department's Trade and Investment activities and were unable to comment on outcomes. In these cases, the evaluators obtained opinions on the needs and gaps to support Trade and Investment in their region, as well as any recommendations they had for the department's involvement in Trade and Investment.
     
  • Low number of industry respondents in key informant interviews. There were a lower number of industry representatives and experts interviewed than were targeted. This was due in part to interviewing some industry representatives as project funding recipients instead of key informants. To address this limitation, a snowball sampling technique was applied in which some key informants were asked to recommend other representatives engaged in Trade and Investment in government or industry that were then interviewed.
     
  • Project beneficiaries reporting for only 12 out of 42 projects. Most projects had no clear beneficiaries due to the nature of their activities. Project beneficiaries were selected from small and medium-sized enterprises or partners that participated in projects involving trade missions or trade shows. The responses of beneficiaries were used to complement responses from project recipients and to add examples and details of areas where some projects have achieved particular outcomes or follow-on investments.
     
  • In reviewing the results of the focus groups, it is important to note that the discussion reflects the opinion of those who were in the room. The participants in the focus groups are not necessarily representative of all those who have been involved in WD's Trade and Investment activities. Given the nature of focus groups, the main conclusions do not necessarily mean that all participants spoke to all relevant issues or, if they had, would necessarily agree with the opinions which were expressed by others.
     
  • Attribution: Determining the value added by the department's Trade and Investment activities is challenging over the long term because outcomes at the intermediate and long-term level are the result of many factors working together. This evaluation uses contribution-focused analysis to infer the department's role in achieving strategic outcomes that lead to developing and diversifying the western Canadian economy.

 


[3] Note: There were three representatives from WD Policy and Strategic Direction and two representatives from WD-Alberta Region at the Edmonton focus group.

Diversification de l'économie de l'Ouest Canada
Symbole du gouvernement du Canada

Liens de la barre de menu commune

Méthode d'évaluation

Cette section décrit le concept, la méthode et les limites de l’évaluation.

Modèle logique et cadre d'évaluation

Aucun modèle logique n’a été élaboré pour les activités du Ministère liées au commerce et à l’investissement. Le modèle logique suivant a été conçu pour faciliter l’évaluation, et il reflète les activités, la portée, les réalisations et les résultats des sous-activités Développement des marchés et du commerce et Investissements étrangers directs, qui relèvent de l’activité de programme Expansion des entreprises de l’Architecture des activités de programme (AAP).

Modèle logique : commerce et investissements
Activités
  • Mise en oeuvre des projets de S et C
  • Exécution du Programme de la plateforme nord-américaine (PPNA)
  • Mise en oeuvre des projets de S et C liés à la Politique des RIR
  • Soutien aux initiatives liées aux portes d’entrées et aux corridors
  • Recherche et représentation – Commerce et investissements
Extrants Marché et commerce
  • Recherche
  • - Renforcement des capacités et sensibilisation (formation/encadrement et colloques)
  • Développement du marché
  • Marketing
  • Missions et infrastructure commerciale
Investissements étrangers directs
  • Recherche
  • Formation sur l'investissement
  • Marketing de l'investissement, et activités et événements promotionnels
  • Missions d'investissement
Extrants Marché et commerce : ministères fédéraux, gouvernements provinciaux, autorités municipales; agences économiques régionales, municipales et provinciales; associations sectorielles et petites et moyennes entreprises (indirectement) Investissements étrangers directs : agences économiques provinciales, municipales et régionales; investisseurs potentiels et réels
Effets immédiats Marché et commerce
Sensibilisation accrue
  • Mieux faire connaître l'Ouest canadien dans les marchés prioritaires
  • - Mieux faire connaître les débouchés commerciaux des entreprises dans l'Ouest du Canada

Capacités accrues

  • - Plus grande capacité des entreprises de l'Ouest du Canada à pénétrer de nouveaux marchés d'exportations
  • Plus grande capacité des PME de l'Ouest à accéder aux chaînes de valeur mondiales, y compris aux projets d'approvisionnement

Partenariats et réseaux plus étendus

  • Augmentation du nombre de partenariats internationaux, notamment dans le domaine des sciences et des technologies
  • Augmentation du nombre de produits nouveaux ou existants destinés aux marchés internationaux
  • Augmentation du taux de pénétration des biens et services de l'Ouest au sein des marchés internationaux

Infrastructure commerciale améliorée

  • Amélioration des ports et des infrastructures connexes (pour faciliter l'expédition des marchandises)
  • Amélioration des infrastructures dans des secteurs connexes (p. ex. tourisme) pour favoriser l'exportation
Investissements étrangers directs

Sensibilisation accrue
  • Mieux faire connaître l'Ouest du Canada dans certains marchés afin de présenter la région comme une destination concurrentielle en matière d'investissements
  • Mieux faire connaître les capacités technologiques de l'Ouest du Canada
  • Mieux faire connaître les portes et corridors commerciaux de l'Ouest du Canada

Capacités accrues

  • Mieux faire connaître les tendances et enjeux en matière d'investissements et les pratiques exemplaires
  • Capacité accrue d'attirer des investissements étrangers

Intérêt accru des investisseurs étrangers à l'égard de l'Ouest du Canada

  • Accroître le nombre d'investisseurs étrangers qui souhaitent investir dans l'Ouest du Canada
Effets intermédiaires Marché et commerce – Présence accrue sur les marchés internationaux grâce au développement des capacités des PME de l’Ouest du Canada qui sont mieux en mesure d’exporter leurs produits et de les vendre

Investissements étrangers directs – Intensification des investissements étrangers dans l’Ouest du Canada
Long terme Des PME prospères dans l'Ouest du Canada ayant la capacité de demeurer concurrentielles sur les marchés mondiaux.

Ce modèle logique résume les liens qui relient les activités, les résultats et les effets prévus des activités de DEO liées au commerce et à l'investissement. Le cadre de l'évaluation repose sur ce modèle logique.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Principales sources de renseignements

Le projet a été mené en deux étapes. La première visait l'élaboration d'un cadre de référence et d'un plan de travail détaillé. Ce plan exposait les stratégies et méthodes devant servir à la deuxième étape du projet. Le travail de recherche sur le terrain, entrepris dans le cadre de la deuxième étape, comprenait un examen exhaustif de la documentation, des entrevues menées auprès des personnes ressources, des études de cas et des groupes de discussion.

Consultations préliminaires

Des consultations préliminaires ont été menées à l’administration centrale de DEO et auprès des employés des régions afin d’établir une liste exhaustive des projets, des principales personnes–ressources et des participants au sondage et aux études de cas. Cela a mené à l’élaboration du cadre de référence de l’évaluation. Le cadre de référence, comprenant le cadre d’évaluation, a été examiné par l’équipe de la compétitivité internationale et par la haute direction. Ces consultations ont également permis d’obtenir certaines données préliminaires.

Examen de la documentation et analyse de la base de données des projets

Un examen exhaustif des documents du Ministère et de la documentation ayant trait aux activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement de DEO a été effectué. L'information sur les projets et le rendement en lien avec les activités de DEO en matière de commerce et d'investissement provient de la base de données sur les projets du Ministère et a été analysée. L'examen de la documentation comprend :

  • Un examen détaillé des documents de politique pertinents élaborés par le Ministère, y compris les plans stratégiques, les rapports annuels sur les activités de DEO liées au commerce et à l'investissement, les notes d'information, les plans ministériels et les documents d'orientation.
  • Une étude de la littérature sur le sujet du commerce et de l'investissement produite par des experts du domaine.
  • Un examen des rapports d’évaluation antérieurs du Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest.
  • Un examen de l’évaluation des activités liées au commerce et à l’investissement de l’Agence de promotion économique du Canada atlantique.

Entrevues avec les personnes-ressources

En tout, nous avons interrogé 42 personnes-ressources. Le tableau ci dessous donne le nombre visé d'entrevues et le nombre d'entrevues réalisées dans chacun des groupes de personnes ressources, ainsi qu'une brève description de l'échantillon de chaque groupe.

Personnes-ressources interrogées, par groupe
Personnes-ressources Entrevues réalisées Nombre visé Description de l’échantillon
Direction et employés de DEO 18 20
  • Haute direction de DEO, y compris les sous ministres adjoints et les gestionnaires principaux, ainsi que les employés de DEO responsables des activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement.
Autres représentants des gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux et des autorités régionales 16 10 – 15
  • 6 représentants d'autres ministères fédéraux, y compris le MAECD, Agriculture et Agroalimentaire Canada et Transports Canada.
  • 6 représentants des ministères provinciaux actifs dans le domaine du commerce et de l'investissement.
  • 4 représentants d'organisations régionales actives dans le domaine du commerce et de l'investissement.
Autres intervenants et experts de l’industrie 8 10 – 15
  • 5 representatives from industry associations
  • 2 experts in policy research on Trade and Investment
  • 1 regional development organization
Total 42 40 – 50  

Le tableau ci-dessous illustre la distribution des répondants entre les régions.

Personnes-ressources interrogées, par région
Région Représentants de DEO Autre gouvernement Industrie et experts Total
Manitoba 3 6 2 11
Saskatchewan 4 4 1 9
Alberta 3 4 2 9
Colombie-Britannique 2 2 3 7
Politiques et Orientation stratégique de DEO, Edmonton/Ottawa 6 0 0 6
Total 18 16 8 42

Toutes les entrevues avec les personnes-ressources ont été effectuées au téléphone. Dans un premier temps, on a communiqué avec les répondants par courriel et on leur a transmis une lettre du Ministère expliquant le but de l'évaluation et les invitant à y prendre part.

Retourner au haut de la pageHaut de la page

Sondage auprès des clients

Le tableau ci-dessous précise le nombre visé d'entrevues et le nombre d'entrevues réalisées pour chaque groupe de clients et de bénéficiaires (soit les participants à un projet), ainsi qu'une brève description de l'échantillon de chaque groupe.

Promoteurs sondés, par groupe
Groupe ciblé Entrevues réalisées Nombre visé Description de l'échantillon
Promoteur de projet financé 41 40 – 50 Les promoteurs de projets financés étaient répartis comme suit : 36 pour le Programme de diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest, 2 pour les paiements de soutien aux conférences et 3 pour les Ententes de partenariat pour le développement économique de l’Ouest.
Bénéficiaire (participant au projet) 25 20 – 25 Les bénéficiaires des projets liés au commerce et à l'investissement et les participants (p. ex. PME ou partenaires qui ont pris part aux missions ou participé à un salon professionnel) ont été sondés. Leurs coordonnées ont été recueillies lors des entrevues avec les promoteurs de projets financés.
Promoteurs qui ont présenté une demande, mais n'ont pas obtenu de financement 8 5 – 10 Les projets portaient notamment sur les façons d'attirer des investissements étrangers, l'organisation d'une activité d'information ou de réseautage, la participation à un salon professionnel ou à une mission et l'élaboration d'outils et de programmes pour aider les nouvelles PME exportatrices.
Organisations qui n’ont pas demandé l’aide de DEO 5 5 Cette liste a été établie à partir d'une recherche, sur Internet, d'organisations similaires vouées au commerce et à l'investissement qui n'ont pas reçu de financement (p. ex. associations sectorielles sans but lucratif participant à des activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement dans l'Ouest du Canada). Une recherche a également été effectuée dans le Répertoire des associations ou organismes d'affaires et de commerce d'Industrie Canada.
Total 79 70 – 90  

Le tableau ci-dessous décrit la répartition des répondants entre les provinces.

Promoteurs sondés, par région
Province Responsables de projet Bénéficiaires/ participants Promoteurs qui n'ont pas été approuvés Organisations qui n'ont pas demandé de fonds Total
Manitoba 7 13 0 1 21
Saskatchewan 11 4 2 1 18
Alberta 7 6 3 1 17
Colombie-Britannique 16 2 3 2 23
Total 41 25 8 5 79

Études de cas

Les études de cas figuraient parmi les principales sources de renseignements dans le cadre de cette évaluation. Des études de cas ont été réalisées pour 11 projets financés par le Ministère et exécutés par huit promoteurs de projets. Les études de cas ont été choisies de façon à brosser un portrait d'ensemble des projets en tenant compte de la province, du type et de la taille des projets et du genre d'organisme responsable. Le choix des projets faisant l'objet d'une étude de cas reposait également sur l'état d'avancement du projet et les renseignements fournis par les fonctionnaires du Ministère. Les études de cas portaient au moins sur deux projets dans chaque province. En règle générale, les projets visaient le renforcement des capacités (certification internationale et services de préparation à l'exportation), le marketing international et les salons professionnels, les moyens d'attirer des investissements et l'infrastructure commerciale.

Pour effectuer les études de cas, l'équipe d'évaluation a recueilli et examiné des sources de renseignements généraux, notamment des propositions de projets, des rapports d'étape, des rapports d'achèvement et d'autres renseignements sur les projets. Dans le cadre des entrevues avec les personnes ressources, on a également procédé à des entrevues avec les promoteurs des projets. Voici une liste des projets financés ayant fait l'objet d'une étude de cas, et une courte description de chacun :

  • Alberta Women Entrepreneurs : un projet de certification qui vise à aider les entrepreneures de l'Ouest canadien à accéder aux programmes de diversification et aux chaînes d'approvisionnement mondiales.
     
  • Business Link Business Service Center en Alberta et Canada/British Columbia Business Services Society : deux projets visant à offrir des services de consultation sur l'exportation et le commerce mondial en Alberta et en Colombie-Britannique.
     
  • Canadian Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Association : un projet visant à mieux faire connaître l'industrie des piles à hydrogène et à combustible lors des Jeux olympiques de 2010.
     
  • Motion Picture Production Industry Association : un projet visant à mettre en valeur l'industrie de la production numérique, télévisuelle et cinématographique de la C.-B. et à attirer des investissements.
     
  • Regina Exhibition Association : un projet visant à attirer de nouveaux acheteurs en prévision du Western Canadian Farm Progress Show.
     
  • Partenariat du commerce et des exportations de la Saskatchewan (STEP) et Société du commerce et de l'investissement du Manitoba (SCIM) : deux projets visant à animer les kiosques des fabricants d'équipement agricole de l'Ouest canadien lors du salon international Agritechnica 2011.
     
  • Centreport Canada Incorporated : un projet visant à créer et à exploiter un port intérieur à Winnipeg.
     
  • Agence nationale et internationale du Manitoba : un projet visant à soutenir Centrallia 2012, un forum international destiné aux entreprises.

Groupes de discussion

En tout, 39 représentants ont participé à quatre groupes de discussion. La répartition des participants est représentée ci-dessous.

Personnes-ressources Vancouver Winnipeg Saskatoon Edmonton Total
Représentants de DEO 1 2 2 53 10
Représentants d'autres ministères fédéraux et provinciaux 2 3 3 3 11
Responsables de projets et intervenants de l'industrie 4 6 4 4 18
Total 7 11 9 12 39

Les participants ont été choisis en fonction de leur connaissance des activités liées au commerce et à l'investissement de DEO et de leur participation à ces activités. Certains ont également été interviewés dans le cadre des entrevues auprès des personnes-ressources et des sondages auprès des responsables et des promoteurs de projets. Tous les participants ont été invités par courriel et par téléphone à participer à ces séances d'une durée de deux heures.

Obstacles et limites de l'évaluation

  • Risque d’introduction d’un biais attribuable aux répondants. Les résultats de l’évaluation reposent en partie sur l’opinion de personnes ayant un intérêt direct dans le programme, et ayant ainsi pu donner des réponses subjectives concernant les résultats du programme. Plusieurs mesures ont été prises pour réduire l’effet du biais attribuable aux répondants et valider les résultats tirés des entrevues, notamment : i) les intervieweurs ont présenté aux participants l’objectif, le concept et les méthodes sur lesquels reposait l’évaluation, en plus de les rassurer quant au caractère strictement confidentiel des réponses fournies; ii) les entrevues ont été réalisées au téléphone par des intervieweurs qualifiés et iii) les répondants devaient justifier les notes attribuées, notamment en fournissant une description des activités particulières ayant contribué aux résultats mentionnés.
       
  • Connaissance restreinte des activités liées au commerce et à l’investissement du Ministère. Quelques répondants ont eu de la difficulté à se souvenir de certains aspects spécifiques des activités du Ministère liées au commerce et à l’investissement et n’ont pas été en mesure de commenter leurs résultats. Dans ces cas, les évaluateurs ont recueilli leurs opinions sur les besoins et les écarts à combler pour soutenir le commerce et l’investissement dans les régions des répondants, ainsi que des recommandations destinées au Ministère, toujours en lien avec le commerce et l’investissement.
     
  • Faible nombre de répondants de l’industrie dans les entrevues auprès des personnes-ressources. Le nombre de représentants et d’experts de l’industrie interviewés était inférieur à ce que l’on avait prévu. Cela est en partie attribuable au fait que l’on a interviewé certains représentants de l’industrie à titre de promoteurs de projets financés, plutôt qu’à titre de personnes-ressources. Pour remédier à cette situation, une technique d’échantillonnage « boule de neige » a été utilisée, où l’on demandait à certaines personnes-ressources de recommander d’autres participants aux activités liées au commerce et à l’investissement du gouvernement ou de l’industrie, que nous avons par la suite interviewés.
     
  • Les bénéficiaires de seulement 12 projets sur 42 ont fourni des réponses. La plupart des projets n’avaient aucun bénéficiaire précis compte tenu de la nature de leurs activités. Les bénéficiaires ont été choisis parmi les PME ou les partenaires qui ont participé à des missions commerciales ou des salons professionnels. Les réponses des bénéficiaires ont servi à compléter celles des promoteurs de projets financés et à fournir des exemples et des détails sur des aspects de certains projets qui ont donné lieu à des résultats particuliers ou à des investissements additionnels.
     
  • Il importe de garder à l’esprit que les résultats des groupes de discussion sont le reflet des opinions des participants présents. Les participants aux groupes de discussion ne sont pas nécessairement représentatifs de l’ensemble de ceux ayant participé aux activités de DEO liées au commerce et à l’investissement. Compte tenu de la nature des discussions, les grandes conclusions tirées de cet exercice ne signifient pas que tous les participants se sont prononcés sur toutes les questions pertinentes, et même si cela était le cas, cela ne signifierait pas que tous les participants étaient d’accord avec les opinions exprimées par les autres.
     
  • Attribution : Il est difficile de déterminer la valeur ajoutée à long terme des activités du Ministère liées au commerce et à l’investissement, car les résultats à moyen et long terme résultent de la combinaison de nombreux facteurs. La présente évaluation repose sur une analyse axée sur la contribution afin de déduire le rôle qu’a joué le Ministère pour atteindre les résultats stratégiques qui mènent au développement et à la diversification de l’économie de l’Ouest canadien.

[3] Remarque : Trois représentants de Politiques et Orientation stratégique de DEO et deux représentants de DEO, région de l’Alberta, participaient au groupe de discussion à Edmonton.